126 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

V3 Volkswagen Cars Discussion ..Golf,Polo,Scirocco, ..Eos/Passat/Tiguan etc. Das Auto!

Mavik
post May 17 2011, 05:15 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(kavia11 @ May 17 2011, 05:10 PM)
LOL...so fast give up ar bro...looks like my friend poison from yesterday night manage to influence me to talking like this..but seriously, I am not into the executive feeling thingy all..I am more into sporty feeling...I drive fast, usually ar 140 to 160 on my way to office on the highways, so the golf will really compliment me on that...but I am sure the accord n camry can do the same..it is more of the value for the amount that I will be paying...n no I am not looking at the resale value...

How many bags can the golf boot fit?
U think accord not good?
Its not a matter of whether giving up or not. I don't like to tell people what car to buy but only furnish them with information so that they themselves can make an informed decision. Because at the end of the day, you are stuck with your choice for the next 5-7 years. A car is a very personal thing and that is where I have that freedom to make my own choice. So making your own choice is exercising your freedom.

Personally the Accord is a rubbish car to drive. Because its neither here nor there. If I am looking for an executive saloon to drive around, with comfort, quiet cabin and a smooth drive, the Camry is tops in it's class. The Accord tries to be that but also tries to be a little sportier hence why I said its neither here nor there. But both cars won't give you the sports feel of taking corners fast and the sudden burst of acceleration. That is where the Golf comes in.

The Golf can I think fit maybe 2 Golf bags. I tried fitting one and its snug already. If I put the seats down I can put 4 bags then haha!

And to be frank, its no point poisoning you here. Its all text. A car is all about the drive, the feel of it and the enjoyment it brings you. If you want something that brings you from A to B, I would recommend the Putra LRT or the Star LRT tongue.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
kavia11
post May 17 2011, 05:21 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ May 17 2011, 06:09 PM)
dude... from your phrase " i am looking for space...".  you can strike off GTI dy... hatchbacks and roadsters are definitely not for those wanting practicality and space. they are more as a 2nd car or those crazy for thrills and speeeedd....  You should probably aim for those comfort and exec looking cars... such as Sonatas, camry, hondas or if budget permits... the Passat CC is one heck of a car.. smile.gif just my 2 cents
I know dude...I have a city n myvi at home..I know the feel of a hatchback...definitely no GTI, coz more than my budget for now, same goes for Passat..but TSI, can la..Sonata tak mau la..although the new one look awesome...

I do enjoy the thrills n speed..trust me on that..at times I wish the city n myvi can go much faster than it is..
Yan
post May 17 2011, 05:31 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(kavia11 @ May 17 2011, 05:21 PM)
I know dude...I have a city n myvi at home..I know the feel of a hatchback...definitely no GTI, coz more than my budget for now, same goes for Passat..but TSI, can la..Sonata tak mau la..although the new one look awesome...

I do enjoy the thrills n speed..trust me on that..at times I wish the city n myvi can go much faster than it is..
but TSI is also a hatchback woh ? wun that defeat your "i need space" prerequisite ?
frankly i hav both the Scirocco and the Golf... if interior cabin space, the golf has 4 doors lah .. so easy access etc.... but boot space.. the scirocco is deeper .. i fit more items in the scirocco than on my golf...
futobuta
post May 17 2011, 05:40 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(rosizzat1000 @ May 17 2011, 04:48 PM)
FYI, I seldomly floor pedal.. Also nothing in my boot.. Hhmm.. Nvm, we'll see my 3rd tank.. Thanx!!
Don't worry lah. My GTi's FC also very high.... something like yours. But that is because I'm driving it 100% in town leh.... But if I mix in a some highway drive, then can go till 550-600km per full tank.
Boy96
post May 17 2011, 06:02 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ May 17 2011, 04:14 PM)
Space wise, the Civic feels just as cramped as the Golf. But of course you have more space in the boot. Good if you want to ferry around 3 golf bags I guess. If you are gunning for an Accord, please go for the Camry. For the same amount, the Camry drives like a better car in that class. By the way, what sort of high end stuff are you looking for in the Camry? Leather seats, electric seats? Otherwise I think the Golf should have all the gadget and gizmos that the Camry doesn't have.
the new Hyundai Sonata has more features than Camry, and the looks is a head turner
JAL811
post May 17 2011, 06:18 PM

64 posts

i think we have a case of heart vs head here.... which 1 will prevail ? biggrin.gif
supercharger
post May 17 2011, 06:36 PM

46 posts

abang Kavia, get the sedan lar.. if budget permit then take golf as 2nd car. You are going to start a family rite? You'll appreciate the need of boot space when the time comes. Trust me on this
ZeroSP
post May 17 2011, 06:58 PM

184 posts

Just now went to Veemer with my dad... The SA there is better than TTDI... However now it is the concern between performance and FC...

Golf or GTI...
nicholasteh
post May 17 2011, 09:08 PM

29 posts

Can anyone guide me where to get APR stuff in Malaysia? I staying at PJ. Thanks
kavia11
post May 17 2011, 09:14 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ May 17 2011, 06:15 PM)
Its not a matter of whether giving up or not. I don't like to tell people what car to buy but only furnish them with information so that they themselves can make an informed decision. Because at the end of the day, you are stuck with your choice for the next 5-7 years. A car is a very personal thing and that is where I have that freedom to make my own choice. So making your own choice is exercising your freedom.

Personally the Accord is a rubbish car to drive. Because its neither here nor there. If I am looking for an executive saloon to drive around, with comfort, quiet cabin and a smooth drive, the Camry is tops in it's class. The Accord tries to be that but also tries to be a little sportier hence why I said its neither here nor there. But both cars won't give you the sports feel of taking corners fast and the sudden burst of acceleration. That is where the Golf comes in.

The Golf can I think fit maybe 2 Golf bags. I tried fitting one and its snug already. If I put the seats down I can put 4 bags then haha!

And to be frank, its no point poisoning you here. Its all text. A car is all about the drive, the feel of it and the enjoyment it brings you. If you want something that brings you from A to B, I would recommend the Putra LRT or the Star LRT tongue.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
no la chief..dont worry, i dont think you guys can persuade me or tell me what to do..i have seen a lot to understand what i need..but i do need the info that you guys provide for all the cars..i got to know a lot the past 1 week..i was on leave for a week..n man this has been very useful..LOL..

i agree..a car is a 5 to 7 years choice that you have to stuck with and you need to make the decision on what you want for yourself...

yeah..both accord n camry are totally differrent and can't be compared to the golf..both has their pros n cons..n i know it well...i just need to make up my mind on what i want to do with my cash, spend a 150k on a big saloon or a sporty car like golf...my heart says golf..hahaha...n dah la i suka pandu laju2x, so u know la when i am keen on..LOL

thanks for the feedback dude...off to Bangkok for few days..i hope to have a decision made before this weekend...hopefully...

Added on May 17, 2011, 9:16 pm
QUOTE(Yan @ May 17 2011, 06:31 PM)
but TSI is also a hatchback woh ? wun that defeat your "i need space" prerequisite ?
frankly i hav both the Scirocco and the Golf... if interior cabin space, the golf has 4 doors lah .. so easy access etc....  but boot space.. the scirocco is deeper .. i fit more items in the scirocco than on my golf...
yeah..it is hatchback bro..i more space for the passengers rather than the boot space..that can be manage lor..
your golf, boleh muat berapa luggage bag? 3 20" luggage?

Added on May 17, 2011, 9:17 pm
QUOTE(Boy96 @ May 17 2011, 07:02 PM)
the new Hyundai Sonata has more features than Camry, and the looks is a head turner
not really a fan of hyundai..but i do agree the new one is real head turner..my neighbour has that..one nice looking car indeed...

Added on May 17, 2011, 9:18 pm
QUOTE(JAL811 @ May 17 2011, 07:18 PM)
i think we have a case of heart vs head here.... which 1 will prevail ? biggrin.gif
betui betui...it is definitely a case of heart vs the head...i also tak tau which one will win...we shall see...i am sure i wont regret either one..coz whichever it is..i will win mah...

Added on May 17, 2011, 9:20 pm
QUOTE(supercharger @ May 17 2011, 07:36 PM)
abang Kavia, get the sedan lar.. if budget permit then take golf as 2nd car. You are going to start a family rite? You'll appreciate the need of boot space when the time comes. Trust me on this
thanks supercharger...definitely thinking about sedan...but the golf is just awesome...haha...
family sudah start bro, nak jadi kan family tu besar je...hahahaha...

This post has been edited by kavia11: May 17 2011, 09:20 PM
wengseng
post May 17 2011, 09:29 PM

QUOTE(climacool @ May 17 2011, 05:08 PM)
Mine full tank 53L @ 450km....
Something wrong with my CF ?
mine nearly full tank 52l @ 690km( second tank) why? beacause 90% highway(110km/h to 150km/h) and it is TSI

This post has been edited by wengseng: May 17 2011, 09:30 PM
Mavik
post May 17 2011, 09:34 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(nicholasteh @ May 17 2011, 09:08 PM)
Can anyone guide me where to get APR stuff in Malaysia? I staying at PJ. Thanks
Give them a call via the contact number on their website. They have several places to meet up and if you want to remap, it's at Bandar Utama.
lisoong
post May 17 2011, 11:14 PM

15 posts

IMHO, get the Camry, or if you're pragmatic, an MPV (Mazda 5 maybe?). How many kids ya got? Me thinks your wife might resent you for getting a Golf, and you might hate yourself when you go traveling and can't fit all the luggage. A Thule on a golf, not the coolest, and kinda messes up the aerodynamics.

Unless you have enough dough for both, I don't think you've got much of a choice here.

Heart vs head...hmmm.....God gave us brains for a good reason.

QUOTE(kavia11 @ May 17 2011, 09:14 PM)
no la chief..dont worry, i dont think you guys can persuade me or tell me what to do..i have seen a lot to understand what i need..but i do need the info that you guys provide for all the cars..i got to know a lot the past 1 week..i was on leave for a week..n man this has been very useful..LOL..

i agree..a car is a 5 to 7 years choice that you have to stuck with and you need to make the decision on what you want for yourself...

yeah..both accord n camry are totally differrent and can't be compared to the golf..both has their pros n cons..n i know it well...i just need to make up my mind on what i want to do with my cash, spend a 150k on a big saloon or a sporty car like golf...my heart says golf..hahaha...n dah la i suka pandu laju2x, so u know la when i am keen on..LOL

thanks for the feedback dude...off to Bangkok for few days..i hope to have a decision made before this weekend...hopefully...

Added on May 17, 2011, 9:16 pm

yeah..it is hatchback bro..i more space for the passengers rather than the boot space..that can be manage lor..
your golf, boleh muat berapa luggage bag? 3 20" luggage?

Added on May 17, 2011, 9:17 pm

not really a fan of hyundai..but i do agree the new one is real head turner..my neighbour has that..one nice looking car indeed...

Added on May 17, 2011, 9:18 pm

betui betui...it is definitely a case of heart vs the head...i also tak tau which one will win...we shall see...i am sure i wont regret either one..coz whichever it is..i will win mah...

Added on May 17, 2011, 9:20 pm

thanks supercharger...definitely thinking about sedan...but the golf is just awesome...haha...
family sudah start bro, nak jadi kan family tu besar je...hahahaha...
kavia11
post May 17 2011, 11:35 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(lisoong @ May 18 2011, 12:14 AM)
IMHO, get the Camry, or if you're pragmatic, an MPV (Mazda 5 maybe?). How many kids ya got? Me thinks your wife might resent you for getting a Golf, and you might hate yourself when you go traveling and can't fit all the luggage. A Thule on a golf, not the coolest, and kinda messes up the aerodynamics.

Unless you have enough dough for both, I don't think you've got much of a choice here.

Heart vs head...hmmm.....God gave us brains for a good reason.
hahaha...no bro..no kids yet, but will be soon....just parents for now..that is also not so frequent trip...i am listing down all the pros n cons now..LOL...

no way jose for MPV..not yet, maybe in future dude..actually my wife is very fine with the car that i am going to get..she likes the Golf too..so the choice is actually mine...i actually travel via car for long distance less than 12 times a year..so during this time, i will need the boot space...at this moment, if i take the Golf...guess, if the luggage are huge, i got to take the City for now..till i upgrade the City in future...hahaha...

i got to say..i am very happy to hear all of your feedback guys...appreciate it...
Royrogers
post May 18 2011, 12:11 AM

QUOTE(stalkerrox @ May 17 2011, 03:53 PM)
my 1st tank ron 97 420km @ 53L
2nd tank ron 97 540km @ 53L
3rd tank ron 97 @ 550km @ 53L
4th tank ron 97 @ 530km @ 53L
5th tank should be around there but i pump an extra rm 20 cause i went genting and my MFD shows 190km left

4th 5th tank was when going genting...
in 6 days i went genting 3 times haha...
Wow that's excellent FC for your GTI! As for mine,
1st tank: 380km
2nd tank: 400km
3rd tank: 420km
Now on 4th tank and it says i can go around 480km.
All the above with Petronas 95. Does pumping 97 makes so much difference to the FC?
Erikjai
post May 18 2011, 12:14 AM

well just want to add, in terms of fuel consumption, IMHO it's 100% on how light/heavy our right foot is, and whether it's city/highway driving.

my gti has done almost 2500km and my MFI is constantly on l/100km. have been reading uk/us/aust forums and so far the FC doesn't really deviate between cars but subjective to driving style. personally i've drove in the sweet spots over a period of time (100km/h - 120km/h) and could hit 6.0l/100km. i do believe a tank could hit more than 800km but it's going to be a pain or unless i'm involved in some fuel save challenge. and the stops starts will never help.

so in short, the tsi engine is certainly a german engineering marvel. the advertised 7.5l/100km in mixed city driving is undoubtly true and could even go lower. but our driving is never in reality mixed city driving due to the stops/starts. and of course, our driving behavior is the key. it's a fuel saver if we are really disciplined, like any other car, but the gem here is that it's a performer when we need it, without hurting FC that bad. in another way, at the same speed with other performance cars, the tsi might be tad more fuel efficient. do correct me if i'm wrong =)
lisoong
post May 18 2011, 12:25 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(kavia11 @ May 17 2011, 11:35 PM)
hahaha...no bro..no kids yet, but will be soon....just parents for now..that is also not so frequent trip...i am listing down all the pros n cons now..LOL...

no way jose for MPV..not yet, maybe in future dude..actually my wife is very fine with the car that i am going to get..she likes the Golf too..so the choice is actually mine...i actually travel via car for long distance less than 12 times a year..so during this time, i will need the boot space...at this moment, if i take the Golf...guess, if the luggage are huge, i got to take the City for now..till i upgrade the City in future...hahaha...

i got to say..i am very happy to hear all of your feedback guys...appreciate it...
No kids yet? Golf it is then!!!
kavia11
post May 18 2011, 12:50 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(lisoong @ May 18 2011, 01:25 AM)
No kids yet? Golf it is then!!!
Hahaha..we shall see how it goes...alrite guys...m heading to bed...early morning for me later..
Yan
post May 18 2011, 12:25 PM

551 posts

Wow.. checked my engine oil for both cars... Golf is at 20000km and half way level on the dip stick... the Scirocco is 9700km and already below the min level... shocking.gif

called up service centre Cergaz.. told me they are using 5W-40 Castro (not sure the model) and at PH Auto the boss also told me he usually sells the 5w-40 Edge to Audi & VW. But bro Mavik told me to go for the 5W-30 Castro Edge... so i'm a bit confused.

anybody has any comments ?

Vee Doubleyou
post May 18 2011, 12:30 PM

QUOTE(wira1979 @ May 16 2011, 08:30 PM)
If you can wait ... I sell my Denvers to you in about 2 years time hehehe tongue.gif

RCD and R LED around RM2.5k each
if you are willing to drive all the way down south, you can get both at slightly cheaper rates in SG (even after conversion). You'll be amazed at the amount of poison they have there tongue.gif

126 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:50 AM