112 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V6, The ULTIMATE Android experience is here

TSbenny888
post Jun 27 2011, 11:17 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ksh9394 @ Jun 27 2011, 11:15 AM)
red bold is supercurio.
Please READ AGAIN !!!!

TUTORIAL : My Guide on How to ROOT using Supercurio kernel ?

TUTORIAL : How to ROOT using Chainfire 4.0 - installing same time ClockworkMod Recovery and Rooting same time

Added on June 27, 2011, 11:21 am
QUOTE(manx @ Jun 27 2011, 11:15 AM)
without rooting the phone, can we make the google navigation work?
using the 1st page instruction, when running titanium backup, it says the tool not workable without rooting... any idea?
You cannot use Navigation in Google Maps due to licence problems between Google and Msia/Spore
I have posted in Page 1 post# 4 how to overcome this - solution is from XDA

If you read the XDA link : you need ROOT cos:

1. Need Titanium Backup to backup Maps
2. Need to access file system to change file

All these need phone to be rooted

This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 27 2011, 11:21 AM
InfinITe_DudE
post Jun 27 2011, 11:22 AM

174 posts

Uncle Benny, Please add me to the user list. Jump ship from SGS 1. This phone is amazing.

By the way, why i can't take good picture in low light condition with default setting without flash? There seem like have a lot of noise in the picture. Do i need to play with the setting? Currently i am using DXKF1 stock rom.
erymanthus
post Jun 27 2011, 11:22 AM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(xavier7 @ Jun 27 2011, 08:28 AM)
Dude,  sorry if someone pointed out already, but just want to let you know that the RM799 deal is already gone, 300 people got it in MidValley already.
Now there's only the SGSII normal plans with voice+data.
Ya, fortunately I was one of the 300....phew....queued for 3-4 hours sweat.gif
manx
post Jun 27 2011, 11:23 AM

1,849 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 27 2011, 11:17 AM)
Please READ AGAIN !!!!

TUTORIAL : My Guide on How to ROOT using Supercurio kernel ?

TUTORIAL : How to ROOT using Chainfire 4.0 - installing same time ClockworkMod Recovery and Rooting same time

Added on June 27, 2011, 11:21 am
You cannot use Navigation in Google Maps due to licence problems between Google and Msia/Spore
I have posted in Page 1 post# 4 how to overcome this - solution is from XDA

If you read the XDA link : you need ROOT cos:

1. Need Titanium Backup to backup Maps
2. Need to access file system to change file

All these need phone to be rooted
Yup, after installing the titanium backup app, when lauching it says the phone need to be root first...
Ok, thanks. Need to study for rooting first smile.gif
ivanlmh
post Jun 27 2011, 11:23 AM

Dark Knight
829 posts

Anyone know how to control individual app permissions? Like i wanna stop this app from accessing the internet?
ksh9394
post Jun 27 2011, 11:24 AM

92 posts

why i cant enter download mode even i pressVol Down + Home + Power?
yesterday still can.
weeluvmal
post Jun 27 2011, 11:31 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(manx @ Jun 27 2011, 11:15 AM)
without rooting the phone, can we make the google navigation work?
using the 1st page instruction, when running titanium backup, it says the tool not workable without rooting... any idea?
gonna need root as google navigation / google maps are considered system app, you will need root to remove the old one, and replace back with the hacked one.
ksh9394
post Jun 27 2011, 11:32 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(ksh9394 @ Jun 27 2011, 12:24 PM)
yesterday still can.
solved: it must be press and hold some time.

TQ Mr.benny for helping.
cruzzmz
post Jun 27 2011, 11:32 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(Gh-x @ Jun 27 2011, 11:03 AM)
well of course the stock earphone can't be compare to a good after market brand.
and i am not using a stock earphone. Currently i am using Bijou 3 and it did a really good job with my previous phone and mp4 player but when i pair it with SGS2 i am not satisfied with the bass.
emmm
not sure what is the problem since i have no complaint when using it with my altec head phone. If i put the surround ... damnnn bass blows my mind
BTW usually stock earphone is shitty

Regarding Titanium Backup, YUP u need to root ur SGS2
The fastest & easiest is using Odin ... with ChainFire root kernel

as for me i usually use the system uninstaller sw ... remove maps, ten install ownhere hack gmap

Added on June 27, 2011, 11:34 am
QUOTE(weeluvmal @ Jun 27 2011, 11:31 AM)
gonna need root as google navigation / google maps are considered system app, you will need root to remove the old one, and replace back with the hacked one.
u can try using adb uninstall and then adb push ....
i usually root mine

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: Jun 27 2011, 11:34 AM
erymanthus
post Jun 27 2011, 11:39 AM

1,279 posts

For those who changed from SGS to SGS2 like myself, can you help me to check something? especially those who still have their old SGS with them...

When I delete a SMS, in SGS2 it takes a little while and I can see the circle loading icon....but in my old SGS, deleting a sms is almost instant without the loading icon.....

Does your SGS2 have this loading icon when deleting a sms?

What about the rest of you SGS2 users out there? Can help me check?

My SGS2 is running on stock Rom.....my old SGS is running on Criskelo 2.3.4 ROM.....i wonder if it is ROM related....cannot be SGS faster than SGS2, right?

TSbenny888
post Jun 27 2011, 11:41 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ksh9394 @ Jun 27 2011, 11:24 AM)
yesterday still can.
Take out battery. Wait few secs. Put it back on. try again. The trick - press and hold down home button down first ; then press the other 2 buttons simultaneously

Added on June 27, 2011, 11:43 am
QUOTE(erymanthus @ Jun 27 2011, 11:39 AM)
For those who changed from SGS to SGS2 like myself, can you help me to check something? especially those who still have their old SGS with them...

When I delete a SMS, in SGS2 it takes a little while and I can see the circle loading icon....but in my old SGS, deleting a sms is almost instant without the loading icon.....

Does your SGS2 have this loading icon when deleting a sms?

What about the rest of you SGS2 users out there? Can help me check?
My SGS2 is running on stock Rom.....my old SGS is running on Criskelo 2.3.4 ROM.....i wonder if it is ROM related....cannot be SGS faster than SGS2, right?

Just tested mine. Deleted 5 threads of spam SMS from telcos ( each thread about 10 SMS) - delete is instant; no wait to wait. I am on Litening 1.5 rom

This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 27 2011, 11:44 AM
mydendenmushi
post Jun 27 2011, 11:44 AM

Info sharing. For those who hv pinkish spot when using camera apps viewing white background, can try to upgrade your firmware. mine become almost unnoticeable after i upgrade from scee09 to scef02. file can be downloaded from xda. js searh for camera firmware thread under general section. happy trying smile.gif
TSbenny888
post Jun 27 2011, 11:46 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mydendenmushi @ Jun 27 2011, 11:44 AM)
Info sharing. For those who hv pinkish spot when using camera apps viewing white background, can try to upgrade your firmware. mine become almost unnoticeable after i upgrade from scee09 to scef02. file can be downloaded from xda. js searh for camera firmware thread under general section. happy trying smile.gif
Good tip - will post it up at FAQ
tunasandwich
post Jun 27 2011, 11:54 AM

974 posts

anyone experience where the SGS2 TouchWiz stock dialer (Keypad, and Logs tab) doesnt play well with Whatsapp? Means when u search for someone in the Keypad tab, or in the Logs tab, you select the person, and hit on the mail icon, it prompts to use Messaging or Whatsapp. When you select Whatsapp, it just refresh the screen and do nothing... sad.gif

Another question on the stock music player, when you use the "Folder" option, it doesn't display files in the Sub folders, anyway to get around this?
erymanthus
post Jun 27 2011, 12:00 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 27 2011, 11:41 AM)

Just tested mine. Deleted 5 threads of spam SMS from telcos ( each thread about 10 SMS) - delete is instant; no wait to wait. I am on Litening 1.5 rom
Thanks Benny, I guess it is ROM related....so that is good news.....will flash to another ROM in the future...now still play play with Stock ROM for a while first

This post has been edited by erymanthus: Jun 27 2011, 12:01 PM
TSbenny888
post Jun 27 2011, 12:01 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ivanlmh @ Jun 27 2011, 11:23 AM)
Anyone know how to control individual app permissions? Like i wanna stop this app from accessing the internet?
Some apps have settings for you to set this - periodic interval access, manual trigger access

If you do not wish to use the app, use Titanium Backup and FREEZE it - it will not appear in menu and it willnot run in background
Gh-x
post Jun 27 2011, 12:03 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Jun 27 2011, 11:32 AM)
emmm
not sure what is the problem since i have no complaint when using it with my altec head phone. If i put the surround ... damnnn bass blows my mind
BTW usually stock earphone is shitty
Hmm i am not sure either, maybe because i am used to heavy bass from my Meizu M6 player thus everything is not good enough. Although i admit SGS1 is better than SGS2 in Bass and sound quality.

Somehow i feel disappointed since i want a all in one phone that is why i waited for SGS2 and here it's lacking in audio section (for me) and now i have to carry around 3 devices sad.gif

This post has been edited by Gh-x: Jun 27 2011, 12:06 PM
Eiraku
post Jun 27 2011, 12:14 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Gh-x @ Jun 27 2011, 11:03 AM)
well of course the stock earphone can't be compare to a good after market brand.
and i am not using a stock earphone. Currently i am using Bijou 3 and it did a really good job with my previous phone and mp4 player but when i pair it with SGS2 i am not satisfied with the bass.
Quite simply put, the SGS2 is nowhere near the original SGS in terms of pure output SQ. It's not even close to the iP4. But with a little tweaking, it's surviveable. I use the CM7 DSP and CM7 stock player, feeding my trusty FA Eternas. Oooookay lah.

Here's hoping someone does one of the below:

1) Give us lineout to feed to our amps. Even IF the DAC is crap.

2) Give us true digital out through the USB-OTG connection, sopposedly possible by Ice Cream Sandwich.
hye
post Jun 27 2011, 12:27 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Just to reaffirm benny888's note on Skype.
I was able to download it with using Market Enabler and/or tweaking the phone/system to make it look that I am using a foreign SIM.
cjxs
post Jun 27 2011, 12:27 PM

95 posts

Can we update the firmware to KE7 straight out of the box?

112 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:38 PM