14 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 >Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V11, The Darth Vader troops !

celciuz
post Sep 12 2011, 04:32 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 12 2011, 04:19 PM)
I can directly tell its fx camera used in the first place for iloveoov photo biggrin.gif
Really? How do you see? o_O
celciuz
post Sep 12 2011, 06:30 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 12 2011, 05:51 PM)
teh bokeh from the edge  flex.gif
o_O...

So without looking at the EXIF,
Tania by CY Pixels, on Flickr

FX or DX?

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Sep 12 2011, 06:13 PM)
I see, the FX sensor performs much better yeah?
D700 vs D90? Yes. D700 vs D7000? The gap is closer already, but D700 sensor still ahead.
celciuz
post Sep 12 2011, 07:46 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Sep 12 2011, 07:10 PM)
^DX?
Yeah, its DX. nod.gif
celciuz
post Sep 13 2011, 08:11 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Sep 12 2011, 11:29 PM)
Will the price of D700 decrease when the new one comes or it will be discontinued? Feeling like a D700. Probably better to get 2nd hand?
I was told the D700 price will go up soon. It will not be at RM6000 already, reason due to SB900 drop price.

D700 promotion was D700 + 50mm + SB900... so basically SB900 slashed about 200 or was it 300, therefore D700 price will go up instead. Plus stock is very limited at the moment, so if you get a good deal, grab it. Else wait for the replacement, prepare at least 8.5k for the replacement.
celciuz
post Sep 13 2011, 12:30 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Sep 13 2011, 09:02 AM)
8.5k ?  shocking.gif

okay boss.... body only?
Well, such level of bodies don't usually come bundled with lens.

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Sep 13 2011, 09:39 AM)
8.5k? Dayummm!!!

I think most likely I will still have to buy D700 just like how I decided to buy D90 last time even though my friends ask me to wait for another 4 months for D7000 to come out!!!
It is just a rough estimation comparing to D700's launch price. You can't expect the D800 to be priced at the current RM6000 of D700 right? sweat.gif

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Sep 13 2011, 10:44 AM)
last time i watch review about D700, is that live view of D700 is still slower a bit?  unsure.gif
like start up or etc...now lazy watch again XD
Main reason people use DSLR is for the optical viewfinder... to be frank, I rarely use my live view. Used once or twice, that is also for framing for landscape since LV has 100% coverage. If I'm using D3s or something, I don't think I will even be touching on the LV.

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Sep 13 2011, 10:57 AM)
D3s... lolz... The Ferrari of Nikon DSLRs.... expensive wei!
Top of the range, Italia? tongue.gif

Added on September 13, 2011, 12:32 pm
QUOTE(darkavenger @ Sep 13 2011, 11:21 AM)

I'm not satisfied with D90's AF — it's quite primitive when compared to D7000. I've tried shooting with the latter and the difference is big. Not only in AF but also colors, sharpness and dynamic range. Also, it records in 1080p with AF in video mode ;D

Edit: A good site to compare cameras http://snapsort.com/compare/Nikon_D7000-vs-Nikon_D90
Somehow I feel D7000's AF advantage over the D90 is more cross sensors, and better coverage. But the non cross sensor still perform as bad as D90's non cross sensor. The same goes to my D700's 51AF, the non cross sensors isn't good.

Well... if the D800 has better coverage of cross sensor... I'm in for upgrade xD.

This post has been edited by celciuz: Sep 13 2011, 12:32 PM
celciuz
post Sep 13 2011, 09:01 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 13 2011, 01:11 PM)
Tats why u need wandeeassmakthree  tongue.gif

19cross af all over screen.

Or wandeemakfor 39  tongue.gif
Focusing is horrible on that body unfortunately, which is why the D3 triumph over it with the stellar AF performance under low light for sports.

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Sep 13 2011, 01:21 PM)
okay, boss
how about when you put your DSLR on floor? low until cant lying on floor that one.... XD
then had to rely on Live view right? or when not enough tall, you had to rely on Live view also right?  unsure.gif
that's why i ask that XDDD
OT: what the heck with the nymph, i wan azunyan.  unsure.gif
I will just set to area mode AF, and then grab a few shots without looking at the viewfinder.

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Sep 13 2011, 04:30 PM)
1DMKIII is plagued with AF problems. It seems 1DMKIV also inherits the some of 1DMKIII's AF problems. 

Anyway, it's all nice having 39 crossed type AF points but many fail to read the fine prints. The 1DMKIV will only have 39 high precision cross type AF (horizontal and vertical) points when a lens with a max aperture of f/2.8 or more is used or when combined with an extender. The cross type sensors vertical line sensitivity is approx two times more than the horizontal line sensitivity.

However, when using f/4 lens itself like the 600mm f/4 or by using a f/2.8 lens with a 1.4x extender, then only the centre AF point is usable as a cross type with the other 44 will only remain as non-crossed type (horizontal sensitive) only.

Using a f/5.6 lens or by using a f/4 lens with a 1.4x extender, all the AF points are horizontal sensitive and using a f/8 lens, only the centre AF can be used as a non-crossed AF while other are unusable.
I mentioned before that I don't use Live View but there were actually times when I remember that I did use it.  biggrin.gif Not to replace the viewfinder to shoot but to use it to check WB. Switch on Live View and adjust / tweak WB on the fly and watch it on the LCD screen before you take a shot.
thumbup.gif

I wanted to explain this earlier but too busy with work. Well, would say most consumers don't go in detail. Good example is the A77's 24MP 12fps tongue.gif, when one goes into the details... it isn't as impressive.

QUOTE(tplus1 @ Sep 13 2011, 07:49 PM)
currently thinking to get a potrait lens.

85mm or 50mm? i can afford a f1.4. means no doubt go for f1.4 instead of f1.8 right?

been reading reviews about these, 85mm and 50mm f1.4, the only difference is the distance to shot?

need sifus advise, thx!  rclxms.gif
If your budget is sufficient for a 85mm f/1.4, that is definitely better than the 50mm f/1.4 ;-). Better in all aspects, except the pricing? But you do need to know your style, 50mm or 85mm?

For me I like 85mm on FF, but 85mm is a little too tele for me on DX.
celciuz
post Sep 13 2011, 09:58 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KIEN18 @ Sep 13 2011, 09:06 PM)
Yesterday work... what you see?  brows.gif

I feel dizzy >_<

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 13 2011, 09:23 PM)
blink.gif  how come in so many intl sports even still so many canon wan ?
Before arrival of the D3 by Nikon, 90% are the white super telelens. Now? Try looking around and you'll notice smile.gif If you can find images of the photogs from Beijing 2008, even better. Time has changed.
celciuz
post Sep 13 2011, 10:21 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KIEN18 @ Sep 13 2011, 10:13 PM)
errrrr..... you mean.......?????? blush.gif  blink.gif
Busy background. If you want to do the love shape bokeh, try a night shoot with small lights behind smile.gif especially if it is colorful!
celciuz
post Sep 14 2011, 08:56 AM

14,037 posts

D700 and D90 was a big leap for me at least. Its going from entry to semi pro. ;-)

Not only the sensor improved, the body handling and ergonomics is better too.
celciuz
post Sep 14 2011, 02:19 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Sep 14 2011, 12:52 PM)
Did I hear night bokeh?

Maybe its my office monitor but... image looks dull =/
celciuz
post Sep 14 2011, 04:30 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Sep 14 2011, 03:35 PM)
I prefer this type. Click at your own risk tongue.gif

f/1.4 sufficient for me...(well not like I can use any bigger aperture 85mm at the moment tongue.gif)

Angela by CY Pixels, on Flickr
celciuz
post Sep 14 2011, 06:34 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(iloveOov @ Sep 14 2011, 06:24 PM)
Holy lovely bokeh  wub.gif
ok now saving more bullet for 85 1.4G

Added on September 14, 2011, 6:28 pm

Yea...35 1.4G but not berani shoot at 1.4....worry the object not sharp xD
I tested the 35mm at f/1.4, its usable don't worry ;-)

Added on September 14, 2011, 6:41 pmuser posted image
Yuki by CY Pixels, on Flickr

Another from 85mm f/1.4 tongue.gif

This post has been edited by celciuz: Sep 14 2011, 06:41 PM
celciuz
post Sep 14 2011, 06:59 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Sep 14 2011, 06:52 PM)
This pic is fresh from DSLR or edited? so nice...
Color tone has been processed smile.gif

More samples from 85 f/1.4G tongue.gif

Kristine by CY Pixels, on Flickr

Cheng Lin by CY Pixels, on Flickr

This post has been edited by celciuz: Sep 14 2011, 06:59 PM
celciuz
post Sep 14 2011, 07:12 PM

14,037 posts

Its catch light, you eyes definitely have little tears in it right? ;-) It depends where the light source is coming from.

Both the images I have posted they were looking upwards...which is where the lights is coming from..

Here's one from sideways,
Jazel by CY Pixels, on Flickr
celciuz
post Sep 14 2011, 07:55 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Sep 14 2011, 07:25 PM)
Really love the lighting in this one and SIDE BOOBS! w00t! laugh.gif
Shhh... its supposed to be hidden in the shadows laugh.gif

Here's one of the 85mm on D90,
Little Nyonya by CY Pixels, on Flickr
celciuz
post Sep 14 2011, 09:08 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Sep 14 2011, 09:05 PM)
Geee...her hand so many bulu, u didn't clean it? laugh.gif

all nice pics... thumbup.gif
brows.gif , well... I dunno how to PP ma~
celciuz
post Sep 15 2011, 07:38 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Sep 14 2011, 11:37 PM)
Well, that's just my perspective as I mentioned. Photography is very subjective, it never has everything right or wrong.

For me, pregnancy shots bring the feeling of "family" and "togetherness". Given it's me, I would prefer to put all of them in. Otherwise to make the highlight of father's feeling, I would only capture most the "stomach" part.

Again, that's just me. Perhaps your client like it that way smile.gif
I would shoot a tighter crop for this. But since your client loves such style, so its ok I guess. This reminds me of a similar photo, posted sometime ago here too. Wedding day and 1 row of people got their head beheaded cropped off.

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Sep 15 2011, 02:12 AM)
@celciuz know anything or experience something similar before?  sad.gif
Nope... some of my lens have been inside my dry box for quite sometime... =/ long time no use my 85mm. But then again, I do open up my dry box for the air to recycle once in a while.

Side note, argh I just noticed my dry box is turned off! >_< probably i press wrong button when I was turning off my iPad charger ._.
celciuz
post Sep 15 2011, 03:45 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(jouledoc @ Sep 15 2011, 11:09 AM)
Hey there,

i'm new in this thread an using Nikon P7000 wink.gif

i see a lot of great shot here.

Wish to contribute too.

thx
Welcome to the dark side biggrin.gif, no turning back now tongue.gif

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Sep 15 2011, 03:35 PM)
http://www.petapixel.com/2011/09/14/one-ad...ontent=FaceBook

now i know (maybe) why nikon mirrorless wan smaller sensor...  tongue.gif
LOL! Nice idea man!
celciuz
post Sep 15 2011, 06:06 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(rkramesh @ Sep 15 2011, 06:02 PM)
Hey dRLurve

Can you please let me know how did u resolve this issue. I bought new Nikon 5100 couple of days back and from the day one it has the same behavior as u have mentioned. I got 2 scandisk [both 8 gb] alng with the camera, both has the same behavior. I formatted both in my pc but still the same behavior. I then went back to the vendor and got the camera replaced but the behavior is the same.

Any body has any suggestion on this issue?? Need help.

Regards
Ram
It is probably the memory card's fault. Try using better memory card, Sandisk Ultra at least.
celciuz
post Sep 15 2011, 08:10 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Sep 15 2011, 07:54 PM)
hmmmm had any problems with VR so far?
So far so good. Hopefully won't have issue ._.

14 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 >Top

0.0554sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:20 AM