126 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

▐▐ ★HTC Desire Official Thread V11 ★▐▐, Brillante En Silencio

zamanjaafar
post Sep 4 2011, 09:50 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

was trying the new miui, but got problem with the root access detection as above, and persistent market crashes

need the market as wanting to install the apps fresh

back to boring cm7 rc1
phantomash
post Sep 4 2011, 10:03 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Sep 4 2011, 09:50 PM)
was trying the new miui, but got problem with the root access detection as above, and persistent market crashes

need the market as wanting to install the apps fresh

back to boring cm7 rc1
if you're using MIUI Au, you need to set your language to "English (Australia)" otherwise your market would crash.

as for the root access problem, several users have the same issue, most probably have to wait till the next release, or you can install the old version of superuser like djlah did.
zamanjaafar
post Sep 4 2011, 10:10 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

QUOTE(phantomash @ Sep 4 2011, 10:03 PM)
if you're using MIUI Au, you need to set your language to "English (Australia)" otherwise your market would crash.

as for the root access problem, several users have the same issue, most probably have to wait till the next release, or you can install the old version of superuser like djlah did.
i changed my location to perth in the time settings

not sure which Locale settings need to be changed for that, browsed through the settings(1st time install miui)

seeing the comments section looks like they will release a fixed version soon, so waiting for that one

This post has been edited by zamanjaafar: Sep 4 2011, 10:11 PM
apis_jay
post Sep 4 2011, 10:21 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Sep 4 2011, 10:10 PM)

not sure which Locale settings need to be changed for that, browsed through the settings(1st time install miui)

seeing the comments section looks like they will release a fixed version soon, so waiting for that one
Settings --> System --> Language and input ---> Language and Locale

Btw, I'm using English (Singapore).. Works like charm.

edit: extra info.

This post has been edited by apis_jay: Sep 5 2011, 12:06 AM
ShinnKQ
post Sep 4 2011, 10:30 PM

I used to have a member title, until I took an arrow in the knee
1,242 posts

QUOTE(apis_jay @ Sep 4 2011, 10:21 PM)
Settings --> System --> Language and input.

I had a problem with STORAGE.

Got pissed and couldn't fix aside from fresh reinstalling 1 by 1 via APK and there's hundreds of them lol.

Oh well hmm.gif How does Titanium Backup work anyway?
It keeps them in apk's and re-installs them like new ? (Excl data ofc)
Azureknight94
post Sep 4 2011, 10:53 PM

1,667 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Sep 4 2011, 08:08 AM)
I had same issue like yours biut only happen on 1.8.22. I guess is caused by SuperUser.apk
i revert back to old superuser. this is my temp. workaround.
Thanks smile.gif this worked.
phantomash
post Sep 4 2011, 10:59 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Sep 4 2011, 10:10 PM)

yea, you need to change the locale to English Australia for the market to work.
apis_jay
post Sep 5 2011, 12:05 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(ShinnKQ @ Sep 4 2011, 10:30 PM)
I had a problem with STORAGE.

Got pissed and couldn't fix aside from fresh reinstalling 1 by 1 via APK and there's hundreds of them lol.

Oh well  hmm.gif How does Titanium Backup work anyway?
It keeps them in apk's and re-installs them like new ? (Excl data ofc)
From my understanding is Titanium Backup allows backing up APKs and APK data (even in sd-ext/EXT partition) into sdcard/on-line storage (paid version). Other than that, the app is pretty much the same like other back-up app which can backing up SMS/MMS, call logs, contacts and etc...

Btw, I'm not a fan of titanium backup.. I prefer MyBackup *root*...
darowen
post Sep 5 2011, 01:05 PM

51 posts

bro, what is the different between Root, Unlock, and S-Off?
is 3 of them also referring to the same thing?

i have very limited memory to install apps, can i use SD memory as internal memory after root my phone?
or i have to root it and flash it? or only root it but no flash it also can do so?
nick67
post Sep 5 2011, 01:23 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(darowen @ Sep 5 2011, 01:05 PM)

i have very limited memory to install apps, can i use SD memory as internal memory after root my phone?
or i have to root it and flash it? or only root it but no flash it also can do so?
Bro got read 1st post or not?

Root + flash custom rom with partitioned memory card.
djlah
post Sep 5 2011, 03:31 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(apis_jay @ Sep 4 2011, 10:21 PM)
Settings --> System --> Language and input ---> Language and Locale

edit: extra info.
currently I'm using English (US). also working fine.

darowen
post Sep 5 2011, 04:49 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Sep 5 2011, 01:23 PM)
Bro got read 1st post or not?

Root + flash custom rom with partitioned memory card.
where is it bro? i jz found this.

Rooting
Why root?
It gives you full control over your system and able to alter system files. You can also install many custom ROMs available online. Here are 5 among many other reasons to root your device: http://lifehacker.com/5342237/five-great-r...r-android-phone

How do I root my device?
There are many guides out there.
Simple guide to rooting your HTC Desire done by LYN user maliqu3 (AMOLED sets only)
Rooting Guide for SLCD sets only
HTC Desire Rooting Guide (Do it at your own RISK!)
Complete upgrading guide(root, unroot, flashing ROM & updates) @ XDA-developers
How to root the desire with unrevoked 3.21 (with video-walkthrough)
If i root my Desire, can i unrooted back to stock rom, where can i get exactly the stock rom as i have right now.

A complete list of ROMs (including radio) is available at XDA:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=809328

can link me?
nick67
post Sep 5 2011, 06:35 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(darowen @ Sep 5 2011, 01:05 PM)

QUOTE(darowen @ Sep 5 2011, 04:49 PM)
where is it bro? i jz found this.

what is the different between Root, Unlock, and S-Off?
Root is to give you superuser permission of your phone so you can modify the system like changing roms etc.
Unlock I assume is for branded phones locked to the carrier.
S-off is to give you full root. Basically turning off the security flag implemented in the boot loader.

About memory problem, got many ways to overcome. A2SD, D2W etc that is included by the rom developers.
Third post:
5) Low Space Solution :
This post has been edited by nick67: Sep 5 2011, 06:43 PM
darowen
post Sep 5 2011, 06:45 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Sep 5 2011, 06:35 PM)
what is the different between Root, Unlock, and S-Off?
Root is to give you superuser permission of your phone so you can modify the system like changing roms etc.
Unlock I assume is for branded phones locked to the carrier.
S-off is to give you full root. Basically turning off the security flag implemented in the boot loader.

About memory problem, got many ways to overcome. A2SD, D2W etc that is included by the rom developers.
Third post:
bro,u said A2SD, D2W etc that is included by the rom developers, so mean I have to flash to custom only can?
if only root but no flash can use solve the memory problem not?
is it have to root it 1st only can S-Off?
root,unlock,s-off,flash,so many terms =.= read many forum also not really understand
dun dare to do it on my phone,afraid failed and void the warranty...
nick67
post Sep 5 2011, 06:48 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(darowen @ Sep 5 2011, 06:45 PM)
bro,u said A2SD, D2W etc that is included by the rom developers, so mean I have to flash to custom only can?
if only root but no flash can use solve the memory problem not?
Must root and flash
is it have to root it 1st only can S-Off?
Yea
root,unlock,s-off,flash,so many terms =.= read many forum also not really understand
Read more on this. Google got alot.
dun dare to do it on my phone,afraid failed and void the warranty...
Read more again, about rooting and unrooting. After unroot still can claim warranty.

darowen
post Sep 5 2011, 07:59 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Sep 5 2011, 06:48 PM)

thanks bro laugh.gif rclxms.gif

By the way, anyone found System Software Update on your phone?
I found it, system upgrade 2.13.707.2(4.9MB only).
May I know what is it? Gingerbread 2.3 Official Upgrade?

What is the different with this?
http://reviews.cnet.co.uk/mobile-phones/ho...bread-50004625/
This is 161MB, Gingerbread Official Upgrade.
nick67
post Sep 5 2011, 08:26 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(darowen @ Sep 5 2011, 07:59 PM)
thanks bro  laugh.gif  rclxms.gif

By the way, anyone found System Software Update on your phone?
I found it, system upgrade 2.13.707.2(4.9MB only).
May I know what is it? Gingerbread 2.3 Official Upgrade?

What is the different with this?
http://reviews.cnet.co.uk/mobile-phones/ho...bread-50004625/
This is 161MB, Gingerbread Official Upgrade.
That update is definitely not gingerbread.

The one in the link is the official GB rom for desire. Have to update by connecting phone to computer. If you want official GB then just follow the steps. Super easy.
apis_jay
post Sep 5 2011, 09:43 PM

145 posts

Once you convert to custom ROM, you won't be bothered about official ROM/update.

For me, I never regret rooting my Desire... Even bricked once my LCD...
jambu21
post Sep 5 2011, 10:10 PM

349 posts

help me pls anyone

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2022598/+0&#entry45127038
darowen
post Sep 5 2011, 11:13 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Sep 5 2011, 08:26 PM)
That update is definitely not gingerbread.

The one in the link is the official GB rom for desire. Have to update by connecting phone to computer. If you want official GB then just follow the steps. Super easy.
oic, I'm worrying about after upgrade to official gingerbread, I can't downgrade it to root and flash my phone, as now the rooting guide is start from official Froyo...
And may I know what is actually the official 4.9MB that upgrade?

Added on September 5, 2011, 11:15 pm
QUOTE(apis_jay @ Sep 5 2011, 09:43 PM)
Once you convert to custom ROM, you won't be bothered about official ROM/update.

For me, I never regret rooting my Desire... Even bricked once my LCD...
what do you mean by brick your LCD?

This post has been edited by darowen: Sep 5 2011, 11:15 PM

126 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:43 PM