71 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

Renovation Extreme Work In Progress, Sharing my house renovation journey.

kelvyn
post Feb 18 2012, 12:23 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(vetkin_gray @ Feb 18 2012, 01:45 AM)
Tumpang this thread since talking bout doors. Received my door this evening.. Nyatoh wood 40"

Any ideas how I should do with it? Stain or paint or shellac? Do people still put the stainless steel strip in the middle?

Am thinking of light color..

Since this is a large door, i was advised to install more hinges (hinge need to be thick one, 3mm. Usual is 2 mm)
Better to use 4 hinges (2 at the top, 1 middle & 1 bottom). Get the better quality hinges from reliable manufacturer. (From my personal experience avoid those China made ones. It cost more than those that I used to replace them after less than 1 year of usage.)
Not only the thickness of the hinge; should also take into consideration the pin as well.
vetkin_gray
post Feb 18 2012, 04:45 PM

766 posts

QUOTE(xsaed @ Feb 18 2012, 02:20 PM)
no trap bottle? thats a gamble...
my house sink oso no trap bottle. waste goes straight to drain. trap bottle make stuck only. just don't throw your kfc bone in there or wash your hair
in the sink. another warranty is to invest in a good waste basket. don't use the included cheap waste basket.
weikee
post Feb 18 2012, 04:53 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Feb 18 2012, 12:23 PM)
Better to use 4 hinges (2 at the top, 1 middle & 1 bottom). Get the better quality hinges from reliable manufacturer. (From my personal experience avoid those China made ones. It cost more than those that I used to replace them after less than 1 year of usage.)
Not only the thickness of the hinge; should also take into consideration the pin as well.
Use ball bearing hinge. Very easy to tall, if you flip the hinge, it will slowly go down, without ball bearing, it will instant drop down.

Beware, some china made imitate ball bearing look, but is not ball bearing.

Added on February 18, 2012, 4:55 pm
QUOTE(vetkin_gray @ Feb 18 2012, 04:45 PM)
my house sink oso no trap bottle. waste goes straight to drain. trap bottle make stuck only. just don't throw your kfc bone in there or wash your hair
in the sink. another warranty is to invest in a good waste basket. don't use the included cheap waste basket.
Mine no bottle trap too, according to my plumber is very easy to clog. Not because you throw big stuff because it tend to collect small stuff too. Like rice.

As long the you have one floor trap before going to man hole is ok.

This post has been edited by weikee: Feb 18 2012, 04:55 PM
tehtmc
post Feb 18 2012, 04:55 PM

Validating
1,333 posts

QUOTE(vetkin_gray @ Feb 18 2012, 04:45 PM)
A good plumber provides a bottle trap. Any solid waste which goes down the sink can be easily removed by unscrewing the plastic cup.
Without a bottle trap, you can still remove the waste from the floor trap or gulley trap below the floor when there is a blockage.
I don't understand why those plumbers want to save on this item which costs only a few ringgit.
KL plumbers usually provide the bottle traps as a standard practice. Where is this house?

Added on February 18, 2012, 4:57 pm
QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 17 2012, 11:40 PM)
Stain already, you still need shallac. Stain is to dye the door color and still retain the wood grain.
Stain or shellac is only good for indoor and away from water.

This post has been edited by tehtmc: Feb 18 2012, 05:00 PM
vetkin_gray
post Feb 18 2012, 05:01 PM

766 posts

my plumber is my uncle. haha. free installation. my sink has nvr been stuck for more than 7 years, if im not mistaken. i think mostly attributed to the short distance of the sink to the drain. straight down, turn a bit, then 90 degree straight to the drain.

This post has been edited by vetkin_gray: Feb 18 2012, 05:04 PM
weikee
post Feb 18 2012, 05:01 PM

12,019 posts

Stain is just color the door. Need Shellac to protect the door.

Wooden door is not good for outdoor. If want to use it for outdoor, use normal metal paint, but still have risk of crack.
cuttyflam
post Feb 19 2012, 04:37 AM

phoenix, just read thru every single page of this thread. very informative and nice sharing. from ur older post earlier, u mention that u got an agent to do the MPSJ submission, drawing and the plan was drawn 90% similar to wat u are renovating. could you share on the agent contact and whether did u get ur approval/CF in the end?

i m starting my reno as well, somewat similar scope of work with urs but with lower budget and material quality. :s

thanks!!!
zheilwane
post Feb 19 2012, 09:10 AM

4,184 posts

QUOTE(xsaed @ Feb 18 2012, 02:20 PM)
no trap bottle? thats a gamble...
If it is direct out to the drain then shouldnt b a problem. Btw, the way they do the piping looks quite complicated
Jo_da48
post Feb 19 2012, 09:23 AM

1,529 posts

Whether necessary to have trap bottle or not also depend where it goes through.
If go outside direct than is OK, if go through WC hole (the one inside the house), than you may have problem with the smell, as one of the function of trap bottle is block those smell out hence that the reason why have water inside there too smile.gif

Initially my without the bottle too, than endup have to replaced with it...

weikee
post Feb 19 2012, 09:45 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Feb 19 2012, 09:23 AM)
Whether necessary to have trap bottle or not also depend where it goes through.
If go outside direct than is OK, if go through WC hole (the one inside the house), than you may have problem with the smell, as one of the function of trap bottle is block those smell out hence that the reason why have water inside there too smile.gif

Initially my without the bottle too, than endup have to replaced with it...
Before into WC manhole, which is common now it have to pass the floor trap. Floor trap have a U that don't allow smell to come out.
Jo_da48
post Feb 19 2012, 10:06 AM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 19 2012, 09:45 AM)
Before into WC manhole, which is common now it have to pass the floor trap. Floor trap have a U that don't allow smell to come out.
that mainly if is WC, but for Kitchen sink output, I didn't see they will install....they only put the pipe above it else they will need to make a deep hole for the "U".

SueAnnie
post Feb 19 2012, 10:37 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 17 2012, 11:40 PM)
Stain already, you still need shallac. Stain is to dye the door color and still retain the wood grain.
mine, i don't know what kind of wood but murah la RM135 only.. my tukang said use stainless steel 4" hinges only use 3 each.. but my murah door wood is not good quality la.. someone said the wood will kembang n kuncup refer to weather, so my tukang said need to pasang when its rain ..
TSphoenix69
post Feb 19 2012, 10:50 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(cuttyflam @ Feb 19 2012, 04:37 AM)
phoenix, just read thru every single page of this thread. very informative and nice sharing. from ur older post earlier, u mention that u got an agent to do the MPSJ submission, drawing and the plan was drawn 90% similar to wat u are renovating. could you share on the agent contact and whether did u get ur approval/CF in the end?

i m starting my reno as well, somewat similar scope of work with urs but with lower budget and material quality. :s

thanks!!!
If you read through my post then you will see the final approval cert picture lah..

adrianjc
post Feb 19 2012, 10:50 AM

898 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 18 2012, 05:01 PM)
Stain is just color the door. Need Shellac to protect the door.

Wooden door is not good for outdoor. If want to use it for outdoor, use normal metal paint, but still have risk of crack.
Wood door is ok for outdoors if you get the right type and it doesn't come in direct contact with water which will cause the wood to expand.

My main doors are solid timber doors and the door installers said no issue using it. Plywood and Grade C timber doors not recommended.

tehtmc
post Feb 19 2012, 10:56 AM

Validating
1,333 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Feb 19 2012, 10:06 AM)
that mainly if is WC, but for Kitchen sink output, I didn't see they will install....they only put the pipe above it else they will need to make a deep hole for the "U".
If the sink pipes don't join a floor trap inside a house, it should join a gulley trap outside the house.

The pipes going straight to the drain is no right. The elbows (L) may get blocked. And this is very common with
so much food and oily stuff going down the sink.

Without a trap, there is no way to clear a blockage. You'll have to hack out all the pipes or lay new pipes.

Added on February 19, 2012, 11:01 am
QUOTE(SueAnnie @ Feb 19 2012, 10:37 AM)
mine, i don't know what kind of wood but murah la RM135 only.. my tukang said use stainless steel 4" hinges only use 3 each.. but my murah door wood is not good quality la.. someone said the wood will kembang n kuncup refer to weather, so my tukang said need to pasang when its rain ..
Yours is likely to be the MDF door, which is made of fibre board and moulded into shape. It has the wood grain on the surface and has the wood panelled effect.
It is quite light since it is hollow, much lighter than solid timber door. It's quite nice, practical and economical, better than the hollow plywood doors.

This post has been edited by tehtmc: Feb 19 2012, 11:01 AM
TSphoenix69
post Feb 19 2012, 11:06 AM

1,836 posts

Plywood Door installation:-

Part 2 - Plywood Doors with decorative skin

This door arrived too wide, the factory mistake, so modification on the spot.

On site work base preparation (Mc Guyver feeling here) - use paint can.

Saw off the excess width.

Good even lines.

End result.
SueAnnie
post Feb 19 2012, 11:07 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 14 2012, 07:32 PM)
Outstanding, still pending. After my neighbor finish her reno first.
your table top konkrit tile color same as mine..
i got very cheap RM8/2fs

ozak
post Feb 19 2012, 11:13 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(tehtmc @ Feb 19 2012, 10:56 AM)
If the sink pipes don't join a floor trap inside a house, it should join a gulley trap outside the house.

The pipes going straight to the drain is no right.  The elbows (L) may get blocked. And this is very common with
so much food and oily stuff going down the sink.

Without a trap, there is no way to clear a blockage. You'll have to hack out all the pipes or lay new pipes.
My kicthen sink drain pipe also don't have trap bottle. Straight down to manhole. Over 14yrs no problem. Because the kicthen sink have a filter trap the large waste and I throw it after finish wash.

But all toliet have the trap bottle.
tehtmc
post Feb 19 2012, 11:26 AM

Validating
1,333 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 19 2012, 11:13 AM)
My kicthen sink drain pipe also don't have trap bottle. Straight down to manhole. Over 14yrs no problem. Because the kicthen sink have a filter trap the large waste and I throw it after finish wash.

But all toliet have the trap bottle.
The filter helps but if there happens to be a blockage, there's no way out.

This post has been edited by tehtmc: Feb 19 2012, 11:27 AM
leeyung
post Feb 19 2012, 01:14 PM

1st LYN Pioneer Genuine Marimo Seller
885 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Feb 19 2012, 11:06 AM)
Plywood Door installation:-

Part 2 - Plywood Doors with decorative skin

This door arrived too wide, the factory mistake, so modification on the spot.

On site work base preparation (Mc Guyver feeling here) - use paint can.

Saw off the excess width.

Good even lines.

End result.
hey bro, this door looks superb great! whats ur price with installation?

71 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:13 PM