124 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Recommendation for Credit Cards V1, TQ to contributors ! (From MOD)

TSGen-X
post Mar 19 2011, 01:41 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(littleprawn @ Mar 19 2011, 12:24 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM18k - 30k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Must~

3. Card required for: Cash Rebate. Accepted at most stores local & overseas. Online transaction~

4. Existing credit cards if any: None~

5. Looking at CC from: Anything~

6. Others:  None

Thanks in advance~  biggrin.gif
If you got loans e.g. car and been paying promptly, do try OCBC Titanium MasterCard if you can proof your salary close to RM30K. Or else go pledge FD with them and get same credit limit as your FD pledged.

If cannot qualify for the OCBC, your other options for Cash Back cards with Free Annual fees subjected you swipe 12 times are UOB One Card and and Alliance Credit Card (Cash back based on tiers and you get points too). Other option is Public Bank Debit cards where they do give cash back.

Click here to to my article at my blog to see chart with free annual fees. Please note minimum annual income now is RM24K.

QUOTE(singdreams @ Mar 19 2011, 01:00 PM)
1. Annual Income:24000 ( age barely 20

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Must

3. Card required for: Petrol, tolls and air ticket

4. Existing credit cards if any: none

5. Looking at CC from: anything

6. Others: none
Sorry, you need to be 21 years of age, not a single day less. Your option is to get a supp card or Debit Card.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 19 2011, 01:42 PM
xproc
post Mar 19 2011, 03:34 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

1. Annual Income: 40000
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: yes. preferably waive the rm 50
3. Card required for: basic needs, need 1 for buying things, online transection etc
4. Existing credit cards if any: no. only got pb debit card
5. Looking at CC from: sc, citi or hlb preferably
6. Others: nice looking card
TSGen-X
post Mar 19 2011, 05:12 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Mar 19 2011, 03:34 PM)
1. Annual Income: 40000
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: yes. preferably waive the rm 50
3. Card required for: basic needs, need 1 for buying things, online transection etc
4. Existing credit cards if any: no. only got pb debit card
5. Looking at CC from: sc, citi or hlb preferably
6. Others: nice looking card
SCB, Citi and HLB in general got no auto annual fee waiver card but you can always request.
For Std Chart you qualify for Gold where they now giving RM128 cash back if you apply online.
For Citibank, you also qualify for their Gold Card and Clear Card.
HLB same thing, you qualify for their Gold Card and Essential Card.
Above mentioned Gold Cards do not give you anything for petrol but you do get Travel Insurance but that's not your requirement.

Card that suit your requirement and you qualify is OCBC Titanuim MasterCard where is is free if you swipe 12 times and GST waived if you spend RM10K. Click here to OCBC Titanium MC thread.

You also qualify for Free For Life Maybankard 2 Gold Cards based on your income. Click here to MBB 2 thread. Spend RM2K with Maybankard 2 Amex and you will get 10,000 points to offset the RM50 GST. Maybank Visa and Mastercard have the lowest overseas conversion rate, so if you do online purchase from overseas then consider this card.

As for nice looking card, check out Alliance You:nique, you can put whatever picture you want on the card but you got to pay for it. Click here to read about Alliance You:nique at my blog. The card is free if you swipe 12 times.

Since you got PBB Debit, if you happy with their service, look at their Gold Credit Card, Free annual fees if you swipe 12 times too.
littleprawn
post Mar 20 2011, 10:26 AM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 19 2011, 01:41 PM)
If you got loans e.g. car and been paying promptly, do try OCBC Titanium MasterCard if you can proof your salary close to RM30K. Or else go pledge FD with them and get same credit limit as your FD pledged.

If cannot qualify for the OCBC, your other options for Cash Back cards with Free Annual fees subjected you swipe 12 times are UOB One Card and and Alliance Credit Card (Cash back based on tiers and you get points too). Other option is Public Bank Debit cards where they do give cash back.
Wokie, thanks a lot for the recommendation~ smile.gif
Btw, is OCBC requirement min is RM36k?
If close to RM30k sure can apply?

This post has been edited by littleprawn: Mar 20 2011, 01:14 PM
cybermaster98
post Mar 20 2011, 11:02 PM

4,440 posts

Annual Income: RM 180,000 (approx)
Free lifetime annual Fee: not really important since ive never paid for such fees in the past 10 years
Cards required for: grocery shopping, travel, etc (fuel not required since covered by company)
Existing cards: HSBC Platinum, Citibank Platinum

My main card is the HSBC which ive been using for many years. Citibank rarely used except for access to the Plaza Premium lounge at KLIA. Recently, i cashed out my points in HSBC (approx 640,000 points). So am wondering if i should continue using my HSBC / Citibank or is there a better card out there?
mikecmy
post Mar 20 2011, 11:26 PM

734 posts

I'm not on any credit card yet.
Income is only 2k p/m (not including side income)
any bank have high chances of approval since i do not have any cc yet?
Applied for citi before but got rejected for dunno wtf reasons

1. Annual Income: RM24K (main income with payslips)

3. Card required for: Petrol/Groceries

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil.

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Any as long as approval can be done without much hassle

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: <RM2k

chemistry
post Mar 20 2011, 11:35 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(littleprawn @ Mar 20 2011, 10:26 AM)
Wokie, thanks a lot for the recommendation~  smile.gif
Btw, is OCBC requirement min is RM36k?
If close to RM30k sure can apply?
You can try. But don't expect too much.
TSGen-X
post Mar 21 2011, 12:09 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(mikecmy @ Mar 20 2011, 11:26 PM)
I'm not on any credit card yet.
Income is only 2k p/m (not including side income)
any bank have high chances of approval since i do not have any cc yet?
Applied for citi before but got rejected for dunno wtf reasons

1. Annual Income: RM24K (main income with payslips)

3. Card required for: Petrol/Groceries

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil.

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Any as long as approval can be done without much hassle

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: <RM2k
OCBC Titanium best for petrol, groceries, dining and Telco bills. Like chemistry mentioned, you can try OCBC, but if you really want the card and willing to do some work, go pledge FD with OCBC and they will most likely issue you the card with same credit limit as FD pledged.

I f you not willing to pledge FD with them, then your options are like what I mentioned to littleprawn earlier, consider Alliance Bank and UOB Once Card. And once your salary reach near to RM30K, go get Maybankard 2 Cards, I did see that you have applied for it at the MBB 2 thread. You can also try CIMB Petronas Card if you pump petrol at Petronas and CIMB MasterCard do have promotion for groceries on Sundays.

Since you new to CC, recommend that you read the following posts at my blog:

Intro to CC 101.

Malaysia CC Annual Income Requirement and Credit Limit. For your case, the maximum CL will be RM4K for now.

and your question on how to contact Customer Service, click here where I have a listed Contact Numbers for banks.

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 20 2011, 11:02 PM)
Free lifetime annual Fee: not really important since ive never paid for such fees in the past 10 years
Cards required for: grocery shopping, travel, etc (fuel not required since covered by company)

My main card is the HSBC which ive been using for many years. Citibank rarely used except for access to the Plaza Premium lounge at KLIA. Recently, i cashed out my points in HSBC (approx 640,000 points). So am wondering if i should continue using my HSBC / Citibank or is there a better card out there?
**Edited**

Your case, Maybankard 2 Card Platinum and get 5X Treats Points with the AMEX card and lowest conversion rate for overseas with the Visa/MC. Click here to read my review on MBB Dua. Even if you don't cancel both your existing cards, MBB 2 can compliment them as it is Free For Life. Spend Rm1K on a weekend and GST covered for a year with the cash back capped at RM50. Nothing to loose here.

HSBC - have you won anything with it? I haven't. And they have stupid contest requiring us to sms.

Citibank nowadays do have pretty good offer. You get discount at Coffee Bean and Baskin Robins. And your Citi Plat allows you free access to KLIA Plaza Premium Lounge. Also, your Citi Plat do give Medical Insurance for Overeas if you purchase air ticket with it. If you happy with Citi and if you do benefit with it, keep it since they waiving your annual fees.

Must say, both HSBC and Citi Customer Service is good and truly 24/7.

Do you buy liquor at Eraman Duty Free, if you do buy more than RM450 (XO), then get CIMB WMC and enjoy 15%.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 21 2011, 06:48 AM
chemistry
post Mar 21 2011, 12:41 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 20 2011, 11:02 PM)

Maybankard 2 Platinum:
- M2 Amex earns 5X TreatsPoints (might very likely be offset by high admin charges by Amex)
- M2 Amex earns additional 5% cashback on weekends (max RM50 per month)
- M2 Visa/MC generally offers good forex rate which in turns translate to greater savings
- No access to any lounge

SCB Business Platinum Visa:
- Triple Choice Points for overseas spending (which implies to 1.5% cashback)
- Unlimited access to KLIA Plaza Premium Lounge
- 0.5% uncapped cashback on all purchases except petrol

For groceries purpose, you ought to get OCBC Titanium Mastercard to earn 5% cashback everyday (also subject to max RM50 per month). Please refer to OCBC Titanium thread for the list of 5% merchants compiled by forummers here.
cybermaster98
post Mar 21 2011, 08:07 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 21 2011, 12:09 AM)

HSBC - have you won anything with it? I haven't. And they have stupid contest requiring us to sms.
Well ive received 2 cashbacks from HSBC for purchases after signing up for the sms. Total ive received is about RM 220.
chemistry
post Mar 21 2011, 11:18 AM

3,065 posts

Gen-X don't like non-guaranteed cashback promotion. LOL.
All of us want a confirmed answer, something like "Spend RMXXXX and get rewarded by X% cashback, no strings attached, guaranteed cashback".
gerrardling
post Mar 21 2011, 11:30 AM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

amex got their guaranteed cashback promotion also but lots of ppl complained they didnt get the cashback they deserved.

chemistry
post Mar 21 2011, 11:41 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Mar 21 2011, 11:30 AM)
amex got their guaranteed cashback promotion also but lots of ppl complained they didnt get the cashback they deserved.
Do you mean the 15% cashback? No it is not guaranteed. In my opinion, "first-come-first-serve" cashback payout cannot be deemed as guaranteed. The cardmembers totally have no idea when the total cashback is exhausted. By the time Amex made announcement, most of the time it is a delayed announcement.

This post has been edited by chemistry: Mar 21 2011, 11:42 AM
kochin
post Mar 21 2011, 11:53 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

is the citibank premier card worth having.
any implications if i constantly accept their cards and cancelling within the next few months or so?
thanks.
chemistry
post Mar 21 2011, 12:11 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Mar 21 2011, 11:53 AM)
is the citibank premier card worth having.
any implications if i constantly accept their cards and cancelling within the next few months or so?
thanks.
if u earn >36k per annum, you may hold as may cards as you like.
Speaking of "worth" or not, it depends "do you need it or not".
kochin
post Mar 21 2011, 12:15 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 21 2011, 12:11 PM)
if u earn >36k per annum, you may hold as may cards as you like.
Speaking of "worth" or not, it depends "do you need it or not".
the agent pester me into getting it free. comes with free cabin bag.
no rm50 gst.
ask me to cancel within a year if i really dun want it.
did this too to other cards/banks i think 2 or 3 times many years ago.
dunno got problem in future or not.
come to think of it, i think did it 2-3 times only to citibank since they always call me.
lol

chemistry
post Mar 21 2011, 12:37 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Mar 21 2011, 12:15 PM)
the agent pester me into getting it free. comes with free cabin bag.
no rm50 gst.
ask me to cancel within a year if i really dun want it.
The bolded part , you really need to have it clarified. Ask them to produce black & white statement, otherwise ignore the offer.

Too many come in here complain about being hoaxed by "NO GST charged" but in fact it is caused by their own negligence and greed.
TSGen-X
post Mar 21 2011, 12:42 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 21 2011, 08:07 AM)
Well ive received 2 cashbacks from HSBC for purchases after signing up for the sms. Total ive received is about RM 220.
then I guess the card good for you. But you go do the math and compare how much you spent with HSBC to get the RM220 plus the worth of your redemption and compare them to what you'll get with MBB 5X TP. If HSBC better, then I guess no point for you to get the MBB Dua. Just to point out, you mentioned you got 640,000 and if those points were earned with HSBC 1X then with MBB you would have >3,000,000 Treats Points drool.gif

QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 21 2011, 11:18 AM)
Gen-X don't like non-guaranteed cashback promotion. LOL.
hahaha, you know me so well
cybermaster98
post Mar 21 2011, 01:33 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 21 2011, 12:42 PM)
then I guess the card good for you. But you go do the math and compare how much you spent with HSBC to get the RM220 plus the worth of your redemption and compare them to what you'll get with MBB 5X TP. If HSBC better, then I guess no point for you to get the MBB Dua. Just to point out, you mentioned you got 640,000 and if those points were earned with HSBC 1X then with MBB you would have >3,000,000 Treats Points  drool.gif
Yes true. But the 5X points are only for certain merchants rite? Even Citibank has the same 2X reward points for Platinum but for certain merchants only.

chemistry
post Mar 21 2011, 02:01 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 21 2011, 01:33 PM)
Yes true. But the 5X points are only for certain merchants rite? Even Citibank has the same 2X reward points for Platinum but for certain merchants only.
With Maybankard 2 Amex, you get to earn 5X TreatsPoints on any time, any thing, any place.

124 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:53 PM