Marimo, Japanese Moss Ball ♥♥♥, Share your ♥ towards this cute algae

fylon
post Jun 5 2012, 08:38 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

QUOTE(rock_star @ Jun 5 2012, 08:01 PM)
hye,

today i got my marimo balls from my friend.

but why my marimo doesnt look like the marimo you guys have? rclxub.gif

here are the picture of the balls.

sorry for the blurry pic  smile.gif
Er... Is that a java moss? laugh.gif Sorry, but seriously it doesn't look like marimo at all eh.
rock_star
post Jun 5 2012, 08:39 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jun 5 2012, 08:38 PM)
Er... Is that a java moss? laugh.gif Sorry, but seriously it doesn't look like marimo at all eh.
thats what makes me confused.

if java moss maybe i can plant it in my aquarium brows.gif
fylon
post Jun 5 2012, 08:41 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

QUOTE(rock_star @ Jun 5 2012, 08:39 PM)
thats what makes me confused.

if java moss maybe i can plant it in my aquarium  brows.gif
Seriously.. It does look like java moss then marimo. sweat.gif Used to have these moss when the time I'm keeping wild betta. laugh.gif
rock_star
post Jun 5 2012, 08:51 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jun 5 2012, 08:41 PM)
Seriously.. It does look like java moss then marimo. sweat.gif Used to have these moss when the time I'm keeping wild betta. laugh.gif
after some google-ing, it does look like java moss.

tomorrow gonna tie it to driftwood in my aquarium and let it grow icon_rolleyes.gif
LuQEE
post Jun 5 2012, 09:29 PM

66 posts

thats a fake marimo ball, or compressed java moss ball to be precise hehe

This post has been edited by LuQEE: Jun 5 2012, 09:30 PM
rock_star
post Jun 5 2012, 09:32 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Jun 5 2012, 09:29 PM)
thats a  fake marimo ball, or compressed java moss ball to be precise hehe
just contact my friend, confirmed it is java moss.

he also included one small nano marimo moss with that.

now i have some plant for my aquarium, and one nano marimo icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
fishman
post Jun 6 2012, 02:25 AM

178 posts

leeyung, do hope you will post more pics/videos of your super gigantic ball. I wonder with such a size, can it float?

As for my Marimos, they are now in my Marimo+shrimp tank. Love it so much!

jess7
post Jun 6 2012, 02:49 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(fishman @ Jun 6 2012, 02:25 AM)
leeyung, do hope you will post more pics/videos of your super gigantic ball. I wonder with such a size, can it float?

wow!
such a beautiful setup!
fylon
post Jun 6 2012, 09:25 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

what is the tank size bro? Eheh.. I'm looking to tank like this to setup a nano planted tank! laugh.gif
fishman
post Jun 6 2012, 10:03 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jun 6 2012, 09:25 AM)
what is the tank size bro? Eheh.. I'm looking to tank like this to setup a nano planted tank! laugh.gif
Tank: Ocean Free 1.5ft nano tank (44cm x 29cm x 30cm).
fylon
post Jun 6 2012, 11:16 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

QUOTE(fishman @ Jun 6 2012, 10:03 AM)
Tank: Ocean Free 1.5ft nano tank (44cm x 29cm x 30cm).
The tank itself comes with a back filter attached right? I mean there's a compartment for filter at the back that stick together with the tank. laugh.gif
leeyung
post Jun 6 2012, 11:31 AM

1st LYN Pioneer Genuine Marimo Seller
885 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jun 5 2012, 05:36 PM)
FINALLY! The Wait is over! Gotten my another 2 son from TS!

Purposely called the poslaju center ask them DO NOT deliver to my house but instead I went over and pickup to ensure the survival rate.

After unpack, wash and check in 5star hotel. Guess only bring them out for photo shooting on this coming Saturday.
LOL. If a century, might be 2x of current size. But then... 50 years then only can grow to 16cm. Fuhhh! A longggg timeeeee still!
QUOTE(fylon @ Jun 5 2012, 06:16 PM)
Ehe.. Those 2 from TS is the 3rd and 4th son already.

Didn't name them tho!
Haha, such a nice 5 start hotel to them. Haha take your marimos to grow in such size, then pass to your grand son after 50 years tongue.gif Treasure of family liao haha

P/S: Btw bro, I am not this thread TS (Thread Starter), this thread is created by Andy0625, one of the dedicated marimo lover and owner~

QUOTE(kioko126 @ Jun 5 2012, 05:41 PM)
HAHA ... welcome to Marimos Family !!!  Do your 2 new born son have any name ??? 
Haha kioko126, what are the names of your new sons/daughters?

hye,

but why my marimo doesnt look like the marimo you guys have? 

This is not Marimo, this is Java Moss, a kind of aquatic plant

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Jun 5 2012, 09:29 PM)
thats a  fake marimo ball, or compressed java moss ball to be precise hehe
To be more precise, Compressed Java Moss in ball shape brows.gif My aqua friends very funny, they call this kind of java moss as Negro ball (perhaps the shape of java moss like their hair?)

Nice tank there! Yeah, but not so soon because I am going to upgrade all my aqua gears to give 7 stars hotel for them stay brows.gif Yes, it do float! but i think not surprise ba, small one does, grand grand pa also can ba haha

QUOTE(fylon @ Jun 6 2012, 11:16 AM)
The tank itself comes with a back filter attached right? I mean there's a compartment for filter at the back that stick together with the tank. laugh.gif
Usually does not come with a back filter. We call that kind of filter (used by fishman one) as hanging filter. Typical 3 sizes available in market. Spec range according to their flow rate n price do range from RM15-40 depending on the flow rate. The filter comes in package with carbon filter inside.
fylon
post Jun 6 2012, 11:51 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

QUOTE(leeyung @ Jun 6 2012, 11:31 AM)
Haha, such a nice 5 start hotel to them. Haha take your marimos to grow in such size, then pass to your grand son after 50 years tongue.gif Treasure of family liao haha
P/S: Btw bro, I am not this thread TS (Thread Starter), this thread is created by Andy0625, one of the dedicated marimo lover and owner~
Usually does not come with a back filter. We call that kind of filter (used by fishman one) as hanging filter. Typical 3 sizes available in market. Spec range according to their flow rate n price do range from RM15-40 depending on the flow rate. The filter comes in package with carbon filter inside.
Eiks. Mixed up with ur sales thread. laugh.gif Paiseh!

50years? laugh.gif Hard lo..

Btw, thank you for the info about the tank. Will look for it once back from my mid year escape. Any idea what is the price range for this type of tank? > 200?
leeyung
post Jun 6 2012, 01:02 PM

885 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jun 6 2012, 11:51 AM)
Eiks. Mixed up with ur sales thread. laugh.gif Paiseh!

50years? laugh.gif Hard lo..

Btw, thank you for the info about the tank. Will look for it once back from my mid year escape. Any idea what is the price range for this type of tank? > 200?
Depends on the shape bro, if round edge finishing one more exp, but price is about below RM100 for tank only (without any other things)
fishman
post Jun 6 2012, 01:46 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(leeyung @ Jun 6 2012, 01:02 PM)
Depends on the shape bro, if round edge finishing one more exp, but price is about below RM100 for tank only (without any other things)
The 1.5ft tank I bought (Ocean free) comes with a separate free clamping light and HOB (Hang on the back) filter. The price was RM120+ from Natural Aquatics, Subang. Mine is a D shaped tank, means the 2 ends at the front has round finishing. I like this tank, the glass is very clear.

If you want cheap tanks, can go for those china brand or custom made ones. I think 2ft tank less than RM50. There is someone selling such tanks in lowyat forum also.
LuQEE
post Jun 6 2012, 02:50 PM

66 posts

standard 2ft tank can be bought as much as RM28, of course its not round edge and it got bracers, doesnt look nice though. unless you know how to hide those
ugliness

Malformed
post Jun 6 2012, 10:45 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(leeyung @ Jun 6 2012, 11:31 AM)
Actually those carbon media has to be changed with biological media right smile.gif
melodyworm
post Jun 7 2012, 04:04 AM

18 posts

hye,

but why my marimo doesnt look like the marimo you guys have? rclxub.gif

sorry for the blurry pic  smile.gif
i think that is fake marimo larr.... =.=
leeyung
post Jun 7 2012, 08:36 AM

885 posts

QUOTE(Malformed @ Jun 6 2012, 10:45 PM)
Actually those carbon media has to be changed with biological media right smile.gif
Yes bro, need to change by time as the carbon media will lost its filtration by time and the water will smelly biggrin.gif

QUOTE(melodyworm @ Jun 7 2012, 04:04 AM)
i think that is fake marimo larr.... =.=
haha not fake la, just a java moss, then people cincai call wrong name doh.gif
Rayhkh
post Jun 7 2012, 04:59 PM

I just got my two giant Marimo today !! and I love it as my Desktop companion !
Here is few pic of them <3 Put me in the List ! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Rayhkh: Jun 7 2012, 08:39 PM

140 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:05 PM