University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus (UNMC) V4, "A city is built on wisdom"
TStanjinjack
Aug 31 2011, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(redhibiscus @ Aug 31 2011, 03:15 PM) This is outrageous. The message the university is sending out is that those who can drop in personally and use their parents' muscle is at an advantage over those who applied early and followed proper procedure. How typically corrupt. Most international students can't apply in person and some of us are mature enough to have cut ourselves off mummy's apron strings. The last time I checked, this is Nottingham University, not Nottingham Sixth Form College. And whatever happened to giving priority to international students and students who live far away from campus? If Katrina's dad can "fetch" (sic) her to the campus, I'm guessing that she lives somewhere in KL or Selangor. Maybe you can try to write a complain letter (although I got no idea who you should email to). Maybe write to a general purpose email, and cc the accommodation office. Quote this thread if you think it is necessary.
Mr.Lonely
Aug 31 2011, 07:30 PM
hi out there, anyone looking for room ?? my house in TTS3 hav a room available, furnished and twin shared bathroom. if you interested pls feel free to pm me for details =D. dun be shy ya~! sorry if i abused the thread =D. my sincere appology Added on August 31, 2011, 7:32 pmQUOTE(entryman @ Aug 30 2011, 05:35 PM) Hey guys have you seen any bicycle repair shops around Semenyih? A search on google maps only shows the nearest being Kajang town. hi, try search around in the place near econsave there are 2 bicycle shop there =D. if u nid a clearer direction feel free to pm me =) This post has been edited by Mr.Lonely: Aug 31 2011, 07:32 PM
alexander.ch_1992
Aug 31 2011, 09:51 PM

Guys take a look at this link. So called original developers of the whole TTS Project. http://www.btslandcapital.com/Compare to what we're having right now.  LOL.
TStanjinjack
Aug 31 2011, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(alexander.ch_1992 @ Aug 31 2011, 09:51 PM) Guys take a look at this link. So called original developers of the whole TTS Project. http://www.btslandcapital.com/Compare to what we're having right now.  LOL. Attention to iOS users, do not attempt to enter that link. It won't work because you all cannot flash! Quite some fancy flash there, although really hate those flash that come with voices and the off sound toggle is somewhere hard to find. Speaking of the project and how they phrase it, it is seriously misleading until you have seen the TTS itself. But hey, maybe one day it really develops into that?
cybershaun
Sep 1 2011, 06:26 PM

QUOTE(redhibiscus @ Aug 31 2011, 04:15 PM) The message the university is sending out is that those who can drop in personally and use their parents' muscle is at an advantage over those who applied early and followed proper procedure. You may be right as a matter of principle but sometimes you've got to use everything you've got to get what you want. When I didn't get my first choice, my parents went to see the accommodation officer and they bumped me up to the single shared ensuite bathroom with airconditioning. Not my first choice as I still have to share a bathroom but better than the twin share in 6 bedded flat that they originally gave me.
AronC
Sep 1 2011, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(cybershaun @ Sep 1 2011, 06:26 PM) You may be right as a matter of principle but sometimes you've got to use everything you've got to get what you want. When I didn't get my first choice, my parents went to see the accommodation officer and they bumped me up to the single shared ensuite bathroom with airconditioning. Not my first choice as I still have to share a bathroom but better than the twin share in 6 bedded flat that they originally gave me.  But you know, it's very unfair for the international students, as well as for outstation students like me. I chose all the single rooms for my choice, yet I got four shared bathroom. QUOTE We would like to offer all new students on an undergraduate or postgraduate course a room in University-arranged accommodation for one academic year, but space is limited.
Students coming to the Malaysian Campus for the first time will be allocated rooms in the following priority:
International students East Malaysians Malaysians from outside the Klang Valley
Students who have previously stayed on campus can apply to be on the waiting list. I am from Sabah, I heard many of my A-level course mates do not get what they wanted. Let's just imagine how inconvenient it could be if every single of us have to use our parents' muscle to get what we wanted.
JHL
Sep 1 2011, 08:56 PM
---
This post has been edited by JHL: Jun 19 2012, 01:26 AM
Envoy
Sep 1 2011, 09:05 PM

wats is fastest internet speed ?how much need to pay to upgrade ?
Envoy
Sep 1 2011, 09:48 PM

QUOTE(aishwarya @ Sep 1 2011, 09:18 PM) on campus
Sara1122
Sep 1 2011, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(aishwarya @ Sep 1 2011, 08:47 PM) Haha, I wouldn't be surprised if my application was also "lost" in the pile. I tried calling them many times and the line was always busy (hang up the phone on purpose?) and they didn't reply to a single one of my emails. When I finally got through they told me to fax my application again as they couldn't find it. After waiting forever they finally contacted me last Monday offering me a really crap room.  Mine was lost, and the accommodation lady on the other end of the line is such a >
TStanjinjack
Sep 1 2011, 11:07 PM
I am actually thinking that all of you should send in complain letters to the highest management. But currently I am unsure who is in charge of the welfare part of the university. Maybe you all can just send to our CEO?
DJFoo000
Sep 1 2011, 11:50 PM
LOL That's outsourcing Malaysian style. The accommodation was outsourced to a private management company. I guess the proper channel is thru the SA?
Accommodation is undoubtedly the worst part in terms of management in this university (apart from the cafe, which I heard is making big strides in improvements).
Oh yeah, any info for returning students? Like, what do we do? Do we skip Week Zero? Do we need to re-register?
This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Sep 1 2011, 11:51 PM
TStanjinjack
Sep 2 2011, 12:56 PM
QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Sep 1 2011, 11:50 PM) LOL That's outsourcing Malaysian style. The accommodation was outsourced to a private management company. I guess the proper channel is thru the SA? Accommodation is undoubtedly the worst part in terms of management in this university (apart from the cafe, which I heard is making big strides in improvements). Oh yeah, any info for returning students? Like, what do we do? Do we skip Week Zero? Do we need to re-register? No. Definitely not the SA. Get the highest management. If you go through SA, you are likely to give up before they take your matters seriously. SA is mostly administrated the Malaysian way as well. I do nothing when I return, just attend classes like normal. Of course, you need to pay tuition fee!
Mr.Lonely
Sep 2 2011, 01:42 PM
QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Sep 2 2011, 12:56 PM) No. Definitely not the SA. Get the highest management. If you go through SA, you are likely to give up before they take your matters seriously. SA is mostly administrated the Malaysian way as well. I do nothing when I return, just attend classes like normal. Of course, you need to pay tuition fee! but u cant blame SA on these matters sometime, most of the time SA try to fulfil student need but just the school don't act accordingly =).  peace ya =)
golddust
Sep 2 2011, 06:04 PM
I'm getting really worried as I've not heard from Accommodations since submitting my application three months ago. I'm not from Malaysia so all I can I do is call/email them but I can never get through and they haven't replied to my emails.
Mr.Lonely
Sep 2 2011, 07:09 PM
QUOTE(golddust @ Sep 2 2011, 06:04 PM) I'm getting really worried as I've not heard from Accommodations since submitting my application three months ago. I'm not from Malaysia so all I can I do is call/email them but I can never get through and they haven't replied to my emails.  try to give them a call =) perhaps will giv u better image =)
AronC
Sep 2 2011, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(golddust @ Sep 2 2011, 06:04 PM) I'm getting really worried as I've not heard from Accommodations since submitting my application three months ago. I'm not from Malaysia so all I can I do is call/email them but I can never get through and they haven't replied to my emails.  Hello there! Welcome to UNMC.  For your information, The University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus International Office will be closed for the Hari Raya Holidays from 30th August 2011 till 2nd September 2011. The office will reopen on 5th September 2011. Source: UNMC Closed for Hari Raya Holidays
TStanjinjack
Sep 2 2011, 09:12 PM
Why are we keep on getting complaints like this? Should we be really voicing the issues out to the higher up? It should be taken care of. The change of management should result in a smoother and better operation but what I see is some even deteriorated work.
golddust
Sep 3 2011, 02:14 PM
QUOTE(AronC @ Sep 2 2011, 07:51 PM) Hello there! Welcome to UNMC.  For your information, The University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus International Office will be closed for the Hari Raya Holidays from 30th August 2011 till 2nd September 2011. The office will reopen on 5th September 2011. Source: UNMC Closed for Hari Raya HolidaysThanks for that but I started calling them more than three works ago and the line is always engaged.  They were so welcoming and assuring when I went for their recruitment talk but now they don't seem to be able to deliver. It's all a marketing ploy to suck our money.