V1
V2
V3
V3a
V5
V6

FAQs

Employments:
Job opportunities are still good. Those with higher education level/experience stand a better chance and command a higher starting pay. Good command of English in resume writing or interview is a huge benefit. The following are the list of available online job sites:
1. Jobstreet
2. Contact Singapore
3. Jobs Central
4. JobsDB

The most effective but expensive method is to do it the old fashion way. Come over to Singapore, and then extend your visa to long term. During your stay in SG, flip through the recruitment newspaper and apply for your job through the company itself. This way, you're almost guaranteed to be in front of the queue from those who applied through Jobstreet. You can also attend their interviews without any delays while you're here in SG.

Various employment passes are available to enable you to work in Singapore depending on your skills and pay. Employers will help you in the application of passes. Your job is however pending on the approval of the pass. Information of types of passes are available through MOM's website. Do not worry of what passes you get. Eventually all will allow you to work in SG. Some do fuss about it due to "status" and extra benefits (i.e: credit card and contract phone applications). Just be hardworking and move up the passes or apply directly for PR few years down the road.

All you need to know about PR application and requirements are available here: http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=151&secid=150

Please take note that ex Singaporean PRs who renounced their status without serving the National Service will have their job and employment pass applications greatly degraded.

<Need more information on salary bracket and range in different industries to expand. Contributions greatly appreciated>

CPF and Taxes:
Malaysians working under employment/work passes are exempted from paying CPF. Singapore PRs have to contribute to CPF according to the rates found here: http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/Members/Gen-Info/C...es/ContriRa.htm

As for the complicated tax returns, i'll just provide the website so everyone can search under their own categories. http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page01.aspx?id=88

Accomodations:
HDBs everywhere! Prime and new areas should cost around SGD450-600 per room (with or without utilities). You can still find sub SGD400 per room in remote or rundown areas. If you can afford the luxury, apartments and condos are the way to go. SGD800-1200 per room is the current market price. Normally comes with swimming pool and gym facilities.

Below are some useful sites:
http://www.flatsdb.com/
http://www.hdbflat.blogspot.com/
http://singapore.roomsdb.net/
http://easyroommate.com.sg/ (looks more like a dating site )
http://www.sg-house.com/

Transportation:
No need to describe any further. Been compared and discussed too many times between SG and MY. In SG, you can be anywhere in the island just by using public transport. The all too convenient EZ link card can be used in both MRT and bus (even McD yeah!). For places out of reach, taxi is the answer. Don't worry, you won't get touted with expensive fares. They are a bunch of professionals with accurate meters. First entry onto cab is SGD2.80 or SGD3.00. The rest runs on meter plus any surcharges from tolls, airport surcharge or stopping period. If you are travelling in group of 4, taxi is the cheaper option on certain routes compared to others.

Coach: http://www.journeymalaysia.com/ptasingapore.htm

SBS bus maps: http://www.sbstransit.com.sg/iris3/nextbus.aspx
MRT maps: http://www.smrt.com.sg/trains/images/tn_networkmap_big.jpg

Malaysians can drive in cars/bikes to work in SG. For SG PRs, you have to drive singapore registered vehicles. More info here: http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/ind...oring_guide.htm

Expenses:
This is very subjective depending on the spending power of different individuals. But here are the basic breakdowns on rough estimates:
1. Accoms SGD600 (varies)
2. Food SGD500 (varies)
3. Transport SGD60
4. Entertainment SGD300 (strip it off if wanna save)
5. Shopping $$$

TO CHECK FOR YOUR PR APPLICATION STATUS, KINDLY VISIT THIS LINK
https://ienquiry.ica.gov.sg/index.do

Forummers in SG:

Please PM me if you wish me to add you to the list above

This post has been edited by darkages: Jul 12 2011, 08:47 AM
xbeelkh
post Jul 6 2011, 09:18 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(Nokia convert @ Jul 5 2011, 08:58 AM)
This weekend going back to KL to attend bersih rally.....hope I can make it back to sg alive next week. Anyone here attending the rally?
My brother is going thr as well, wish you all good luck rclxms.gif
paranoid
post Jul 6 2011, 09:22 AM

I can go from 0 to bitch in 0.6seconds
1,235 posts

waa so semangat all go back for rally.
good luck, come back in one piece and update us =)
Lester1987
post Jul 6 2011, 09:23 AM

2,017 posts

For those who is interested to go back KL this week, I am driving back on friday midnight (after our gathering) and come back on sunday after lunch. So can pm me if wanna share.
deodorant
post Jul 6 2011, 09:40 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(darkages @ Jul 6 2011, 09:13 AM)
The most effective but expensive method is to do it the old fashion way. Come over to Singapore, and then extend your visa to long term.

My gf applied EPEC, 2 weeks ago, still pending until today sad.gif
L7Awesome
post Jul 6 2011, 09:42 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 6 2011, 09:23 AM)
For those who is interested to go back KL this week, I am driving back on friday midnight (after our gathering) and come back on sunday after lunch. So can pm me if wanna share.
You are going for the rally as well? Maybe can share with us how's the traffic back in KL on Sat :-)
malaysiaku
post Jul 6 2011, 09:48 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Jul 6 2011, 10:42 AM)
You are going for the rally as well?  Maybe can share with us how's the traffic back in KL on Sat :-)
hi morning guys,

just want to let u ppl know, currently all road entering KL all jam from highway entry point.

so just a heads up for this coming 9th july 2011.

have fun icon_rolleyes.gif
yiivei
post Jul 6 2011, 10:00 AM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

QUOTE(malaysiaku @ Jul 6 2011, 09:48 AM)
hi morning guys,

just want to let u ppl know, currently all road entering KL all jam from highway entry point.

so just a heads up for this coming 9th july 2011.
have fun  icon_rolleyes.gif
Hope the bersih rally wont cancel la...

Btw, would like to clarify the tax thingy with you guys... I have read that those stay in Singapore for < 183 days consider as non-resident and will be imposed a rate of 15%. Does 183 days consider as working day or just purely staying in Singapore? Thanks!!
deodorant
post Jul 6 2011, 10:02 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

@yiivei: i think my tax consultant told me that it's 183 working days, not 180 working days + 25 living-in-singapore-on-tourist-visa days.

[edit] either my consultant was wrong or my memory fails me. IRAS website:

Under our tax residency rules, you will be regarded as a tax resident if you stay or work in Singapore for at least 183 days in a calendar year. The number of days in Singapore include weekends and public holidays.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Jul 6 2011, 10:07 AM
danny_ptlm
post Jul 6 2011, 10:03 AM

!@#$%^&*()_+
161 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 5 2011, 07:23 PM)
Why this week ?

I go back next week..15 july night... smile.gif

Didnt go back this week because scared traffic jam caused by the Bersih...

For sure a massive jam~
venicelim
post Jul 6 2011, 10:06 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Jul 6 2011, 10:00 AM)
Hope the bersih rally wont cancel la...

Btw, would like to clarify the tax thingy with you guys... I have read that those stay in Singapore for < 183 days consider as non-resident and will be imposed a rate of 15%. Does 183 days consider as working day or just purely staying in Singapore? Thanks!!
This tax is applicable to WP only right?
Or what pass?
I have totally no idea about the tax tinggy.

This post has been edited by venicelim: Jul 6 2011, 10:06 AM
Lester1987
post Jul 6 2011, 10:06 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(danny_ptlm @ Jul 6 2011, 10:03 AM)
Why this week ?

I go back next week..15 july night...  smile.gif

Didnt go back this week because scared traffic jam caused by the Bersih...

For sure a massive jam~
haha, i also expect jam, if no ppl following my car, i will go back on my bike. Avoid traffic jam and save cost smile.gif
MsiaqweR
post Jul 6 2011, 10:07 AM

642 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 6 2011, 10:06 AM)
haha, i also expect jam, if no ppl following my car, i will go back on my bike. Avoid traffic jam and save cost smile.gif
U serious? Riding a bike from SG to KL?
tayhaithian
post Jul 6 2011, 10:09 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Jul 6 2011, 10:07 AM)
Crazy??

Anyway, my suggestion is don't go back to KL this week...
paranoid
post Jul 6 2011, 10:12 AM

1,235 posts

dont choose this week if you're not going for rally, sure mega jam.

dont think the rally would be canceled la..
change venue d ma..
Lester1987
post Jul 6 2011, 10:18 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Jul 6 2011, 10:07 AM)
nothing wrong with that, if i cruise 120kph on a bike, same with car speed ma. only thing is need to pump petrol when reach yong peng area.

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Jul 6 2011, 10:09 AM)
Crazy??

Anyway, my suggestion is don't go back to KL this week...
got smth to do la, so have to go back.

QUOTE(paranoid @ Jul 6 2011, 10:12 AM)
dont choose this week if you're not going for rally,  sure mega jam.

dont think the rally would be canceled la..
change venue d ma..
not going for the rally, but i need to help my cousin carry her shirt back to SG.
yiivei
post Jul 6 2011, 10:19 AM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 6 2011, 10:02 AM)
@yiivei: i think my tax consultant told me that it's 183 working days, not 180 working days + 25 living-in-singapore-on-tourist-visa days.

[edit] either my consultant was wrong or my memory fails me. IRAS website:
Oh~ But, the IRAS website shows "stay or work"... Cause if the 183 days mean for working day, then i will need to pay a high amount of tax as a NR. Sigh~
tayhaithian
post Jul 6 2011, 10:28 AM

460 posts

Day after tomorrow is the 2nd week that I had wait for my pass..... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
seantang
post Jul 6 2011, 10:31 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 6 2011, 10:02 AM)
It's the number of days you're physically in Singapore according to your immigration entry and exit dates. And you can combine the days from different trips in/out of Singapore.

paranoid
post Jul 6 2011, 10:33 AM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 6 2011, 10:18 AM)
not going for the rally, but i need to help my cousin carry her shirt back to SG.
good luck ahhha

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Jul 6 2011, 10:28 AM)
Day after tomorrow is the 2nd week that I had wait for my pass.....  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
check your pass status u mean?
u got check online? normally online will can know result already, sometimes agent/company haven't inform you yet, but result is already out.

126 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:55 PM