4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

2011 Kia Optima, when will launch in Malaysia?

SA6YEuro
post Dec 23 2011, 11:01 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Dec 23 2011, 04:19 PM)
same with sportage???no way...with abit more features than sportage and not forgetting the infinity 8-speakers + subwoofer package i doubt they will price it below 140k...probably around 145k liao...if u compare features from the leaked brochure with outside of malaysia optima 2.4L premium specs u'll find that they r similar except they dun offer 2 mufflers duh...onli thing now they dump in all 2.4L premium specs on 2.0L variant for malaysian optima...juz my 2cents
Juz wanna share wif u tt the tax structure of SUVs in MY is always higher than sedans. Its oso wishful thinking tt it b priced the same as the sportage, dearer is more likely. Hopefully it is slightly lower to giv all the Jap brands a good run 4 their money. Gettin fed up of paying high prices for a badge n worse part it s not as reliable as b4. I experienced 2 recalls wif my fd civic.

Added on December 23, 2011, 11:05 pmBased on the pics n info i gathered, looks like our MY version is a near complete sports package version. Doesnt get any better than this. Unfortunately our fuel quality here is not up 2 euro 4 stds or else will b gettin the gdi engines. 200bhp 2.4 NA or the 278bhp 2.0 Turbo. Nice!

This post has been edited by SA6YEuro: Dec 23 2011, 11:05 PM
SA6YEuro
post Jan 17 2012, 11:54 PM

36 posts

Hi all, juz to share tt a dealer did tell me abt 20 units came in without the rear vents n it was a week before the launch. Yes they did inform bout it upfront n din attempt to rip off. However I cant comment bout the rest of the dealers/branches. Apparently some glitch on the specs in the 1st batch tt came in. I dun work 4 naza neither hav i owned korean b4. However i m 1 of those idiots who ordered 1, coming 2nd batch.
SA6YEuro
post Jan 18 2012, 11:30 PM

36 posts

Discussion till this extent oredi. Well since the k5 cabin is kinda long, cooling down the rear on a hot day can b punishing. Its no longer a "i can live wifout" issue but a matter of convenience. If the car hardly got back occupants most of time then no impact. If there is, better rethink it over. Not worth a year's svc.

This post has been edited by SA6YEuro: Jan 18 2012, 11:31 PM
SA6YEuro
post Jan 20 2012, 10:57 AM

36 posts

Juz to share for those interested to know, our Msian version is pretty much the top of the range trim which is the Sports Package. How did i come to this conclusion? Frt bumper, side skirts, rear spoiler, aluminium pedals, hi perf dampers, lighted scuff plates. I m not sure whether the 18" rims n infinity is included in this package. Download the kia global brochure to believe.
SA6YEuro
post Jan 20 2012, 12:43 PM

36 posts

Its quite a big car. Not suprising its kinda scary if u r not used the size. On paper, the size is head to head wif the camry.

Added on January 20, 2012, 12:50 pm
QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Jan 20 2012, 12:42 AM)
Hehehe  biggrin.gif
I will be one of the first customers to get K5 OTR.  brows.gif
2011 batch? - I don't care. The difference would be insignificant after 5-6 years.
Pricey for a Korean made? - I don't care. I see, I like, I buy
High maintenance? - Which D-seg car doesn't have high maintenance?

And I'll be given a brand new car with rear aircon vent.

However, due to JPJ registration issues, I can't get it OTR before CNY. Could've gotten it before CNY but i insist on my preferred number plate. Huhuhu...

My SA have been ok so far, though not 100% honest with me, but they do get the car fast. PM me if you are interested.
Congrats mate. Tell us bout the overall experience once u hav got hold of ur k5.

Mine is in the 2nd batch. At least a good 2mths behind.

This post has been edited by SA6YEuro: Jan 20 2012, 12:50 PM
SA6YEuro
post Jan 20 2012, 06:29 PM

36 posts

As long as we dun get better quality fuel, gdi engines is goin to be another wish list juz like our diesel.

SA6YEuro
post Jan 21 2012, 07:10 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 21 2012, 12:27 PM)
I just went to the Kia Red Cube along Federal HIghway tis morning hoping to get my 5th look at the car. I arrived at 9.45am and the showroom was supposedly opened at 8.30am. Everything open but no salesman anywhere. The cleaner came up and passed me a brochure. I waited about 30mins and he didnt show up. I checked everywhere but he was nowhere to be found.

This is the crap service that Naza provides. Really tarnishes the name of Kia. How does Naza expect to change the perception of Malaysians towards the Korean brand when they have such poorly trained sales ppl with no professionalism?? Really pisses me off. Its not just 1 showroom. Its kinda widespread!  vmad.gif
I suggest tt you head over to a reputable dealer. At least most of them take you seriously. I wouldnt waste my time wif naza branches. Some of the SA dun even attempt to understand their own product. Simple question oso cant answer. Sigh...
SA6YEuro
post Jan 23 2012, 11:32 AM

36 posts

Happy CNY & Happy Holidays!

RV is very subjective to the shift in market forces. Used car dealers will stake a claim in fluencing the value but one cannot deny the influence of demand vs supply. Using historical results as precedent is fair but you hav to realistically take into consideration the market changes. For example, if the myvi is such a hot "commodity", technically we shuld see our roads flooded wif myvis in every corner of tis country based on the annual numbers being churned out.

In reality it doesnt seem tt way, ppl will eventually sell their car at one point in their lives but imagine a model in great numbers being sold in one period of time. How can a value hold when there are similar options in numbers? In reality to compete, undercutting happens. Thus bringing down the industry average. If this car holds such great value, why is there great numbers in the used car market?
Check out mudah or star classifieds (metro section klang valley)

Also, how can a 8 year old car still hold 50% of its original price? In this case, the vios is a good car but not a great car. Paying such high prices at that age?

Unfortunately it doesnt seem tt way. Prices are inflated beyond perceived value in order to restore some balance or a lot of used car dealers would have packed up long time ago. Thus creating unhealthy biased competition eventhough other car manufacturers besides u know who, introduce better cars. Forever bashing of brands will continue n the sad part, half of us nvr actually got into that car to determine whether is good or otherwise. Mindset have to change mates. We consumers are at the losing end. Think about it.
SA6YEuro
post Jan 23 2012, 12:42 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 23 2012, 11:55 AM)
u have doubts on top seller for consecutive 5 years?
in which corner did u not see a myvi?

there is great numbers in used car market, because it is number 1 in sales for last 5 years.
and a lot of fresh grads (5 years ago) upgraded their car, so they sell their car.

if u wanna see some irregularity in used car market, see 308thp. some are as new as 1 year old car, that is irregular.
I m not denying there is in great numbers (perodua commanded 30% of the marketshare last year, i know tt) but the concentration is in key urban/cities areas. Not in sub urban. If u hav travelled extensively enough, you will know wat i m talkin abt.

However the context i m referrin is not volume but the value. U hav oso agreed tt possibility of ownership of the latter model were previous model owners as well. The assumption is if there is minimal new to brand ownership irregardless new or used, how can the demand overshadow
the supply? Thus, the actual value shuld not be as inflated. Basically its recycling of the same owners to a certain extent. Btw, myvi is juz an example n not to
belittle nor insunnuate negative judgements.

This post has been edited by SA6YEuro: Jan 23 2012, 12:55 PM
SA6YEuro
post Jan 23 2012, 08:39 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 23 2012, 01:03 PM)
yup, myvi is best for urban/city. suburban/kampung would prefer sedan car instead, since they do not usually have more than 1 car in the house, or simply, they go buy cheaper used car, like a wira or iswara.

myvi in the rural area would more or less sounds like a jazz, a little bit expensive/premium hatch. rm50k is not entirely dirt cheap smile.gif

if u see, the resale value of myvi or saga is the best, along side with vios/city.
Based on tt judgement, you are definitely spot on.

I bought a mint cond 09 saga blm hi spec for 33k in 2010. I couldnt even buy a 4 year old myvi ezi at that price which was my initial intention. Frustrating! Like you pointed very clearly, the demand in areas of high spending power protects the value of the car.

Back to original topic of the optima, has anyone you know actually test driven it in our Msian conditions.

I hav trustworthy reviewers which hav tested it in Aust n found the car well balanced. More on the firm side n dampers were supplied by sachs. Engine is good but it was a 2.4 gdi so cant compare there.

This post has been edited by SA6YEuro: Jan 23 2012, 08:49 PM
SA6YEuro
post Jan 24 2012, 11:45 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Jan 24 2012, 03:18 AM)
The shockers on the Msian Optima, although set according to the Oz Optima specs, aren't supplied by Sachs but nonetheless are still marketed as high performance dampers. And, having only the same dual CVVT MPI engine as the current Sonata 2.0 but with a slightly heavier curb weight, a good place to start would be reading the local reviews on the Sonata to get an idea of what sort of driveability the Optima is able to conjure up.
Quite true to try out the sonata which i hav already done but the drivin dynanics of the k5 is pretty much different. The k5 ride is much firmer n the steering is much more weighted which is better than a lifeless one. The setup is leaned towards sports but definitely not for spirited driving. I use the current mondeo as the benchmark in this dept. Its probably the best handler in this segment.

I feel the power is decent but its not a stormer. How i wish they brought in the 200hp 2.4gdi. Tt would hav been fun.

I wonder wat is wrong wif naza? Selling a car based looks but no chance to feel it. I hav got a theories on this,

1. they intend to put limited numbers on the road first to temporarily market it exclusively. Hopefully to build strong interest once ppl see it on the road.
2. they hav limited number of APs.
3. Korea hav limited units allocated for us due to plant running at max capacity.

This post has been edited by SA6YEuro: Jan 24 2012, 11:50 AM
SA6YEuro
post Jan 24 2012, 09:03 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 24 2012, 07:41 PM)
+1

no matter what, this kia optima will be a head turner for the next 5-7 years biggrin.gif
I couldnt agree more. It looks good everytime i look at it. To date the best lookin d segment n probably years to come.

This post has been edited by SA6YEuro: Jan 24 2012, 09:04 PM
SA6YEuro
post Jan 25 2012, 02:42 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 25 2012, 02:12 PM)
Guys,

I managed to get a test drive with the new Optima. I must say im impressed with the suspension. Its surely better than the Peugeot 508. We went thru alot of bumps and i also sat at the back to get a feel and it was relatively smooth. We also took some corners on the Sprint Highway at 130kmph and body roll was minimal. Quite good road handling. Stable and well planted on the road.

But as i expected, the car is a bit sluggish on startup due to the body weight. Plus it doesnt have the 240Nm torque which the 508 has. But i think i can live with that as comfort is my biggest concern. Road noise and sound infiltration into the cabin is also at a minimal.
I
But i have a question about the warranty. It states 5 years unlimited mileage. I thought it was the standard 3+2 yrs with the remaining 2 yrs a limited insurance warranty covering major mechanical components. BUt i was told that this is a 5 year manufacturer warranty. Can someone clarify?
Great write up mate! I hav been waiting for someone to test the car instead of pointless bashing.

Take off at tt pace is expected but the mid range power? Comparable to the accord n camry? Can ask where did u test drive it and did they impose any conditions before u can jump in the seat? Sounds like u went to glenmarie.

This post has been edited by SA6YEuro: Jan 25 2012, 03:13 PM
SA6YEuro
post Jan 26 2012, 05:09 PM

36 posts

Luckily we r gettin the updated or actually the sports package version. Handling is improved n steering has more feel.

Those who got a chance to test drive the k5 gav pretty similar feedback. Impressive.

All the 3 japs r too soft. Cannot take hard driving.

This post has been edited by SA6YEuro: Jan 26 2012, 05:17 PM
SA6YEuro
post Jan 28 2012, 01:22 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(stargate8 @ Jan 28 2012, 12:52 PM)
wow, then really not enuf to cater malaysia market.

Naza should order more, otherwise some customer won't wait so long for the car.
Dun think its as simple as ordering more. Even my bros colleague in korea need to wait 3 months for his k5. Overwhelming response to date n their plant cannot cope wif the demand. Not forgetting tt the plant oso manufacture other models.

They juz recently introduced the 2.0 turbo in their own market. Why oh why? Why not here?

SA6YEuro
post Jan 28 2012, 07:43 PM

36 posts

Feelfree : where did u test drive the car? Pls share.
SA6YEuro
post Jan 30 2012, 02:19 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(lcsiong @ Jan 30 2012, 02:17 PM)
mine is high spec 2.4, i will test it and let u know
Huh? How did u get a 2.4?
SA6YEuro
post Jan 30 2012, 02:22 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(lcsiong @ Jan 30 2012, 02:20 PM)
i mean 2400 cc version
Errr.. The K5 offered by naza onli comes in 2.0 n 1 spec. Sounds like urs is a sonata?
SA6YEuro
post Jan 30 2012, 02:56 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(lcsiong @ Jan 30 2012, 02:27 PM)
here is some spec i get online, i need further testing to let u know.

Theta 2.4 MPI Engine
type CVVT
Displacement 2,359 cc
Max. Power180 ps
Max. Torque23.6 kg.m
0 - 100km/h9.5 sec
80 - 120km/h6.6 sec
i can take a photo of the car and engine size if you dont believe
Tts odd. I juz checked naza kia's website. Onli 2.0 is offered. Not trying to b rude but r u in msia?

Unless theres a new launch i dun know of.
SA6YEuro
post Jan 30 2012, 03:09 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(lcsiong @ Jan 30 2012, 03:06 PM)
hmm... actually i bought the car in Brunei since it way cheaper, waited 7 month for the arrival. and yes i am from east malaysia
No wonder la. We dun hav the 2.4 version. But i believe the ride n feel shuld b pretty similar.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0236sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:23 AM