121 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Bottom

2011 Kia Optima, when will launch in Malaysia?

joseph.lim
post Apr 12 2012, 10:24 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Apr 12 2012, 10:21 AM)
Leg break controls the brakes with cable and your brake pedal control with hydraulic pressure. There will be a difference in the brake force applied between the brake pedal and leg break and in that transition from brake pedal to leg brake cable, you get the 'earth move under your car' feeling. This happens to most large cars as there is more weight settling in during the transition. Should not be anything to be worried about.
so sleepwalker, you have the same experience as me then, ok, at least i know this is a normal issue instead of some problem. Then will not bring up to the technician tomorrow. Thanks dude
sleepwalker
post Apr 12 2012, 10:40 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(joseph.lim @ Apr 12 2012, 10:24 AM)
so sleepwalker, you have the same experience as me then, ok, at least i know this is a normal issue instead of some problem.  Then will not bring up to the technician tomorrow.  Thanks dude
You can always bring it to them to tighten the leg-brake cable. My handbrake is so tight that if I were to pull it while driving, it locks the rear wheels immediately and I don't have that issue as the pressure from my handbrake is just as strong as my rear brakes. I don't drive the same car you do. I have felt those sensations in much larger and older vehicles and in some cars with rear drum brakes.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Apr 12 2012, 10:40 AM
ken7908
post Apr 12 2012, 10:58 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 12 2012, 09:41 AM)
That SA is obviously lying to you. All Optima K5's have that problem with the glove box. Well not actually a problem but just that u gotta push hard to close it. Thats a real crap as Kia could have easily done a much better job with the closing mechanism since the glove box is gonna get used often. I foresee many future replacements of the closing mechanism.

Besides this issue, i think the car's overall quality is satisfactory. But i guess only time will tell.
Sales guys loves to talk shit.....many of them don't really know much about cars. The donk head that serves me in Klang - when ask what is the torque, he answer RPM4600 and I belasah him. Only 5-6 products in the showroom pun tak boleh paham the details.....how la if selling 10-20 types of products? Haha....smile.gif

well nothing is perfect....give and take lo. The most important is you shiok driving the car.....case close tongue.gif

sutunjambul
post Apr 12 2012, 11:38 AM

14 posts

hi all..i'm a white k5 owner..so far i'm enjoying my car..but recently i noticed rattling sound coming from the roof at the sunroof switch area..anybody has experienced this?
feng yun
post Apr 12 2012, 12:12 PM

QUOTE(Kalist0 @ Apr 12 2012, 09:46 AM)
Question guys, if the k5 will be ckd in the future, will the price go down? Naturally, all ckd cars go down by at least 10k.
I heard from SA kia red cube PJ, Sportage price remain the same as CBU after conversion to CKD / SKD.
Can anyone confirm?

If same apply to K5, i think better get current CBU asap he he.
cybermaster98
post Apr 12 2012, 12:25 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(feng yun @ Apr 12 2012, 12:12 PM)
I heard from SA kia red cube PJ, Sportage price remain the same as CBU after conversion to CKD / SKD.
Can anyone confirm?
No reduction in prices. But maybe more freebies? When they CKD the Forte, they changed to 6 speed transmissions and raised the price a bit but thats acceptable. But if the price remains the same for CKD versions of the Sportage and Optima, wont that affect the resale values?
gregy
post Apr 12 2012, 12:30 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(ken7908 @ Apr 12 2012, 10:58 AM)
Sales guys loves to talk shit.....many of them don't really know much about cars. The donk head that serves me in Klang - when ask what is the torque, he answer RPM4600 and I belasah him. Only 5-6 products in the showroom pun tak boleh paham the details.....how la if selling 10-20 types of products? Haha....smile.gif

well nothing is perfect....give and take lo. The most important is you shiok driving the car.....case close tongue.gif
Well, he's not entirely wrong. IINM 4,600 rpm is where the max torque of this engine is produced.

Don't be too hard on them bro, cari makan je... You want to blame, blame the company for not giving the right kind of training.
cybermaster98
post Apr 12 2012, 12:34 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Apr 12 2012, 12:30 PM)
Well, he's not entirely wrong. IINM 4,600 rpm is where the max torque of this engine is produced.

Don't be too hard on them bro, cari makan je... You want to blame, blame the company for not giving the right kind of training.
Well training is one thing but the salesman has to make a personal effort to know his product right?

Ive met a young salesman at Red Cube PJ who actually went and downloaded performance videos from Youtube on the Optima and Sportage onto his Iphone to show customers. He has also read up alot on the vehicles and when u ask certain questions, he immediately pulls out his Iphone and shows you an article on that.

Its all about effort. You have a choice either to wait to be spoon fed or make the effort to get the info yourself. Afterall, its your own sales and rice bowl we're talking about right?
ken7908
post Apr 12 2012, 01:16 PM

78 posts

Yup. Ended up I booked mine in glenmarie with a guy that knows the car in and out. It is just part of day to day effort of selling and customer satisfaction.

Being a bit hard on them actually is helping them to improve. This is what I do to my sales guys too....not harsh but hard on facts and figure.

Are u sure bout the ckd on optima? So far didn't heard that, unless they really doing well like forte else it doesn't make sense to ckd.

Added on April 12, 2012, 1:17 pmYup. Ended up I booked mine in glenmarie with a guy that knows the car in and out. It is just part of day to day effort of selling and customer satisfaction.

Being a bit hard on them actually is helping them to improve. This is what I do to my sales guys too....not harsh but hard on facts and figure.

Are u sure bout the ckd on optima? So far didn't heard that, unless they really doing well like forte else it doesn't make sense to ckd.

This post has been edited by ken7908: Apr 12 2012, 01:17 PM
DJSoo
post Apr 12 2012, 01:17 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(feng yun @ Apr 12 2012, 12:12 PM)
Can anyone confirm?

As I heard from my SA yes.. The price of sportage remain.

Maybe like forte CKD, K5 CKD got touch screen player .. Or more freebies.. K logo.. But price remain same.

Added on April 12, 2012, 1:18 pm
QUOTE(sutunjambul @ Apr 12 2012, 11:38 AM)
hi all..i'm a white k5 owner..so far i'm enjoying my car..but recently i noticed rattling sound coming from the roof at the sunroof switch area..anybody has experienced this?
Touch wood, I don't have this problem so far. Only back passenger seat door got sound when cross not even road.

Added on April 12, 2012, 1:19 pm
QUOTE(joseph.lim @ Apr 12 2012, 10:16 AM)
Hi All,

Need to check with you guys whether you experience this in your K5:-

When the vehicle in motion and coming into a stop position like parking, when your call is stalled or complete standstill and your gear engage in P and you let go your brake, the car is like jerk forward a bit, the feeling is like in the lift sometimes it reaches the floor and it move a bit up before stopping at the position.  Can't really explain the feeling, and i hope you guys understand what I am trying to express.

It also happens while you are pressing the brake pedal when stopping, and then engage your leg brake, the moment you let go the brake pedal, sometimes this effect may occur. 

Anyone experience this in your K5 ?  I am sending my car for the 1st service tomorrow, will check with the technician.
I tot is commend ? My also the same.. Dunno is big issue o not, but I really found leg brake is not tight as hand brake. Still haven't used to it yet tongue.gif

This post has been edited by DJSoo: Apr 12 2012, 01:19 PM
cybermaster98
post Apr 12 2012, 01:21 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ken7908 @ Apr 12 2012, 01:16 PM)
They will surely CKD all the models since Naza has got their own assembly plant. Sportage already started CKD lines in Feb. Next will be Optima for sure. Only question is how soon.

But i also heard that Kia now offering unofficial rebates for the Sportage probably due to upcoming launch of the Maxda CX5 and Honda CRV.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Apr 12 2012, 01:23 PM
K5WHITE
post Apr 12 2012, 01:22 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 12 2012, 12:34 PM)
Well training is one thing but the salesman has to make a personal effort to know his product right?

Ive met a young salesman at Red Cube PJ who actually went and downloaded performance videos from Youtube on the Optima and Sportage onto his Iphone to show customers. He has also read up alot on the vehicles and when u ask certain questions, he immediately pulls out his Iphone and shows you an article on that.

Its all about effort. You have a choice either to wait to be spoon fed or make the effort to get the info yourself. Afterall, its your own sales and rice bowl we're talking about right?
exactly...not just in term of their own product knowledge, but overall customer service. My SA, wasnt even sure how i can complete the payment prior to taking the delivery of the car. And on the number plate interchange, he oso caused me to lose few days when he mis-informed me of the procedure. Rather than trying to give immediate wrong answer, they shud say "will get back to u soon abt it" if they dont know abt it.

Of course, if they make mistakes, and apologize, we shud forgive. But even after that, they act macho, and telling me it is company procedure. I was like "WTF, the other day u told me can !!"

This kinda SA, if fren ask me to recommend, i will say i dont have ctc.

Added on April 12, 2012, 1:23 pmany guys know the tyre and rims prices in Singapore ? cheaper than malaysia ? planning for trip there soon, driving...

This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Apr 12 2012, 01:23 PM
zapirwin
post Apr 12 2012, 02:03 PM

Anyone knows which SA from which showroom gives best offer? laugh.gif
gregy
post Apr 12 2012, 02:59 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 12 2012, 12:34 PM)

No offence, but if and when you decide to get the K5, will you end up buying from this young salesman with so much enthusiasm? Or will you buy from whichever SA can get you the best trade-in deal for your car?

I guess when it really starts to matter, SAs will ultimately buck up or butt out...in the meantime though... smile.gif

The irony about technical info on products is this: Buyers who are keen enough and who are tech savvy (which means anyone who has an internet connection and knows how to access google) will already know from the net whatever he wants to find out. So, going to a showroom to test the technical knowledge of the SAs is a waste of time, really. Also, what's the point in knowing a car's max torque figure? That's only telling a partial story. To know how powerful and driveable a car really is you need to see its torque and power curves on a graph.

In most instances, information such as the above are useless to the general car buyer.

If however, the SA doesn't know stuff like how many airbags, FC, boot capacity, how to operate the car's controls etc, yes, you can fucuk him/her. But torque figure? That's asking a bit too much.

I bet most here don't even know how to interpret torque curves into a useful assumption. So why bother to ask?

Added on April 12, 2012, 3:00 pm
QUOTE(zapirwin @ Apr 12 2012, 02:03 PM)
Anyone knows which SA from which showroom gives best offer? laugh.gif
Hence proving my point smile.gif

Thanks zapirwin...

This post has been edited by gregy: Apr 12 2012, 03:00 PM
joseph.lim
post Apr 12 2012, 03:10 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Apr 12 2012, 02:59 PM)
No offence, but if and when you decide to get the K5, will you end up buying from this young salesman with so much enthusiasm? Or will you buy from whichever SA can get you the best trade-in deal for your car?

I guess when it really starts to matter, SAs will ultimately buck up or butt out...in the meantime though... smile.gif

The irony about technical info on products is this: Buyers who are keen enough and who are tech savvy (which means anyone who has an internet connection and knows how to access google) will already know from the net whatever he wants to find out. So, going to a showroom to test the technical knowledge of the SAs is a waste of time, really. Also, what's the point in knowing a car's max torque figure? That's only telling a partial story. To know how powerful and driveable a car really is you need to see its torque and power curves on a graph.

In most instances, information such as the above are useless to the general car buyer.

If however, the SA doesn't know stuff like how many airbags, FC, boot capacity, how to operate the car's controls etc, yes, you can fucuk him/her. But torque figure? That's asking a bit too much.

I bet most here don't even know how to interpret torque curves into a useful assumption. So why bother to ask?

Added on April 12, 2012, 3:00 pm

Hence proving my point smile.gif

Thanks zapirwin...
no offence to anyone, i'm kinda buy what gregy said smile.gif. I am those described above. In terms of technical and information, i have you guys here to give all facts and figures. SA is nothing but only important about how good service they provide, what discount they can afford to offer and how fast they can deliver the car to you.

But if you talk about service center technician, then this is not acceptable smile.gif. That fella needs to be sound on technical
cybermaster98
post Apr 12 2012, 03:25 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Apr 12 2012, 02:59 PM)

I beg to differ. How many of those who bought cars actually did alot of reading and analysis on the net before buying? In general i would safely say, not more than 50%. If a salesman is working for Toyota, then he doesnt even need to know how many tyres the car has but he will probably get sufficient walk in sales. But we're talking about Kia here who is embarking on a complete overhaul of their brand but when their front line sales people dont have sufficient product knowledge, what does that do to customer confidence?

And no i dont think think that asking a torque figure is too much to ask for. Its stated clearly on the brochure itself and would only take less than 5 secs to read. But I would think expecting the SA to know boot capacity is too much to ask for but not torque figures as that relects power.

As for actually buying a car, yes, trade in value would be the primary goal regardless of the type of SA but we arent just talking about ppl like me who have virtually decided on buying the car are we? We are also talking about those who are new to the brand or fence sitters trying to decide between A and B. In the case of Red Cube PJ, i dealt with 2 salesmen from the same branch. 1 didnt know his product while the other did. Resale values are dependent solely on the 2nd hand car dealers associated with that branch. So in this case, i would have gone with the SA with the better product knowledge assuming customer service was the same as this reflects his commitment compared to the other guy who probably just wants to close sales without making much effort. So yes product knowledge does have an impact on closing a sale in this case.

Btw, i worked for Citroen for 3 months after my SPM exam and sold 2 Xantia's with walk in customers and both told my boss that they were impressed that someone as young as me could have such product knowledge. Thus im a firm believer of product knowledge as that gives potential customers that extra bit of confidence. May not be much but at least its something. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Apr 12 2012, 03:32 PM
K5WHITE
post Apr 12 2012, 03:32 PM

92 posts

how abt my case? that guy told me can have banker's cheque accepted on the spot when i take delivery...and the very minute i done waiting at the bank and paid the fee for banker's cheque, then he call me and say, "company procedure, cannot accept banker's cheque as immediate payment..need to wait for clearance" WTF !!! some more he dont want to admit his fault

yes, but not everyone have internet connection have that amt of time to read all pages in all countries/regions forums' thread...we can see some here, even asking FC after a few ppl already commented...no offence, i think it is okie to repeat the question, coz reading through 111pages is tiresome...

SA is important in pursuing fence sitters, or even tech savvy to make up their mind...to close the deal..to clarify, to cook up their products pros over competitor..what he have over their neighbour...this way, to-be-customer has the confidence in putting the booking...

and those who already think they done enough research or surveying on the net, perhaps, they will be looking for best deal thereafter... pity the SA ...

This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Apr 12 2012, 03:34 PM
cybermaster98
post Apr 12 2012, 03:34 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(K5WHITE @ Apr 12 2012, 03:32 PM)
and those who already think they done enough research or surveying on the net, perhaps, they will be looking for best deal thereafter... pity the SA ...
Oi! U making fun of me ah? tongue.gif
K5WHITE
post Apr 12 2012, 03:37 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 12 2012, 03:34 PM)
Oi! U making fun of me ah?  tongue.gif
hahaa....siapa makan cabai tu, dia lah terasa pedasnya..hahahaa

but seriously, when u decided to buy K5, go back to the best SA u think and tell him what best offer u got from your over-surveying...tell him to meet it and u will sign...if he cant, so be it..at least, he is given the chance
DJSoo
post Apr 12 2012, 06:21 PM

37 posts

I buy from the Kepong SA, he had explain the most basic requiretment of the car to me and honestly told me he not well known bout this K5 since is still new , so i can understand tat.

I also go & search internet and get knowledge 4myself since i'm getting the car for myself , cant just trust SA said , and sometimes SA will have mistake and do fault since i m also a sales line person .

Even he is not giving me best offer when i find out from other dealer after loan approved . He allow me transfer my loan to other KIA dealer , but i not too.. (he also cari makan only) kepong dealer is the most nearest to me , and he is easy going person, nice . so i choosed to took from him , and he also did delivered the car on the date i want.

so i m always think ''give & take''.
easy life , easy happy . ''enjoy the ride''

This post has been edited by DJSoo: Apr 12 2012, 06:24 PM

121 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:02 PM