Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V10, The dark lord continues

Kiki-Lala
post Jun 2 2011, 03:35 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(elainor @ Jun 2 2011, 03:15 PM)
Cheers mate for the info. Will do more research on it. About the adapter ring, lets say my lens filter size is 52mm so i need to get 52mm adapter ring? Is the size of the filter holder universal? Like i just need to get one filter holder and 52mm, 67mm and 77mm adapter ring?

About the coloured gnd filter, which colour is the best to use in landscape, im planning to get g red, blue, purple and perhaps pink?
Yes, you need to get the suitable adapter ring for your lens. But the filter holder is universal. Important part would be the adapter ring attached to your lens.
BenSow
post Jun 2 2011, 03:41 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

who here changes lens often?
razuryza
post Jun 2 2011, 03:43 PM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Jun 2 2011, 03:41 PM)
me

if i go shoot event, gerenti changing betwen UWA and tele
gnome
post Jun 2 2011, 03:52 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Jun 2 2011, 03:43 PM)
me

Ditto smile.gif

During the paintball event also I changed lens few times during the play, lucky never kena shot or anything while doing it laugh.gif
post Jun 2 2011, 03:57 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Jun 2 2011, 04:41 PM)
i change lens at home always due to boredom laugh.gif

sometimes im in rush to take picture of aeroplane, i change lens at seaside coz the place near sea sad.gif

PIC_2876 by YongJK, on Flickr
@meno
post Jun 2 2011, 04:32 PM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

QUOTE(elainor @ Jun 2 2011, 03:15 PM)
Cheers mate for the info. Will do more research on it. About the adapter ring, lets say my lens filter size is 52mm so i need to get 52mm adapter ring? Is the size of the filter holder universal? Like i just need to get one filter holder and 52mm, 67mm and 77mm adapter ring?

About the coloured gnd filter, which colour is the best to use in landscape, im planning to get g red, blue, purple and perhaps pink?
Yes, the holder is universal and supports most lenses with a filter thread up to 77mm. For lenses like the Nikkor 14-24 F/2.8, you'd need to get a special holder from Lee (SW150). What makes the difference is the ring, and yes you will need a ring for all sizes. What a friend of mine does is to get a 77mm ring and to get step down rings. This way is cheaper, but might cause vignette if you do stack too many stop down rings.

As for the coloured filters, the most common one i see people using is the Tobacco, which is orange in colour. The other colours which you mentioned, i have not tried, but you can always try them out, no harm. Especially if they don't suit colour photography, you can use them in black and white photos. But well, colours can very much be simulated in Photoshop nowadays.The must have filters will be the Gradual NDs, at least get a 3 stop Hard GND and another 3 stop soft GND. That will give you quite a lot of flexibility.

Everdying
post Jun 2 2011, 04:35 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

i poor boy.
i bring my 80-200 and canon s90 in my pocket for wider shots tongue.gif
elainor
post Jun 2 2011, 04:58 PM

Snap snap snap
1,095 posts

QUOTE(Kiki-Lala @ Jun 2 2011, 03:35 PM)
Yes, you need to get the suitable adapter ring for your lens. But the filter holder is universal. Important part would be the adapter ring attached to your lens.
Cheers! Finally i know what to get smile.gif

QUOTE(@meno @ Jun 2 2011, 04:32 PM)
Yes, the holder is universal and supports most lenses with a filter thread up to 77mm. For lenses like the Nikkor 14-24 F/2.8, you'd need to get a special holder from Lee (SW150). What makes the difference is the ring, and yes you will need a ring for all sizes. What a friend of mine does is to get a 77mm ring and to get step down rings. This way is cheaper, but might cause vignette if you do stack too many stop down rings.

As for the coloured filters, the most common one i see people using is the Tobacco, which is orange in colour. The other colours which you mentioned, i have not tried, but you can always try them out, no harm. Especially if they don't suit colour photography, you can use them in black and white photos. But well, colours can very much be simulated in Photoshop nowadays.The must have filters will be the Gradual NDs, at least get a 3 stop Hard GND and another 3 stop soft GND. That will give you quite a lot of flexibility.
Thanks for your info once again! Cant wait to get them soon! How bout nd2,nd4 and nd8? A must as well rite?

So now i will get nd2,nd4,nd8 gnd soft and hard 3 stops and gnd orange, purple, blue and grey! biggrin.gif

Cant wait to try out some feathering effects by using handheld the filter in front of the lens on landscape shots instead of attach those filters on the filter holder.
jchue73
post Jun 2 2011, 05:42 PM

2,496 posts

Not so much if you have 2 bodies. biggrin.gif

But yes, if I change lenses on location, I do it in the bag. When the camera body remains open while opening the lens cap, I use my hand to temporarily cover the hole on the camera body.

QUOTE(@meno @ Jun 2 2011, 04:32 PM)
Yes, the holder is universal and supports most lenses with a filter thread up to 77mm. For lenses like the Nikkor 14-24 F/2.8, you'd need to get a special holder from Lee (SW150).
You have it? biggrin.gif
kcmy
post Jun 2 2011, 05:52 PM

I gazed a gazeless stare
726 posts

---edited---

This post has been edited by kcmy: Jun 10 2011, 07:11 PM
Terbulance
post Jun 2 2011, 05:54 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Jun 2 2011, 01:22 PM)
Ani canera shop to re-commend me around subang or pj? As malacca can't get d7000 body @ rm3350 +- rm50 with free 50mm,my ask my fren to help my fren buy.
I got a friend who works in Digital Mall selling around that price. Want me to intro you to go there? biggrin.gif
junior5417
post Jun 2 2011, 05:56 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(Terbulance @ Jun 2 2011, 05:54 PM)
I got a friend who works in Digital Mall selling around that price. Want me to intro you to go there? biggrin.gif
any nice price for nikkor 35mm f1.8? drool.gif drool.gif
Terbulance
post Jun 2 2011, 06:05 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(junior5417 @ Jun 2 2011, 05:56 PM)
any nice price for nikkor 35mm f1.8? drool.gif  drool.gif
His shop's lens stock a bit hard to get. When I want to buy it also no stock, so I found another one selling at RM750, just outside Digital Mall. The shop is called Miami something hmm.gif

But cameras like D3100, D5100 and D7000 still got. Yesterday when I went to find him got a customer just bought a D7000 nod.gif
BenSow
post Jun 2 2011, 06:06 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Jun 2 2011, 03:43 PM)
me

oo how often do you clean sensor?
gnome
post Jun 2 2011, 06:20 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

As long as dust didnt show up on the images, no need to bother about cleaning sensor laugh.gif
Str33tBoY
post Jun 2 2011, 06:21 PM

1,874 posts

might be going to kl tomolo...
ani shop to re-commend...?
prefer d best price i could get...
might plan to get body one(without free 50mm) if possible...
& ori grip...
Terbulance
post Jun 2 2011, 06:30 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Jun 2 2011, 06:21 PM)
might be going to kl tomolo...
ani shop to re-commend...?
prefer d best price i could get...
might plan to get body one(without free 50mm) if possible...
& ori grip...
QUOTE(Terbulance @ Jun 2 2011, 05:54 PM)
elainor
post Jun 2 2011, 06:37 PM

Snap snap snap
1,095 posts

Just got this 2 in 1 tripod tongue.gif

From this

to this

Oh shit i laid my cam on the wall, what if it dropped? cry.gif cry.gif
noobie1
post Jun 2 2011, 06:41 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(elainor @ Jun 2 2011, 06:37 PM)
Just got this 2 in 1 tripod  tongue.gif

From this

Oh shit i laid my cam on the wall, what if it dropped?  cry.gif  cry.gif
the monopod look so skinny..wonder if accidently kicked it,will it bend?
gnome
post Jun 2 2011, 06:45 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

You should mount it on your 70-200, much stable that way smile.gif

126 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:20 PM