U Mobile The U-Mobile Thread #3, Internet for just RM28/month
Aug 31 2011, 08:39 AM
2,759 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
digilife... if we din topup our umobile after it's validity date is over ar... how long still can it last ar? it's a prepaid btw...
Aug 31 2011, 08:45 AM
8,025 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Planet Boleland |
Aug 31 2011, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(digilife @ Aug 31 2011, 08:45 AM) 90 days of passive validity alrite... tq... |
Aug 31 2011, 09:46 AM
this my maxis speed, via the UM bundled ZTE MF190 modem
![]() and the quota is totally unlimited , unmetered ( the dis-continue package ) |
Aug 31 2011, 10:14 AM
1,422 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Southern Kledang |
I am about ready to dump UMBB already....service is very, very bad...
Aug 31 2011, 12:42 PM
60 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
I have just subscribe to UM MB40 prepaid plan few days ago. My location is in Desa Park City. I'm using the bb plan on my Samsung Tab2. However, I am not able to use the bb service at all. Not even open up google home page. The signal I have on the Tab is constantly switching between H and 3G where H is more prominent. I have already selected WCDMA only on the tab.
So I called UM CS and they told me I have to be in 3G area and my Tab showing 3G signal then I can use the service, because MB40 plan is for 3G coverage only, if H then cannot use. Any pointers? |
Aug 31 2011, 12:47 PM
1,397 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
QUOTE(digilife @ Aug 31 2011, 09:46 AM) this my maxis speed, via the UM bundled ZTE MF190 modem Wow, that is really good! Is that the Maxis home broadband or mobile broadband package? ![]() and the quota is totally unlimited , unmetered ( the dis-continue package ) And surprisingly u got good speed with P1. I've heard so many horror stories about P1. |
Aug 31 2011, 01:19 PM
QUOTE(dani_irwan @ Aug 31 2011, 12:47 PM) Wow, that is really good! Is that the Maxis home broadband or mobile broadband package? this is the maxis bb tat i am usingAnd surprisingly u got good speed with P1. I've heard so many horror stories about P1. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1915054&st= btw, i still use my DiGi Prepaid Internet, Quota 3GB, Max speed 384kbps upload and download, Sim pack at rm25 (preloaded with 5 days of internet access) and if u topup a rm100 in one interval you get access of 100 days , meaning a ringgit a day ( for my Xoom and Ipad ) ![]() speed not very fast but atleast its much better than UM now, if u guys are on UM Prepaid BB, just stop it for a month or two till it improves and it is micro sim friendly too |
Aug 31 2011, 01:29 PM
287 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(Senseless @ Aug 31 2011, 12:42 PM) I have just subscribe to UM MB40 prepaid plan few days ago. My location is in Desa Park City. I'm using the bb plan on my Samsung Tab2. However, I am not able to use the bb service at all. Not even open up google home page. The signal I have on the Tab is constantly switching between H and 3G where H is more prominent. I have already selected WCDMA only on the tab. H is 3GSo I called UM CS and they told me I have to be in 3G area and my Tab showing 3G signal then I can use the service, because MB40 plan is for 3G coverage only, if H then cannot use. Any pointers? E is GPRS H stands for HSPA which is faster than UMTS. I am connected to U Mobile Broadband on HSPA aka H. This post has been edited by pcphobic: Aug 31 2011, 01:30 PM |
Aug 31 2011, 01:42 PM
1,422 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Southern Kledang |
QUOTE(Senseless @ Aug 31 2011, 12:42 PM) So I called UM CS and they told me I have to be in 3G area and my Tab showing 3G signal then I can use the service, because MB40 plan is for 3G coverage only, if H then cannot use. I think the CS does not know squat. It's UM that's having problem. My area exactly the same symptom - before they upgraded to HSPA, everything was fine and dandy except for the upload speed which was slow at 56Kbps. WHen they upgraded the coverage of my area, it stays persistently at H (instead of just when there is active data transfer) and with that came inconsistent connection - frequent DC at one time, then no data transfer even though connected.Any pointers? Guys, I think UM is pretty slow and unresponsive. We have to do something about this. Can you guys report your case to UM, get a case number, and if there is no change or update after a week, I plan to have a mass walk-in of all of us into UM to complain at thei HQ in BTS. Anyone game? This post has been edited by 9M-MAS: Aug 31 2011, 01:43 PM |
Aug 31 2011, 01:57 PM
4,133 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cameron Highlands Rank: Amateur |
Aug 31 2011, 02:22 PM
55 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Signed up for their RM28 mobile internet almost 3 weeks ago, been using it on my android phone without problem.. until last Saturday I found myself couldn't access apps (that requires a google acct, e.g. youtube, facebook) anymore. 3G was on and no prob if using browser, but it just won't allow me to access those apps anymore. This is the error i received: "Can't establish a reliable data connection to the server".
Thought it's my phone/android problem so I tried various methods including removing Sim card and putting it back again, even performed a factory reset! It's the same.. so changed the Sim card to Maxis and the problem just disappeared! I managed to add my google acct and as thought I could change back to using Umobile sim card, the problem just emerged again.. now i'm pretty much confirmed it's Umobile causing this problem! I spent few 4 good days figuring all kinds of workaround including a factory reset only to find out that it's all a waste of time! Trying to call Umobile customer service for days but no one's answering. Now, what should i do? Switch to Digi? or keep trying until someone answers my call... Anyone here has the same kind of experience with Umobile? |
Aug 31 2011, 07:33 PM
5,289 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
so far, 64kbps s smooth in bandar sunway n half way to genting.
Aug 31 2011, 07:56 PM
103 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Ara Damansara |
hi guys. been using umobile rm68 package for months now. satisfying service in usj and damansara area ( live and work ).. few weeks ago, i changed my notebook to macbook pro.. and the problem came.. it keep on disconnecting whenever I'm viewing youtube video, or download something from the internet. it works perfectly if I'm just surfing or doing video chat. anyone experiencing the same problem?
Aug 31 2011, 10:51 PM
9 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
QUOTE(gfx @ Aug 31 2011, 07:56 PM) hi guys. been using umobile rm68 package for months now. satisfying service in usj and damansara area ( live and work ).. few weeks ago, i changed my notebook to macbook pro.. and the problem came.. it keep on disconnecting whenever I'm viewing youtube video, or download something from the internet. it works perfectly if I'm just surfing or doing video chat. anyone experiencing the same problem? yes...i hv the same problem too.... |
Sep 1 2011, 12:59 AM
i tried something, will let you know if it is working...
Sep 1 2011, 01:23 AM
QUOTE(gfx @ Sep 1 2011, 12:59 AM) i tried something, will let you know if it is working... so, wat did u try? izit working now? |
Sep 1 2011, 01:54 AM
ah, been online without disconnecting while watching youtube for an hour now.. i guess most probably it is working? this is what i try anyways.. don't know whether it is already stated here or not, or i'm just being a slowpoke. lol. heres the link.
CODE http://www.myceloteh.com/wp-content/uploads/HuaweiE220_Mac_OS_X_10.5.2.pdf Added on September 1, 2011, 2:46 amnope, it is not working as expected. from the googling I'd done, not just umobile is experiencing this problem... every mac using this usb dongle is experiencing this problem. zzzzzzzzz... This post has been edited by gfx: Sep 1 2011, 02:46 AM |
Sep 1 2011, 03:40 PM
1,941 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
So far my UM40 package do nto have this problem... I use it on iPad2 as an alternative internet... So far so good except appstore... super slow!
Sep 1 2011, 10:29 PM
154 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: In Your Dreams |
QUOTE(lengcaiboy @ May 20 2011, 09:05 PM) about rm28 packages How if i want to maintain my current number but change service provider to U mobile ? Im using celcom prepaid. ![]() Plan Features: * Unlimited Mobile Internet * 100 minutes nationwide calls * 30 SMS * Hassle-free auto-renewal * Prepaid convenience with no contract and commitment There's more! Unused balance can be rolled over! The unused free minutes and SMS from the previous subscription will be carried forward to the next month. You may carry forward up to 100 mins and 30 SMS. |
| Change to: | 0.0311sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:35 AM |