124 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Recommendation for Credit Cards V1, TQ to contributors ! (From MOD)

TSGen-X
post May 15 2011, 03:48 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(starlight @ May 14 2011, 12:59 PM)
1.Annual Income : Rm25k (does annual income counted after or before -epf?)
2.Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A must
3.Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate ,Dont Know
4.Nil
5.No idea, maybe Maybank? (i dont have maybank account though)
6.Others: To get more rebates on petrol and shopping stuff,including groceries if it can?
8.Estimatede spending: Less than 1k
starlight, please read previous post as many similar to your case. Annual income = gross income i.e. before deduction of EPF. If your gross income close to RM30K, go apply Maybankard 2 Gold Cards. Else for petrol you can consider UOB OneCard for BHP where it also gives you 2% for groceries.

QUOTE(boo82 @ May 14 2011, 05:58 PM)
guys, just curious..
i have 2 maybank cards. 1 is petronas credit card and 2nd is the AMEX charge card (from MBB).
i plan to apply the maybank2card and cancel the above cards. Can i bring the points over (treatpoints and AMEX points)?
For MBB card with Treats Points YES, For Membership Reward points NO.

QUOTE(tanch78 @ May 14 2011, 09:55 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM100K and above.
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Preferable.
3. Card required for: Mainly for overseas spending, air tickets.
4. Existing credit cards if any: SCB Business Platinum (Normally annual fee & GST will be waived by bank. Reward points was offered to offset GST), CIMB Plat Master and applying for Maybank2card now.
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Nope
6. Others: I want cash back/rebate with reward points.
7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: at least RM50K and above PER ANNUM.
You already on the right track on applying for MBB 2 Cards. RM50K spending a year with MBB 2 AMEX = 250,000 Treats Points drool.gif and that is not inclusive of RM600 max cash back.
Click here to read more on overseas spending.

QUOTE(ssangyongs @ May 15 2011, 02:59 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM 40k before tax and EPF
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: MUST
3. Card required for: AD-HOC hotel payment, and maybe buy some stuff but i need a credit card record so it will be easier to make housing loan from bank. i mean, if they wanna check my payment record. so far no hutang yet...
4. Existing credit cards if any: None but i got two Debit cards, haha
5. Preferred Bank : considering the maybank 2 cards
6. Others: Careful spender, rarely spend on something unnecessary
7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: less than 1k.
You already know what you want. Good. Apply for Maybankard 2 Cards and you be rewarded most for less than RM1K spending.
yorkhan
post May 15 2011, 05:52 PM

598 posts

1. Annual Income: RM60k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must

3. Card required for: Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate Only, Overseas Transactions, Free KLIA Lounge Access

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil.

5. Looking at CC from: cimb or ocbc

6. Others: Careful spender, rarely spend on something unnecessary. But annual oversea travel spending.

This post has been edited by yorkhan: May 15 2011, 05:55 PM
TSGen-X
post May 15 2011, 06:13 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(yorkhan @ May 15 2011, 05:52 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM60k
3. Card required for: Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate Only, Overseas Transactions, Free KLIA Lounge Access
4. Existing credit cards if any:  Nil.
5. Looking at CC from: cimb or ocbc
6. Others: Careful spender, rarely spend on something unnecessary. But annual oversea travel spending.
For KLIA Lounge, unless you get the CIMB Visa Signature you get forget about free access to KLIA Lounge.

For spending less than RM1K, get OCBC Titanum MasterCard or Maybankard 2 Cards or both. But both also don't give you free entry to KLIA PPL. OCBC good for you monthly expenses but when you go overseas you may not earn anything from it except having the convenient of a credit card. Forget about OCBC Gold Card as the cash back is pathetic.

Click here to read my article on OCBC Titanium MasterCard. This article also have a table comparing the cash back with other cards like HLB Essential and Citibank Platinum Cash Back. Then at the end of this post, click the link to Maybankard 2 cards for comparison.

Most cards that grant you access to airport lounge DO NOT give free access to KLIA Plaza Premium Lounge. Accept for Alliance Bank Platinum Card but you won't be getting much in returns with RM1K spending. You may click here to read my article on Credit Card access to KLIA Plaza Premium Lounge.

Please also go to Petrol and Airport Lounge Thread - click here to Airport Lounge Thread. and click here to read more on pumping petrol with credit cards.

saw2001
post May 15 2011, 06:41 PM

Chelsea Chelsea
1,192 posts

1. Annual Income: 26400

3. Card required for: Petrol Or anything worth it

4. Existing credit cards if any: Public Bank Classic/ Mobil

5. Looking at CC from: Citibank / Rhb / UOB

TSGen-X
post May 15 2011, 07:45 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(saw2001 @ May 15 2011, 06:41 PM)
1. Annual Income: 26400
3. Card required for: Petrol Or anything worth it
4. Existing credit cards if any: Public Bank Classic/ Mobil
5. Looking at CC from: Citibank / Rhb / UOB
Please also read previous post for income less than RM30K.
Citibank you get nothing for Petrol unless you get their Platinum Cash Back Annual Income Requirement RM48K and no free annual fee.

So your case - UOB Once Card or RHB Travel Money where you do get something for petrol. But I would think UOB Once Card better. However, I recommend that you apply for Maybankard 2 Card first and see how, if they reject your application, then only consider UOB.
starlight
post May 15 2011, 11:17 PM

531 posts

the maybankard 2 gold has 2% rebate on fuel and groceries throughout the year?
TSGen-X
post May 16 2011, 01:34 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(starlight @ May 15 2011, 11:17 PM)
the maybankard 2 gold has 2% rebate on fuel and groceries throughout the year?
The Maybankard 2 cards reward you with 5X Treats Points every day which works out to be approximately 2.5% when you redeem the points for vouchers. Can be more too. AND on weekends, it rewards you EXTRA 5% cash back. So total cash back comes out to be approximately 7.5% on weekends for petrol or anything else. Pump at ESSO, you get another 1.5% cash back from them giving you total of approximately 9% cash back for pumping petrol at ESSO. Go read Petrol Thread.
tanch78
post May 16 2011, 02:59 AM

712 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ May 15 2011, 03:48 PM)
You already on the right track on applying for MBB 2 Cards. RM50K spending a year with MBB 2 AMEX = 250,000 Treats Points  drool.gif and that is not inclusive of RM600 max cash back.
@ Gen-X,

Thanks for your input. It seems that MBB2 crads (especially AMEX) is the best option that gives me the most cash back and reward points.

Btw, foreign conversion rate is not really a concern to me as all my expenses will be reimbured by my company!!! brows.gif
TSGen-X
post May 16 2011, 08:02 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tanch78 @ May 16 2011, 02:59 AM)
Btw, foreign conversion rate is not really a concern to me as all my expenses will be reimbured by my company!!!  brows.gif
You would be concerned IF you owned the company tongue.gif
ahpingko
post May 16 2011, 08:58 AM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

1. Annual Income:RM36K to RM48K

3. Card required for: Cash Back/Rebate Only and some entertainment

4. Existing credit cards if any: Maybank Islamic Petronas Visa ( supplementary from mum tongue.gif )

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: i am interested in Citibank

6. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K or RM1K

any recommendation?..i like to eat around...heard citibank got alot discount on restaurants/cafe..and got free tickets for TGV..is that true?..i am currently looking at citibank choice...anyone using this?..any good or bad about citibank cards?
TSGen-X
post May 16 2011, 09:41 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ May 16 2011, 08:58 AM)
1. Annual Income:RM36K to RM48K
3. Card required for: Cash Back/Rebate Only and some entertainment
4. Existing credit cards if any: Maybank Islamic Petronas Visa ( supplementary from mum tongue.gif )
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: i am interested in Citibank
6. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K or RM1K
any recommendation?..i like to eat around...heard citibank got alot discount on restaurants/cafe..and got free tickets for TGV..is that true?..i am currently looking at citibank choice...anyone using this?..any good or bad about citibank cards?
Go to Citibank website to check out places they offer discount for dining. Look into Citibank Clear Card where it does give FREE 1 for 1 drinks at Coffee Bean and movie tickets. Choice Card? I don't think you will benefit much from it with RM1K spending a month, maybe just enough to cover GST.

With RM1K/month spending, you should consider OCBC Titanium MasterCard.
ahpingko
post May 16 2011, 01:36 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ May 16 2011, 09:41 AM)
Go to Citibank website to check out places they offer discount for dining. Look into Citibank Clear Card where it does give FREE 1 for 1 drinks at Coffee Bean and movie tickets. Choice Card? I don't think you will benefit much from it with RM1K spending a month, maybe just enough to cover GST.

With RM1K/month spending, you should consider OCBC Titanium MasterCard.
I think i would like to apply for that Clear Citibank card instead of Choice...it is obviously suit me more...with TGV movie tickets and Coffee Bean FOC 1-1..

for OCBC Titanium, i didnt see any attractive points for me beside slight discount/rebate..

how about Credit limits for Clear Citibank card?..i saw its minimum requirement to apply quite low..will the credit limits low as well?..and can it be used for getting easy payment such as 0% installment plan?
starlight
post May 16 2011, 06:10 PM

531 posts

so in weekend if i buy let say ipadwith it,i get 5% out of 1.5k back? thats rm75 . got limit on how much i can get back?
TSGen-X
post May 16 2011, 06:15 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ May 16 2011, 01:36 PM)
how about Credit limits for Clear Citibank card?..i saw its minimum requirement to apply quite low..will the credit limits low as well?..and can it be used for getting easy payment such as 0% installment plan?
Please read 1st post of this read in regards to credit limit. There is also a link there for you to read, if you free, titled Malaysia Credit Card Annual Income Requirement and Credit Limit.

QUOTE(starlight @ May 16 2011, 06:10 PM)
so in weekend if i buy let say ipadwith it,i get 5% out of 1.5k back? thats rm75 . got limit on how much i can get back?
cash back on weekends is capped at RM50 per month. But you still enjoy 5X TP. For further questions, please go to Maybankard 2 Cards Thread.
starlight
post May 16 2011, 11:22 PM

531 posts

how much is the fee for credit card , the maybankard , theres 2 type of card? which one to apply
eowsp
post May 20 2011, 04:50 PM

Dear Mr Gen-X,

Please advise.

1. Annual Income: RM48 to RM60K

3. Card required for: Petrol, Cash back only

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Not sure

6. Others: I will use my credit card mainly for petrol. I also love fine food, shopping and occasional movies in cinema. I also love internet shopping such as buying air ticket from AA or MAS.

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K

alexwsk
post May 20 2011, 06:36 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(eowsp @ May 20 2011, 04:50 PM)
Dear Mr Gen-X,

Please advise.

1. Annual Income:  RM48 to RM60K

6. Others:  I will use my credit card mainly for petrol. I also love fine food, shopping and occasional movies in cinema. I also love internet shopping such as buying air ticket from AA or MAS.

choose either one of OCBC Titanium or Maybankards 2 Platinum
if u are from KL area, i would prefer M2 more, as AMEX acceptance is generally ok there
TSGen-X
post May 20 2011, 08:14 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(eowsp @ May 20 2011, 04:50 PM)
Dear Mr Gen-X,
Please advise.
1. Annual Income:  RM48 to RM60K
6. Others:  I will use my credit card mainly for petrol. I also love fine food, shopping and occasional movies in cinema. I also love internet shopping such as buying air ticket from AA or MAS.
like alexwsk said, OCBC and or Maybankard 2 Cards.

However, if mainly for Petrol, OCBC Titanium MasterCard as you get 5% everyday at ALL petrol stations. Also you get 5% cash rebate for food everyday. Fine dining is subjective as it depends on where you go, if a particular restaurant you frequent often offer discount with a certain card, then go get that card. Also not all restaurants accept AMEX.

For AA and MAS, Maybankard 2 Cards reward you with 5X reward points which is equivalent to about 2.5% returns as compared to OCBC 1%.

So you you do spend like close to RM1K per month, then I suppose get both OCBC and MBB 2 cards. So on certain months yo do spend above RM1K, you will not loose out.
You see, with just spending of RM2K with MBB 2 Card, you will get 10,000 points to offset GST OR by spending RM1K on a weekends in a month, you also in ADDITION to 5X reward points you also earn RM50 which also offset RM50 GST. Also with MBB 2 cards, get the Platinum card and you will get Travel Insurance when you purchase your air ticket with it.
Peisqo
post May 23 2011, 03:36 AM

5 Star Member !!
900 posts

Dear sifus ... I'm currently holding a Standard chartered VISA ... looking forward to get a 2nd Mastercard ...

1. Annual Income: RM36K to RM48K

3. Card required for: Mostly outstation transaction. Hotel, car rental, etc.

4. Existing credit cards if any: Standard Chartered Visa (a sub card)

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: None

6. Others: This is just a secondary card. Will most probably use this when my primary card doesn't work. I travel alot overseas for my job

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Either I don't use at all, or if I use it's gonna be more than 5k probably ...
TSGen-X
post May 23 2011, 08:21 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Peisqo @ May 23 2011, 03:36 AM)
Dear sifus ... I'm currently holding a Standard chartered VISA ... looking forward to get a 2nd Mastercard ...
1. Annual Income: RM36K to RM48K
3. Card required for: Mostly outstation transaction. Hotel, car rental, etc.
4. Existing credit cards if any: Standard Chartered Visa (a sub card)
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: None
6. Others: This is just a secondary card. Will most probably use this when my primary card doesn't work. I travel alot overseas for my job
7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Either I don't use at all, or if I use it's gonna be more than 5k probably ...
Maybankard 2 Cards = you not only get 1 card as standby but 2 cards tongue.gif If the place you frequent accept AMEX, with Maybankard 2 Amex, you get 5X Treats Points thumbup.gif Click here to read my article on Maybankard 2 Cards.

Furthermore, your existing card is a sub card, you should get a principal card yourself as next year they'll be sending you sms for every transactions. You don't want your principal card holder to receive an sms eveytime you use the sub card outstation, would you?
Click here to read my artilce on fraudulant charges with credit card.

124 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0244sec    0.99    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:03 AM