124 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Recommendation for Credit Cards V1, TQ to contributors ! (From MOD)

Kimichi
post Mar 18 2011, 03:23 PM

140 posts

TS pls help recommend me a CC. I mostly interest to use it for overseas shopping.
already work for 1 year.

1. Annual Income: RM18K to RM30K (specific ; 27000++)

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: No.

3. Card required for: Petrol, Education, Cash Back/Rebate Only, Overseas Transactions

4. Existing credit cards if any:Nil.

5. Looking at CC from: any

6. Others: I only want to pay amount due with my M2U online savings account and have good reward point

thanks in advance notworthy.gif
kidmad
post Mar 18 2011, 03:34 PM

4,482 posts

Guys, i need some help here, what bank would be able to provide me a credit card asap if i apply by today or tomorrow or monday? I need the credit card to be available before 8th April as i would need it before i'm going to US for a business trip.

1. Annual Income: 60 - 100k?

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: No

3. Card required for: Overseas Transactions

4. Existing credit cards if any: Maybank Visa

5. Looking at CC from: anywhere in Klang Valley

6. Others: I need the credit card to be available before 8th April as i would need it before i'm going to US for a business trip

This post has been edited by kidmad: Mar 18 2011, 03:39 PM
97th Mobile
post Mar 18 2011, 05:12 PM

32 posts

1. Annual Income: Above RM30k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must

3. Card required for: Petrol, AirMiles, Overseas Transactions, Free LCCT and KLIA Lounge Access, Online Shopping, Discount at airport duty free and other free perks.

4. Existing credit cards if any: Maybank Visa Classic.

5. Looking at CC from: CIMB.

icon_question.gif
alexwsk
post Mar 18 2011, 05:39 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(Kimichi @ Mar 18 2011, 03:23 PM)
TS pls help recommend me a CC. I mostly interest to use it for overseas shopping.
already work for 1 year.

3. Card required for: Petrol, Education, Cash Back/Rebate Only, Overseas Transactions

6. Others: I only want to pay amount due with my M2U online savings account and have good reward point

thanks in advance  notworthy.gif
TRY for maybankard2 gold (min income 30k), if that doesn't work, the next best card will be Public bank esso mobil visa (min income 24k)

since BNM released a set of new guidelines, min income for many cards might be review

Added on March 18, 2011, 5:44 pm
QUOTE(97th Mobile @ Mar 18 2011, 05:12 PM)

3. Card required for: Petrol, AirMiles, Overseas Transactions, Free LCCT and KLIA Lounge Access, Online Shopping, Discount at airport duty free and other free perks.

icon_question.gif
if ur annual income >= 100k, try CIMB visa signature, but none of cimb cards can match all ur requirements

Added on March 18, 2011, 5:47 pm
QUOTE(kidmad @ Mar 18 2011, 03:34 PM)
Guys, i need some help here, what bank would be able to provide me a credit card asap if i apply by today or tomorrow or monday? I need the credit card to be available before 8th April as i would need it before i'm going to US for a business trip.

6. Others: I need the credit card to be available before 8th April as i would need it before i'm going to US for a business trip
since u need it urgently, u will need to walk in to credit card centre to apply
maybank, cimb and citi cc centre has instant approval if not mistaken
on which card is the best for overseas, i'll let those frequent travellers to answer

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Mar 18 2011, 05:47 PM
chemistry
post Mar 18 2011, 07:48 PM

3,064 posts

MBB's non-Amex cards have the most competitive forex rate for foreign trxn. Perhaps you should just stick to your MBB Visa.

However, if your company is reimbursing all your expenses (including credit card admin charge), Maybankard 2 Amex's 5X TreatsPoint is very attractive. Quickly walk in Maybank Card Centre for faster action.

Other suggestion would be Standard Chartered's Business Visa Platinum which gives TRIPLE choice points for foreign trxn and an uncapped 0.5% cashback.

Added on March 18, 2011, 8:02 pm
Cards that earn AirMiles and grant access to LCCT Lounge usually are premium cards and have high income requirement.

For Airport Duty Free promo, CIMB premier cards (at least Visa Signature) has got 15% discount for purchases made in Eraman Duty Free Shop.

I'm afraid no cards match your conditions.

This post has been edited by chemistry: Mar 18 2011, 08:02 PM
TSGen-X
post Mar 18 2011, 09:20 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(joe_jelangkung @ Mar 18 2011, 02:14 AM)
hello there. i'm looking for cc. i hd just started working at gov sector. i'm considering to apply for cc. below is the detail.

1. Annual Income: RM20400

3. Card required for: buy airline ticket, online transactions, petrol, shopping goods, bills

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil.

5. Looking at CC from: MBB

6. Others: -

thanx
Look like you got to wait for your increment before you can apply for a CC now that the minimum income is RM24K. I guess you wait a few months and see what the banks will offer.

In the meantime, go look at Debit cards by Public Bank where they do give cash rebate for petrol

QUOTE(Kimichi @ Mar 18 2011, 03:23 PM)
already work for 1 year.

thanks in advanceĀ  notworthy.gif
Try Maybankard 2 Cards.

kidmad: alexwsk have told you answer where you may get immediate cards. CIMB you may get their Visa Signature same day.

Click here to see Contact Numbers of card issuers at my blog. Call Citiabank and Maybank CS and ask if they can issue you card on the spot.

For CIMB call their Sunway card centre number - 03-56316979 and ask what documents you need for 1 day approval. If you prefer to do it at Pavilion, call this number and ask for Pavilion contact number and liaise with the staff there.

Click here to my blog to see overseas transaction conversion rates.

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Mar 18 2011, 05:39 PM)
since u need it urgently, u will need to walk in to credit card centre to apply
maybank, cimb and citi cc centre has instant approval if not mistaken
on which card is the best for overseas, i'll let those frequent travellers to answer

icon_question.gif
Wah, with RM30K you want Petrol, Air Miles, Free LCCT and KLIA, discount on duty free and free perks. Sorry lah, no such card for you. If you revise your salary to RM48K above maybe got such a card.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 18 2011, 09:40 PM
tyj82
post Mar 18 2011, 09:36 PM

LYN Freak
1,047 posts

1. Annual Income: Above RM 40K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must. Free the RM 50 Gov charge too

3. Card required for: Airasia or other budget airline. Alot of shopping. Dining. MYR - USD alot.

4. Existing credit cards if any: None.

5. Looking at CC from: Preferred Maybank, Citi, HSBC
TSGen-X
post Mar 18 2011, 09:44 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tyj82 @ Mar 18 2011, 09:36 PM)

3. Card required for: Airasia or other budget airline. Alot of shopping. Dining. MYR - USD alot.

Only card giving auto waive on RM50GST is OCBC. If you want Maybank then go for Maybankard 2 where MBB do have the lowest conversion rate. click the link in above post where I posted link to my blog on overseas conversion. Most budget airline nowadays accept Amex too including AirAsia.

kidmad
post Mar 18 2011, 09:48 PM

4,482 posts

Guys! thank you very much! Unfortunately my MBB is tied with some installments so it might not be enough. Just preparing a spare just incase i dont have enough to pay for the hotel. 14 days hotel would not be cheap! terima kasih all. Let me go check it out. thank you.
TSGen-X
post Mar 18 2011, 09:51 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Mar 18 2011, 09:48 PM)
Guys! thank you very much! Unfortunately my MBB is tied with some installments so it might not be enough. Just preparing a spare just incase i dont have enough to pay for the hotel. 14 days hotel would not be cheap! terima kasih all. Let me go check it out. thank you.
you have another option, call MBB CS tell them you going overseas and need RMXXX to cover hotel expenses and see if they can grant you temporary CL increase.
chemistry
post Mar 18 2011, 09:54 PM

3,064 posts

QUOTE(tyj82 @ Mar 18 2011, 09:36 PM)
You are eligible to apply OCBC Titanium Mastercard.
Twelve (12) swipes in a year to get annual fee waiver.
Spend RM10k and get automatical full reimbursement on GST for next anniversary year.
xander
post Mar 18 2011, 11:11 PM

Finally
836 posts

1. Annual Income: Above RM 35000 (might revised to above 40k soon)

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must. Free the RM 50 Gov charge too is possible

3. Card required for: Shopping

4. Existing credit cards if any: Maybank Ikhlwan Amex, CIMB Direct Access Mastercard, RHB Classic Visa

5. Looking at CC from: Preferred Citi, HSBC

i just read the new bnm rule and wonder what's the impact for me if my cards are currently tied as as below

CIMB Direct Access - to Digi for 24 monthsm left ard 12 months to go
RHB Classic Visa - to another merchant with a 24 months of 6k ezy payment
TSGen-X
post Mar 18 2011, 11:50 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(xander @ Mar 18 2011, 11:11 PM)
1. Annual Income: Above RM 35000 (might revised to above 40k soon)

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must. Free the RM 50 Gov charge too is possible

3. Card required for: Shopping

4. Existing credit cards if any: Maybank Ikhlwan Amex, CIMB Direct Access Mastercard, RHB Classic Visa

5. Looking at CC from: Preferred Citi, HSBC

i just read the new bnm rule and wonder what's the impact for me if my cards are currently tied as as below

CIMB Direct Access - to Digi for 24 monthsm left ard 12 months to go
RHB Classic Visa - to another merchant with a 24 months of 6k ezy payment
hi xander, long time no see. For your case if you want GST waiver then go for OCBC Titanium MasterCard but shopping not much benefit, dining you do get 5% cash back. But you are right in away, for shopping, many places do get discount with HSBC (got free annual fee with 12 swipes) and Citibank. But Citibank do not meet your requirement as it does not have auto waiver for annual fee, you got to request.

Talking about HSBC and Citibank, last year at Baskin Robins, HSBC got discount but now no more but Citibank do get discount now. go check out HSBC and Citibank website to see if they offer you discount at places you shop. If no, look into Maybankard 2 cards where you do get 5% cash back on weekends and 5X TP everyday for you shopping with Maybankard 2 Amex and that is if the places you go to accept AMEX.
97th Mobile
post Mar 19 2011, 12:38 AM

32 posts

Thanks alexwsk and chemistry for your replies.

Hi Gen-X, let me try again below -

1. Annual Income: RM 84k ~ RM 100k (Not Constant cause own business)

3. Card required for: Petrol, AirMiles, Overseas Transactions, Free LCCT and KLIA Lounge Access, Online Shopping, Discount at airport duty free and other free perks if available.

4. Existing credit cards if any: Maybank Visa Classic (Limit RM 52K)

5. Looking at CC from: Any Banks

I do not need to have all the above mention requirements, just the best available card that is best suited for the above mention requirements.

TQ
chemistry
post Mar 19 2011, 01:08 AM

3,064 posts

QUOTE(97th Mobile @ Mar 19 2011, 12:38 AM)

3. Card required for: Petrol, AirMiles, Overseas Transactions, Free LCCT and KLIA Lounge Access, Online Shopping, Discount at airport duty free and other free perks if available.

I do not need to have all the above mention requirements, just the best available card that is best suited for the above mention requirements.
You may want to try:
1. CITIBANK PREMIERMILES
- Earn AirMiles
- Free 12 visits to KLIA Plaza Premium Lounge
- Free 2 visits to PriorityPass Airport Lounges around the world

2. CIMB ENRICH GOLD
- Earn EnrichMiles (for MAS, RM1 = 1 Enrich Mile ; for overseas spending, RM4 = 2 Enrich Mile)
- Spend RM50k in a year to get 100% annual fee waiver.

3. Alliance Premier Debit Card
- For access to KLIA and LCCT Plaza Premium Lounge

For petrol trxn, you definitely have to go for Maybankard 2 Amex thumbup.gif
TSGen-X
post Mar 19 2011, 08:43 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(97th Mobile @ Mar 19 2011, 12:38 AM)

TQ
Ok, with MBB 52K CL, you can qualify for most cards.

My opinion is that for your needs, you need a combination of cards:

Citibank Premier Miles for AirMiles and Airport Lounge Access as mentioned by chemistry. BUT this card do not meet your requirement for auto Free Annual Fee. I think most AirMiles card with Free Access to Airport Lounge do not come with Free Annual Fee, anyone can confirm this?

Free for Life - CIMB Visa Signature or World Master Card to get 15% discount for liquor and chocolates at Eraman KLIA (fags no discount). Like kidmad case: call CIMB Sunway card centre number - 03-56316979 and ask what documents you need for 1 day approval and do tell them you got MBB card with RM52K CL because if you have HSBC or SCB with CL >RM40K they might just approve you based on CL and no need proof of income. If you prefer to do it at Pavilion, call this number and ask for Pavilion contact number and liaise with the staff there. Please do report back and let me know if they accept your CL of RM52K for auto approval so we can share with others. Also note you must be buying stuff worth more than RM333 just to offset the RM50GST with the 15% discount.

For Petrol, go apply Free For Life Maybankard 2 Platinum Cards so that you get points and cash back for Petrol with the Amex Card. The MBB 2 Visa/MC will have the same lowest overseas transaction rate like your existing MBB CC, good for online overseas transactions. After approval of MBB 2, cancel your Maybank Classic Card.

For latest info on access to LCCT and KLIA lounge please go to http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1791878

and also link below to my blog and see chart on which cards are free.
http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...ium-lounge.html

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 19 2011, 08:44 AM
SUSFall guy
post Mar 19 2011, 11:00 AM

123 posts

With the new ruling, it changes everything.
TSGen-X
post Mar 19 2011, 11:12 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Fall guy @ Mar 19 2011, 11:00 AM)
With the new ruling, it changes everything.
Not really, those earning RM36K and above no diff.
littleprawn
post Mar 19 2011, 12:24 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

1. Annual Income: RM18k - 30k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Must~

3. Card required for: Cash Rebate. Accepted at most stores local & overseas. Online transaction~

4. Existing credit cards if any: None~

5. Looking at CC from: Anything~

6. Others: None

Thanks in advance~ biggrin.gif
singdreams
post Mar 19 2011, 01:00 PM

Dead
1,364 posts

1. Annual Income:24000 ( age barely 20

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Must

3. Card required for: Petrol, tolls and air ticket

4. Existing credit cards if any: none