Income Tax Issues v2

munkeyflo
post Jun 8 2011, 12:27 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Jun 3 2011, 12:46 PM)
ThNks for the reply..I still have not get back my rebate for year 2010.. Normally how long does it take for them to process..
It depends if they need to check or not. From the previous thread, it seems that some of the forumers are able to get their refund cheques quite fast, within few weeks after doing an e-filling.

As for mine, I did e-filling as well and receive a letter stating that it is going for audit and I should contact them in 3 months time if I don't hear from them. Haven't heard from them so far. But I'm pretty sure it'll take the whole 3 months and another few more months to do all those checking and have to show them prove of receipts and everything before I get the refund back. smile.gif
munkeyflo
post Jun 8 2011, 10:30 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(vincentwee @ Jun 8 2011, 08:33 AM)
wat happen if cant provide receipt?
that all i like to know
and what i can do
You know, you can always call their helpline and ask them about it. They won't fine you just because you asked a question.

I haven't encounter anything like that basically because they have always reminded us to keep our receipts for the past 7 years (I think it's 7) and I've been keeping receipts as long as I can ever remember. If no receipts then it's like cari pasal lor.

Try to get other forms of prove for your purchase. Like if it's insurance, get the insurance company to give you something.
My dad has issues with income tax issues way back like in 1986. They still come and kacau him and he had to show prove to reduce the fine.

This post has been edited by munkeyflo: Jun 8 2011, 10:30 AM
munkeyflo
post Jun 11 2011, 01:32 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(~butter @ Jun 11 2011, 12:37 AM)
I think you should just call them. They will not ask you to come for audit if you call them. Only if you receive the letter for them.
I think.
I submitted mine early March. I received a letter saying that mine was due for further audit.
Called them last 2 weeks and they said that my refund was approved, although of lower amount and I would receive the cheque in 14 working days.

Still waiting for that cheque!
Guess I should call them soon too since it's almost coming to three months anyway.
munkeyflo
post Jun 13 2011, 09:55 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 11 2011, 01:40 PM)
Good to end the "worry" once & for all  tongue.gif

Mind U, the last time i "chased them" for my $5K+ over payment, i kena about $14K+ overdue / miscalc for previous 3 years' tax! Contra-ed, still owe $9K+  cry.gif
Haha. What happen?

My overpayment is just a small amount. Few hundred only. That's why I'm not really in a hurry to get it back yet.
I think they still checking cause past few years always pay few k tax even after monthly installments but this year overpayment.
munkeyflo
post Jun 17 2011, 12:50 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(vincentwee @ Jun 14 2011, 08:52 AM)
guys!
if u receive 1st letter that u been investigate... upon 3 month later, they didnt call u or u receive any letter...please CALL THEM BACK!

why because it proves that when we CALL THEM BACK, instead they question us, they give us refund!

Yea Yea!
I got email from them that my refund is in process within 14 days.i send them email ask why i do not receive my refund!

Phew...!
Ehh, don't really understand you. Lol.

I haven't had the time to call them yet. sad.gif Will call next week.
munkeyflo
post Jun 24 2011, 10:49 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

Yes, LHDN is providing two methods of payment for refund.

I just called up to check on my refund status and they told me the cheque is ready to be posted out today. Then the girl also ask me if I would prefer that they bank in straight to my account. I'm pretty sure I did not fill in MBB account. I think it doesn't matter which account it is. Anyway, what matters is that in the end, you get your cheque/money back. smile.gif
munkeyflo
post Aug 3 2011, 08:40 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Aug 2 2011, 06:55 PM)
how long did your fren waited for the refund?
Mine waited about 3.5 months. They send me a letter a few weeks after submitting my tax saying that it's under audit and if I do not hear from them in 3 months, I should contact them. So I contact them late June and got my cheque a few days later.
munkeyflo
post Aug 7 2011, 09:57 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ Aug 5 2011, 11:53 PM)
sis..how u contact them? call? email?i also under semakan..2 weeks ago emailed them..they ask for some docs..scanned to them..after that they MIA and not reachable..
I called them straight away.
I think you should call and chase them for your refund as well. smile.gif
munkeyflo
post Aug 10 2011, 12:50 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ Aug 10 2011, 06:48 AM)
thank you! Think so..plan to call them already today..
Just call them and they'll process it quicker. I too procrastinated in calling them, that's why my refund cheque took quite some time to reach me. smile.gif
munkeyflo
post Aug 24 2011, 07:35 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Aug 24 2011, 05:07 PM)
Hi all..

1)  I got letter from lhdn, asking me to present them the original document for home loan interest.. anyway,
it doesn't matter what document.. the letter said

"sila kemukakan salinan asal ... bla bla",

but not a single line in the letter mentioning whether I should come to their office, or should I
mail it to them.. 

So, what should I do? go to lhdn? or mail them the document?
2) Another thing is, the letter mentions that I must give (kemukakan) document within 30 days from the date
of the letter. But I received the letter 3 weeks after the date on the later..  So, I only got 1 week? and
especially, raya holiday is near.. everywhere is holiday already.. should I ignore the timeline?
Tq.
Call them and ask. It's better if you set up a time and go to their office.
If you mail your documents to them, they might say they never receive or they may really never receive it. And you'll lose all your documents, which I'm very sure you wouldn't want that.

Best is that you get it done before the timeline. Or they may charge you a fine.
munkeyflo
post Aug 26 2011, 05:21 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(normanliew @ Aug 25 2011, 11:17 AM)
yet to receive my refund

inefficient~!
Did you call them up and chase them?
I've actually been procrastinating about calling them when I haven't got my refund. Then I called them up one day and they say my cheque is on the way. I receive the cheque the next week. smile.gif
munkeyflo
post Feb 13 2012, 05:19 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

Does anyone remember/know when does e-filing opens up for the current year?

Especially for form Borang E (non-individual) which is due end of march.

If not then I'll have to go LHDN to submit. aihh. yawn.gif
munkeyflo
post Feb 15 2012, 08:08 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(rayng18 @ Feb 13 2012, 08:47 PM)
will open in march and due end of april not march
That's for personal tax. What I wanna know is Borang E.
munkeyflo
post Mar 2 2012, 01:01 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Mar 2 2012, 12:50 AM)
I have a rental property. In 2011, the Developer issued strata title to individual purchasers. I incurred legal fees. Is this tax deductible against the rental income?
The only thing I deduct against the rental income is expenses for the year, i.e. repairs, maintenance of property.
munkeyflo
post Mar 5 2012, 08:52 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(heizad @ Mar 5 2012, 05:11 PM)
so that means that if the field is fill-able then i can claim for pc right?
I would like to know this as well.
I file the tax for both my parents and myself. For me, my PC field was greyed out, I claimed for PC last year. But for my parents, their PC field is fill-able, their claim for PC was 2 years ago, which also means cannot claim since can only claim once in 3 years. So I'm abit confuse if the field is not greyed out means can still claim?
munkeyflo
post Mar 5 2012, 09:30 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 5 2012, 09:03 PM)
Which year did your parents claim Tax Relief on Computer ?
One is 2008, one is 2009. Both PC field also not greyed out.
Mine was in 2010, which was greyed out for this year. Felt a bit weird why theirs wasn't greyed out so I went and double check the old records also.
munkeyflo
post Mar 5 2012, 09:44 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 5 2012, 09:37 PM)
As usual the programmer didn't program to check against YA2009 or YA2008 to grey-up the field.
Guess they are not so advanced after all. laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post Mar 7 2012, 03:49 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(shiroikun @ Mar 7 2012, 12:03 PM)
OMG, I just realized that I need to submit extra 300% Tax compare to the last year... What the heck? How come they adjusted the tax to so high meanwhile my increment only a little!!!
Always the case. Mine also like that, I actually double and triple check so many times wondering if I've calculated wrong somewhere. Tax payable this year compared to last year has so much difference. laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post Mar 7 2012, 04:24 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(shiroikun @ Mar 7 2012, 03:51 PM)
OMG, how come u look like so happy... I'm damn pissed off
No la. Not happy at all but nothing much I can do about it also. sweat.gif
munkeyflo
post Mar 15 2012, 11:09 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(savants @ Mar 15 2012, 09:55 PM)
This is my 1st time opening an acc in income tax.
Please advice. TQ
Maybe you should check out LHDN website first. They do have quite a lot of details on their website.

0.0227sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:41 AM