129 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Bottom

°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V3 °°, The Power Of Hybrid. Owners Welcome ! !

iTrump
post Jun 17 2011, 05:32 PM

QUOTE(chizzu @ Jun 17 2011, 05:29 PM)
so econ off = turbo on? tongue.gif
try it on the highway, you'll be amazed.
orbclyne
post Jun 17 2011, 05:37 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(infinitium @ Jun 17 2011, 05:23 PM)
it was super hot today, so i turn off my ECO button... and drove the rest of the way home w/ECO off. Wow, can feel the difference - suddenly felt like I was driving sports car smile.gif

(haven't been driving w/ECO off, since I always drive w/ECO on, 95% of the time. good to feel what it's like w/ECO mode off!)
Thats why i dont like to use the ECO. Feels good without the ECO although it will consume more fuel biggrin.gif
jacek
post Jun 17 2011, 06:08 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(orbclyne @ Jun 17 2011, 05:37 PM)
Thats why i dont like to use the ECO. Feels good without the ECO although it will consume more fuel biggrin.gif
haha. dunno why, somehow i feel guilty whenever i turn off the Econ Mode.
My heart saying, why waste petrol when u can save it ... and why harm the environment by burning more fuel.
haha.

when i told my wife how i feel, she said to me ... 'you crazy ah?'
chizzu
post Jun 17 2011, 06:24 PM

ブラック★ロックチューター BEAST
1,357 posts

The reason why i bought this car is to go green and less co2 emmision smile.gif not bcoz i want to save fuel (coz can claim company tongue.gif )
kelvin_hata
post Jun 17 2011, 06:44 PM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

QUOTE(iTrump @ Jun 17 2011, 05:32 PM)
try it on the highway, you'll be amazed.
i'd like change to "S"gear with econ off wen speed at 150 sweat.gif
Happyman
post Jun 17 2011, 06:47 PM

163 posts

I think most insight owners bought honda insight because dont wanna be another owner of city, vious (or vios? whatever la), forti, inspira etc on the road, some more it is hybrid, cbu.
kelvin_hata
post Jun 17 2011, 08:07 PM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

QUOTE(Happyman @ Jun 17 2011, 06:47 PM)
I think most insight owners bought honda insight because dont wanna be another owner of city, vious (or vios? whatever la), forti, inspira etc on the road, some more it is hybrid, cbu.
sorry u r wrong.. tongue.gif

for me because of "TAX"
eltaria
post Jun 17 2011, 08:25 PM

GO GO GO
1,040 posts

Dont want to make gomen fat
ultramankaiser
post Jun 17 2011, 09:00 PM

i took off with "s" but "ECO" was on today 7pm@kota damansara heading back SS23.results were astonishing...felt like some monster was pulling me forward....
infinitium
post Jun 17 2011, 09:37 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(chizzu @ Jun 17 2011, 05:29 PM)
so econ off = turbo on? tongue.gif
yeah man. like turbo boost smile.gif
jacek
post Jun 17 2011, 09:45 PM

99 posts

partly true.
but mostly is due to tax exemption n it is cbu.
worth every penny
I-Kurosaki
post Jun 17 2011, 10:09 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(ultramankaiser @ Jun 17 2011, 09:00 PM)
i took off with "s" but "ECO" was on today 7pm@kota damansara heading back SS23.results were astonishing...felt like some monster was pulling me forward....
Did a couple of times on 'S' mode without ECO on NKVE, its just gets better. Occasionally drive like normal, but sometimes wana show power a bit, haha...cos feel bored travelling such a long distance on highway. Smoke a couple cars before, just couldnt resist the 'force' of 'S'. I had my ride ramped up to 6k rpm, already at the red borderline...scary yo! Anyone go beyond the borderline?
Did accelerate also from standstill (with 'S' and ECO off), can feel the whole engine wants to shoot like rocket, but hold-up kind of feel, its like beng 'bottlenecked' by the car itself...

QUOTE(jacek @ Jun 17 2011, 09:45 PM)
partly true.
but mostly is due to tax exemption n it is cbu.
worth every penny
thumbup.gif couldnt agree more, had enuf of other cars that I have seen too much on the road, so common dy.
alxdc
post Jun 17 2011, 11:18 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(I-Kurosaki @ Jun 17 2011, 10:09 PM)
Did a couple of times on 'S' mode without ECO on NKVE, its just gets better. Occasionally drive like normal, but sometimes wana show power a bit, haha...cos feel bored travelling such a long distance on highway. Smoke a couple cars before, just couldnt resist the 'force' of 'S'. I had my ride ramped up to 6k rpm, already at the red borderline...scary yo! Anyone go beyond the borderline?
Did accelerate also from standstill (with 'S' and ECO off), can feel the whole engine wants to shoot like rocket, but hold-up kind of feel, its like beng 'bottlenecked' by the car itself...
thumbup.gif couldnt agree more, had enuf of other cars that I have seen too much on the road, so common dy.
guys. you should beware of the CVT gear box. Please google about it or from the previous Gen honda city. prevent technical failure before its too late. Car stationary and full acceleration, playing with 'S' mode, drive car with cvt like a race car with high rev, not a good idea. Don't end up paying RM 14k for a new CVT gearbox.....Just a little friendly advice.
kelvin_hata
post Jun 18 2011, 12:41 AM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

I touch up to 6.5rpm with shell v-power racing

QUOTE(alxdc @ Jun 17 2011, 11:18 PM)
guys. you should beware of the CVT gear box. Please google about it or from the previous Gen honda city. prevent technical failure before its too late. Car stationary and full acceleration, playing with 'S' mode, drive car with cvt like a race car with high rev, not a good idea. Don't end up paying RM 14k for a new CVT gearbox.....Just a little friendly advice.

Added on June 18, 2011, 12:44 am
I touch up to 6.5rpm with shell v-power racing

Dun rev at high rpm on 1-3rd stage gear. Slowly to to max wil not giving problem.

But still... Try before ur warranty ended. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kelvin_hata: Jun 18 2011, 12:44 AM
watonk
post Jun 18 2011, 12:47 AM

For me its a combination of '0' tax (though HM making more profit out of it), CBU, Fuel economy and best of all, trying to preserve the world for future generation.... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ultramankaiser @ Jun 17 2011, 09:00 PM)
199Nm of torque. That is better than Camry 2.0 u know.. somemore Insight have lighter body... drool.gif

I'm not that technically sound but imho, shift to 'S' for rapid acceleration is better than stays at 'D'.
Our CVT are using clutch pack at its driven pulley. It doesnt use torque converter at input shaft. This setup helps improve efficiency by eliminating power loss at torque converter and improve smoothness.
However, dragging the car at D will results more 'slips' on its hydraulic control clutch packs as the computer will always try to get its highest infinite ratio and at the same time increases load on its belting.
While S will limit the gearbox to its lower ratio hence better pickup, less clutch slips and less load on belting. That was also the reason why they recommend us to shift to L for extreme climbing.

2 types of failure in City CVT last time was worn belting (though it steel) and worn clutch packs. And most of the CVTbox failure were happened to earlier batch City which Honda Malaysia themselves mistakenly use normal ATF during service that time (back in 2003-2004).

Hope they've already learn their lesson...
kapultek
post Jun 18 2011, 01:04 AM

1,376 posts

Because of tax
chizzu
post Jun 18 2011, 01:24 AM

ブラック★ロックチューター BEAST
1,357 posts

hi all, wanna ask if anyone can provide a pic of the dashboard or the location of the AUX plug? Wanna get an AUX cable with mic but the mic is on the plug and wanna see if the position is good enough to channel the voice

vaio_me
post Jun 18 2011, 01:38 AM

133 posts

Tax exception is the main reason I bought this car and of course CBU.

Just tried the econ off and in Kesas highway at 160 km/h...superb...another Civic follow behind and I let him pass...haha
kelvin_hata
post Jun 18 2011, 08:01 AM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

QUOTE(vaio_me @ Jun 18 2011, 01:38 AM)
Tax exception is the main reason I bought this car and of course CBU.

Just tried the econ off and in Kesas highway at 160 km/h...superb...another Civic follow behind and I let him pass...haha
Hahaha... Yeah civic anytime n smoke us.... XD
I-Kurosaki
post Jun 18 2011, 08:07 AM

195 posts

Now in Actmar service center for 5k. Reach here @ 7.45am, learn a lesson from previous visit. I'm the 16th customer, lol. Apparently no appointments during saturday, which sucks. Let's c how long I'm gonna wait.

The whole process took 2 n half hours, okla not bad. The maintenance includes change of semi syn oil n washer drain. Insist wheel alignment n balancing check which cost around RM44.

My bro-in-law had his cvt gear changed as well (2nd previous gen city). I rev the engine hard only when in 's'...u could feel much more responsive n smooth, no dragging whatsoever, contrary when u rev at 'd'. Its like the cvt is straining. That's y we have that 'L' gear for slopes. But then again, gotta remind myself of the vulnerability of cvt gearboxes.

This post has been edited by I-Kurosaki: Jun 18 2011, 11:21 AM

129 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0302sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:46 AM