15,903 posts

please stick to the topic
swgiant
post Apr 29 2006, 06:11 PM

Extravagance RUINS Your Life !!!
1,414 posts

hm, just want to ask... those who OC the cpu so much then how about the CPU life? how long will it last? able to work more than a year @ OCed speed?
superpc
post Apr 29 2006, 06:32 PM

Owned by Doggies
954 posts

QUOTE(swgiant @ Apr 29 2006, 06:11 PM)
hm, just want to ask... those who OC the cpu so much then how about the CPU life? how long will it last? able to work more than a year @ OCed speed?
should be
mine half yrs edi no prob
can RMA one wat ^^
Cyclone87
post Apr 30 2006, 09:13 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(swgiant @ Apr 29 2006, 06:11 PM)
My download rig Amd Barton 2500+@ 2.4ghz..still running strong whole day BT dling. Temp with SLK900+Delta is 51c..and still running strong for it 4th year. If you mean....around 5 years..i think it okay. But...if 10years...i dun think so.

Okay...another point i can give u is...All the Sempron 2500+/2600+/2800+/3000+ and A64 venice core from 1.8ghz to 2.4ghz is base on a same chip. A same walfer. If Amd can produce Venice Core running at 2.4ghz and 512L2 cache, why cant we run our Sempron with the same core at 2.4ghz but 256/128L2 cache? With less L2 cache..it should be running at lower temp and also power comsume. So if u get a 2500+ and OC to 2.4ghz..i guess it wont affect the lifespan much.

The safe range for venice core is till 2.6ghz at 1.55v. Above that i consider heavily OC. Below that for me..i treat it default clock speed for venice. I never look at the clock i buy..i look at the paper sheet of the highest speed supported by the core.
soulfly
post May 4 2006, 06:38 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

my cpu is running at only 1.2V @ default speed right now.... very power saving. heck.... i even stop my fan. biggrin.gif
swgiant
post May 5 2006, 12:02 AM

1,414 posts

Even my sempron 2800+ with 300HT still cant compete with A64 3400+

For A64 3400+ benchmark result can be refered at here

This post has been edited by swgiant: May 5 2006, 12:05 AM
davidletterboyz
post May 5 2006, 01:16 AM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

IMHO, you need around 300MHz to 400Mhz to offset your single channel and 256kB L2 disadvantages.
swgiant
post May 5 2006, 01:26 AM

1,414 posts

i read from the some site and said that the double channels only improved a small margin over a single channel. Sigh, 256KB L2 is really a big impact on the performance index... sad.gif
davidletterboyz
post May 5 2006, 02:47 AM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(swgiant @ May 5 2006, 01:26 AM)
i read from the some site and said that the double channels only improved a small margin over a single channel. Sigh, 256KB L2 is really a big impact on the performance index... sad.gif
Dual channels will give 5%-10% performance boost. Bigger L2 cache will give another 5-10%. tongue.gif
swgiant
post May 5 2006, 03:14 AM

1,414 posts

sigh, poor s754 architecture and sempron L2 cache
Cyclone87
post May 5 2006, 12:58 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ May 5 2006, 01:16 AM)
IMHO, you need around 300MHz to 400Mhz to offset your single channel and 256kB L2 disadvantages.
300Mhz is sufficient enough actually . I mean a sempron64 S754...compare to S939 A64. For S754...i have 3000+ S754 Sempron with 128L2 cache and A64 2800+ S754with 512L2 cache..at 2.4ghz...their result is only different by 2-3% in most benchmark. In SuperPI different is around 0.8sec. 3dmark2003/5 cpu score diffferent by 5%. doh.gif
more69
post May 23 2006, 11:27 AM

417 posts

y s754 for opteron huh?
http://www.coolaler.com/modules/news/article.php?storyid=299
davidletterboyz
post May 23 2006, 01:42 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

^^
Seen it before. Prototype.
soulfly
post May 23 2006, 04:03 PM

15,903 posts

HTT speed is not important.... what important is clockspeed.

doesn't matter if the HTT is 400mhz or even 500mhz.... but the clockspeed is only 2.3ghz-2.4ghz .... wont do justice at all.
swgiant
post May 23 2006, 05:43 PM

1,414 posts

wow, for opteron s754 then how much does it sell at lowyat?
sidewinderz
post May 23 2006, 07:43 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

haha...you plan to get it?? not worth it lo..might as well get 939 since it supports dual channel...
swgiant
post May 23 2006, 10:20 PM

1,414 posts

but mine mobo is s754 and since dual channel dun give a big improvement so no need to upgrade to s939, soon s939 will be out dated soon as will be replaced by a new socket or AM2. that is my opinion... smile.gif
redken
post May 24 2006, 01:23 AM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(swgiant @ May 23 2006, 10:20 PM)
but mine mobo is s754 and since dual channel dun give a big improvement so no need to upgrade to s939, soon s939 will be out dated soon as will be replaced by a new socket or AM2. that is my opinion... smile.gif
Quite true. S939 will be replaced soon. S754 would go obsolete too. But at least it cost alot less.
soulfly
post May 25 2006, 12:14 PM

15,903 posts

If performance comes in mind, I'd rather stick with DDR1. Memory bandwidth is proven not contributing any much advantage to the overall K8 performance.

unless there are low latency DDR2 available (I'm talking about lower than 4-4-4-8 timing) for DDR2-800
chewkl
post May 25 2006, 04:14 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

Guys, for s754 mobo, would U guys recommend ABIT NF8-V2 or ASUS K8N? Only between these 2 using NF3 250 chipset. (I know DFI is the best but it is out of my budget)

This post has been edited by chewkl: May 25 2006, 04:21 PM

55 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 >Top

0.0268sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:00 PM