University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus (UNMC) V4, "A city is built on wisdom"

AronC
post Aug 29 2011, 11:37 PM

302 posts

Hello guys, my semester commences on September 2011, am taking Finance, Accounting and Management. Teehee. Looking forward to meet you guys next time. biggrin.gif

However, there is something I must ask here. Any of you are already year 2 or year 3? I wanna ask when did you start applying for accommodation during your year 1. I got my offer on 19th Aug, a Friday and immediately submitted my accommodation form on the next working day - 22th Aug. Today, they sent me an email, stating that they have allocated a Four Shared bathroom for me. I don't want it at all. sleep.gif

Any how I can appeal for it? I wished for any single room. ANY will do. sad.gif

This post has been edited by AronC: Aug 29 2011, 11:46 PM
AronC
post Aug 29 2011, 11:54 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(arsenal717 @ Aug 29 2011, 11:47 PM)
I'm not sure but I asked them about it in case I don't get the room I want and she said you can't do anything about it... You take it or decline.

You got your accommodation so fast and I applied for it much earlier.
Seriously? The management is seriously, bloody hell. mad.gif What kind of room you wish to get?
AronC
post Aug 30 2011, 12:15 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(arsenal717 @ Aug 30 2011, 12:00 AM)
single ensuite bathroom. i don't mind if I don't get it. At this point, I just want my own private room with shared bathroom or whatever haha.
Sorry my bad, I wanna ask when did you put in your application? So far, I heard there's someone who put in their form 2 months ago, ended up no single room as well. doh.gif

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Aug 30 2011, 12:11 AM)
I have seen a lot of complaints about them not getting their preferred choice.

If you want to appeal, go ahead.
If you want to make noise, go ahead.
If you want to just sit and wait for a better deal to come, go ahead.

Here, my (and probably some other regulars here as well) advice will be:

LOL. Nice one. You'll be year 2 this year? Staying where?

Added on August 30, 2011, 12:17 am
QUOTE(A-Note @ Aug 30 2011, 12:14 AM)
4 shared room is quite okay what... i stayed in thr last year haha if you wan to you know.. den got problem la haha otherwise nothing one la and 4 shared room the space is bigger yo
Whoa, able to study? Wont be too noisy? I am afraid of picky and selfish room mates.

This post has been edited by AronC: Aug 30 2011, 12:17 AM
AronC
post Aug 30 2011, 09:55 AM

302 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2016065 - Looking for rent.

tanjinjack TTS5 you rent yourself or you rent via the school accommodation office?
AronC
post Aug 31 2011, 10:59 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(sotong1992 @ Aug 31 2011, 09:42 AM)
Hai. I have a question here regarding MPharm entry requirements.

I found this in their website about the english language requirement.

One of the following qualifications is required for the MPharm programme:

-English Language (O level or GCSE) Grade C or SPM Grade A+ or A1;

-An International English Language Testing System (IELTS) score of at least 6.5, with a minimum score of at least 6.0 in each of the four individual elements of the test;

-A Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) score of at least 573 (TWE of at least 4.5) or the internet based test (iBT) with score of at least 88 (no less than 19 in any elements);

-IB Language A must be English at 5 points;

-MUET Band 5 may also be considered.

If I got an A+ for English in SPM, means that I already met the requirement or I still have to take IELTS or something equivalent??

Hope someone there can answer me, thank you.
Yes you've met your requirement. As for my case, I got a high-B in my SPM, but grade C in the GCSE 1119. So I met the requirement and got exempted from taking IELTS. smile.gif
AronC
post Sep 1 2011, 07:03 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(cybershaun @ Sep 1 2011, 06:26 PM)
You may be right as a matter of principle but sometimes you've got to use everything you've got to get what you want.  When I didn't get my first choice, my parents went to see the accommodation officer and they bumped me up to the single shared ensuite bathroom with airconditioning.  Not my first choice as I still have to share a bathroom but better than the twin share in 6 bedded flat that they originally gave me.  smile.gif
But you know, it's very unfair for the international students, as well as for outstation students like me. I chose all the single rooms for my choice, yet I got four shared bathroom.
We would like to offer all new students on an undergraduate or postgraduate course a room in University-arranged accommodation for one academic year, but space is limited.

Students coming to the Malaysian Campus for the first time will be allocated rooms in the following priority:

International students
East Malaysians
Malaysians from outside the Klang Valley

Students who have previously stayed on campus can apply to be on the waiting list.
I am from Sabah, I heard many of my A-level course mates do not get what they wanted. Let's just imagine how inconvenient it could be if every single of us have to use our parents' muscle to get what we wanted.
AronC
post Sep 2 2011, 07:51 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(golddust @ Sep 2 2011, 06:04 PM)
I'm getting really worried as I've not heard from Accommodations since submitting my application three months ago.  I'm not from Malaysia so all I can I do is call/email them but I can never get through and they haven't replied to my emails. sad.gif
Hello there! Welcome to UNMC. rclxms.gif For your information, The University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus International Office will be closed for the Hari Raya Holidays from 30th August 2011 till 2nd September 2011. The office will reopen on 5th September 2011.
Source: UNMC Closed for Hari Raya Holidays
AronC
post Sep 3 2011, 06:41 PM

302 posts

Guys, what kind of broadband do you use during your time in Semenyih? Someone recommended me to use landline Maxis. What kind of other service provider you recommend since it has a lot of broadband provider, but I do not know which one is better.
AronC
post Sep 29 2011, 01:28 PM

302 posts

I wonder if this is an off topic.

[Want to buy] 2nd hand book
Ashcraft, M.H & Radvansky, G.A. (2010). Cognition (5th ed.) International Edition. Upper Saddle River, New Jersey, USA: Pearson.

AronC
post Oct 1 2011, 01:59 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(Enar @ Sep 30 2011, 12:07 AM)
Just for those interested of TTS7 - I was contacted by an agent and I quote:

"This is a brand new houses with fully furnished: bed,cupboard,desk,fridge,washing machine,microwave,air cond,WiFi . U can rent the whole house or a room."

The rental for the room goes from 400-550 according to what you're looking for.

Hope this helps. Anyone else with information on TTS7 or anyone with availability in TTS4/5; it would be appreciated if you could share this knowledge!

Thanks in advance!
IMHO, TTS7 is really too far away from campus, accessible by using bus / van only. I don't like to be bound by the bus schedule. Unless you are willing to walk, it will takes 25-30 minutes to campus.

I'm staying in TTS5, it takes around 10-15 minutes to reach your classroom, or a more common place - Student Association, which is quite a long way! I don't like the climbing part, if I were given chance, I'll take single room on-campus, convenient is still my main concern! smile.gif

For the rental rate, RM400-RM550 will be a normal price, depends on what type of room you take. I'll advise you to take a visit to the room before you make any decision. biggrin.gif
AronC
post Oct 7 2011, 01:17 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(alexander.ch_1992 @ Oct 6 2011, 09:56 PM)
Helloooooo everyone how's everythingggggg.  biggrin.gif

Not nice, as you saw my facebook status. sad.gif
Guys, I must share my experience here. I was looking for off-campus accommodation in the early September, I asked here and there, and finally I got a number from a senior. I called the owner and enquired about the room. She told me the room is newly built, very big and nice, near to campus, has a bathroom, so on and so forth. I am worried that I couldn't get a room because the semester will commence very soon, so I just banked in 1 month rental deposit (RM550 excluding utility bills) to secure my place, bloody expensive right? mad.gif

When it comes to the day I must leave my hometown, I came here alone. When I reach the house, my first feeling was like, WTH why so dirty? And it seems like it fell into disuse. I called the owner and she showed me my room. The room has a bed, a table, and a wardrobe. I was satisfied with the room size, but definitely NOT the room condition.
1. It's newly built, but the room is damn dirty, never cleaned up perhaps?
2. On the upper part of the air conditioner, there was a plastic with all the cement powder, and a lot of pieces of bricks.
3. There is a leakage in the bathroom, when the tenant on the first floor uses his bathroom, my bathroom will......... laugh.gif

4. Most importantly, there is no fan.
5. The wardrobe is very dirty. Full of unknown particles.
6. The A/C is not working, NOT AT ALL.

She told me that she will get me a fan, and get things done as soon as next day. I agreed with that, and asked her to clean up the room for me. She just simply mopped the room, and left. (FYI she's not staying in the house, as far as I know, she possessed more than 10 houses in TTS) I was so so so so so soooo stupid. I should have asked her to clean up the whole room for me. With the price of RM550 rental, I do expect a better service and room quality! So in the end, I called my parents and told them about these. The owner immediately send me a standing fan and left. After that, I cleaned up the room. At least, survivable.

There is a thing I dislike the most, when she ask the workers to come to my place, she never turned up, she's just tooooo busy with her daily stuff. So I just have to carry my laptop, and some other important things with me, anytime anywhere. Well, I thought, like finally? - I can settle down. A couple of days ago, it rained heavily. I went back to my room, and found my room has a lot of rain water under my bed and table. I just realised there's a hole behind the A/C, in which the workers never seal it up after setting up an A/C in my room.

Guys, here are some advices you must take. Especially to those who are a new student, or someone who seeks for a private arranged off-campus unit:
1. For outstation student, it's better to come to TTS area, to do a market research. Always check for the room condition. First, check the cleanliness. Take a look at the window, the wall, and the bathroom, see whether there is a leakage. Go outside your room and check the wall. See whether the hole is sealed - the hole where the compressor and the A/C is connected.
2. Always remember that you're the customer, you're the king. You should always bargain for what you think you deserve!
3. Don't rush to get a room if you think it's expensive and you dislike it. There is always a room available. You can always ask the Classifieds email from us! If you really don't like what the University has allocated to you, stay on-campus for a few days. You can ask for a refund within a week (if I'm not mistaken). You have plenty of time during your registration and induction week. Just don't be another "me".
4. PM me for my house owner's number, you can see her advertisement banners around TTS when you take the bus. tongue.gif I personally do not advise you to take her rooms, but if there is no choice, always check the condition first. Make sure it's okay then you get in. smile.gif

This post has been edited by AronC: Oct 7 2011, 01:36 AM
AronC
post Oct 7 2011, 11:39 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Oct 7 2011, 02:23 AM)
Try mine perhaps? Next class after Thurs 11am is..... Fri 5pm.
I believe you have all the rights to request for a refund and look for a better room.
You are going to deal with it for a whole year (if that's the contract).
Unless you think you want to suffer through it for a month.
Today rained heavily, isn't it?
Yeah, rained heavily, but she sent the workers to seal the hole up immediately, so I guess no issues so far, at least at the moment. smile.gif

Never mind, I don't want to move all my things again. Quite troublesome without a car. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(stormsea7 @ Oct 7 2011, 12:33 PM)
RM550 excluding utility bills? Where are you staying? TTS5? I'm assuming it's a single room right? Attached bathroom?

Did you sign any contract? Some place require you to sign a 12-month or more rarely, 9-month contract.

If you haven't you can always try to opt other place. There are still quite a few rooms left.
You can always try those numbers listed in the classified (tanjinjack had posted 2 posts, where is this week classified btw?)
Since you essentially already got a place to stay, now you can take your time to survey the houses and rooms.
Call the landlord/main-tenant so you can have a look first. (<-Very important! Some houses/rooms really sucks)

By the way, the house I'm staying have a single room available  biggrin.gif
It's located in TTS4 and currently occupied by 7 engineering student (wait, you are non-engineering student right?  hmm.gif )
RM450 per month excluding utilities.
Call Hock Soon (main-tenant, 017-3135 826) for more details if you are interested  icon_rolleyes.gif
Yeah, TTS 5 attached bathroom. smile.gif So far I didn't sign a contract yet, it's common for a 11-month contract in TTS, but surprisingly Edu Square has only 9-month contract.

Thanks for the offer! biggrin.gif But I decided to settle down here. I will take it as an experience, will be smarter next year dealing with these kind of stuff.
AronC
post Oct 10 2011, 12:42 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(manthew @ Oct 9 2011, 10:22 PM)
What's her name? We should have a blacklist of shitty landlords here for reference. Let them know they can't get away from being a lousy landlords.
Alright, but not going to do it too obvious. Actually you can see all her banners around TTS if you ever ride the bus from campus to Kajang KTM. The banner says, "For Rent", following by a phone number starts with zero 1 six, ends with 9 1 5 three, I can't recall the another phone number, it's yellow in colour by the way.

P/S: There's one banner on the house on your left, before the pedestrian bridge from TTS5 to campus.
AronC
post Oct 24 2011, 10:34 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(luminarist @ Oct 23 2011, 12:27 AM)
Hello guys, I'm actually an A levels student and just about to sit for my AS exam next week.. So let's say i finished my AS and received the results, can I use it to apply for next year's intake? Or do I have to wait for my A levels result? I think i'm more interested on the engineering field.. Any engineering student here could enlighten me about the difference between Electrical and Electronic Engineering and Electronic and Computer Engineering? smile.gif

Thanks a lot in advance.
You can apply using your forecast AS-level result, why not the real AS? biggrin.gif About your engineering inquiries, too bad I'm a business school student, couldn't help you much. tongue.gif

QUOTE(cutebubbles @ Oct 23 2011, 03:03 PM)
Hi. just wanna ask for the september intake next year right. when would be the best time for me to apply? im taking AUSMAT this year. should i apply after i get my real results or right now with my mock results?

also if i apply for pharmacy. when would i know if im accepted and when's the interview ? cos im kinda scared i dun get accepted and i'll miss all the other intakes for other unis ><
As soon as possible, I think you can try to apply using your forecast / mock result. Can't help with your pharmacy queries. But I can help you to ask my friend, will get to you as soon as possible. biggrin.gif
AronC
post Apr 3 2012, 09:49 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Apr 3 2012, 12:48 PM)
Internship is done during the summer break, which starts from early June till mid September. The minimum requirement (at least for mechanical) is 10 weeks, but most people did 12 weeks, which is equivalent to 3 months. Finding industrial placement is the responsibility of the student. At times, you'll receive emails from the lecturer in charge about some companies wanting interns and you have to follow up yourself.
Eh, speaking of internship, most of the companies require CGPA / GPA marks. How do I convert my percentage to CGPA / GPA. I've googled about it, but there is a lot of different calculation. Any idea? smile.gif

Added on April 3, 2012, 9:55 pmBy the way Jin Jack, kindly add some information on the first post. For BA (Hons) Finance, Accounting and Management, entry requirement is BBB. smile.gif And under the members' list,

That's me. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AronC: Apr 3 2012, 09:55 PM
AronC
post Apr 6 2012, 01:25 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(Nightwalkerz @ Apr 6 2012, 01:11 AM)
Ok. TQ smile.gif. Btw, what books to buy for FIE? Do we need to buy before class commence or lecturers will give us note and tell us what books to buy?
I used to be like you - worried too much about those. No worries, just be mentally and physically prepared, go to class, usually there is no lectures in the first week, only housekeeping stuff. smile.gif And normally we have an outline about the modules, from there, you know what are your core textbooks, etc etc. Our library has most of the books as well. Hope this helps.
AronC
post Apr 22 2012, 06:55 PM

302 posts

Didn't visit this thread for quite some time. Hello freshers. Doing great? wink.gif
AronC
post May 1 2012, 06:28 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(Cottoncandyclouds @ May 1 2012, 06:23 PM)
Hmm.

Is Sgd 2.8k really that high? A good comp in Malaysia hires fresh grads for about RM 4k (read IBM).

And are you implying that your current wage grants you the the privilege to patronize?

Hmm Hmm Hmm.
Y U NO take exchange rate into consideration? SGD 2.8k equivalent to MYR 6.8k. It's bloody 2.8k more. whistling.gif
AronC
post Sep 4 2012, 05:00 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(YxQy @ Sep 3 2012, 08:43 PM)
hey jacktay94 and tanjinjack, really thanks for the answers =D

saw someone was asking the ATM, yea there is a Maybank and RHB (besides toilet), saw it when i was visiting there =)
Correction: It's Affin Bank ATM not RHB. smile.gif

QUOTE(HwangTommy @ Sep 4 2012, 10:34 AM)
got my unconditional offer letter yesterday, and applied for my student visa today! Yay! I hope the student visa comes on time smile.gif

anyway I'll be going to Kajang tomorrow, can I visit the school? Is there anyone from the school staff who can "take me for a walk" in the uni? xD

trying to get a laptop, but don't know what to get. is a macbook appropriate for an engineering student? because in some uni their engineering software are windows only.
Welcome to UNMC! As far as I know, MacBook can boot Windows as well, if you know how to configure it out. wink.gif

QUOTE(oceanic93 @ Sep 4 2012, 02:50 PM)
Can I know how much can you guys earn monthly when u guys do part time job at uk?

Is the salary enough to pay part of the tuition fees?
The standardised wage is around GBP5/hour, correct me if I am wrong. It depends on your determination to work and your luck. My friend has been working like a dog there, and he was able to buy 2 units of MacBook Air, a desktop costs GBP 1k, so I think it is more than enough for your purpose.

I mention about luck here is because:
1. Your employer might be a cheapskate. He might need you to do some overtime without paying you the extra.
2. The demand of part-time job is more than the supply.
So, good luck!

0.0510sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:39 PM