Events Club LYN Japan V4, 日本へようこそ!, Here we are! Nihon Yokoso!

Shazzac
post Jun 9 2011, 09:09 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(kaizer_x @ Jun 7 2011, 11:35 PM)
I live in Penang but study in Shah Alam, therefore I have to apply visa in KL..this is so troublesome, why don't just let me apply in Penang because right now is holiday and I'm doing internship in Penang. One more thing, do they required official confirmation status from university stating that I'm a student in KL embassy?
Not very sure about the confirmation status from the Uni.

However, you DON"T need to get it done yourself. You could appoint a travel agent to do it for you. The travel agent will be able to advise you further on the requirement for students travelling to Japan.

As even if you sending the application to the embassy yourself, you still need to wait 3 days for it to be approved.
Shazzac
post Jun 10 2011, 09:19 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(Jetpeh @ Jun 10 2011, 12:38 AM)
Hi Guys,

Need some help on travelling to Japan. I am travelling to Haneda on AA this 28th and the flight was delayed as per AA notice recently. It is scheduled to only arrive at Haneda at 2230. As I understand the trains would be closed and not sure if I can make it out of the customs in time for the Airport limo bus which is the last one at 2310.

Would like to ask if there are any other ways out of Haneda to Tokyo apart from the taxi as I know it is very expensive for Taxi service in Japan. I will be  staying at Shinjuku Washington which is on the Airport limo bus route but with AA screwing up my schedule I am now not too sure of how to get there.

Some help from experienced travellers would be appreciated.....
Yea my flight also got delayed from 8.30 to 10.30pm.

I've checked and Tokyo Monorail's last train out is 12.15am so hopefully can make it.
Shazzac
post Jun 10 2011, 11:14 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(Jetpeh @ Jun 10 2011, 10:14 AM)
Thanks for the infor. Will check out their routes....
Use this website:

http://www.jorudan.co.jp/english/norikae/

But u must know which train station u depart from and arriving at.

Pricing included. If there is a down arrow it means the fare stated above it is inclusive.
Shazzac
post Jun 10 2011, 07:16 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(kaizer_x @ Jun 10 2011, 06:20 PM)
Anymore travel agents that u guys know which can do the visa?
From my understanding, any travel agents can do Japan visa for you with a service charge.
Shazzac
post Jun 10 2011, 09:15 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(kaizer_x @ Jun 10 2011, 07:58 PM)
What I mean is any recommended travel agent? Maybe u guys been dealing with them before so I can know from ur experiences
I always appoint Mayflower.
Shazzac
post Jun 23 2011, 11:02 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(Jetpeh @ Jun 23 2011, 10:54 AM)
HI Guys

Heard there was an earthquake in Northeast Japan today almost same area as the March quake. Anyone have any news on this. Anyone in Japan can comment on the situation in Tokyo as I am leaving on 28/6/11 for Tokyo...
This is what I gather from CNN. Thanks for the heads up.

Tokyo (CNN) -- An earthquake with a preliminary magnitude of 6.7 struck off the Pacific Coast of northern Japan early Thursday, Japanese and U.S. seismologists reported.

The Japan Meteorological Agency warned that a tsunami could be generated by the temblor, but canceled the warning less than an hour after the quake.

The coastal cities of Kamaishi and Ofunato ordered about 8,000 households near the coast to evacuate, the Japanese public broadcaster NHK reported, but there was no immediate reports of damage or injuries.

Train service in the area was stopped temporarily, but resumed operation within an hour, NHK reported.

The quake struck shortly before 7 a.m. (6 p.m. Wednesday ET) and was centered 530 kilometers (330 miles) north-northeast of Tokyo.

The epicenter was off the northern prefecture of Iwate, about 175 kilometers (109 miles) north of where the magnitude-9 quake that devastated northern Japan struck in March.

I think Tokyo is not highly affected.
Shazzac
post Jun 24 2011, 05:06 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(nasizwan @ Jun 24 2011, 04:47 PM)
Language wise, I do want them to speak Japanese but the problem is I dont speak any hahaha. We only use English as medium of conversation. I guess I better start learning especially if one day we're moving to Japan. If my wife speaks only Japanese to my kid then I wont even be able to talk to them lol.
I think it shouldn't be a problem if your wife speaks to them in Japanese and you speak to them in both English & Bahasa.

Kids pick up language fast.

It's the same as how we malaysians are able to speak bahasa/english/chinese eventhough our mother tongue might be only either bahasa or english or chinese!
Shazzac
post Jun 29 2011, 08:59 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 28 2011, 10:58 PM)
So Damm Hot!!  Tokyo Night Avg Temp also 28C!!

Saw an article news on malaysia news paper by online......it say about now is perfect time visit Japan.  Shit....now so damm hot where got most perfect time visit Japan =.=ll

middle of high temp plus some more Japan Gov limit electricity usage.....hot like BBQ.  Now 12am at Japan I naked in Room also sweating.....
Coz the journalist for the Malaysian online paper scared of cold I think. That's why he/she suggest ppl to go to Japan when the temperature is roughly the same as Malaysia.

I would rather go during winter coz the coldness is soooooooooooo nice but poor you!!

Since they limit the electricity usage, do they cut off the electricity if the household exceed certain kw of electricity used?
Shazzac
post Jul 3 2011, 03:39 PM

427 posts

Does anyone knows how much Lojel suitcases in Japan are? Which shop carries this brand - departmental store/individual luggage shop?

If alot cheaper than KL, confirm when I go sure will buy.

Thanks!
Shazzac
post Jul 4 2011, 10:35 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 4 2011, 09:13 PM)
Around 21,000 Yen.  Amazon Japan , Rakuten , Yahoo Japan all price same.   

21,000 Yen mean RM 789

If sell in Department Store...price sure will bit more expensive.  then will be around RM8xx
Thanks so much for the info. Then the shop at Empire Subang is selling it at a cheaper price. Maybe i should check out again.

Tot in japan will be cheaper since it's a japanese brand.

Oh well!
Shazzac
post Jul 11 2011, 11:47 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(kaizer_x @ Jul 11 2011, 08:08 AM)
Good question, me and my friends are also going to sleep at Haneda before the next morning. Is it okay?
Hrm, the last train out is at 12.15am, why cannot take the train to the city and pick a hostel/inn/hotel to sleep leh?
Shazzac
post Jul 11 2011, 06:59 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(balthier511 @ Jul 11 2011, 06:01 PM)
^here's my reason. it's my first time travelling there. not used to haneda or the train system. i don't want to get lost in the middle of nowhere in the middle of the night when the train has stopped running while carrying my (maybe?) heavy luggage.
It will be my first time landing in Haneda (landing in Narita previously).

Do google and check out on Haneda Airport's map and also which train to take to the hostel/inn/hotel that you are staying at. That way, you won't be lost.

If you are the sort to only find out upon arrive, then i wish you good luck.
Shazzac
post Jul 15 2011, 09:27 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ Jul 15 2011, 01:02 AM)
Where do you guys get the UK to Japan plug adapter?
It's sold at Computer accessories shop. It's really cheap though.
Shazzac
post Jul 17 2011, 09:37 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(skincladalien @ Jul 17 2011, 09:34 PM)
hi guys,
is there anywhere that can see sakura at end of march? or is it too early?
When i was there mid feb already can see a few flowers blooming dy...
Shazzac
post Jul 18 2011, 09:17 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jul 18 2011, 03:03 AM)
I wonder if it's still a good time to visit Japan now.. Due to the tsunami matters..

I would like to visit the north (Hokaido) and Tokyo, but reluctant to go through agents.. Prefer free and easy trip because I think I can speak good enough Japanese to survive there (I think*)..

The Japanese staff in my company said that it's less scary than what we in Malaysia have thought of actually
I don't think it's a problem going to Japan now, as alot of ppl are still going there, plus I'm definately going there in September this year (since I've bought the ticket already).

My Japanese friends say that it's OK and life goes on as normal.

I don't think you need to be overly good in speaking Japanese to be going around. They have alot of road signs with alphabets (although pronunciation will be in japanese, something like pin yin. not sure what it's called for japanese language). Unless of course if you want to go to those really outskirts area....

Well, it's always like that, the medias tend to over-exaggerate on things.
Shazzac
post Jul 21 2011, 10:39 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 21 2011, 09:22 AM)
eh guys ... if wanna ask about vacation instead of like living in Japan ... should post in the Travel to Japan thread instead of here?

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=545818
Here also can.

Added on July 22, 2011, 9:11 amJust abit of a news from a Japanese online newspaper regarding ANA & Air Asia tie up.

Friday, July 22, 2011

ANA, AirAsia tie up for budget carrier

By MIZUHO AOKI
Staff writer

All Nippon Airways Co. and AirAsia Bhd., Southeast Asia's biggest budget carrier, announced Thursday they together will launch a new low-cost carrier in Japan, aiming to cultivate new demand and survive intensifying competition.

AirAsia Japan Co. will be based at Narita International Airport and is expected to start both domestic and international flight operations in August 2012.

The two airlines didn't say what routes the new budget carrier was hoping to fly.

Its fares will be about a third or half the price of existing carriers, said Shinichiro Ito, ANA's president and CEO, adding the carrier aims to operate more than 30 aircraft by around 2016.

The joint venture is scheduled to be established next month with ¥5 billion in capital, they said. ANA will own 67 percent and AirAsia will hold the remaining 33 percent on a voting rights basis.

Intensifying competition in the Japanese aviation market "is a huge threat and at the same time, it is a huge business opportunity. And we've been thinking what we can do. One of the answers is to establish AirAsia Japan," Ito said.

Tony Fernandes, AirAsia's group CEO, said the new low-cost carrier will help boost economic growth in Japan. "We see an enormous potential in Japan, not just for outbound flights. There is a tremendous number of people (overseas) who want to come to Japan," he said.

AirAsia Japan will be ANA's consolidated subsidiary, but its business model will be based on AirAsia Bhd.
This post has been edited by Shazzac: Jul 22 2011, 09:11 AM
Shazzac
post Jul 22 2011, 09:11 AM

427 posts

Just abit of a news from a Japanese online newspaper regarding ANA & Air Asia tie up.

Friday, July 22, 2011

ANA, AirAsia tie up for budget carrier

By MIZUHO AOKI
Staff writer

All Nippon Airways Co. and AirAsia Bhd., Southeast Asia's biggest budget carrier, announced Thursday they together will launch a new low-cost carrier in Japan, aiming to cultivate new demand and survive intensifying competition.

AirAsia Japan Co. will be based at Narita International Airport and is expected to start both domestic and international flight operations in August 2012.

The two airlines didn't say what routes the new budget carrier was hoping to fly.

Its fares will be about a third or half the price of existing carriers, said Shinichiro Ito, ANA's president and CEO, adding the carrier aims to operate more than 30 aircraft by around 2016.

The joint venture is scheduled to be established next month with ¥5 billion in capital, they said. ANA will own 67 percent and AirAsia will hold the remaining 33 percent on a voting rights basis.

Intensifying competition in the Japanese aviation market "is a huge threat and at the same time, it is a huge business opportunity. And we've been thinking what we can do. One of the answers is to establish AirAsia Japan," Ito said.

Tony Fernandes, AirAsia's group CEO, said the new low-cost carrier will help boost economic growth in Japan. "We see an enormous potential in Japan, not just for outbound flights. There is a tremendous number of people (overseas) who want to come to Japan," he said.

AirAsia Japan will be ANA's consolidated subsidiary, but its business model will be based on AirAsia Bhd.
Shazzac
post Aug 16 2011, 10:29 AM

427 posts

Wonder if temp will go down early September???

Keeping my fingers crossed!!
Shazzac
post Aug 16 2011, 02:43 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Aug 16 2011, 02:25 PM)
tokyo by bicycle - good or bad idea ?
If you are good with navigation skills, why not? I personally wouldn't risk getting lost with the bike.
Shazzac
post Aug 18 2011, 10:53 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(BobbiBites @ Aug 18 2011, 10:30 AM)
walao bank statement. if bring photocopy acct book leh? or need letter from the bank?

Added on August 18, 2011, 10:31 amif two person goin, mean need both statement?
Photocopy yes but has to be CTC by the bank.

2 person going - 2 bank a/c to be shown in respective traveller's name.

0.0431sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:19 AM