13 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

My Renovation in PJ, Wet kitchen and living hall extension...

member808
post Aug 26 2011, 09:48 AM

102 posts

i think contractor is also human lah, if cannot find, needs more time lor
brutalsoul
post Aug 26 2011, 10:40 AM

A goal without a plan is just a wish
1,484 posts

how is the problem? solved?
kelvyn
post Aug 26 2011, 12:53 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(member808 @ Aug 26 2011, 10:48 AM)
Contractors are also human and conman (some) as well
sl2007
post Aug 26 2011, 01:54 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(kingkong1 @ Aug 23 2011, 08:18 PM)
This is the one which is WIP for months.
Hi boss,

Sorry to hear about your Contractor issue... By the way, I think your design here might got "Sao Hou" problem lo.....

Just my idea ya... Why not try to use tempered glass design...
lizziewong
post Aug 26 2011, 04:14 PM

185 posts

I think it is simpler to use polycarbonate sheets to speed things up.

Anyway, will share my pictures. This structure need alot of support becuz of the weight of the timber truss and the tiles (1 pc is 3 kg approx). In my roof strcture, the truss is sitting on a kind of a ledge for support. Also, the bold is cast/set in the concrete (as opposed to just put a wall plug).

Picture 1: the pergola

Picture 2: close up of how the truss is anchored together

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Serofax
post Aug 26 2011, 06:49 PM

318 posts

nice...heavy duty stuff =D
phoenix69
post Aug 26 2011, 07:31 PM

1,836 posts

It is very nice lizzie wong. rclxms.gif
My kitchen extension at the back has these exposed roof truss (I wanted transparent roof tiles for the laundry drying area.).
The roof truss is raw and has no finishing at all.
Your roof truss finishing is done before or after installation?
TSkingkong1
post Aug 26 2011, 09:22 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(ssshk @ Aug 26 2011, 08:41 AM)
sigh, hate these not responsible contractors.. they should not treat ppl like that.. what is ur plan now?
He promised to come yesterday and spend for 4 days to finish to outstanding and keep reminding he will collect another RM10k (with that still have about 9k balance). And the rest of "sao mei" after I move in.

He did come on yesterday, with 4 men (1 wet worker, 1 painter and 2 casual workers). The painter continue to paint the outstanding job. The wet work indon worker finished the gutter job, fixed the rain leak problem on the roof and some touch up job on the wall. His polycarbonate contractor also came to add additional zinc sheet surrounding the wall in air well to prevent rain leaking issue.

The other 2 casual workers are non-productive.

Since he looked sincere and thinking of I am still holding the RM9k, I paid him RM10k.

Today he came with wet worker and painter. He told me the roof will be up either this afternoon or the following day depending on the readiness of the wood legs.

The painter continue to paint and told me he can finished his job in another day. The wet worker skim coat a small wall, touch up another wall which was not properly touched up after drilling, help to fix the tap for sink and plumbing, paint the roof truss and roof tiles. There goes day 2.

Hope tomorrow the roof will be up and up to my satisfactory.

Added on August 26, 2011, 9:23 pm
QUOTE(member808 @ Aug 26 2011, 09:48 AM)
He really need more time, as he has 4 jobs in hand to complete.

Added on August 26, 2011, 9:26 pm
QUOTE(lizziewong @ Aug 26 2011, 04:14 PM)
I think it is simpler to use polycarbonate sheets to speed things up. 

Anyway, will share my pictures.  This structure need alot of support becuz of the weight of the timber truss and the tiles (1 pc is 3 kg approx).  In my roof strcture, the truss is sitting on a kind of a ledge for support.  Also, the bold is cast/set in the concrete (as opposed to just put a wall plug). 

Picture 1: the pergola

Picture 2: close up of how the truss is anchored together

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Thanks for sharing, what wood is this?

This post has been edited by kingkong1: Aug 26 2011, 09:26 PM
brutalsoul
post Aug 27 2011, 10:10 PM

1,484 posts

nice design...
lizziewong
post Aug 28 2011, 04:16 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(kingkong1 @ Aug 26 2011, 09:22 PM)

Added on August 26, 2011, 9:26 pm
Thanks for sharing, what wood is this?
I used balau. The nuts n bolts are stainless steel, bought from Asia Bolts & Nuts. The truss is spaced 2 ft apart.

Added on August 28, 2011, 4:20 pm
QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Aug 26 2011, 07:31 PM)
It is very nice lizzie wong.  rclxms.gif
My kitchen extension at the back has these exposed roof truss (I wanted transparent roof tiles for the laundry drying area.).
The roof truss is raw and has no finishing at all.
Your roof truss finishing is done before or after installation?
The wood is finished before fixing. My contractor also embedded the bolts into the concrete when he was doing the balcony/car porch structure.

This post has been edited by lizziewong: Aug 28 2011, 04:20 PM
kelvyn
post Aug 29 2011, 09:07 AM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(lizziewong @ Aug 28 2011, 05:16 PM)
I used balau.  The nuts n bolts are stainless steel, bought from Asia Bolts & Nuts.  The truss is spaced 2 ft apart.

Added on August 28, 2011, 4:20 pm

The wood is finished before fixing.  My contractor also embedded the bolts into the concrete when he was doing the balcony/car porch structure.
Your house is quite nicely done. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
lizziewong
post Aug 29 2011, 10:45 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Aug 29 2011, 09:07 AM)
Your house is quite nicely done.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Tks. My contract engages an Indon who is pretty good with timber works, but his wet works only so so....
brutalsoul
post Aug 29 2011, 11:28 AM

1,484 posts

so, overall progress is? still got which part not done?
TSkingkong1
post Aug 29 2011, 03:35 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(brutalsoul @ Aug 29 2011, 11:28 AM)
so, overall progress is? still got which part not done?
Roof up but not to my satisfactory...

Big hole which can cause rain pour.

Wood alignment issue.

kelvyn
post Aug 29 2011, 03:46 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(kingkong1 @ Aug 29 2011, 04:35 PM)
Roof up but not to my satisfactory...

Wood alignment issue.
There is supposed to be a zinc flashing between the top edge to the roof tile and the wall. This will prevent water from seeping in during rain.
phoenix69
post Aug 29 2011, 03:48 PM

1,836 posts

Wood alignment issue.

[/quote]

It looks OK. How is the wood mis-aligned? blink.gif
TSkingkong1
post Aug 29 2011, 03:49 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Aug 29 2011, 03:46 PM)
There is supposed to be a zinc flashing between the top edge to the roof tile and the wall. This will prevent water from seeping in during rain.
He did, but I also wonder why I see a big gap there.
phoenix69
post Aug 29 2011, 03:50 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Aug 29 2011, 03:46 PM)
Hopefully the top part, there is still wall left and not the balcony edge or window edge. blink.gif
kelvyn
post Aug 29 2011, 03:53 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(kingkong1 @ Aug 29 2011, 04:35 PM)

QUOTE(kingkong1 @ Aug 29 2011, 04:49 PM)
He did, but I also wonder why I see a big gap there.
Did you go up to the balcony and check if the zinc flashing was properly installed. Meaning the it is fasten to the plastered surface? It is is done, then there should not be any gap that you see here.

TSkingkong1
post Aug 29 2011, 03:54 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Aug 29 2011, 03:48 PM)
It looks OK. How is the wood mis-aligned? blink.gif
re check the picture.

Added on August 29, 2011, 3:59 pm
QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Aug 29 2011, 03:50 PM)
Hopefully the top part, there is still wall left and not the balcony edge or window edge.  blink.gif
Behind is the emty space lead to main entrance.

This post has been edited by kingkong1: Aug 29 2011, 04:00 PM

13 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:09 AM