1,414 posts

how do you do that? i cant even lower the HTT
redken
post Apr 9 2006, 05:16 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

Hello all Sempron64 Owners,

I have a question:

1) I see most of the extreme overclock here has been done on a DFi Nf3 board. Well, i am looking forward to get a PCIe board. Can the sifus here point me to a Nforce 4-4x board that overclocks just as well (or a tad worse)? notworthy.gif

2) And what difference are there in terms of overclocking a Sempron 2500+ and 2800+? rclxub.gif

A million thanks in advance blush.gif
low yat 82
post Apr 9 2006, 05:25 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(redken @ Apr 9 2006, 05:16 PM)

I have a question:

1) I see most of the extreme overclock here has been done on a DFi Nf3 board. Well, i am looking forward to get a PCIe board. Can the sifus here point me to a Nforce 4-4x board that overclocks just as well (or a tad worse)?  notworthy.gif

2) And what difference are there in terms of overclocking a Sempron 2500+ and 2800+?  rclxub.gif

A million thanks in advance  blush.gif
1. wats ur budget wink.gif running sli?

2.act, i would say its depends wat codin u got though... but most of it, wit nice mobo, u can go 50% oc wit no swaet..
sempron2500+ 1.4ghz(7 x 200=1.4ghz) and sempron2800+ 1.6ghz (8 x 200= 1.6ghz) 2800+ got higher multiplier means higher speed can b achived...
redken
post Apr 9 2006, 06:18 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Apr 9 2006, 05:25 PM)
1. wats ur budget wink.gif running sli?
2.act, i would say its depends wat codin u got though... but most of it, wit nice mobo, u can go 50% oc wit no swaet..
sempron2500+ 1.4ghz(7 x 200=1.4ghz) and sempron2800+ 1.6ghz (8 x 200= 1.6ghz) 2800+ got higher multiplier means higher speed can b achived...
Me budget is really low blush.gif . If i were to go for a SLi setup, S939 would ideally be my choice. Really cash strapped at the moment sweat.gif
So any suggestions? notworthy.gif

1 multi less and i really have to get a great board to compensate the overclock loss. So i think i have to get a 2800+ then because i presume the NF4-4x which is a crippled full fledge NF4 would't overclock well in the first place.

This post has been edited by redken: Apr 9 2006, 06:21 PM
soulfly
post Apr 9 2006, 06:23 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(redken @ Apr 9 2006, 05:16 PM)

I have a question:

1) I see most of the extreme overclock here has been done on a DFi Nf3 board. Well, i am looking forward to get a PCIe board. Can the sifus here point me to a Nforce 4-4x board that overclocks just as well (or a tad worse)?  notworthy.gif

2) And what difference are there in terms of overclocking a Sempron 2500+ and 2800+?  rclxub.gif

A million thanks in advance  blush.gif
1) I would suggest a nVidia 6100 based motherboard instead. I found that they do wonders with extreme HTT speeds. This gives advantage to Sempron with 8x or 7x multi.

2) Technically, both overclocks the same way... but 2500+ may require higher HTT speed to get higher clocks. Actually 2500+ can go high clockspeeds, it's just that it depends on the motherboard which can provide better HTT.
superpc
post Apr 9 2006, 06:25 PM

Owned by Doggies
954 posts

QUOTE(redken @ Apr 9 2006, 06:18 PM)
Me budget is really low  blush.gif . If i were to go for a SLi setup, S939 would ideally be my choice. Really cash strapped at the moment  sweat.gif
So any suggestions?  notworthy.gif

1 multi less and i really have to get a great board to compensate the overclock loss. So i think i have to get a 2800+ then because i presume the NF4-4x which is  a crippled full fledge NF4 would't overclock well in the first place.
i suggest u get the biostar tforce 6100 board, many ns OC done using tat, and quality oso very gud, i think biostar is slowly emerging as a quality manufacturer
1 multi diff really make diff when u OC to high FSB, 300*7=2100mhz while 300*8=2400mhz, tats a 300mhz diff!and i think most sempron wil reach 300mhz easily, so 2800+ is a gud buy
but if u hav the confident, go for the 2500+, somtimes low multi get u even higher result!
redken
post Apr 9 2006, 06:34 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Apr 9 2006, 06:23 PM)
1) I would suggest a nVidia 6100 based motherboard instead. I found that they do wonders with extreme HTT speeds. This gives advantage to Sempron with 8x or 7x multi.

2) Technically, both overclocks the same way... but 2500+ may require higher HTT speed to get higher clocks. Actually 2500+ can go high clockspeeds, it's just that it depends on the motherboard which can provide better HTT.
Thanks for the advice notworthy.gif A great HTT overclocker at basement price is indeed hard to comeby. So i am set for a 2800+.

As for the board, can anyone recomend me a suitable 6100 board?

QUOTE(superpc @ Apr 9 2006, 06:25 PM)
i suggest u get the biostar tforce 6100 board, many ns OC done using tat, and quality oso very gud, i think biostar is slowly emerging as a quality manufacturer
1 multi diff really make diff when u OC to high FSB, 300*7=2100mhz while 300*8=2400mhz, tats a 300mhz diff!and i think most sempron wil reach 300mhz easily, so 2800+ is a gud buy
but if u hav the confident, go for the 2500+, somtimes low multi get u even higher result!
Thanks a lot as well notworthy.gif I will try to find a Biostar. Another hard to comeby board.

PS: what is NS anyway?

This post has been edited by redken: Apr 9 2006, 06:35 PM
redken
post Apr 9 2006, 07:00 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

Scouted around the web for this allegedly very overclockable Biostar. Unfortunately it belongs to the 6100-T series for the S939 variant. And there is no T series for S754. Bummer. doh.gif
superpc
post Apr 9 2006, 07:19 PM

Owned by Doggies
954 posts

QUOTE(redken @ Apr 9 2006, 07:00 PM)
Scouted around the web for this allegedly very overclockable Biostar. Unfortunately it belongs to the 6100-T series for the S939 variant. And there is no T series for S754. Bummer.  doh.gif
lol ya meh?i think u better go LYP try lo
anyway ur celeron d 3.8 stil not enuf meh?y dun save money to get a 939 system or new AM2 system in mid year

redken
post Apr 9 2006, 07:35 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(superpc @ Apr 9 2006, 07:19 PM)
lol ya meh?i think u better go LYP try lo
anyway ur celeron d 3.8 stil not enuf meh?y dun save money to get a 939 system or new AM2 system in mid year
Would love to but my board is acting up on me lately sweat.gif

Sigh, back to square one. Dunno wat to get rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by redken: Apr 9 2006, 07:36 PM
low yat 82
post Apr 9 2006, 08:57 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(redken @ Apr 9 2006, 07:00 PM)
Scouted around the web for this allegedly very overclockable Biostar. Unfortunately it belongs to the 6100-T series for the S939 variant. And there is no T series for S754. Bummer.  doh.gif
no need go far far.. here already got one smile.gif although not official.. tongue.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=265045

i was also thinkin ab to get this mobo... icon_idea.gif

redken
post Apr 9 2006, 11:36 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Apr 9 2006, 08:57 PM)
no need go far far.. here already got one smile.gif although not official.. tongue.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=265045
i was also thinkin ab to get this mobo...  icon_idea.gif
Thanks alot. Where can i get it in LYP? thumbup.gif
davidletterboyz
post Apr 10 2006, 01:15 AM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(redken @ Apr 9 2006, 11:36 PM)
Thanks alot. Where can i get it in LYP?  thumbup.gif
Heard there is a shop called ATE selling Biostar Tforces.
swgiant
post Apr 24 2006, 01:21 AM

Extravagance RUINS Your Life !!!
1,414 posts

taken from http://www.short-media.com/review.php?r=300&p=7

it said,
Once you start increasing the reference clock frequency to overclock your CPU/Memory, your overall HTT will begin to exceed its rated operating frequency. To compensate for this unwanted increase we simply decrease the HTT (or LDT) multiplier. There is a safe range that you should try to stay within:

Socket 754: 1300MHz- 1800MHz
Then, Overall HTT Bus Clock = Reference Clock * LDT Multiplier * 2
my HTT bus clock is: 285 * 4 * 2 = 2280Mhz

Ops! it is out of the safety range, the system is safe or not?
Hungry_Wolf
post Apr 24 2006, 01:28 AM

836 posts

QUOTE(swgiant @ Apr 24 2006, 01:21 AM)
taken from http://www.short-media.com/review.php?r=300&p=7

it said,

Then, Overall HTT Bus Clock = Reference Clock * LDT Multiplier * 2
my HTT bus clock is: 285 * 4 * 2 = 2280Mhz

Ops! it is out of the safety range, the system is safe or not?
i think u will have some stability issues...
try lower down LDT multi to 3.....

s754 HTT bus clock at default only 1800....

swgiant
post Apr 24 2006, 01:30 AM

1,414 posts

i tried to lower to 3, PC bootable but XP failed to logon. With 285, i can run the XP fine, included install the Os, running the games and benchmark for a night...
Hungry_Wolf
post Apr 24 2006, 01:32 AM

836 posts

QUOTE(swgiant @ Apr 24 2006, 01:30 AM)
i tried to lower to 3, PC bootable but XP failed to logon. With 285, i can run the XP fine, included install the Os, running the games and benchmark for a night...
what mobo u using?
did try to up chipset voltage?
swgiant
post Apr 24 2006, 01:34 AM

1,414 posts

MSI k8n neo3, the vcore is unadjustable...
Hungry_Wolf
post Apr 24 2006, 01:37 AM

836 posts

QUOTE(swgiant @ Apr 24 2006, 01:34 AM)
MSI k8n neo3, the vcore is unadjustable...
not vcore but chipset voltage...
swgiant
post Apr 24 2006, 01:39 AM

1,414 posts

you mean the nforce chipset voltage?

55 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:51 AM