8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V11, The Darth Vader troops !

vearn27
post Aug 17 2011, 12:53 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 17 2011, 12:39 PM)
Post a photo then I can comment what can be done to improve it smile.gif Its hard when you mention that only lor...
What do you think about the skin tone of this?

vearn27
post Aug 17 2011, 08:14 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 17 2011, 01:03 PM)
always wonder about skin tone, but shouldnt ppl try to capture as accurately as possible the real skin tone?
why do u want to change natural yellow skin ppl to white?
Who are you referring to in your post? huh.gif

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 17 2011, 01:10 PM)
Looks fine but toning down the red channel would be excellent.

What did you use? Flash alone in tungsten lighting?
No flash being fired.
vearn27
post Aug 17 2011, 08:31 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 17 2011, 08:26 PM)
in general la.
i sense alot of butthurt in here tongue.gif
Not me, isn't? sweat.gif
vearn27
post Aug 20 2011, 11:52 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(eugene88 @ Aug 20 2011, 04:28 PM)
Battery grip for D7000 lor
I bought it at RM450 from Yannick few months ago.
vearn27
post Aug 21 2011, 06:01 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

What tripod you guys use that able to sustain the weight of 70-200 on a FF body? Any particular brand and model to recommend? unsure.gif
vearn27
post Aug 21 2011, 06:25 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Aug 21 2011, 06:14 PM)
Manfrotto! wink.gif

But most 70-200 f/2.8 lenses will come with a tripod collar so that the tripod will be place at the center of gravity (at the lens) instead of on the camera body.

Get a tripod head which has a high weight threshold though.
I have seen people using tripod with 2 extenders sort like "handles" to adjust the camera. What are those type of tripod? It is additional accessories? Any specific model to recommend therefore I can start with information acquisition?
vearn27
post Aug 21 2011, 09:13 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Aug 21 2011, 08:29 PM)
Those are called pan-heads, it's so that you can move the camera in a smoother action compared to moving it while holding on to the camera itself
Therefore, is there any or what are the differences between a pan-head and a ball-head? What's the approximately setup for such package from Manfrotto?
vearn27
post Aug 21 2011, 09:47 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Aug 21 2011, 09:34 PM)
Basically, from how I see it, you have more freedom of movement with a ball head. It's not that a pan head could not achieve, but with the cost of a couple more steps of twisting and turning of a few more knobs and levers.

I've not really taken a look at Manfrotto's packages yet, as for now, it's quite seldom I even use my old metal alloy tripod, so I will only invest in a Manfrotto when I think I really need one. From what I have gathered, a decent one, you can get for about RM250 onwards.
Therefore, ball head is ball head and pan head is pan head? Is there anything like ball + pan head altogether? I'm not sure about the model that I saw, but it has 3 levers and personally, it seems nice to have those when the camera angle could be adjusted easily by moving the levers instead of moving the camera. Pan head is much more expensive than ball head?

RM250 and above? That cheap? I thought Manfrotto's will be like at least RM1K and above? blink.gif

Any recommendation of Manfrotto's packages that could hold a 70-200 + FF body? I checked Shashinki and it has so many of them... sweat.gif
vearn27
post Aug 21 2011, 10:34 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Aug 21 2011, 10:00 PM)
I bought a Manfrotto tripod from BB Plaza for my uncle before CNY this year for that price.. It can steadily hold on to my A700+VG+17-35 f/2.8-4 with no issues.

Can't say the same for FF+70-200 though... One at about RM400 range would do the job well I reckon.
Hmm... then why some of those Manfrotto's cost above RM1K? What makes the different and does it necessary to purchase those "class" of tripods?
vearn27
post Aug 24 2011, 01:47 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

@lwliam

Thanks dude for the photography crash course meetup just now biggrin.gif

It's funny to finds that I understand some the terms reversely sweat.gif

Regarding the PRE WB setting, the D7000 does has the capture and save WB thingy. It can be done by...

1. Setting WB to PRE.
2. Next, release the WB button then press and hold the WB button again.
3. There will be a bigger PRE label flashes in the top LCD menu and ready to shoot a grey or white object.
4. After shoot, the PRE WB for d-0 slot will then be set and can be used immediately by switching to it.

There will be no image stored in MC and can be replicated to other slot to keep the setting.

Just tested this method and the WB rocks. Just exactly like the scene tongue.gif

Thanks again dude for your time for the crash course !
vearn27
post Aug 24 2011, 02:11 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Aug 24 2011, 01:51 AM)
There you go... Much better WB control right? wink.gif
Yeah, it's much easier to use and much accurate WB to match with the ambience biggrin.gif

Thank you very much again. I should have not skipped this chapter in the D7000 manual previously laugh.gif

This post has been edited by vearn27: Aug 24 2011, 02:12 AM
vearn27
post Aug 24 2011, 07:36 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 24 2011, 07:32 AM)
Next time you need to read the manual first... tongue.gif
Actually, I flipped through the D7000 manual twice already. First time briefly and another time reading in details after I familiarized with the D7000 buttons and controls after weeks of using it.

However... I skipped the White Balance Chapter because I feel I'm not there yet to explore into that element yet. Preferring to learn the others first, therefore I didn't know actually there are more WB settings on the D7000 than the Auto, Presets and Adjustment.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 24 2011, 10:42 AM)
No worries, just a discussion here. I am curious when you mentioned that Alpha is more user friendly than Nikon/Canon and would like to know about it.

So, I take it you are referring to PRE right? You just need to press WB to select to PRE, then using one of the dials (I think its the front dial) to select which you want to save it to, d-0, d-1 or something. I don't remember exactly. Then take a shot, and it will save the WB settings for that specific timing. No menu required isn't it?

This is for D90 and above. D7000 is included too.
According to what I read from the manual yesterday, whenever you set to PRE WB, then press and hold the WB button until a bigger PRE label flashes on the top menu LCD, it'll trigger the mode when you snap a photo of grey or white subject to save and let the camera calculate the best possible WB setting as of the snapped photo for the PRE setting. Particularly, this is the function we tried to fiddle yesterday and we failed to get it.

Additional note for this method, whenever the camera snapped photo for PRE setting usage, the photo will not be stored in the Memory Card and ONLY SAVES to D-0 SLOT. You can however replicate the entry to other slot D-1 ~ D-5 to save the preset using the menu. Next, you could just call any of the PRE presets using the WB button and dials to set to PRE d-0, PRE d-1... respectively.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 24 2011, 10:50 AM)
actually in the D7000 there is a My Menu option where u can place your most frequently used settings, so its easily accessible from the first menu page.
I already added WB settings as the first item in the menu laugh.gif

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Aug 24 2011, 02:11 PM)
Haha, reminds me of "Kai".

Anyway, yea, it really depends on individuals. Just like Canon VS Nikon; Canon users usually says Canon's better, while Nikon will say theirs better; In the end, it just suit different type of people.

But if we're talking about some good feature that wasn't available in either one of the makes, then it's worth mentioning and hope that this good features will be made available.
There're many types of feature classification, like those "easy to access", or other features which is "nice to have".
Those "nice to have" may not be a necessity, which some people who don't need it may think why want this feature, but it's is a "nice to have", there's no harm having, and there're people who can use it.
I believes lwliam has no intention to brought up the debate for which is the better DSLR. Perhaps the way he started this discussion like poking, but I finds that nothing offending at all. Isn't we do that everyday in our life to our friends? Teasing and flattering? biggrin.gif
vearn27
post Aug 24 2011, 07:45 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 24 2011, 03:28 PM)
I brought in the AMG thingy because I know Andy is a car guy.

Anyway, I don't know about who's starting the "my dad is bigger than your dad" but at the very least, coming in here on a Nikon thread (of all theads you must pick this one), you should look up first before proclaiming that the A700 can do things easier than the Nikon system. If it's something new or easy, well, it's all is good since the basic fundamentals boils down to photography at the end. Nikon can learn a thing or two too. But what we merely responded these few hours pointing out to you in response to your original statement were two things;

1. Custom WB method on the Sony is similar (if not identical) to the Nikon system.

2. The A700 does not have the ability to use WB from other photos as base WB.

So if that is called  "my dad is bigger than your dad", my sincere apologies. Merely stating facts.
Looking forward to seeing something we do not know. I'm currently intrigued reading up Sony's recently released A77. It's fun reading about new stuff and base on Nikon / Sony relationship, it only gives me something to look forward for the Nikon body (if it ever comes out) and base on history, we can expect that the Nikon one would be better.
The Nikon one so cheap? Where you find?  brows.gif
To be honest jchue73, not that I'm siding lwliam because he's a friend of mine, but now I rather get your bolded sentence in the quote above offending and defensively Nikon is only for Nikon after all. Well, perhaps the way he brought up the discussion is poking style, but isn't that too harsh then by pummelling him just like that? In fact, I finds CY and Andy214 able to circulating the fun around for the debate. Chill chill ~ biggrin.gif

After all, he was trying to show me how to use the PRE setting but did not able to fiddle out how to do it. In fact, he did couple of times asked me to get this information from other Nikon users if I couldn't get it from the manual. In fact, I do manage to get the guide from the manual immediately after the meetup last night smile.gif

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 24 2011, 04:00 PM)
I think he is referring to the PRE feature where you take a shoot at a white item, then body will automatically determine the WB based on that.
Yup, you're right on what we're trying to explore out laugh.gif

This post has been edited by vearn27: Aug 24 2011, 07:45 PM
vearn27
post Aug 24 2011, 08:48 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 24 2011, 08:40 PM)
Oh well, guess its nothing big. I was a little shocked when he mentioned about Nikon systems need to go in menu just to do that :-P. Most of the stuffs can be done without even looking at the LCD monitor at least for a D7000.
Yeah, although he mentioned Sony A700 can snap for the PRE setting easily, D7000 can do the same too. But again, at the point of time of our exploration yesterday, we failed to fiddle out how to work it with Nikon till I back home and flipped my manual. In fact, he did used the WB button + the dials to switch across WB presets.

However, he mentioned that there is one more setting for WB which he did not found in D7000 system. Let see what's exactly he mentioning and probably I failed to get it out laugh.gif
vearn27
post Aug 24 2011, 09:44 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Aug 24 2011, 08:54 PM)
Yeah, about that...

Isn't that is the Fine tune White Balance settings which you saw yesterday? The Squarish color thingy with a point where you can move to either increased blue, amber, green and magenta?

Given that's the case, isn't the D7000 would able to offer wider option with two values adjustable than only one which I saw from your video?
vearn27
post Aug 25 2011, 12:06 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

Wow, now this has growth into an interesting topic thumbup.gif

Before that continues... CY, do you use focus & recompose method often or usually you'll just adjust the single focus point to achieve rule of third. For example... portraiture?
vearn27
post Aug 25 2011, 12:19 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 25 2011, 12:09 AM)
I usually don't bother with these, but when I see a topic worth discussing I'll get involved tongue.gif.

Okay, 2 scenarios.

1. On my 70200 or 1635, I will move my focus point and focus then take my shot. Recompose only when it is out of my 51AF coverage area.

2. On 85G, I use the 15 points in the middle (cross sensors) for best accuracy. Only when really close up shots I will use side AF points as it will be reliable up close. But if further away, cross sensor required. To get my framing, most of the time its focus and recompose on the 85G.
It's great that the veterans sharing knowledge and experience that will benefits the new comers rather than pure gears talk biggrin.gif

Yesterday I shared with lwliam that I somehow failed to use the focus and recompose method properly. It stills goto the middle frame sharp most although I have performed the said method. He recommended that I only use focus and recompose if the subject is far enough, otherwise move the focus point for best result. Probably I shifted my focal plane when I recompose... do you face such issue when you started? Any tips?

It's not that I don't trust lwliam for re-posting the question here, but it would be better if much more practice varieties to be brought out smile.gif
vearn27
post Aug 25 2011, 12:27 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 25 2011, 12:22 AM)
Gee, already removed the batt and kept my D700 back into my dry box. Well D700 class can set fn and another button, but not sure if WB can be done or not.

What does U1 and U2 do? For D300 and above, they have custom banks (A-D) for shooting menu and custom menu. I think it sorta serves like the U1 and U2, but no mechanical button la... need to access via info.
For D700,

1. Press and hold WB button
2. Turn dial to select PRE
3. Let go WB button (not sure if this is counted a step or not)
4. Hold WB button until it prompts to take a sample photo
5. Take the photo
The same applies for D7000.

1. Press & hold WB button + dial to select PRE WB (can see on the top LCD).
2. When in PRE WB, press & hold WB button until it prompts to take sample photo, then take it.

(WB button must be released once after step 1. and press again on step 2.)

Here we go smile.gif
vearn27
post Aug 25 2011, 12:38 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Aug 25 2011, 12:25 AM)
I definitely think it's not advisable to use focus recompose method if your subject is near, also especially if you're using very wide apertures (shallow DOF).
So yes, use the available/or the nearest AF point for the point you want to focus on. However, focus-recompose method should be fine if DOF is large, where slight inaccurate/unsteady movement won't affect focus that much..

But what if I'm using a body that I can only rely on the centre AF point? It being the only cross type, while the other 9 points are totally unreliable doh.gif
I actually did once taking a photo using f/7.1 on 55mm in about 3 metres away and I still failed the focus and recompose doh.gif

QUOTE(lwliam @ Aug 25 2011, 12:27 AM)
Now that we're clear on the quibble for the whole day, glad to have things cleared out ^^

At the end of the day, it's the final image captured that is important. So as long the user knows what to press and how to get there, nothing else matters smile.gif
Hell yeah and I think there are few users here which benefit from the PRE WB tutorial too thumbup.gif

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 25 2011, 12:33 AM)
Just need to read the manual or actually understand how the Nikon body control works ;-).

Anyways posted my video few post before this.
Ehh..... don't blame me la..... sweat.gif laugh.gif

In fact I checked the manual right away when I got access of it, too bad I didn't store the D7000 manual in my iPhone.
vearn27
post Aug 26 2011, 03:04 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 25 2011, 08:15 AM)
Seriously? -.- Some of my half body portraits on 85mm was a focus and recompose ._.

Yes, correct. Settings will be saved to the slot you used to take the sample photo.

Added on August 25, 2011, 8:16 am
Yeah, I shoot in RAW unless when I need the burst (Super GT  drool.gif ).

RAW all the way because most of my presets require tweaking the WB and color channels... if use JPEG the output not as good sad.gif But processed from RAW is good!
How far are you from the subject when you used the focus and recompose method on your 85G? I'm still trying to figure out my error using the said method which causes my desired focus spot slightly soft or wrongly focused.

Regarding the PRE WB shoot and save thingy, I read it up from the D7000 manual that the shot will ONLY BE SAVED to slot D-0 even though you have selected other slot to take the PRE WB shoot. However, you could copy the setting from D-0 to the extra banks D-1 ~ D-5 slots.

Care to share what or how you do your presets? Your photos tones have been amazing tongue.gif

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Aug 25 2011, 09:45 AM)
Why not? I think most D7000 are using U1 or U2 settings?
I don't use PSAM modes anymore, or maybe hardly.
You can dial in either P or S or A or M, then adjust whatever settings you want, then save it in U1 or U2; When you dial in U1 or U2 next time, it will be the settings you have configured.
So, it's like a CUSTOMIZED "P" or "S" or "A" or "M" modes.

MINOR Example of what else you can do:
Some people set U1 with Focus Indicator Beam ON, and U2 with Focus Indicator Beam OFF;

There can be many more adjustments, above just a very minor difference. Previously there was a thread sharing U1 and U2 settings in photomalaysia.com I think, and if you google you might find discussion about it.

Point is, it's something "nice to have", and will probably be implemented in high end models later.
The Illuminated AF I set it as one of the item on my Quick Menu rather than U1 and U2. To be honest, I have not use the U1 and U2 yet. I'm clueless about the U1 and U2 settings till now that I read your description, I kinda get the idea of how it works. Nevertheless, it may come in handy but I still yet to find how am I gonna utilize them. Perhaps the thread you mentioned would be good to share out smile.gif

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 25 2011, 10:07 AM)
I see. I was just wondering how often do you actually use it. To me, I don't think I will be even needing the U1 and U2 physical button. Especially when I can access to 4 banks of Shoot and also 4 banks of Custom settings via the info button.

"Nice to have", I do agree on this. Let's see if Nikon implements in future higher end models or not. The only differences I see is, D7000's U1 and U2 is a mechanical button. D300 and above bodies have it via the info button. Maybe Nikon might implement in the mode where it is changed. P-M-S-A-U1-U2 etc since those bodies don't have dials for it, but its a button and switching by turning the dials. Easier to implement just with software I guess.
Well, if you noticed the latest P7100, the high-end consumer camera has 3 slots instead ! I'm not sure if I overlooked it wrongly, but I saw U1, U2 and U3 being available on the dial.

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 25 2011, 12:12 PM)
I hope nobody takes it the wrong way. If that sentence came across as Nikon thread only for Nikon, I humbly apologise. What I had originally meant to say is that before you stick your head in to commit and say something unfounded where people here are familiar with Nikon, please make sure you have the right facts first. I have no qualms about other non-Nikon users popping in and out. I do that too but not often.
For the first part, I think it is a little incorrect. Canon used to be the king of high ISO but not anymore.
It ended up with good discussion and finding. Let's just put this aside as it doesn't matter anymore. Cheers bro smile.gif

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Aug 25 2011, 12:54 PM)
What I mean is, the location to display the green/magenta shift. Not sure about D700; On D7000, when you tune in Custom WB (Temperature), the b1 to b6 / a1 to a6 location is taken over the temperature values.
Not sure if there is other place which can display the "b1 to b6 / a1 to a6"? The TOP LCD (or display) is not same like back LCD, which is a real LCD.
So, we need a place to show the "b1 to b6 / a1 to a6" on the top display for Custom WB; If there is no place to show this, then it is limited by hardware.

For now, options available for quick access?
1. Add WB item to MyMenu for shortcut access.

Currently, the Information Display via "INFO" button, the shortcuts there seems is fixed? If Nikon allows user to customize it, then it'll be great. I know for higher end models, there is more shortcuts available? Is it possible to customize these shortcuts?
I'm not sure if I'm getting your statement wrong, but while on the AWB you can press the WB button and rotate the dial to adjust from A6 - A1 and B1 - B6 on the top LCD. Only AWB though...

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0438sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:57 PM