11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Fresh Graduate Pay for Engineer in Petronas

doomdoom
post Mar 20 2012, 09:44 AM

4,973 posts

QUOTE(noruazumi @ Mar 20 2012, 08:38 AM)
I have been following this thread for quite some times now and I feel I have to share what I think with you.

Take note that PETRONAS is "half-private / half-gomen". Things were somewhat controlled by the gomen. So the performance may not be at peak based on your expert-observation.

Yes, many PETRONAS staffs are Bumi. But I belive non-bumis were given equal opportunity too. I know a senior manager and he is not a bumi. Dont think there's ever a racism culture being promoted in PETRONAS.

If u are saying that every single company that employ more bumi than non-bumi is racist companies, then I can say KHL is pretty racist too.

Capabilities do not associate with skin colors. Capabilities are individually-based to each person.

If u say that PETRONAS would be much performed if more non-bumis are hired, well there's a chance that PETRONAS will give out salary like KHL.
"non-bumis were given equal opportunity too".............are u sure???

so...90% of vacancy reserve to bumi and maybe 10% to other races.......

regardless of capability...as long as bumi must fill the 90% vacancy...so u call this equal opportunity???

well...like wht i say....malaysia always left behind because of this kind of mindset....

bumi think the quota system is fair system....that's the problem....
noruazumi
post Mar 20 2012, 10:11 AM

509 posts

QUOTE(doomdoom @ Mar 20 2012, 09:44 AM)
"non-bumis were given equal opportunity too".............are u sure???

so...90% of vacancy reserve to bumi and maybe 10% to other races.......

regardless of capability...as long as bumi must fill the 90% vacancy...so u call this equal opportunity???

well...like wht i say....malaysia always left behind because of this kind of mindset....

bumi think the quota system is fair system....that's the problem....
I define "equal opportunity" not by the quota like you because I always believe that capability lies in individual not skin color.

If you agree with me that the capability lies in individual, quota or no quota is not important anymore.

But what you are trying to say here that non-bumi are more capable than bumi in driving PETRONAS to better levels - which is quite bothering.

I do have to agree that some PETRONAS staffs have this "comfortable" feels thus the "lay-back" attitude but that is normal throughout any organization. HR and immediate supervisors are responsible in identifying these sort of individuals and correct them.

I have experienced many cases where non-bumi are not capable in doing things, same goes with bumi that have no competencies. So, it hard to be you and draw a line and say bumi are not capable, while non-bumi are far more superior and capable.

People with mindsets like you that spread these sort of mentality and hatred towards each other when the quota thingy doesn't have to be something significant. We can live our normal life even though it is there. But people like you use this "quota issue" as an excuse to your failures.

Malaysia is small and the market is small but one thing for sure - don't let yourself have a small mind. Open your minds and look for opportunities beyond Malaysia if you must in order for you to succeed.

BTW, I will stop here as I am wayyy off-topic here. If you really want to talk more about this, kindly create a new thread where we can discuss this openly and equally with no "quota" - if you want lahhhh... If not, kindly stop your rant and move on. It is what it is, deal with it.
hitsugaya2010
post Mar 20 2012, 10:17 AM

946 posts

Y blame the company because you did not get to be chosen or work in the company? Oh please.. this thread is to discuss about the pay only, have a different mindset le.. if they only have 10%, find your way to be that 10% if 1% be that 1%... i hate to say this.. but life isn't that fair alwayz..

By the way, the salary went up ady? last time i heard is round 4.3k rite? hahaha..
eandi
post Mar 20 2012, 10:51 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(noruazumi @ Mar 20 2012, 08:38 AM)
I have been following this thread for quite some times now and I feel I have to share what I think with you.

Take note that PETRONAS is "half-private / half-gomen". Things were somewhat controlled by the gomen. So the performance may not be at peak based on your expert-observation.

Yes, many PETRONAS staffs are Bumi. But I belive non-bumis were given equal opportunity too. I know a senior manager and he is not a bumi. Dont think there's ever a racism culture being promoted in PETRONAS.

If u are saying that every single company that employ more bumi than non-bumi is racist companies, then I can say KHL is pretty racist too.

Capabilities do not associate with skin colors. Capabilities are individually-based to each person.

If u say that PETRONAS would be much performed if more non-bumis are hired, well there's a chance that PETRONAS will give out salary like KHL.
Strongly Agree..I hope once the Sapura Kencana merging settle, there will be a changes..
Sapura..help!!

Added on March 20, 2012, 10:58 am
QUOTE(doomdoom @ Mar 20 2012, 08:28 AM)
Well, i am no in oil and gas....

but not need to argue la..i am not the racist..the goverment is the racist.....keep over protecting the bumi status...

look at singapore...lead by capable people, not based on your race...now become so powerful than malaysia...malaysia always want to maintain this kind of protect bumi policy, even we gt much resources like petro, plantation...but we are so much left behind than singapore...shame on this over protect bumi policy.....grow up...dun so depend on goverment...

if i am capable bumi...i will sure have some pride and tell goverment .."please stop protecting us!!!"...
Singapore????!!! WTF...
I was working in Singapore..with one of their GLC company in O&G industry..racist..everywhere..the highest position
for local malays, Warehouse/Store Manager...after joining 20 Years..

This post has been edited by eandi: Mar 20 2012, 10:58 AM
hj.pet
post Mar 20 2012, 11:24 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(eandi @ Mar 20 2012, 10:51 AM)
Strongly Agree..I hope once the Sapura Kencana merging settle, there will be a changes..
Sapura..help!!

Added on March 20, 2012, 10:58 am

Singapore????!!! WTF...
I was working in Singapore..with one of their GLC company in O&G industry..racist..everywhere..the highest position
for local malays, Warehouse/Store Manager...after joining 20 Years..
come on doomdoom. we are waiting for your reply here biggrin.gif
jani13
post Mar 20 2012, 11:27 AM

20 posts

Hope someone can clarify, if the fresh grad pay of RM5090 is only for engineers or all?
eandi
post Mar 20 2012, 12:22 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(doomdoom @ Mar 20 2012, 11:59 AM)
that was no racist...because that malay si not capable....

simple la..just compare singapore(mostly capable chinese leader and some other capable people from diffrent races), and compare with malaysia(lead by majority malays, only give a very less % to other races)...which country is stronger...

u cannot survive in singapore because u r not capable...

u can survive well in petronas because high quota is for bumi..

that's simple..

i think u guys not need to arue with me about this...

Our goverment is really protect the bumi status, Petronas as well...that's the unfair policy...

i am just telling the truth...

then u bumi say just become the 10% or 1% of the quota la...haha...that's a very typical mindset of bumi who been overprotected by goverment..

if u bumi have enough guts, just gather at klcc there..just tell the goverment abandon the overprotection policy....not any special stautus for bumi...u dare or not?
Wow..good answer..as a chinesse muslim..shame on you..

doomdoom
post Mar 20 2012, 02:23 PM

4,973 posts

QUOTE(eandi @ Mar 20 2012, 12:22 PM)
Wow..good answer..as a chinesse muslim..shame on you..
shame on me...it's ok..i am just telling the truth........congratulation to u becoz u are in bumi status and goverment wil take care of u...
Dagger69
post Mar 20 2012, 02:26 PM

u no say?
1,196 posts

QUOTE(doomdoom @ Mar 20 2012, 02:23 PM)
shame on me...it's ok..i am just telling the truth........congratulation to u becoz u are in bumi status and goverment wil take care of u...
I seriously think this is not the place to talk about issues regarding 1st class citizen, 2nd class citizen, bumi status, non bumi status. Everyone has an opinion about that but this is not the right place to do it. Please bring this issue to other place. Thanks.
acgerlok7
post Mar 20 2012, 02:39 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Mar 20 2012, 08:32 AM)
I believe most of the non-bumi have applied to Petronas be4, but in the end there are all in Shell, Esso or other O&G company.. Until now they dare not list out how many non-bumi / bumi % working in Petronas or other GLC company... But from what i have told in an interview i done be4 with a local O&G company, the manager told me that if 1 Chinese out, only 1 Chinese can come in to replace it and not others.. This is the quota they set.. That why that day i went interview so many Chinese ppl over there.. But sadly i am not listed..  cry.gif My another lucky friend have to went for 2nd & 3rd interview to be accepted.. Since he has around 2 years experience in piping & welding, his salary is quite high almost RM7k above..  but have to work at sea platform.. That was just 2 years ago.. Now donno how much he is getting.. haha..

Anyway there is no fairness in Malaysian system, if really they are selecting the best to work with them i think the whole Petronas will be full wif foreigners..  laugh.gif

The only bumi i respected in Petronas is Hassan Merican.. Really a talented person..  brows.gif
the irony is Hassan has been hired as director in many Singapore GLC's..so anyone up to say dat now Hassan is not a "bumi" and is not "capable" and he get into singapore GLC bcos of "luck"?what i meant is regardless of race, as long as we work hard and do our part, we will get reward from our God/Allah, ther is no nid to get so bloody frustrated over racist issue...dont let one bad apple spoil the whole basket...doesnt mean one PETRONAS fellow practice racism, it applies to all..LOL...just my 2 cents worth.

This post has been edited by acgerlok7: Mar 20 2012, 02:41 PM
azraeil
post Mar 20 2012, 02:41 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

doomdoom, you are hijacking this thread. As I mentioned earlier, please open a thread in RWI for you to argue about it.
diazzaid
post Mar 20 2012, 02:42 PM

28 posts

simple la..just compare singapore(mostly capable chinese leader and some other capable people from diffrent races), and compare with malaysia(lead by majority malays, only give a very less % to other races)...which country is stronger...

that's simple..

Our goverment is really protect the bumi status, Petronas as well...that's the unfair policy...

then u bumi say just become the 10% or 1% of the quota la...haha...that's a very typical mindset of bumi who been overprotected by goverment..

if u bumi have enough guts, just gather at klcc there..just tell the goverment abandon the overprotection policy....not any special stautus for bumi...u dare or not?
thanx doomdoom...bcoz of ur harsh comments, u hv prompted me to reply to ur idiotic nonsense baseless opinions. all this while i hv been a silent reader.

first & foremost, u always praise s'pore by setting an example of how a country should be run. let me open up ur tiny mind. go google 'temasek review emeritus' n have a look how the people there suffer under the current government. even s'porean chinese complain of their gov who always prefer foreigners against local people. is that what u want? i bet u can't stand living there even for a week. so, stop talking rubbish!

secondly, in my opinion, ur definition of fair policy is only when u are accepted to join petronas. only then u will stop complaining. how shallow-minded u r. it's easy for one to say that a practice is fair when it favours their desire. duhh!!!

lastly....discrimination happens everywhere directly or indirectly. i had a sister who's been working at a chinese company and she was offered a position of supervisor although she has a degree. and their annual bonus is also based on race. chinese get more while non-chinese will get less. how pathetic is that?

when talking about this issue....you just made me notice how selfish and ignorant u r about the real world. so, stop all this crap with all due respect.

littlefire
post Mar 20 2012, 02:42 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(acgerlok7 @ Mar 20 2012, 03:39 PM)
the irony is Hassan has been hired as director in many Singapore GLC's..so anyone up to say dat now Hassan is not a "bumi" and is not "capable" and he get into singapore GLC bcos of "luck"?
That why i only say just the "only" bumi i respected in Petronas.. brows.gif

Added on March 20, 2012, 2:49 pm
QUOTE(diazzaid @ Mar 20 2012, 03:42 PM)
thanx doomdoom...bcoz of ur harsh comments, u hv prompted me to reply to ur idiotic nonsense baseless opinions. all this while i hv been a silent reader.

first & foremost, u always praise s'pore by setting an example of how a country should be run. let me open up ur tiny mind. go google 'temasek review emeritus' n have a look how the people there suffer under the current government. even s'porean chinese complain of their gov who always prefer foreigners against local people. is that what u want? i bet u can't stand living there even for a week. so, stop talking rubbish!

secondly, in my opinion, ur definition of fair policy is only when u are accepted to join petronas. only then u will stop complaining. how shallow-minded u r. it's easy for one to say that a practice is fair when it favours their desire. duhh!!!

lastly....discrimination happens everywhere directly or indirectly. i had a sister who's been working at a chinese company and she was offered a position of supervisor although she has a degree. and their annual bonus is also based on race. chinese get more while non-chinese will get less. how pathetic is that?

when talking about this issue....you just made me notice how selfish and ignorant u r about the real world. so, stop all this crap with all due respect.
The only way to throw all the unfair policy out from the G first, if everyone already in a fair play ground how u complain? Once you have a fair policy, law & order will come in hand cleaning all the rubbish out.. When NEP started, no more fair is concern.. What they concern is their pocket and how to survive RICH in this country using 30% share & other unfair policy just to grap those money from non-bumi which work hard in their ass.. While they just sit around enjoying the 30% free money... shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by littlefire: Mar 20 2012, 02:49 PM
BRC
post Mar 20 2012, 02:50 PM

555 posts

yes
take it out during the coming polls...
not here

rabloo
post Mar 20 2012, 02:53 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(BRC @ Mar 20 2012, 02:50 PM)
yes
take it out during the coming polls...
not here
+1
hitsugaya2010
post Mar 20 2012, 02:55 PM

946 posts

that's simple..

Dude, take this out of here. This is a jobs and careers section. If you tak puas with Petronas or the government policy go somewhere else. These ppl are asking some serious questions here.
diazzaid
post Mar 20 2012, 03:00 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Mar 20 2012, 02:42 PM)
That why i only say just the "only" bumi i respected in Petronas..  brows.gif

Added on March 20, 2012, 2:49 pm

The only way to throw all the unfair policy out from the G first, if everyone already in a fair play ground how u complain? Once you have a fair policy, law & order will come in hand cleaning all the rubbish out..  When NEP started, no more fair is concern.. What they concern is their pocket and how to survive RICH in this country using 30% share & other unfair policy just to grap those money from non-bumi which work hard in their ass.. While they just sit around enjoying the 30% free money...  shakehead.gif
hv u ever known why NEP was established in the first place? i dun want to elaborate more as i believed u have sat for your Sejarah paper in SPM (i dunno whether u got A for the subject though)

& u've made it seem as if the remaining 70% were the working hard ppl and pay tax to the gov. knock! knock! hellooo!!! we contribute to the country's economy as well & we do pay taxes! get a life, the world doesn't revolve around u.

& with all due respect again...i hope we cn put this sh*t to a full stop.
h0inerve
post Mar 20 2012, 03:05 PM

163 posts

LOL

Added on March 20, 2012, 3:12 pmNo matter how hard we try, each and everyone of us is a racist. So it doesn't matter where and who you're working with. And yeah, PETRONAS is one of them. I'm a bumi and local Sarawakian, been dealing with them for years. It all boils back to what Sarawak is getting. 5% royalty? PFFFFT!

This post has been edited by h0inerve: Mar 20 2012, 03:12 PM
littlefire
post Mar 20 2012, 03:14 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(diazzaid @ Mar 20 2012, 04:00 PM)
hv u ever known why NEP was established in the first place? i dun want to elaborate more as i believed u have sat for your Sejarah paper in SPM (i dunno whether u got A for the subject though)

& u've made it seem as if the remaining 70% were the working hard ppl and pay tax to the gov. knock! knock! hellooo!!! we contribute to the country's economy as well & we do pay taxes! get a life, the world doesn't revolve around u.
& with all due respect again...i hope we cn put this sh*t to a full stop.
Then until now, does NEP really help all the poor bumi or just to enrich a few? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by littlefire: Mar 20 2012, 03:15 PM
eandi
post Mar 20 2012, 03:15 PM

105 posts

Nevermind..just forgive doomdoom for his statement..

Lets get back into the main issue..is it true Pet freash grad will be RM5090..
If its true then I'm going to increase my expected salary during the S.I with Pet.

BTW..Hassan Marican is now with SembCorp Marine...I was with them 4 years ago..they pay me SGD$3500, and its
a big money for me during that time since I was staying in JB and travelling each day..

This post has been edited by eandi: Mar 20 2012, 03:19 PM

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:00 PM