68 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Events Club LYN Japan V4, 日本へようこそ!, Here we are! Nihon Yokoso!

nles
post Sep 18 2011, 02:30 AM

♥ It's not about the girl ♥ It's the G-Shock
2,125 posts

Is it fun in Japan during Chinese New Year? Planning for a CNY trip. What's the weather there during CNY.

Tokyo, Hokkaido? Which place is recommended if don't want to follow travel tour. I so noob probably should follow sleep.gif.
heterosapiens
post Sep 18 2011, 10:09 AM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

QUOTE(milky.way @ Sep 16 2011, 09:31 AM)
Hello Everyone,

I'm going for Tokyo trip in this November. Can anyone please advise on my itinerary? Appreciate your help, Thank you smile.gif

Day 1 - Ikebukuro, Meiji Shrine, Harajuku, Tokyo Tower
Day 2 - Disneyland
Day 3 - Ginza, Shibuya, Shinjuku
Day 4 - Doraemon Museum (If able to purchase ticket) & Yokohama
Day 5 - Asakusa, Sensoji Temple, Ueno Park, Akihabara
Day 6 - Odaiba
Day 7 - Roppongi Hills & heading back to KL
If you want to save on transportation cost, here's what I would group them :

Ginza, Tokyo Tower, Roppongi Hills - connected through Hibiya Line and Oedo Line

Ikebukuro, Shinjuku, Yoyogi, Harajuku, Omotesando, Shibuya - connected through Yamanote Line and Ginza Line

Tsukiji, Odaiba - connected through Oedo Line, Yurakucho Line, Yurikamome Line and Rinkai Line

To get optimum suggestion, it is best if you could tell us your travel interest such as theme park, fashion, religion, the different japanese-pop-culture, roller coaster rides, dining, shopping, night life, souvenir collection and etc.

nles
post Sep 18 2011, 10:44 AM

2,125 posts

Looking for a relax trip, that's why don't feel like following tour agent with tight schedule rush here and there.

Looking for unique places, beautiful scenery, great foods, some shoppings but stuff is expensive in Japan right, burberry black label? Not so into theme park, traveling with my gf. Later check out your route suggestion.
heterosapiens
post Sep 18 2011, 12:11 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Sep 18 2011, 10:44 AM)
Looking for a relax trip, that's why don't feel like following tour agent with tight schedule rush here and there.

Looking for unique places, beautiful scenery, great foods, some shoppings but stuff is expensive in Japan right, burberry black label? Not so into theme park, traveling with my gf. Later check out your route suggestion.
lol, my first trip to Japan is at least 3 times more packed than a typical guided tour, as I try to cover as many places I can within the travel period. But the good thing is that, I get to choose when to rush and when to relax and chill.

Unique places is quite vague as it could historically unique, religiously unique, traditional-culturally unique, pop-culturally unique and etc.

My suggestion, get a guide book or read online. I would personally recommend these options :

- Lonely Planet Tokyo
- Tokyo (City Guide)
- The Rough Guide to Tokyo

- http://wikitravel.org/en/Tokyo
- http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2164.html
- http://www.jnto.go.jp/eng/attractions/facilities/

Then from there, you listed all the places/spots you want to visit, then it would be easier for us to help to recommend the plan for you itinerary. smile.gif

Gh-x
post Sep 18 2011, 03:27 PM

475 posts

I wonder if you guys would ever plan a group tour to Japan.
xiaojie
post Sep 18 2011, 04:14 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Sep 18 2011, 02:30 AM)
Is it fun in Japan during Chinese New Year? Planning for a CNY trip. What's the weather there during CNY.

Tokyo, Hokkaido? Which place is recommended if don't want to follow travel tour. I so noob probably should follow sleep.gif.
i m coming again during cny smile.gif

you still have few months to go, plan it and just come with gf by yourself, guess it's more fun than follow the tour.. tongue.gif
milky.way
post Sep 19 2011, 08:58 AM

QUOTE(heterosapiens @ Sep 18 2011, 10:09 AM)
If you want to save on transportation cost, here's what I would group them :

Ginza, Tokyo Tower, Roppongi Hills - connected through Hibiya Line and Oedo Line

Ikebukuro, Shinjuku, Yoyogi, Harajuku, Omotesando, Shibuya - connected through Yamanote Line and Ginza Line

Tsukiji, Odaiba - connected through Oedo Line, Yurakucho Line, Yurikamome Line and Rinkai Line

To get optimum suggestion, it is best if you could tell us your travel interest such as theme park, fashion, religion, the different japanese-pop-culture, roller coaster rides, dining, shopping, night life, souvenir collection and etc.
Hi, thank you so much for your advices. i try to group the travel route based on my hotel location. On the first 4 nights, I will be staying at Ikebukuro & the following 2 nights will be at Asakusa. I got no any special travel interest, I just wana go to the places that I mentioned above & see Tokyo with my own eyes. Ya, I wish to see beautiful autumn leaves..can u suggest which is the best spot to see the autumn leaves? Thank you.
Zenax
post Sep 19 2011, 05:07 PM

64 posts

Hi All,

I am going to Japan coming February 16 to 23, 2012... thanks to AA cheap flight..

It should be winter still right? What would the temperature be like?

I will be arriving Haneda at 10.30pm... below is my ROUGH itinerary, can someone share some opinions on this??

16th - Arrival at Haneda - overnight somewhere? roam around the street.... zombie~
17th - Take the earliest bus/train to Osaka, overnight
18th - Take the earlier train to Kyoto
19th - Kyoto
20th - Earliest bus/train to Tokyo
21st - Tokyo
22nd - Tokyo
23rd - Departure sad.gif

Total 1 night in Osaka, 2 nights in Kyoto, 3 nights in Tokyo...

any recommendation on BUDJET accomodation for 2 pax? ><"

also, what is the most convenient mode of transportation? I would assume its the bullet train but boy, they cost a BOMB!

Shazzac
post Sep 19 2011, 05:23 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(Zenax @ Sep 19 2011, 05:07 PM)
Hi All,

I am going to Japan coming February 16 to 23, 2012... thanks to AA cheap flight..

I will be arriving Haneda at 10.30pm... below is my ROUGH itinerary, can someone share some opinions on this??

16th - Arrival at Haneda - overnight somewhere? roam around the street.... zombie~
19th - Kyoto
21st - Tokyo
22nd - Tokyo
23rd - Departure sad.gif

also, what is the most convenient mode of transportation? I would assume its the bullet train but boy, they cost a BOMB!
Actually, just 3 nights in Tokyo - would be very rush coz there are alot of sites to visit.

Yup, the JR Shinkansen is expensive but if you actually go all around and make full use of it, it's not that costly.

Bus would take you HOURS. Since the 17th you would want to go to Osaka dy, why not check out the overnight bus from Tokyo to Osaka? At least u have a place to sleep whilst on the way there. Coz if not mistaken, take bus about 9hrs leh (if not mistaken). Wasted dy since your schedule is so packed.

Are you not going to Disneyland/Disneysea or Sanrio Puroland? You won't regret it.

I actually was in Tokyo for 8 nights the 1st time round, I make full use of my time and actually went EVERYWHERE in tokyo that's worth to visit. 2nd time round, I just hang out and shop and meet friends and I did not once regret the packed schedule that I have when i went there the 1st time.
TStanoshi
post Sep 19 2011, 11:00 PM

347 posts

nasizwan,
Bro interested to buy http://tokyomover.blogspot.com?
PM me yah! huhuhu

nles
post Sep 20 2011, 02:14 AM

2,125 posts

Shazzac, mind sharing what's your schedule like?
nasizwan
post Sep 20 2011, 09:02 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(tanoshi @ Sep 19 2011, 11:00 PM)
nasizwan,
Bro interested to buy http://tokyomover.blogspot.com?
PM me yah! huhuhu
replied to you bro!
I'm leaving for good early Dec smile.gif
Zenax
post Sep 20 2011, 02:31 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Sep 19 2011, 05:23 PM)
Actually, just 3 nights in Tokyo - would be very rush coz there are alot of sites to visit.

Yup, the JR Shinkansen is expensive but if you actually go all around and make full use of it, it's not that costly.

Bus would take you HOURS. Since the 17th you would want to go to Osaka dy, why not check out the overnight bus from Tokyo to Osaka? At least u have a place to sleep whilst on the way there. Coz if not mistaken, take bus about 9hrs leh (if not mistaken). Wasted dy since your schedule is so packed.

Are you not going to Disneyland/Disneysea or Sanrio Puroland? You won't regret it.

I actually was in Tokyo for 8 nights the 1st time round, I make full use of my time and actually went EVERYWHERE in tokyo that's worth to visit. 2nd time round, I just hang out and shop and meet friends and I did not once regret the packed schedule that I have when i went there the 1st time.
hmm... i was thinking getting a general overview of how japan is like, not really covering every corner of Japan.. how much did you spend during your first time? I just checked the exchange rate and its freaking rm4 for 100 yen! T_T

and yea, mind to share your itinerary?

how bout the accomodation? Its what worries me the most... sweat.gif

Thanks!

kookaaq
post Sep 20 2011, 02:53 PM

Hi All,

19th - Kyoto
21st - Tokyo
22nd - Tokyo
23rd - Departure sad.gif

I would say that your schedule is really rush but I believe this could be your only chance to visit japan so you want to make full use of it right. There are quite a lot of thing to see in Tokyo, Kyoto and even Osaka. And you should not be missing out Kobe as well since it is quite near to Osaka.

Since you plan to visit this main three city of Japan, why don't you take the land arrangement package from local tour?? Since you have already save up a lot of money on the air ticket, you can let the tour agent do the rest for you. This is because taking shinkansen between this 3 city can cost up to hundreds and even thousand ringgit. And with that short stay in each city, I believe you only wish to visit few main attraction which tour agent will also be included in their package.

Another option, is travel on your own. You can try to stay at hostel which is the most budget option. Btw, how much is considered budget for you? Hostel facility cost less than RM120 per person per night for sharing facility. Private hostel room can cost much higher. Hotel definitely cost much higher but better facility lor. Try Toyoko Inn, guest it's the cheapest hotel chain in Tokyo.

February could be cold in Japan and snow pretty often depend on your luck although snow is quite rare in Tokyo. Daytime temperature is between 5-10degC and night time temperature rage between -5 to 5 depends on condition. So bring enough warm clothes there.

As for your itinerary, you can actually save much time if you are able to catch the night bus from Tokyo to Osaka. Last bus leave around 12.30midnight from Shinjuku Station. If the custom clearance is fast, you should be able to make it and you will have more time for sightseeng on the next day. Try to optimise your day time for sightseeing and night time for travelling between long distance places (eg tokyo-osaka-tokyo) and in other way, it also save you accomodation expenses. Osaka to Kyoto is very near and you can actually stay in Osaka or Kyoto and do visit on both city. Travelling by train is not that expensive either.
RegentCid
post Sep 21 2011, 04:48 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Tokyo today morning start hit by strong typhoon. Everywhere is chaos... train been late or cancel ....all flight at Narita & Haneda all cancel. already more than 290 flight...lol what i know from frequency of control tower was alot aircraft been divert to Kansai / Nagoya

Today is so free!! totally no aircraft flying today...full day doing typhoon precaution activities around Hanger.

red ribbon
post Sep 22 2011, 12:16 AM

52 posts

i miss the takoyaki @ food court of a supermarket near hello kitty castle.
kuroyume
post Sep 22 2011, 12:26 AM

224 posts

just wondering....anyone have any idea
if i wan to buy a guitar in japan through online... any company in japan can ship back to malaysia
ifana
post Sep 22 2011, 01:23 AM

181 posts

Hi hi! Really good thread here! Was introduced to me by Matt85! Yoroshiku ne!
twincharger07
post Sep 23 2011, 01:52 AM

4,788 posts

Hey guys..

i only have 5 days for Osaka, Nara, Kyoto

how many days would you allocate for the above 3 places? 1 day for Nara is enough?

Added on September 23, 2011, 2:01 am
QUOTE(milky.way @ Sep 16 2011, 09:31 AM)
Hello Everyone,

I'm going for Tokyo trip in this November. Can anyone please advise on my itinerary? Appreciate your help, Thank you smile.gif

Day 1 - Ikebukuro, Meiji Shrine, Harajuku, Tokyo Tower
Day 2 - Disneyland
Day 3 - Ginza, Shibuya, Shinjuku
Day 4 - Doraemon Museum (If able to purchase ticket) & Yokohama
Day 5 - Asakusa, Sensoji Temple, Ueno Park, Akihabara
Day 6 - Odaiba
Day 7 - Roppongi Hills & heading back to KL
Doraemon Museum has to be purchase on 30th of each month.. and the tickets are for 2 months later..

do you need 1 day for Odaiba? You can actually spend 1 day outskirt in Kamakura... its autumn, outdoor and outskirts are great..

Added on September 23, 2011, 2:19 am
Hi All,

19th - Kyoto
21st - Tokyo
22nd - Tokyo
23rd - Departure sad.gif

Get accomodation near to stations..

Hotel - www.booking.com
Hostel - www.hostelworld.com
good deals - japanican.com

if you fancy staying capsule, try 9hour.jp

Yes, shinkansen is crazy expensive.. Tokyo to Osaka/Kyoto cost about 13k Yen (~RM500) 1 way.. If you want to save abit, take the Unreserve seats which are usually car number 1 - 3..

I would say shinkansen is the best way, no ground transport faster than 200km/h.. however, there are night bus which u get onboard at night and arrive early in the morning.. but that could be tiring.. http://willerexpress.com/bus/pc/3/top/

Have a nice trip..

This post has been edited by twincharger07: Sep 23 2011, 02:28 AM
ifana
post Sep 23 2011, 08:25 AM

181 posts

Agree with twincharger07! Especially for those who are not used to walking, accommodations near the station are the best! tongue.gif blush.gif (speaking based on experience...sakit kaki wor!)

About the bus, its cheaper but since u guys are travelling and time is limited, I also agree with going by shinkansen! Saves u time but have to splurge a bit la!

This post has been edited by ifana: Sep 23 2011, 08:27 AM

68 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:19 AM