Income Tax Issues v2

countdown
post Mar 15 2012, 02:47 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(dannyw @ Mar 13 2012, 11:34 AM)
Guys,

Need some advice on Interest on housing loan.

The cross put as below:
An amount limited to a maximum of RM10,000 is deductible for each basis year for a period of three consecutive years of assessment beginning from the date in which the interest is first expended.

I bought my house on August 2009, so this is the third year I fill up the rebate column. The question is count by year or month? By next year am I still entitle for the rebate of this? Is there another 7 months for me to rebate?
On year basis. Applicable for those S&P signed in between 10 March 2009 till 31-Dec 2010 for:

1) A UNIT only.
2) For residential property.
3) CITIZEN and RESIDENT of M'sia.
4) Non-income generation.

Let say you signed and interest starts immediately on 30-Dec 2009, ur tax-deductible is up to RM10k for YA 2009 though it's just a day away from YA 2010. On 2010, you can claim again up to RM10k as long as is 3 consecutive years.

In this case, u might want to drag the S&P till next year (2010) to give enough time to accumulate interest up to RM10k, it's not necessary to drag if you are buying millions worth of residential property where a month interest already will hit >RM10k smile.gif. Anyway, all already past.

This post has been edited by countdown: Mar 19 2012, 02:00 AM
silkysilk
post Mar 15 2012, 06:32 PM

198 posts

can include receipt dated 2012 to this year efiling?
SUSDavid83
post Mar 15 2012, 07:28 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(silkysilk @ Mar 15 2012, 06:32 PM)
can include receipt dated 2012 to this year efiling?
That will be next year filling.

This year filing is meant for YA2011.
LYR
post Mar 15 2012, 08:25 PM

No one is indispensable
1,866 posts

QUOTE(justanovice @ Mar 15 2012, 09:49 AM)
There are exemptions to those who stayed less than 182 days - if you did stay in MY in the previous year continuosly to the current taxable year (with no more than 14 days break in between)

Go dig some downloables docs from the lhdn site.
thanks. it's confirmed that i'm a tax resident for YA2011.

Residence status of individuals
savants
post Mar 15 2012, 09:55 PM

829 posts

This is my 1st time opening an acc in income tax.
Please advice. TQ
munkeyflo
post Mar 15 2012, 11:09 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(savants @ Mar 15 2012, 09:55 PM)
This is my 1st time opening an acc in income tax.
Please advice. TQ
Maybe you should check out LHDN website first. They do have quite a lot of details on their website.
Edison83
post Mar 16 2012, 11:24 AM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

Can buy PC parts can be claim as "buying PC"?
guanteik
post Mar 16 2012, 11:54 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(Edison83 @ Mar 16 2012, 11:24 AM)
Yes. For the bit parts you bought which resembled a PC.
Edison83
post Mar 16 2012, 12:19 PM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

sunnyckh
post Mar 16 2012, 04:04 PM

177 posts

dear all sifus,
there is some question i want to ask for my friend...he own a tuition centre (2 years ago) but that centre never declare income tax (neither company or personal tax)...so what should he do now? should he filling B form or BE form...BE form is self employ right? there are a column need to fill was abt company turn over n lost...he don't know how to fill and should he find a accountant handle for him? thank for all your opinion...
cherroy
post Mar 16 2012, 04:24 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Edison83 @ Mar 16 2012, 11:24 AM)
If solely buy parts that are incomplete to assemble a complete PC, then the answer is no.
The PC relief is for a personal computer, not for buying parts.

ldcsvui86
post Mar 16 2012, 04:53 PM

46 posts

how to register for income tax? and what are the thing for submit every year? how to rebate if i got some expenses?
munkeyflo
post Mar 16 2012, 11:41 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(ldcsvui86 @ Mar 16 2012, 04:53 PM)
how to register for income tax? and what are the thing for submit every year? how to rebate if i got some expenses?
As replied to the other forumer earlier, try checking out LHDN website. It contains lots of information, especially straight forward stuff like what you are asking. doh.gif
ldcsvui86
post Mar 17 2012, 12:13 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Mar 16 2012, 11:41 PM)
As replied to the other forumer earlier, try checking out LHDN website. It contains lots of information, especially straight forward stuff like what you are asking.  doh.gif
one more question, just get increment abit, now exceed 2500++ so when should i need to register and pay income tax??
munkeyflo
post Mar 17 2012, 11:27 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(ldcsvui86 @ Mar 17 2012, 12:13 AM)
one more question, just get increment abit, now exceed 2500++ so when should i need to register and pay income tax??
You can register anytime.
Income tax submission and payment for the previous year is before the 30th April of every year.
nspk
post Mar 17 2012, 12:45 PM

359 posts

My wife had subscribed monthly magazine for 3 years through an agent last year 2011. She used supplementary credit card to make the payment with the payment receipt under her name. But, the supplementary credit card bill is paid by me with the proof of my credit card payment through banking transfer record.
Can I make the claim under my income tax since the bill is paid by me?
SUSDavid83
post Mar 17 2012, 12:53 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(nspk @ Mar 17 2012, 12:45 PM)
My wife had subscribed monthly magazine for 3 years through an agent last year 2011.  She used supplementary credit card to make the payment with the payment receipt under her name.  But, the supplementary credit card bill is paid by me with the proof of my credit card payment through banking transfer record.
If the payment receipt is under your name, then can. But CC receipt is not acceptable because you can pay on behalf of other people as long as you have card holder presence during the point of sale or authorization through certain form (such as auto debit/auto pay and etc).
ronnie
post Mar 17 2012, 01:38 PM

Not enough stars
21,311 posts

QUOTE(nspk @ Mar 17 2012, 12:45 PM)
My wife had subscribed monthly magazine for 3 years through an agent last year 2011.  She used supplementary credit card to make the payment with the payment receipt under her name.  But, the supplementary credit card bill is paid by me with the proof of my credit card payment through banking transfer record.
Next time you should plan before subscribing doh.gif
Ask the magazine to issue a receipt under YOUR NAME (if possible)
PradaLee
post Mar 17 2012, 02:20 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(countdown @ Mar 15 2012, 02:47 PM)
On year basis. Applicable for those S&P signed in between 10 March 2009 till 31-Dec 2010 for:

1) A UNIT only.
2) For residential purpose.
3) CITIZEN and RESIDENT of M'sia.
4) Non-income generation.

Let say you signed and interest starts immediately on 30-Dec 2009, ur tax-deductible is up to RM10k for YA 2009 though it's just a day away from YA 2010. On 2010, you can claim again up to RM10k as long as is 3 consecutive years.

In this case, u might want to drag the S&P till next year (2010) to give enough time to accumulate interest up to RM10k, it's not necessary to drag if you are buying millions worth of residential property where a month interest already will hit >RM10k smile.gif. Anyway, all already past.
Is property under construction eligible for this RM10k deduction claim if S&P is signed between 10 march 2009 to 31 dec 2010? How to prove property is for own stay when it is under construction? What if property is subsequently disposed off after claiming the 3 years of RM10k deduction?

justanovice
post Mar 17 2012, 06:50 PM

2,526 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 17 2012, 01:38 PM)
Next time you should plan before subscribing doh.gif
Ask the magazine to issue a receipt under YOUR NAME (if possible)
Got so ma fan de mer?
I bought lots of books at mph, borders, pay with cash or CC also get same bookstore receipt with no name de ma.

128 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:23 PM