121 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Bottom

2011 Kia Optima, when will launch in Malaysia?

zapirwin
post Apr 11 2012, 07:33 PM

Dear sifu,

I'm very interested in the car. Haven't test drive it yet. Will be doing it soon. For those sifu who had it for awhile, hows the performance and the fuel consumption?

I went and saw one last weekend. I was kinda dissappointed with the glove box coz it was unable to shut properly. The SA told me that that particular show unit was at the docks for a couple of weeks under the sun with the windows down so that affected the glove box. He promised that others dont have that problem.

I dont think his explanation makes any sense. May be due to bad QC. However one,must ask what do you guys think of the quality of the built-up of the entire car?

ken7908
post Apr 11 2012, 08:01 PM

78 posts

I don't have the car yet, waiting next week....but I would comment that the quality of the glove box and center console not really that up to the mark. The sales guy explanation is crappy....

Anyway, overall the car really impress me....quality of others should be good. I love the seats, dash, meter....performance also better than equivalent 2.0 like Camry, especially the handling was superb.
zapirwin
post Apr 11 2012, 08:15 PM

My concern with the quality of the glove box and dash board is that after awhile driving it on malaysian road there might noise coming out from loose parts.

Added on April 11, 2012, 8:18 pmBtw, congrates on your new purchase, ken7908.

This post has been edited by zapirwin: Apr 11 2012, 08:18 PM
mail2fong
post Apr 11 2012, 08:36 PM

QUOTE(zapirwin @ Apr 11 2012, 08:15 PM)
My concern with the quality of the glove box and dash board is that after awhile driving it on malaysian road there might noise coming out from loose parts.

Probably you may like to read more global reviews about K5. Defect on accessories are very common to all types of cars. It may and may not happened to yours unit. It is QC and not design issue.

Cheers
Leong FU
post Apr 11 2012, 08:42 PM

QUOTE(irangan @ Mar 20 2012, 02:34 AM)
Did the test drive today in another showroom. Very nice experience. The owner of the showroom accompany me for the ride and made me a very good deal compare to those Red Cube that gave 1001 excuse when come to freebie. Very satisfied and place order straight after that.

Other than the slightly louder engine sound during rev (driving Altis now), the rest all good and within my expectation. Didnt realize the heat and smell as it is raining today. But I presumed that it is a minor issue as the current batch is still CBU unit from Korea. Should be better QC and it is coming from the same factory that make for US market. If the burning smell is major issue, I bet those guai low will blow whistle long time ago gua.

Just a side info. After placing my order and during casual chatting session, the owner told me that it is good to buy current batch as it is still CBU from Korea. I asked him to explain further. He told me that the current batch came in using special issued AP. CBU that only need to pay CKD rate tax. The current is brought in under assumption that it is for showroom unit only. So limited unit. Future batch must be assemble in Malaysia to create more jobs.

Oh ya. I am getting platinum graphite color and they got ready stock for it. If everything smoothly, can get the car in less than 3 weeks smile.gif

Added on April 11, 2012, 8:44 pmWhat mean by CBU version and CKD version? sarawak still no have stock..need wait

This post has been edited by Leong FU: Apr 11 2012, 08:44 PM
irangan
post Apr 11 2012, 11:15 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(williamhltdudu @ Apr 11 2012, 06:00 PM)
Come on guys, stop actin like 3 yr olds, stop fighting over nothin... if u guys want to fight, pm each other...

CM98 did make a point, of course the engine sound will seem louder since the tyre noise is no longer there...

Can someone pls get back to the car...?

Oh, btw, irangan, so u just did the sound proofin to the both front floor and all 4 doors?
Yes.

I did for my engine bonnet too. To reduce the sound from fuel injector.

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Apr 11 2012, 07:13 PM)
Aih.. Blablabla... Just admit ur mistake lah.its ok to make mistakes. Be a man and admit it. Thenppl will respect u more.

Common sense tells u , if tyre noise 10 db and engine noise 10db, and lets say if u remove the tyre noise 10db . Will the engine noise become 12 db? Of course nolah, the noise is the same 10db ,just that our ears hear it more clearly! Not that the engine noise has become louder..silly cybermaster and his opinions. Act like a smartie pants..  doh.gif

And if u said more pronounced , why did u say engine noise louder?? Pls explain smarties pants with properties in prime locations my foot
You are the one that without common sense. Enough said. yawn.gif

OMG. I am feeding a troll. sweat.gif Hope you feel happy now since you got the attention that you want.

QUOTE(zapirwin @ Apr 11 2012, 07:33 PM)
Dear sifu,

I'm very interested in the car. Haven't test drive it yet. Will be doing it soon. For those sifu who had it for awhile, hows the performance and the fuel consumption?

I went and saw one last weekend. I was kinda dissappointed with the glove box coz it was unable to shut properly. The SA told me that that particular show unit was at the docks for a couple of weeks under the sun with the windows down so that affected the glove box. He promised that others dont have that problem.

I dont think his explanation makes any sense. May be due to bad QC. However one,must ask what do you guys think of the quality of the built-up of the entire car?

Performance is good though abit under powered due to 2.0cc for a segment D car but within my expectation. Can go up 180km/hr without much sweat.
Handling is very good and responsive.
Fuel consumption is ok ok compare to my previous 1.6cc altis. Around 630-650km for full tank (70ltr). Just FYI, I using RON97 Shell.

I dont have this problem at all. The glove box functioning perfectly.

Not sure how to comment on the build quality but everything is functioning perfectly and dont feel very plastic-like.

QUOTE(ken7908 @ Apr 11 2012, 08:01 PM)
I don't have the car yet, waiting next week....but I would comment that the quality of the glove box and center console not really that up to the mark. The sales guy explanation is crappy....

Anyway, overall the car really impress me....quality of others should be good. I love the seats, dash, meter....performance also better than equivalent 2.0 like Camry, especially the handling was superb.
Congrats~! Welcome to the club.

QUOTE(Leong FU @ Apr 11 2012, 08:42 PM)

Added on April 11, 2012, 8:44 pmWhat mean by CBU version and CKD version? sarawak still no have stock..need wait
The current batch of K5 is direct from Kia's Korea factory. Fully import and coming in using AP. (CBU)
The upcoming batch will be semi assemble in Malaysia and in near future, will be fully assemble. Thus, classified under CKD unit.

No stock for all color? In KL, white is the 'hot' color. If you going for PG, easier and shorter waiting period.

This post has been edited by irangan: Apr 11 2012, 11:16 PM
williamhltdudu
post Apr 11 2012, 11:40 PM

Hey irangan, when does the current batch end? any idea?
irangan
post Apr 11 2012, 11:50 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(williamhltdudu @ Apr 11 2012, 11:40 PM)
Hey irangan, when does the current batch end? any idea?
According to my SA, Naza usually bring in around 500 then move in semi CKD then full CKD. Judging from the current sales trend, the first batch will last for another 3mths?

My car reach Malaysia on 15 Feb 2012 according to the AP papers.
DJSoo
post Apr 12 2012, 12:18 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(zapirwin @ Apr 11 2012, 08:15 PM)

As I drove , proton , perodua, H.city , VW polo, I also feel there is some noisy out from different parts, different car, due to Malaysia road is very bad, can't make car no sound bro.

Give n take. Just my2cents smile.gif

Added on April 12, 2012, 12:25 amBy the way , anyway can test drive.. Got CARI forum member ask about this.

This post has been edited by DJSoo: Apr 12 2012, 12:25 AM
williamhltdudu
post Apr 12 2012, 12:52 AM

QUOTE(irangan @ Apr 11 2012, 11:50 PM)
According to my SA, Naza usually bring in around 500 then move in semi CKD then full CKD. Judging from the current sales trend, the first batch will last for another 3mths?

Would it be noted on paper if the car is CKD version or semi CKD?
cybermaster98
post Apr 12 2012, 09:41 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(zapirwin @ Apr 11 2012, 07:33 PM)
Dear sifu,

That SA is obviously lying to you. All Optima K5's have that problem with the glove box. Well not actually a problem but just that u gotta push hard to close it. Thats a real crap as Kia could have easily done a much better job with the closing mechanism since the glove box is gonna get used often. I foresee many future replacements of the closing mechanism.

Besides this issue, i think the car's overall quality is satisfactory. But i guess only time will tell.
Kalist0
post Apr 12 2012, 09:46 AM

119 posts

Question guys, if the k5 will be ckd in the future, will the price go down? Naturally, all ckd cars go down by at least 10k.
cybermaster98
post Apr 12 2012, 09:49 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Apr 11 2012, 11:50 PM)

According to news reports today, Naza already claims there are 500 units of the K5 on the road. Based on Jan and Feb sales, there are 197 units on the road so not sure how they got the 500 number unless sales in March was really good.

But i dont think the CBU limit is 500 units alone. The Sportage was launched mid last year and only since Feb did they start the CKD lines. So based on the K5 sales, i would expect the CKD deliveries to start around July at the earliest.

Can anybody check and confirm?
djhenry91
post Apr 12 2012, 09:52 AM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 12 2012, 09:49 AM)
According to news reports today, Naza already claims there are 500 units of the K5 on the road. Based on Jan and Feb sales, there are 197 units on the road so not sure how they got the 500 number unless sales in March was really good.

But i dont think the CBU limit is 500 units alone. The Sportage was launched mid last year and only since Feb did they start the CKD lines. So based on the K5 sales, i would expect the CKD deliveries to start around July at the earliest.

Can anybody check and confirm?
500 unit?? how come i dint see any k5 on the road gek??
cybermaster98
post Apr 12 2012, 09:52 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Apr 11 2012, 07:13 PM)
Aih.. Blablabla... Just admit ur mistake lah.its ok to make mistakes. Be a man and admit it. Thenppl will respect u more.

Common sense tells u , if tyre noise 10 db and engine noise 10db, and lets say if u remove the tyre noise 10db . Will the engine noise become 12 db? Of course nolah, the noise is the same 10db ,just that our ears hear it more clearly! Not that the engine noise has become louder..silly cybermaster and his opinions. Act like a smartie pants..  doh.gif

And if u said more pronounced , why did u say engine noise louder?? Pls explain smarties pants with properties in prime locations my foot
HAHAHAHA! Oh so the trick now is to try and explain what we have been trying to explain to you in the first place. Such a pathetic cover up. But no matter, its obvious to everybody here who screwed up. Btw, its also obvious who has more respect in LYN. It must suck badly being you eh. biggrin.gif
cybermaster98
post Apr 12 2012, 09:54 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Apr 12 2012, 09:52 AM)
500 unit?? how come i dint see any k5 on the road gek??
Which part of the country are you at la? Ive seen about 5 Optima's since January in Ipoh, KL and along the NSE and no they were not test drive units. biggrin.gif
djhenry91
post Apr 12 2012, 09:55 AM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 12 2012, 09:54 AM)
Which part of the country are you at la? Ive seen about 5 Optima's since January in Ipoh, KL and along the NSE and no they were not test drive units.  biggrin.gif
Malaysia!! tongue.gif i at kota damansara area...no K5 on the road...ferrari,GTR35,forte,lambogini got la..
sleepwalker
post Apr 12 2012, 10:06 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 12 2012, 09:52 AM)
HAHAHAHA! Oh so the trick now is to try and explain what we have been trying to explain to you in the first place. Such a pathetic cover up. But no matter, its obvious to everybody here who screwed up. Btw, its also obvious who has more respect in LYN. It must suck badly being you eh.  biggrin.gif
There are times trying to explain perception with keyboard is rather difficult. He most probably could not understand what perception is all about. There are times I drive without the stereo on so that I can have a better perception of my engine noise and exhaust note. They didn't get louder but I hear them clearer and louder once I turn my stereo down. Same thing after changing from the super noisy Goodyear F1 GSD3, which anybody with any interest in cars and tyre would know they are noisier than hell. It was like turning my stereo down a couple of notches.. engine noise because clearer and the perception of noise became louder. The exhaust burble is perceived as louder but of course the db stayed the same. Just that we have less interfering noise to content with.
joseph.lim
post Apr 12 2012, 10:16 AM

22 posts

Hi All,

Need to check with you guys whether you experience this in your K5:-

When the vehicle in motion and coming into a stop position like parking, when your call is stalled or complete standstill and your gear engage in P and you let go your brake, the car is like jerk forward a bit, the feeling is like in the lift sometimes it reaches the floor and it move a bit up before stopping at the position. Can't really explain the feeling, and i hope you guys understand what I am trying to express.

It also happens while you are pressing the brake pedal when stopping, and then engage your leg brake, the moment you let go the brake pedal, sometimes this effect may occur.

Anyone experience this in your K5 ? I am sending my car for the 1st service tomorrow, will check with the technician.

This post has been edited by joseph.lim: Apr 12 2012, 10:21 AM
sleepwalker
post Apr 12 2012, 10:21 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(joseph.lim @ Apr 12 2012, 10:16 AM)
Hi All,

Need to check with you guys whether you experience this in your K5:-

1.  When your call is stalled or complete standstill and you let go your brake, the car is like jerk forward a bit, the feeling is like in the lift sometimes it reaches the floor and it move a bit up before stopping at the position.  Can't really explain the feeling, and i hope you guys understand what I am trying to express.

It also happens when I pressing the brake, then lockdown the leg break, when i let go the brake pedal, sometimes this effect may occur. 

Anyone experience this in your K5 ?  I am sending my car for the 1st service tomorrow, will check with the technician.
Leg break controls the brakes with cable and your brake pedal control with hydraulic pressure. There will be a difference in the brake force applied between the brake pedal and leg break and in that transition from brake pedal to leg brake cable, you get the 'earth move under your car' feeling. This happens to most large cars as there is more weight settling in during the transition. Should not be anything to be worried about.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Apr 12 2012, 10:22 AM

121 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.0175sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:03 PM