2011 Kia Optima, when will launch in Malaysia?

SUSserendipity168
post Jan 14 2012, 01:09 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(serendipity168 @ Jan 14 2012, 01:09 AM)
Had a chance to check out the K5 the other day and I must say it is very impressive!

Quick question about the paint, does anyone know what does '3D' Bright Silver mean? Pls explain

Checked out the Koup too. Built like a tank. Reminds me of my old 1st Gen Audi TT.

Don't see too many of them on the streets though  smile.gif
Btw, I am big fan of Peter Schreyer's work (Audit TT and VW Beetle).

Most people would say KIA changes are cosmetic but do take some time to check out the video below. Enjoy~ biggrin.gif

A comparison between Kia Sportage, BMW X1, Landrover Freelander

Alternatively, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cwtkD7Y5cyM

This post has been edited by serendipity168: Jan 14 2012, 12:51 PM
SUSserendipity168
post Jan 14 2012, 11:40 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Jan 14 2012, 06:01 PM)
Err, that is the price without insurance, road tax etc. Factor all that in and the price will be 143,888, back to square one. It's not right to compare the 508 and Optima in this regard because the latter was only launched at the end of Dec. From then till now it has only been 2 weeks plus.
Gregy is right. That price doesn't look like an OTR price. Discount? hmm.gif
SUSserendipity168
post Jan 17 2012, 08:52 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(DAVE008 @ Jan 17 2012, 03:42 PM)
Guys, just some info for ya'll, the 1st batch of k5 which is being sold to public is without the back aircond located at the centre armrest. rclxub.gif

The cars being showed in outlets are from different batch/stock thus they have all the accessories listed but the cars being given/sold to public is without rear aircond vents but they are giving out 1 year free service due to this misgiving.

Confirmed by Kia careline. I dunno what shit was Naza thinking by duping consumers & now if you don't want to take this batch need to wait for the another batch to come in which is dunno when. mad.gif

So, please be warned to those who have already booked the car, loan approved & waiting to pick-up the cars, pls go through the checklist to ensure
all the accessories which were listed in newspaper or by cybermaster98 are there to avoid disappointment. sad.gif

-Dual zone auto air con with rear air con vents

Naza the ever so bloody fools  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
Good catch, Dave! Didn't realize this rclxms.gif

Has anyone else notice this?
SUSserendipity168
post Jan 18 2012, 11:57 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(SA6YEuro @ Jan 17 2012, 11:54 PM)
Hi all, juz to share tt a dealer did tell me abt 20 units came in without the rear vents n it was a week before the launch. Yes they did inform bout it upfront n din attempt to rip off. However I cant comment bout the rest of the dealers/branches. Apparently some glitch on the specs in the 1st batch tt came in. I dun work 4 naza neither hav i owned korean b4. However i m 1 of those idiots who ordered 1, coming 2nd batch.
Don't be too hard on yourself. It's not that bad.........

Do let us know when your lovely car is due to arrive. Perhaps, you can take us all out for a spin rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by serendipity168: Jan 18 2012, 11:58 AM
SUSserendipity168
post Jan 24 2012, 10:02 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(SA6YEuro @ Jan 24 2012, 09:03 PM)
I couldnt agree more. It looks good everytime i look at it. To date the best lookin d segment n probably years to come.
Sometimes I don't understand why the Jap fanboys are being so defensive doh.gif

Btw, Jap cars used to be junk in the 60's too but I'm glad that they have evolved to where they are today.

Perhaps, now is the time for the Koreans to shine? All's fair love and war. Truth t be told, I have a lot of respect for the underdogs, they do tend to try harder while the big boys tend to rest on their laurels brows.gif

Has anyone even seen the upcoming Rio? It's giving the VW Golf a run for its money rclxms.gif
SUSserendipity168
post Jan 25 2012, 11:17 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(,Jan 25 2012, 02:12 PM)
Guys,

I managed to get a test drive with the new Optima. I must say im impressed with the suspension. Its surely better than the Peugeot 508. We went thru alot of bumps and i also sat at the back to get a feel and it was relatively smooth. We also took some corners on the Sprint Highway at 130kmph and body roll was minimal. Quite good road handling. Stable and well planted on the road.

But as i expected, the car is a bit sluggish on startup due to the body weight. Plus it doesnt have the 240Nm torque which the 508 has. But i think i can live with that as comfort is my biggest concern. Road noise and sound infiltration into the cabin is also at a minimal.

But i have a question about the warranty. It states 5 years unlimited mileage. I thought it was the standard 3+2 yrs with the remaining 2 yrs a limited insurance warranty covering major mechanical components. BUt i was told that this is a 5 year manufacturer warranty. Can someone clarify?
Now we're finally getting somewhere with some substantial real life driving experience rather than the earlier biased mindless bashing.

Thanks for the input, cybermaster98 thumbup.gif
SUSserendipity168
post Jan 30 2012, 10:31 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(IpohLad @ Jan 30 2012, 09:34 PM)
1 person complaint yes not very effective. However 1 million people complaints then we'll see.

Added on January 30, 2012, 9:41 pm

Thats said it all about Malaysia motoring industry & the government failure isnt it. 1 tiny neighbour country capable of offering their citizen incentive. RM143k thats Audi, Merc, BMW territory. Malaysia consumers really are suckers arent we.
Well lads, venting your anger here won't do you any good hmm.gif

Just to add salt to the wound..... the Camaro (Bumblebee) cost like RM400K+ in Bolehland and it only costs a measly USD20K+(RM80K) in the US!

Anyway, Election is just around the corner, do the right thing! bruce.gif

This post has been edited by serendipity168: Jan 30 2012, 10:31 PM
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 2 2012, 08:53 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(SA6YEuro @ Feb 2 2012, 02:00 PM)
Ya man. Totally agree.

Latest news i got the is first batch of 2012 is on the way. Leaving/left korea oredi.
Quite right. I have received a few calls from different SAs saying that the next batch could be here end of Feb/early March
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 2 2012, 09:17 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(SA6YEuro @ Feb 2 2012, 09:05 PM)
Kiasu syndrome. Eventually they ll hav to let go at a discounted price. Capital tie up sets in, time to cut losses. Now juz fishing for waterfish.
I believe this has more to do with Naza rather than Kia
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 2 2012, 11:58 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(SA6YEuro @ Feb 2 2012, 11:02 PM)
Ya man! After considering so many cars in this segment, its a good all rounder n i got this tendency to drive the car hard. Suits me.

The other car i was considering but not in this segment is the VW Jetta. Good engine, handling and driving dynamics. Unfortunately cannot stand the interior n pricey considering its got nothing much in terms of gadget.

Honestly, buy a the car suits you and your needs. Not what the rakyat thinks.
I'm glad you brought up VW Jetta. Good engine, handling and driving dynamics it may be.

Boring interior and looks wise IMO, it's as interesting as toaster oven tongue.gif

SUSserendipity168
post Feb 3 2012, 09:03 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(SA6YEuro @ Feb 3 2012, 01:17 PM)
Exterior wise is nice but the interior is totally...... Bland!

Its hard to accept bcoz we spend time in the cabin n it looks like tt. Good built quality but spartan.
Yup, spartan sounds about right. Saw one near my home earlier.

Quite surprised to see a chrome trim at the bottom lip of the front bumper.

Now that's difficult to maintain sweat.gif
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 5 2012, 10:10 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(peter82 @ Feb 5 2012, 12:29 AM)
today has been went to kia showroom nearby federal highway but unfortunately cant test drive
Just put down a booking fee, I'm sure they will oblige tongue.gif

Btw, word is the next batch of K5's coming in 2012 are still 2011 models.

Can anyone verify this? hmm.gif
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 6 2012, 12:45 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 6 2012, 10:57 AM)
Not yet la. Im still analysing various cars. Will make my decision by end March. Im only targetting the WWR plate which should come by May/June 2012. Current plate in KL is WWH 6065.
Cybermaster is certainly, a man with a plan! Thanks for sharing some of your observations.

Well some people might think that your may be fickle minded or the time you take to make a choice may be a bit excessive but I believe your meticulous search for your new car will pay off handsomely rclxms.gif

As to why you would choose WWR, I guess only time will tell. In time do let us know smile.gif

Sounds like the K5 is the front runner in your search so far, do share with us the other cars that are in your sights at this point and a mini comparison between them will be much appreciated.

I am keen of the 3 series but lately, I find my interests waning not sure if this has to do with the K5 hmm.gif

Keep up the good work rclxms.gif
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 17 2012, 09:20 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 15 2012, 04:42 PM)
Via means 'through' not 'with'

Its common understanding that any original parts changed might void warranties. Same for all car manufacturers.
With Kia, it could be the exception to the norm laugh.gif

I told the SA last week that it's just too bad that the Sportage does not come with HID lights and fitted with 3rd party lights would void the warranty.

To my surprise, he told me that as long as you have the 3rd party HID lights installed by an authorized Kia service center, the warranty remains intact!

Now that's interesting smile.gif
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 19 2012, 11:58 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Feb 19 2012, 10:15 AM)
Had my K5 for a week. Only one problem occurred so far - Creaking sunroof. One that I feared, anybody having the same problem? There's a faint creaking noise from the sunroof whenever i go through uneven roads. After a bit of searching, it seems that Hyundai USA has issued a Technical Service Bulletin to lub the sunroof parts. I doubt that would be permanent. But better than nothing. FYI, the creaking noise doesn't occur when the roof is open.

Other than that, this is one heck of a good car, the interior feels solid (some said it looks like Waja but i'd suggest them to go see a doctor) , ride comfort is good (it would be even better if you swap for 17" rims and better tyres but that would spoil the look, so I could bear with it totally, huhuhu, i'm such a b*t*h  biggrin.gif ), engine is powerful and smooth enough (I really cannot understand why some guai lows said the engine is not refine enough in their reviews, the difference on engine refinement between this car and a camry is pretty minimal for normal user like myself). The front and rear seats are spacious. Few petite female colleagues of mine sat in my car and they all had at least a foot between their legs and the front seats. I'm almost six feet and i find no problem with the back seat, but lets face it, how often do you carry passengers that are taller than six feet over long distance? Give and take lor.

However, few things that buyers must endure or sacrifice are the front passenger seating position and the small little windows and lack of front parking sensors.

The seating positions are low for both the front passenger and the driver. As a driver, i find it hard to estimate the front as i can't see beyond the bulge of the bonnet, especially when I park the car or driving/turning out of basement carparks. Can't push the driver seat too high as the sporty low roof line would not allow it. The front passenger is worst as the passenger seat does not come with vertical height adjustments, so all my petite wife could see the the dashboard and the sky. hahahaha. Not much of a problem, just get her a ipad to divert the attention.

The sporty roof line limits the size of the windows, it makes it hard to reach out for parking tickets or make toll payments. But i could accept and endure all those because the sporty design was what drawn me to this car anyway. Just step outside of the car and compare it to other jap cars and you'll see why. I was comparing Mondeo, Camry, Accord and K5, Mondeo and K5 wins. Camry and Accord immediately feels outdated.

I'm considering a front sensor, but wonders whether that'll void any warranties or not.

Added on February 19, 2012, 10:24 amFew more things to add,

1) The HU can't connect to android phones properly. It is possible to connect but requires a few tries and good timing.
2) Can't lock the door from outside when the engine is running. A bit of inconvenience as I always lock the car doors when i leave my wife in the car. It's for safety.
3) The electric folding mirrors won't fold down automatically when i move the car.
Congrats on your new purchase! Thanks for sharing and it is good to get some feedback from an actual owner.

1) Creaking sunroof - Sure hope that this glitch will be resolved in the next batch
2) 17" Rims - Accept it as it is. As you have mentioned, it will ruin the look.
3) Sacrifice passenger seating position & small little windows - For the most part, I suppose when you said 'Seating' you were actually referring to 'Visibility'. Let's face it, the appeal of the car is that fact that it is designed just like a sports car. Low profile, low roof line, etc., etc. It's a about adapting. About a decade ago, I had a Mitsu 3000GT TT back in the States. It certainly was not the easiest car to drive around. It has very low visibility (front, side & rear), very bulky (I had a friend who called it a Big Mac) and back then, there was no such thing as parking sensors! No offense, perhaps some sort of seat support may help elevate your petite wife for better visibility.

Mirrors not unfolding while the car is in motion, can't lock the car from outside - these are minor details.

The bottom line is, get accustomed to the car and enjoy it.

All the best with your new toy! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by serendipity168: Feb 19 2012, 12:01 PM
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 27 2012, 10:59 PM

179 posts

OK, folks. Let's all take a chill pill and get back to the Optima discussion shall we? cheers.gif

Finally managed to test drive the Optima, it was impressive!

Low end torque isn't that bad. Once it goes to second gear the pick up is really good. Word is, the so called sluggishness when the car first goes in motion, is actually designed as a safety feature to prevent over-acceleration.

Handling is precise, ride is comfy(for 18" wheels), pickup is good, tackles sharp corners with confidence, ohh... love the dual sunroof!

Despite the width and length of the car, it actually drives more like a sports car as opposed to a family sedan (think Camry).

Initially, one may get overwhelmed with all those buttons on the steering wheel, center console and door panel. May take a awhile to figure out the functions of each button.

Yeah, took awhile to find out where that freakin' petrol tank lid release button is located doh.gif

For those who want a burst of power when overtaking, the paddle shifters ROCK! Gear shifts are smooth and precise. Switching from Manual back to Auto requires some horizontal shifting.

Last but not least, the Hill Start Assist Control (HAC) is really nifty too.

Just stop the car on a slope, press the brakes, slowly release it and the car will remain stationary for 10 secs before rolling backwards thumbup.gif

Overall, I would say it is one awesome car. If anyone can suggest a better alternative, do let me know! Nuff said rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by serendipity168: Feb 27 2012, 11:09 PM
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 27 2012, 11:46 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Feb 27 2012, 11:32 PM)
Over acceleration, lol.

That is some god level BS to feed customers, there is traction control, what is this 'over acceleration protection',
BS or not it don't matter ler, can't blame the SAs for trying. Considering the heft of the car, the low-range power is all good.

This post has been edited by serendipity168: Feb 27 2012, 11:49 PM
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 28 2012, 09:57 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(devinz @ Feb 27 2012, 11:32 PM)
Thanks for the great review bro. Care to share where did you get to test drive?
My buddy owns the car biggrin.gif

Added on February 28, 2012, 10:08 pm
QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 28 2012, 08:25 AM)
"nuff said" no use.. got take action n  put deposit or not?  brows.gif
Well I said that because I vouch for the car. Do I need to put down a deposit immediately? Do I need it asap? Should I consider other cars? Well, last I checked the prerogative is mine, never yours to begin with.

If everyone were to purchase the car immediately after a test drive or even checking it out in the showroom, this 'Kia Optima discussion thread' will cease to exist and labelled 'Kia Optima Owner's thread' instead, genius.

I have done my part in sharing my experience with the everyone here, other than trash talk what have you contributed the community lately?

Added on February 28, 2012, 10:25 pm
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 28 2012, 08:51 AM)
Good write up but i think we should always sound these sales ppl who feed us with crap. They need to realise that they are at the forefront of information and thus should not blindly dish out crap. Over acceleration is probably the biggest bullcrap ive heard in a long while.

Btw, what route did you take on your test drive and where did you test it out?
Drove it around Bangsar (slopes), Jalan Duta (acceleration/paddle shifters) and back around Bukit Damansara (winding roads) smile.gif

This post has been edited by serendipity168: Feb 29 2012, 03:22 PM
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 29 2012, 03:11 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 29 2012, 01:01 PM)
The first 3 services should normally be mineral or semi syn. Never use fully syn for the first service.

Added on February 29, 2012, 1:03 pm

Which showroom? How can i test drive?

Added on February 29, 2012, 1:04 pmhttp://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2246359
Bro, guess you missed my reply above. That car belongs to a friend smile.gif
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 29 2012, 10:55 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 29 2012, 09:53 PM)
rather than just shooting off blindly about me.. look few pages back lor.. discussion about nexen tires in this thread and various other technical talk about automotive engineering.
Shooting blindly? Dude, do you have selective amnesia? Who's the wiseguy here with the taunts?

Nexen tires? Let's not even go there! Here is what you have "Contributed":

1) You hijacked the thread to engage in a 'My Opinion of Tires is better than Yours' bickering with another forumer who challenged you to provide some facts, not opinion.
2) Your so called 'contribution' is nothing more than protecting your little delicate ego under fire.
3) Lastly, let's not forget about dragging the community into an out-of-topic discussion.

There is no point arguing with one who is constantly in denial mega_shok.gif

Wanna know what 'Contribution' means?

Here's a hint:

Folks, got a call from another KIA SA today. By end of March (give or take beginning of April) you may take the Optima out for a spin at the Red Cube along Federal Highway. I was told that the Sportage is also available for test drive as well. For those who are interested, do mark you calendar or contact a SA there beforehand. I suspect there will be quite a queue there biggrin.gif

Capish?

This post has been edited by serendipity168: Feb 29 2012, 11:03 PM

0.0205sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:08 PM