121 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

2011 Kia Optima, when will launch in Malaysia?

viruz019
post Feb 6 2012, 03:09 AM

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

Kia optima for the price of 144k?

That is pretty ripped off no?
cybermaster98
post Feb 6 2012, 10:12 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(serendipity168 @ Feb 5 2012, 10:10 PM)
Just put down a booking fee, I'm sure they will oblige  tongue.gif

Btw, word is the next batch of K5's coming in 2012 are still 2011 models.

Can anyone verify this?  hmm.gif
What i heard is that the 2012 batch is already on its way to Malaysia. Expected to arrive end month or early March.
ar188
post Feb 6 2012, 10:14 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 6 2012, 10:12 AM)
What i heard is that the 2012 batch is already on its way to Malaysia. Expected to arrive end month or early March.
so when you getting yours? biggrin.gif
cybermaster98
post Feb 6 2012, 10:43 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(landlily98 @ Feb 5 2012, 11:04 PM)
Since there is so much hype about this new gen Optima K5, thought should pay Kia showroom a visit and have a close up view of this car.....

This afternoon went to a Kia showroom, as usual...no test drive unit..... great!

Had spent some time to do a walk around and sat inside K5 for a while, well, can't deny the fact that it is really a good looking, gorgeous sedan...., externally. The interior design is modern and 'canggih' looking. The specs are really impressive, no other new car with similar pricing able to match or even come close.

However, the biggest problem with this car is.... the interior quality.... a car that cost almost RM 144K should not have this kind of interior finishing. There are a few obvious deficits:
1. The panel parts gaping are not consistent at certain places,
2. The unit that available there, the HU eject button doesn't recoil after you press on it, in fact, the rest of the buttons on the facia also give a vague tactile feel.
3. The glove box door lid need to give a hard push before it can be closed, with a very harsh sound, and a gap.
( both 2 , 3 problem were attributed to repeated pressing by customer, told by the SA.... my god, means if you buy the car, don't press the buttons or open the glovebox too many times.... and the car probably only displayed there less than a month???)
4. Both rear doors open and shut with a hollow sound. 

no chance to test the electronics and engine running condition.... so this is still a question mark.

So..... no offense to Kia K5 lovers /fans here.... personally I think the interior quality and finishing of T/N/H brand D-segment car still better. Yes, they may look mature..., boring..., even described as ugly.... only uncles and aunties... those who knows nothing about car will buy.... rite?). For me, buying a car is not only the exterior, but you are buying the whole package offered by the manufacturer, from the moment you step into the showroom, buying the car, receive the car, driving experience, services and maintenance, second hand value etc....

I sincerely hope that this is probably a lemon car, and the rest of the K5 would be better. 

Just my 2 cents....
Well i agree with the glove box problem. It doesnt close as easily as it opens and u dont expect that with a D segment car. But, i found the rear doors closing with a 'thump' rather than a twang. So not sure which hollow sound u refering to. In general, i agree that Hyundai should have put more effort into the interior as they did with the exterior.

But i guess, we all know that there is no such thing as a perfect car. So far, the positives in the Kia Optima (as i see it) are as follows:

1) good specs
2) futuristic exterior design
3) generous legroom
4) good rear suspension despite 18 inch rims thanks to the gas shock absorbers
5) satisfactory driving dynamics and road handling
6) good NVH and minimal wind noise
7) comfortable front seats
8) auto power windows for front passenger
9) 5 years unlimited mileage manufacturer's warranty

Its negatives:

1) Average interior quality
2) Interior design could have been better
3) Rear blind spots (but this is countered by the rear camera)
4) Not sure how the rear camera will hold up long term with repeated slamming of the boot lid
5) Rear seat headroom a bit tight
6) Front fog lamp design..doesnt really blend into overall front fascia
7) Rear seats could have been designed better for support on long distance travel
8) Heavy car with insufficient torque - low range power insufficient = feels sluggish on initial acceleration
9) Glove compartment locking closing mechanism poorly designed with cheap plastics
10) After sales service needs improvement
11) Slightly lower resale value

As you can see, most of the negatives are actually cosmetic. Insufficient low range power is apparent even with the Camry 2.0L so nothing new there. But i would think that considering all the pros/cons, its still very much a worthwhile buy.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Feb 6 2012, 02:35 PM
VeeJay
post Feb 6 2012, 10:53 AM

3,852 posts

good review cybermaster. A question here, how is it compared to Sonata?

Recently I drove my friend's sonata, it was just for a short distance/time (30 min X2). My first impression was, the engine was a little noise compared to others in its range.
Power, I'm not going to complaint, because thats the reason they have tiptonic shift, if one wants power.
ANd I didnt like the stereo set, it didnt have a decent display panel, which is now market standard, I was surprised on that.

I cant say much on road handling, since its was short drive, but it did well overall on humps and bumps, since we had 6 in the car.

oh ya, both front seats, seems to be lower than standard car, O felt I was driving my EX-Wira 1.6! In a good way....

BTW, I own the older version of Optima.

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Feb 6 2012, 10:54 AM
cybermaster98
post Feb 6 2012, 10:57 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 6 2012, 10:14 AM)
so when you getting yours?  biggrin.gif
Not yet la. Im still analysing various cars. Will make my decision by end March. Im only targetting the WWR plate which should come by May/June 2012. Current plate in KL is WWH 6065.
ar188
post Feb 6 2012, 10:59 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 6 2012, 10:57 AM)
Not yet la. Im still analysing various cars. Will make my decision by end March. Im only targetting the WWR plate which should come by May/June 2012. Current plate in KL is WWH 6065.
why dun target WWW? biggrin.gif
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 6 2012, 12:45 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 6 2012, 10:57 AM)
Cybermaster is certainly, a man with a plan! Thanks for sharing some of your observations.

Well some people might think that your may be fickle minded or the time you take to make a choice may be a bit excessive but I believe your meticulous search for your new car will pay off handsomely rclxms.gif

As to why you would choose WWR, I guess only time will tell. In time do let us know smile.gif

Sounds like the K5 is the front runner in your search so far, do share with us the other cars that are in your sights at this point and a mini comparison between them will be much appreciated.

I am keen of the 3 series but lately, I find my interests waning not sure if this has to do with the K5 hmm.gif

Keep up the good work rclxms.gif
SA6YEuro
post Feb 6 2012, 12:54 PM

36 posts

Since the topic of plate number has been touched, does anyone know how fast are the plate numbers being issued for KL? For example, WWH to WWJ (1 week? 2 weeks?)

I saw WWG on road. Havent bump into WWH yet. Honestly, looks like its ridiculously fast! Its Like 4-5 alphabets in 1 month! Yes?
cybermaster98
post Feb 6 2012, 01:02 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 6 2012, 10:59 AM)
why dun target WWW?  biggrin.gif
if considered that also. But WWW will come out sometime September. If i were to wait that long, i might as well wait for 2013 model car.

Added on February 6, 2012, 1:03 pm
QUOTE(SA6YEuro @ Feb 6 2012, 12:54 PM)
Since the topic of plate number has been touched, does anyone know how fast are the plate numbers being issued for KL? For example, WWH to WWJ (1 week? 2 weeks?)

I saw WWG on road. Havent bump into WWH yet. Honestly, looks like its ridiculously fast! Its Like 4-5 alphabets in 1 month! Yes?
Its usually 2 alphabets per month. Its normally faster between Nov-Feb as there are many discounts then. Next week will already be WWJ.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Feb 6 2012, 01:03 PM
cybermaster98
post Feb 6 2012, 01:10 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(serendipity168 @ Feb 6 2012, 12:45 PM)
Cybermaster is certainly, a man with a plan! Thanks for sharing some of your observations.

Well some people might think that your may be fickle minded or the time you take to make a choice may be a bit excessive but I believe your meticulous search for your new car will pay off handsomely  rclxms.gif

As to why you would choose WWR, I guess only time will tell. In time do let us know smile.gif

Sounds like the K5 is the front runner in your search so far, do share with us the other cars that are in your sights at this point and a mini comparison between them will be much appreciated.

I am keen of the 3 series but lately, I find my interests waning not sure if this has to do with the K5  hmm.gif

Keep up the good work  rclxms.gif
I always put alot of thought in whatever i invest in. For the car, ive always targetted a WWR number plate so i knew when to start the search. My target is to make a booking by April so ive still got about 2 months to do my analysis. I started my search in 2011. The mistake ppl sometimes make is that, if they plan to change car say in June but they only start looking in April/May so they end up rushing and sometimes make wrong decisions. In my case, ive given myself ample time to analyse and make my choice. It may not be the best choice but it will surely be one which i wont regret.

Ive done the same with my property investments, gold, unit trusts, etc...and all are earning handsome profits. Spending time analysing isnt wrong if ure doing it the right way and ure getting the required results.

The WWR plate is merely due to the way it sounds. Nothing more. My other cars which i was considering is the Peugeot 508, Audi A4, BMW 3 series, Passat CC and of course the upcoming Camry. But yes the Optima seems to be winning the battle.
cybermaster98
post Feb 6 2012, 04:29 PM

4,440 posts

Just some dimensions of the Optima, Camry, Teana & Accord for comparison (all 2.0L models):

Overall length: 4845, 4826, 4850, 4950
Wheel base: 2795, 2775, 2775, 2800
Height: 1455, 1470, 1480, 1475
Thread (front): 1591, 1575, 1560, 1590
Thread (rear): 1591, 1565, 1565, 1590
Kerb weight: 1520, 1510, 1455, 1480
HP: 163, 146, 134, 154
Torque: 198, 190, 190, 189

The extra weight for the Optima is due to the 18 inch rims. But seems like in terms of power output, the Optima is still the best among the 4.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Feb 6 2012, 04:30 PM
gregy
post Feb 6 2012, 04:45 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 6 2012, 04:29 PM)
Just some dimensions of the Optima, Camry, Teana & Accord for comparison (all 2.0L models):

HP: 163, 146, 134, 154
Torque: 198, 190, 190, 189

The extra weight for the Optima is due to the 18 inch rims. But seems like in terms of power output, the Optima is still the best among the 4.
Hmmm, according to this http://www.autozine.org/Archive/Kia/new/K5.html the kerb weight of the 2.4 GDI version is only 1,470kg, so how can the 2.0MPI be heavier than that, and closer to the weight of the 2.0 Turbo?

Anyhow, interesting to see that the front and rear track (tread) and wheebase are similar to the Accord which is the largest D-segment in its class, much larger than even Contis.
ar188
post Feb 6 2012, 04:59 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 6 2012, 04:29 PM)

HP: [b]163, 146, 134, 154
Torque: 198, 190, 190, 189[/B]

better test the optima on the road, it maybe similar to sonata for the powertrain (engine/GB) .. one thing i can tell you that I have driven the sonata several days and outstation (not those short test drive sessions) and it's no where as accelerative than my lower powered 2L teana which is 19in equipped. but the sonata does have well insulated feel so I guess optima will be the same also..
cybermaster98
post Feb 6 2012, 05:04 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Feb 6 2012, 04:45 PM)
Hmmm, according to this http://www.autozine.org/Archive/Kia/new/K5.html the kerb weight of the 2.4 GDI version is only 1,470kg, so how can the 2.0MPI be heavier than that, and closer to the weight of the 2.0 Turbo?
Well i could be mistaken. But i cant find the figures for the 2.0L MPI anywhere. Can you search?
cybermaster98
post Feb 6 2012, 05:23 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 6 2012, 04:59 PM)
better test the optima on the road, it maybe similar to sonata for the powertrain (engine/GB) .. one thing i can tell you that I have driven the sonata several days and outstation (not those short test drive sessions) and it's no where as accelerative than my lower powered 2L teana which is 19in equipped. but the sonata does have well insulated feel so I guess optima will be the same also..
I have tested the Optima and found it to be sluggish during initial acceleration. But surprising that you found the Sonata sluggish as well. The Sonata has the same engine as the Optima but the Sonata's kerb weight is only 1404kg. A good 80kg lighter than the Optima probably due to its 17inch rims.

Can somebody find out the 0-100kmph figures for the 2.0L Sonata and Teana? The Optima does the sprint in 10.9 secs.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Feb 6 2012, 05:24 PM
gregy
post Feb 6 2012, 05:33 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 6 2012, 05:04 PM)
Well i could be mistaken. But i cant find the figures for the 2.0L MPI anywhere. Can you search?
Not easy. Most places I look they talk about the 2.4 GDI smile.gif

I guess for a large sedan like this the clear option would be the 200PS engine smile.gif
cybermaster98
post Feb 6 2012, 05:36 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Feb 6 2012, 05:33 PM)
Not easy. Most places I look they talk about the 2.4 GDI smile.gif

I guess for a large sedan like this the clear option would be the 200PS engine smile.gif
Yes. I too have found it virtually impossible to get info for the 2.0MPI
ar188
post Feb 6 2012, 05:53 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 6 2012, 05:23 PM)
I have tested the Optima and found it to be sluggish during initial acceleration. But surprising that you found the Sonata sluggish as well. The Sonata has the same engine as the Optima but the Sonata's kerb weight is only 1404kg. A good 80kg lighter than the Optima probably due to its 17inch rims.

Can somebody find out the 0-100kmph figures for the 2.0L Sonata and Teana? The Optima does the sprint in 10.9 secs.
on paper 0-100 probably not much difference in seconds, but when going at moving speeds like 50-80kmh when you put your foot down like coming out of a highway curved intersection.. you can feel the immediate acceleration on teana.. u wont feel it on the sonata.. anyway that's what the Xtronic CVT does, unlock the power of your engine whenever you want it, can't do it on conventional fix ratio gearboxes as you cannot access the full power of the engine anytime you want.
VeeJay
post Feb 6 2012, 06:18 PM

3,852 posts

The K5, with a 16in wheel, the Kerb weight is 1454kg
http://www.leftlanenews.com/new-car-buying/kia/optima/#specs

121 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0304sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:14 PM