124 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V11, The Darth Vader troops !

Calvin Pixels
post Aug 11 2011, 02:59 AM

154 posts

Hi sifu(s) I'm back after a long break smile.gif Heres some goodies I took with my D5100 + 35mm f/1.8

Army of Nokia N9 @ Nokia N9 Preview by CalvinPixels, on Flickr

Simplicity @ Nokia N9 Preview by CalvinPixels, on Flickr

ikki9394
post Aug 11 2011, 03:48 AM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Pixels @ Aug 11 2011, 02:59 AM)
Hi sifu(s) I'm back after a long break smile.gif Heres some goodies I took with my D5100 + 35mm f/1.8

Hey Calvin,

Im a newbie here trying to make a decision which nikon to buy as an entry level. As I saw u were using D5100 so just wanna ask some comment from u as u've practically use it be4. Have u ever tried compare it with D7000 and Canon 60D? Cuz im trying to make a decision between these 3.
Reason for these 3...

D90 w/ 18-105mm VR: Suggested by friend
D7000: Recommendation from http://snapsort.com/just-tell-me/recommend...-less-than-1490
D5100: The flick screen advantage (was looking at the Canon 60D as well)

This post has been edited by ikki9394: Aug 11 2011, 03:49 AM
Calvin Pixels
post Aug 11 2011, 04:12 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Aug 11 2011, 03:48 AM)
Hey Calvin,

Im a newbie here trying to make a decision which nikon to buy as an entry level. As I saw u were using D5100 so just wanna ask some comment from u as u've practically use it be4. Have u ever tried compare it with D7000 and Canon 60D? Cuz im trying to make a decision between these 3.
Reason for these 3...

D90 w/ 18-105mm VR: Suggested by friend
D7000: Recommendation from http://snapsort.com/just-tell-me/recommend...-less-than-1490
D5100: The flick screen advantage (was looking at the Canon 60D as well)
From my experience using my friends D7000 in cosplay event and sports I feel I have more control due to many Af points which helps in tracking subject help alot and u're able to burst picture at 6fps, This are some key features not included in my humble D5100 which is good for tight situations.

As far as Canon 60D (which my girl is using) it perform well at outdoor portrait, combo-ed with 50mm or 85mm lens (maybe i havent set a proper in camera settings which my picture ends up dull) but when it come to indoor, dark area or low light, Nikon's iso performance can beat it anytime smile.gif, less Af points and the menu is not user friendly

Being using my D5100 for a while now, mainly on portrait and video. I would say getting the right lens is important as I have friend using D3000 with 50mm f/1.8G lens and his picture are able to match with mine(in controlled environment). I would say if u plan to go full frame in the future get d5100 or canon60d and invest on lens. If u plan to make this as a long term hobby and don't plan to upgrade dslr body i recommend getting d7000.

Do get opinion from others too as I'm still learning photography and the gears with it

This post has been edited by Calvin Pixels: Aug 11 2011, 04:14 AM
eugene88
post Aug 11 2011, 06:05 AM

2,176 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 11 2011, 12:10 AM)
What lens is that 105-200mm?
doh.gif  rolleyes.gif
Sry typo
18-200
ikki9394
post Aug 11 2011, 06:35 AM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Pixels @ Aug 11 2011, 04:12 AM)
From my experience using my friends D7000 in cosplay event and sports I feel I have more control due to many Af points which helps in tracking subject help alot and u're able to burst picture at 6fps, This are some key features not included in my humble D5100 which is good for tight situations.

As far as Canon 60D (which my girl is using) it perform well at outdoor portrait, combo-ed with 50mm or 85mm lens (maybe i havent set a proper in camera settings which my picture ends up dull) but when it come to indoor, dark area or low light, Nikon's iso performance can beat it anytime smile.gif, less Af points and the menu is not user friendly

Being using my D5100 for a while now, mainly on portrait and video. I would say getting the right lens is important as I have friend using D3000 with 50mm f/1.8G lens and his picture are able to match with mine(in controlled environment). I would say if u plan to go full frame in the future get d5100 or canon60d and invest on lens. If u plan to make this as a long term hobby and don't plan to upgrade dslr body i recommend getting d7000.

Do get opinion from others too as I'm still learning photography and the gears with it
Think I'll still prefer D7000. As for lens, i wanted a all-rounder and more into zoom as I prefer not to keep changing my lens.
I've been looking at either

18-105mm VR so much cheaper...
or
18-200mm VRII but this is so exp... Does the price worth the lens?

Meantime if I've got spare cash I might get a 50mm f/2.8 for indoor low light shots

Other sifus plss give me some advise as well thx!

This post has been edited by ikki9394: Aug 11 2011, 07:05 AM
MichaelJohn
post Aug 11 2011, 06:52 AM

Pan Paka Pan <3
2,514 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Aug 11 2011, 06:35 AM)
Think I'll still prefer 7000D. As for lens, i wanted a all-rounder and more into zoom as I prefer not to keep changing my lens.
I've been looking at either

18-105mm VR so much cheaper...
or
18-200mm VRII but this is so exp... Does the price worth the lens?

Meantime if I've got spare cash I might get a 50mm f/2.8 for indoor low light shots

Other sifus plss give me some advise as well thx!
7000D ?
When did Canon brought out this? sweat.gif

IMO , I have 18-105 , serves me good , but not good enough when your taking shots of around >50m+
Depend on what you wanna shoot , if you wanna get a large aperture lens for your indoor , go with a 50mm or a 35mm.
I mostly do outside photography , so a 18-200 would be a great investment for me.

ikki9394
post Aug 11 2011, 07:09 AM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(MichaelJohn @ Aug 11 2011, 06:52 AM)
7000D ?
When did Canon brought out this?  sweat.gif

IMO , I have 18-105 , serves me good , but not good enough when your taking shots of around  >50m+
Depend on what you wanna shoot , if you wanna get a large aperture lens for your indoor , go with a 50mm or a 35mm.
I mostly do outside photography , so a 18-200 would be a great investment for me.
Hehe sry for the typo error =P

Yes exactly... I prefer outdoor shooting and mostly telephoto and zoom shots. But i got some advise previously saying that Nikon 18-200mm VRII zoom max quality really bad thus no point getting it. I've no idea whether it is or it isnt as im very new to these and never try before myself... If thats true I'd rather go for 18-105mm VR.
So have to get more advise be4 I decide which lense to go...
hidden830726
post Aug 11 2011, 07:25 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Pixels @ Aug 11 2011, 04:12 AM)

D5100 also, agreed with you there,

To ikki9394,

Unless u want a light body or love to capture video, else, if budget allow, go for D7000, D5100 produce roughly the same picture quality as D7000 due to the same sensor, but with lesser ergonomic, lesser AF points as what Calvin mentioned.

And i agreed about the lens too, 50mm f/1.8G lens is definitely a good addition to D5100.

If you're new to DSLR, can opt for D5100 or D7000, depends to your budget or needs, but if you're not new, maybe you wanna wait for new launch by end of this month then only decide.
hidden830726
post Aug 11 2011, 07:27 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

DSC_2566.jpg by Stephan Chan, on Flickr

C&C please

This post has been edited by hidden830726: Aug 11 2011, 07:28 AM
ikki9394
post Aug 11 2011, 07:47 AM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Aug 11 2011, 07:25 AM)
D5100 also, agreed with you there,

To ikki9394,

Unless u want a light body or love to capture video, else, if budget allow, go for D7000, D5100 produce roughly the same picture quality as D7000 due to the same sensor, but with lesser ergonomic, lesser AF points as what Calvin mentioned.

And i agreed about the lens too, 50mm f/1.8G lens is definitely a good addition to D5100.

If you're new to DSLR, can opt for D5100 or D7000, depends to your budget or needs, but if you're not new, maybe you wanna wait for new launch by end of this month then only decide.
Currently my budget is less than A$2k. But a D7000+18-200mm VRII just add up to be 2.1k excluded bag, UV lens, cleaning kit etc.
Think I had made up my mind on D7000 as im not really into video capturing.
Issue now is whether to get 18-105mm or 18-200mm. As for the 50mm f/1.8G I will get it when I've got extra fund =)
end of this month? they gonna launch something new?

Agito666
post Aug 11 2011, 08:36 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Aug 11 2011, 07:27 AM)

C&C please
i feel dark hmm.gif

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Aug 11 2011, 07:47 AM)
Currently my budget is less than A$2k. But a D7000+18-200mm VRII just add up to be 2.1k excluded bag, UV lens, cleaning kit etc.
Think I had made up my mind on D7000 as im not really into video capturing.
Issue now is whether to get 18-105mm or 18-200mm. As for the 50mm f/1.8G I will get it when I've got extra fund =)
end of this month? they gonna launch something new?
what kind of zoom you prefered? can use leg zoom or not? if can use leg zoom then can get prime lens oledi xD
ikki9394
post Aug 11 2011, 08:42 AM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 11 2011, 08:36 AM)
what kind of zoom you prefered? can use leg zoom or not? if can use leg zoom then can get prime lens oledi xD
Plss excuse my poor knowledge on dslr... but what is leg zoom? Btw Never thought of getting a prime lens as my 1st entry lens...
Agito666
post Aug 11 2011, 08:51 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Aug 11 2011, 08:42 AM)
Plss excuse my poor knowledge on dslr... but what is leg zoom? Btw Never thought of getting a prime lens as my 1st entry lens...
depend what subject, if bird, or something you cant reach then had to use zoom lens, if some subject you "can just walk front and shot", you straight get prime lens can already tongue.gif
like shooting model ah moi, well sometimes you can just walk front instead hide behind and shoot. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Agito666: Aug 11 2011, 08:52 AM
ikki9394
post Aug 11 2011, 09:02 AM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 11 2011, 08:51 AM)
depend what subject, if bird, or something you cant reach then had to use zoom lens, if some subject you "can just walk front and shot", you straight get prime lens can already  tongue.gif
like shooting model ah moi, well sometimes you can just walk front instead hide behind and shoot.  laugh.gif
Ic... but i dun think im gonna get prime lens straight away...

Does any1 knows if the 18-200mm VRII worth it the price paying for?
Or just go for the 18-105mm VR?
four_add
post Aug 11 2011, 09:19 AM

Senior Lurker
842 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Aug 11 2011, 09:02 AM)
Ic... but i dun think im gonna get prime lens straight away...

Does any1 knows if the 18-200mm VRII worth it the price paying for?
Or just go for the 18-105mm VR?
18-200mm obviously has long reach.. its a great lens since it covers a lot of focal length.
has metal mount, more barrel distortions and less sharp than 18-105mm.. front lens also rotates and needs 77mm filter(AFAIK)

18-105mm is a kitlens has high MTF consistently except until at the long end(105mm). plastic mount and need 67mm(great if you're gonna buy the Tammy 17-50mm f2.8 in your next lens purchase) ..

So, if you're going for picture sharpness, details.. get 18-105 or better get the superior 16-85mm.. but if you want to have all in one lens, get the 18-200mm since its gives you more convenient.. no need to change lens for tele..

Mostly people would suggest you to get 18-200mm unsure.gif

for more info, read the reviews from photozone.de and user reviews at www.slrgear.com
ikki9394
post Aug 11 2011, 09:36 AM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(four_add @ Aug 11 2011, 09:19 AM)
18-200mm obviously has long reach.. its a great lens since it covers a lot of focal length.
has metal mount, more barrel distortions and less sharp than 18-105mm.. front lens also rotates and needs 77mm filter(AFAIK)

18-105mm is a kitlens has high MTF consistently except until at the long end(105mm). plastic mount and need 67mm(great if you're gonna buy the Tammy 17-50mm f2.8 in your next lens purchase) ..

So, if you're going for picture sharpness, details.. get 18-105 or better get the superior 16-85mm.. but if you want to have all in one lens, get the 18-200mm since its gives you more convenient.. no need to change lens for tele..

Mostly people would suggest you to get 18-200mm  unsure.gif

for more info, read the reviews from photozone.de and user reviews at www.slrgear.com
Very useful information TQ!
How far can 18-105mm shoot at a "acceptable/good" image quality?
celciuz
post Aug 11 2011, 09:38 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 11 2011, 08:51 AM)
depend what subject, if bird, or something you cant reach then had to use zoom lens, if some subject you "can just walk front and shot", you straight get prime lens can already  tongue.gif
like shooting model ah moi, well sometimes you can just walk front instead hide behind and shoot.  laugh.gif
I'm used to leg zoom tongue.gif. On primes you get consistent FOV. On zooms you get more variety.. Say 70mm versus 200mm.
Irbean
post Aug 11 2011, 10:01 AM

141 posts

any feedback for Nikkor 28-300mm F3.5-5.6? planning on geting this lens @ my d90. any comment or recommendation ?
Calvin Pixels
post Aug 11 2011, 10:25 AM

154 posts

Anyone know how to do this effect in lightroom 3?

I got Cosplay photoshoot soon sad.gif
four_add
post Aug 11 2011, 10:32 AM

Senior Lurker
842 posts

^err, vignetting ? laugh.gif the rest, I dont know..

124 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0319sec    1.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:44 AM