not to mention we created another spot for cm
English Clubs Liverpool Football Club - The Kop Talks 2011, Downing 19!
Jun 14 2011, 02:09 PM
1,658 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Spion Kop |
shove Stevie to the right & we'll get 10+10 from him
not to mention we created another spot for cm |
Jun 14 2011, 02:19 PM
6,112 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Earth |
Here's the thing about Kyrgiakos and why I think it would be a mistake to let him go aside from the fact that he won't fetch much anyway. He is our only option in the air, aside from Carrol. When we are up against teams who play the ball in high, we don't have players who are strong in the air. Carra is only 6' tall while Skrtel looks like he has lead in his boots. He is useful against traditional English forwards like Kevin Davies. At his age, we aren't going to get much for him anyway and no one is as adept in the air as him, not Carra, not Skrtel, not Wilson, not Agger. Also, he doesn't mind spending time on the bench. More reasons to keep him than to get rid of him if you ask me.
Jun 14 2011, 02:30 PM
36 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
QUOTE(vreis @ Jun 14 2011, 02:09 PM) Oh please,enough of playing players out of position.Gerrard is the best cm we have and you want us to play him on the wings. When are we gonna actually bring in a decent winger for the right wing? |
Jun 14 2011, 02:38 PM
46 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(Rotuham @ Jun 14 2011, 02:30 PM) Oh please,enough of playing players out of position. Kyut has almost solidify his position as right wing for now. I still don't know what sort of plans does KK and Comoli has cause we still don't have a decent LW and LB and I still don't see how all the midfielders fit into what we need. Unless, they wanna put Charlie Adam or Mereiles and LW. Just my 2 cents.Gerrard is the best cm we have and you want us to play him on the wings. When are we gonna actually bring in a decent winger for the right wing? |
Jun 14 2011, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(Rotuham @ Jun 14 2011, 02:30 PM) Oh please,enough of playing players out of position. thing is, what is Stevie best position??? CM? AM? LM/RM? RB?Gerrard is the best cm we have and you want us to play him on the wings. When are we gonna actually bring in a decent winger for the right wing? you said his best position is CM, too bad RB, Eriksson, Maclaren or even Capello dont think so. Or is it he doesn't have the thrust of those coaches/managers to play in cm??? & why was that? its simple, he's prone to tactical indiscipline. Else why else all those last ditch tackles when Alonso&Hamann never need to execute once? Or maybe you are better than all of them that u actually knew his best position is cm. I don't even think he himself knew which is his best position, only he LIKE to be cm. |
Jun 14 2011, 02:42 PM
46 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(vreis @ Jun 14 2011, 02:38 PM) thing is, what is Stevie best position??? CM? AM? LM/RM? RB? If you follow closely during the 08/09 campaign, you can see how well Gerrard plays as a 2nd striker/CAM. Providing goal scoring opportunities for Torres and even scoring for himself. On his ability to tackle, he may not be the best tackler, but he is able to time his tackles well enough. I believe, he is at his best when playing CAM and 2nd best when he is playing CM.you said his best position is CM, too bad RB, Eriksson, Maclaren or even Capello dont think so. Or is it he doesn't have the thrust of those coaches/managers to play in cm??? & why was that? its simple, he's prone to tactical indiscipline. Else why else all those last ditch tackles when Alonso&Hamann never need to execute once? Or maybe you are better than all of them that u actually knew his best position is cm. I don't even think he himself knew which is his best position, only he LIKE to be cm. |
Jun 14 2011, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(vreis @ Jun 14 2011, 02:38 PM) thing is, what is Stevie best position??? CM? AM? LM/RM? RB? Gerrard best position is central.It can be CM,CDM or CAM.Where did the goal against olmypiakos come from?Where did the goal against milan come from?you said his best position is CM, too bad RB, Eriksson, Maclaren or even Capello dont think so. Or is it he doesn't have the thrust of those coaches/managers to play in cm??? & why was that? its simple, he's prone to tactical indiscipline. Else why else all those last ditch tackles when Alonso&Hamann never need to execute once? Or maybe you are better than all of them that u actually knew his best position is cm. I don't even think he himself knew which is his best position, only he LIKE to be cm. Where did our FA cup Final second and third goal come from?Rite.all from the center.U mentioned mclaren,eriksson and capello. What did these guys actually win as coach of england?or at least did they play attractive football ala germany? Dont compare england with liverpool.I dont give a thing about england.They are overrated and plain boring. RB played gerrard in the right wing because he wanted to accomodate momo sissoko. Forgive me for being blunt but sissoko is one of the worst players i have seen play for liverpool. He couldnt even make a simple pass and his only attribute was tackling. RB learnt from his mistake and moved gerrard back centrally after that. Anywhere central as long it is not on the flanks. Any title winning team has pacy wingers who are tricky and nimble like robben,messi,old joe cole,ribery,barnes,figo,ronaldinho.Gerrard physique doesnt suit that. This post has been edited by Rotuham: Jun 14 2011, 02:55 PM |
Jun 14 2011, 02:57 PM
360 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Jun 14 2011, 03:01 PM
Jun 14 2011, 03:07 PM
208 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
anyone watch Euro U21, England U21 against Spain U21 last night. how was Jordan ?
Jun 14 2011, 03:10 PM
360 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Jun 14 2011, 03:12 PM
3,158 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
yep. Gerrard best position i think just behind striker. Season we got number 2 behind Man Utd. after that we were call two-mens-team. Gerrard-Torres combo. But at the back supported by alonso and macherano.
Since we have so many midfielder now, we can let Gerrard playing behind Suarez and Caroll. But we have to sacrifice Lucas or Spearing in order to let our player play at right and left wing. |
Jun 14 2011, 03:13 PM
QUOTE(Rotuham @ Jun 14 2011, 03:01 PM) So you think sissoko was good? Mascherano had sissoko's tackling abilities and work rate but with a much better passing range. Sissoko was limited to say the least but I do admire his tenacity and work rate. The thing is, Liverpool fans appreciate hard work over ability and rightly so if you ask me. I posted yesterday, that since the days of Shankly, we've always considered a player's attitude. If the likes of Momo, Biscan or Meijer signed for any other club, they would have been chastised and forgotten. At Liverpool, they are cult heroes and we remember them fondly. You can buy talent but you can't buy attitude. |
Jun 14 2011, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(visionary1993 @ Jun 14 2011, 03:10 PM) Makes it sound like i have to rate every player only good or bad. I m not trying to rate the players la.Just had to use him in my argument.But he's definately not one of the worst. It was very frustrating to watch him play.I still remember against barca he missed an open goal. Sure he did put in dominating performances in the midfield but it did not justify moving gerrard to the right. Gerrard was at his peak that time and one of the best in the world.I didnt like seeing him on the wing because he could do a better job in the centre.I am not a rafa hater but i didnt agree with him on this issue. Now seeing somebody suggest this has got me worked up all over again. |
Jun 14 2011, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(visionary1993 @ Jun 14 2011, 02:57 PM) Depends on how long he's been a Liverpool fan I suppose. He did say, "amongst the worst players I've seen...". Personally I've seen a lot worst. These names come to mind, Paul Stewart, Julian Dicks, Bjorn Tore Kvarme, Istvan Kozma, Torben Piechnik, Salif Diao, Bruno "the next Zidane" Cheyrou, Djimi Traore and World Cup winner Bernard Diomede. |
Jun 14 2011, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jun 14 2011, 03:13 PM) Sissoko was limited to say the least but I do admire his tenacity and work rate. The thing is, Liverpool fans appreciate hard work over ability and rightly so if you ask me. I posted yesterday, that since the days of Shankly, we've always considered a player's attitude. If the likes of Momo, Biscan or Meijer signed for any other club, they would have been chastised and forgotten. At Liverpool, they are cult heroes and we remember them fondly. You can buy talent but you can't buy attitude. Shankly bought players with talent and attitude.until before recently our players have only either one.Torres had talent but attitude was poor,kuyt has a fantastic attitude but limited on the talent front. But i m not worried now.Suarez has both.I trust kenny like i have always said and i wont question the king. |
Jun 14 2011, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(chenwfng @ Jun 14 2011, 02:42 PM) If you follow closely during the 08/09 campaign, you can see how well Gerrard plays as a 2nd striker/CAM. Providing goal scoring opportunities for Torres and even scoring for himself. On his ability to tackle, he may not be the best tackler, but he is able to time his tackles well enough. I believe, he is at his best when playing CAM and 2nd best when he is playing CM. U said it urself that he excelled as CAM, why? cos there's no defensive responsibilites compare to cm. If he is able to time his tackle well enough, there is not even a need for last ditch tackle. Both Alonso & Hamann are not great tackler, rather they anticipate. I'm not saying he cant be a cm, just that its not as clear cut as ppl think that his best position is cm. No matter where he plays, most important thing is the balance of the team. |
Jun 14 2011, 03:40 PM
115 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: Pee-J |
hmmm, the Phil Jones saga is over now (although I keep wondering why the sad tarts keep saying we're butthurt?!?, screening thru the pass few pages i don't see us even complaining about it - wonder if they can read?)
on to better things, it's true C.Adams bets/odds are now suspended so basically it might be true he has made up his mind on where he is going. Good to know that the news are now more solid than just baseless rumours for a few players. hopefully at the end of it we get 2 wingers for all the activities the club has put in before the start of the pre-season. YNWA! and to sad tarts reading this.. learn to read carefully before commenting on baseless BS that fills your thread. Thank you |
Jun 14 2011, 03:45 PM
QUOTE(REDShaun @ Jun 14 2011, 03:40 PM) hmmm, the Phil Jones saga is over now (although I keep wondering why the sad tarts keep saying we're butthurt?!?, screening thru the pass few pages i don't see us even complaining about it - wonder if they can read?) LOL. Stopped visiting because I realised most aren't big on comprehension. They see texts, but seemingly find it hard to make sense out of it. It seems that there is a new symptom now. Seeing texts that don't exist.on to better things, it's true C.Adams bets/odds are now suspended so basically it might be true he has made up his mind on where he is going. Good to know that the news are now more solid than just baseless rumours for a few players. hopefully at the end of it we get 2 wingers for all the activities the club has put in before the start of the pre-season. YNWA! and to sad tarts reading this.. learn to read carefully before commenting on baseless BS that fills your thread. Thank you It just reinforces a point I've made many times. That some are arrogant enough to believe that the world revolves around them, that everything we do is with them in mind. Remember accusations that Carra intentionally wanted to crock Nani so that they'd lose the title? Even when they win games, you'll get some retards taking a swipe at us. When they lose, they go, "ah Liverpool fans sure happy lah now". Honestly, a lot of us are more worried about our fortunes and they aren't intertwined with them. Giggs is getting a lot of attention in the papers for the wrong reasons but do you see a lengthy discussion here on what an arse he is? No, we're more worried about our team and our players. Maybe if some of them channeled more energy into reading about their own club, there won't be so many bandwagon jumpers around. This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jun 14 2011, 03:55 PM |
Jun 14 2011, 03:51 PM
115 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: Pee-J |
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jun 14 2011, 03:45 PM) LOL. Stopped visiting because I realised most aren't big on comprehension. They see texts, but seemingly find it hard to make sense out of it. It seems that there is a new symptom now. Seeing texts that don't exist. Anyway, I like what you mentioned about Soto. He should stay given that he has proven to be formidable in the air for us. I've noticed some clubs when playing with us last season utilizes the long highball ball to lone striker approach. He is also good at corners although he will still end up a bench-warmer mostly if we sign 1-2 younger defenders this summer. I still see KK probably using him to good effect come next campaign.More worried now about Meireles. Sad to see so many news on him rumored to move to Inter for 14 mil. I think he is definitely an improvement for the club but we seem to be having a luxury of midfields in the next campaign if all the signings and targets come in. |
| Change to: | 0.0470sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:35 PM |