126 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Bottom

V3 Volkswagen Cars Discussion ..Golf,Polo,Scirocco, ..Eos/Passat/Tiguan etc. Das Auto!

zackloy
post Jul 5 2011, 02:11 PM

557 posts

After much thought I think I'm gonna get the AEZ Tidore rims (18") looks like this http://www.topspeed.com/cars/car-news/aez-...ture290725.html or anyone have better suggestions? I saw Caractere, Motegi, BBS but so many choices also pening. For tyres I can't decide, Michelin PS3, the new Conti CSC5 (not the 5P) or GY F1 Ass 2 (dun think launched in Malaysia yet) - any recommended tyres? Criteria: Low rolling resistance but still good dry/wet performance, of course bonus if can tahan lama too smile.gif Mine's a black GTI.

This post has been edited by zackloy: Jul 5 2011, 02:13 PM
jwrx
post Jul 5 2011, 02:14 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(Sarbath @ Jul 5 2011, 02:08 PM)
Yuppy light rim on highway/normal road ok ma.. u didnt speed on highway from 0-200km/h :-P u speed when its already 100km/h haha floor the pedal surely did not spin la.. And by the way, lightrim also can reduce the car weight to optimised more acceleration wow.. Imagine stock gti vs stock gti(only change carbon fiber hood, Alcantara interior, light rim) damn smoke :-D .. hehe
The wheelspin happens at take off, quite pronounced if you have rims like OZ, need to install S3 arms if you are a GTI. main issue with lightweight rims is thier durability vs msian potholes doh.gif

1 thing ppl tend to forget..they splurge on nice rims...then put on some crappy cheap tires sad.gif , kinda defeats the purpose. its better to have stock rims and GOOD tires
Sarbath
post Jul 5 2011, 02:16 PM

.:The Power Of Love:.
1,241 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Jul 5 2011, 03:14 PM)
The wheelspin happens at take off, quite pronounced if you have rims like OZ, need to install S3 arms if you are a GTI. main issue with lightweight rims is thier durability vs msian potholes  doh.gif

1 thing ppl tend to forget..they splurge on nice rims...then put on some crappy cheap tires  sad.gif , kinda defeats the purpose. its better to have stock rims and GOOD tires
1. That one i cannot deny hahahaha
2. U mean pirelli p zero ? or maybe some potenza ? hehe
zackloy
post Jul 5 2011, 02:31 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Jul 5 2011, 02:14 PM)
The wheelspin happens at take off, quite pronounced if you have rims like OZ, need to install S3 arms if you are a GTI. main issue with lightweight rims is thier durability vs msian potholesĀ  doh.gif

1 thing ppl tend to forget..they splurge on nice rims...then put on some crappy cheap tiresĀ  sad.gif , kinda defeats the purpose. its better to have stock rims and GOOD tires
Agreed bro (that's why I'm not considering OZ) but I dun like my Denvers wink.gif but good tyres? I've been reading and the good ones are like Michelins, Goodyear, Conti etc. I think 1 pc is all above RM700, right? Just dunno which tyres for balance of comfort and performance (not max performance but just good grip in both wet/dry). I choose the AEZ Tidore because each wheel can withstand a force of 705kg according to the TUV certificate posted on their website but for the life of me I can't find their weight!

This post has been edited by zackloy: Jul 5 2011, 02:31 PM
wira1979
post Jul 5 2011, 02:36 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(zackloy @ Jul 5 2011, 02:31 PM)
Agreed bro (that's why I'm not considering OZ) but I dun like my Denvers wink.gif but good tyres? I've been reading and the good ones are like Michelins, Goodyear, Conti etc. I think 1 pc is all above RM700, right? Just dunno which tyres for balance of comfort and performance (not max performance but just good grip in both wet/dry). I choose the AEZ Tidore because each wheel can withstand a force of 705kg according to the TUV certificate posted on their website but for the life of me I can't find their weight!
Why don't you go to tirerack.com and do a search for tires. From there, you can set whatever criteria you want (max performance, max comfort, etc.) and you can narrow down your choices from there. If you're lucky, there are some user reviews as well.

And for good 18" tires, unless I'm wrong, I don't think you'll find anything below RM800 per tire.

This post has been edited by wira1979: Jul 5 2011, 02:37 PM
phj63
post Jul 5 2011, 02:36 PM

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 5 2011, 11:39 AM)
So going for them 18" OZ's? Why not try the OZ Wave? Saw a couple of cars on them already, looks awesome because the design looks like the Detroits a bit biggrin.gif
OZ wave is also nice but macam copy stiggy only haha, i've ben considering either bbs ch or oz ultraleggeras, mainly cause of our torque isnt like gti's so lighter might be better drool.gif but also mainly black rims on my white car la haha

QUOTE(zackloy @ Jul 5 2011, 02:11 PM)
After much thought I think I'm gonna get the AEZ Tidore rims (18") looks like this http://www.topspeed.com/cars/car-news/aez-...ture290725.html or anyone have better suggestions? I saw Caractere, Motegi, BBS but so many choices also pening. For tyres I can't decide, Michelin PS3, the new Conti CSC5 (not the 5P) or GY F1 Ass 2 (dun think launched in Malaysia yet) - any recommended tyres? Criteria: Low rolling resistance but still good dry/wet performance, of course bonus if can tahan lama too smile.gif Mine's a black GTI.
quite a lot of 18" users slam on PS3, cause they say it gives better grip both dry and wet. and its quite expensive too per piece. shakehead.gif
Sarbath
post Jul 5 2011, 02:39 PM

1,241 posts

Guys really a quick question eh regarding yesterday searching for a car.. I found that the Fiat Abarth 500 are damn sexy aggresive little omnster, is it really worthy the price i mean rm170k for a "kelisa size" car ?

p/s : opss sorry i think it is not worthy just have a look into the fiat malaysia forum and the abarth 500 selling RM228k in Naza Italia.. Wow omg damn so mahal daripada GTI..

This post has been edited by Sarbath: Jul 5 2011, 03:19 PM
zackloy
post Jul 5 2011, 02:42 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Jul 5 2011, 02:36 PM)
Why don't you go to tirerack.com and do a search for tires. From there, you can set whatever criteria you want (max performance, max comfort, etc.) and you can narrow down your choices from there. If you're lucky, there are some user reviews as well.

And for good 18" tires, unless I'm wrong, I don't think you'll find anything below RM800 per tire.
Thanks bro, I think I did visit their website, that's why I narrowed it down to PS3, CSC5 and GY F1 Ass2 but most reviews by users are a little subjective as the cars and road conditions differ.
Mavik
post Jul 5 2011, 02:59 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(zackloy @ Jul 5 2011, 02:31 PM)
Hehehe performance tyres for 18" are all above >RM1k man
rosizzat1000
post Jul 5 2011, 03:11 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 5 2011, 02:59 PM)
Hehehe performance tyres for 18" are all above >RM1k man
Eh, not really bro.. For potenza the price will be that range.. But for Federal,Toyo,Michelin,conti will be not more than 900.. Btw u can consider Toyo T-1R.. Good in dry n wet.. Some say the tire a bit noisy.. But so far I've been using it for years since my previous ride.. No problem for me.. The price very attractive for 18".. brows.gif if I have budget I will might use Advan Neova AD08.. Damn good review on it for track and road use..

Bro, zackloy, Hup Shun sunway sells the OZs.. Exotic Mods do sells the AEZ..

This post has been edited by rosizzat1000: Jul 5 2011, 03:14 PM
jwrx
post Jul 5 2011, 03:20 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(rosizzat1000 @ Jul 5 2011, 03:11 PM)
Eh, not really bro.. For potenza the price will be that range.. But for Federal,Toyo,Michelin,conti will be not more than 900.. Btw u can consider Toyo T-1R.. Good in dry n wet.. Some say the tire a bit noisy.. But so far I've been using it for years since my previous ride.. No problem for me.. The price very attractive for 18".. brows.gif  if I have budget I will might use Advan Neova AD08.. Damn good review on it for track and road use..

i love the ad08...been using it since my old car was sold to me with ad07 on it. next set..i think i will try CSC5, alot of good reviews
zackloy
post Jul 5 2011, 03:24 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(rosizzat1000 @ Jul 5 2011, 03:11 PM)
Eh, not really bro.. For potenza the price will be that range.. But for Federal,Toyo,Michelin,conti will be not more than 900.. Btw u can consider Toyo T-1R.. Good in dry n wet.. Some say the tire a bit noisy.. But so far I've been using it for years since my previous ride.. No problem for me.. The price very attractive for 18".. brows.gifĀ Ā  if I have budget I will might use Advan Neova AD08.. Damn good review on it for track and road use..

Thanks for the info bro, went to Exotic Mods that's why saw the AEZ. Hup Shun not yet....difficult to go Sunway with wife and kid in tow during weekends smile.gif but managed to drag then to Exotic so maybe Sunway next but that's where I phobia...not used to Sunway man.

Added on July 5, 2011, 3:25 pm
QUOTE(jwrx @ Jul 5 2011, 03:20 PM)
i love the ad08...been using it since my old car was sold to me with ad07 on it. next set..i think i will try CSC5, alot of good reviews
Ya read a lot on the CSC5 too but dunno how much, the guy at Exotic Mods say the CSC5 more expensive than PS3, the CSC5P more than 1K.

This post has been edited by zackloy: Jul 5 2011, 03:26 PM
rosizzat1000
post Jul 5 2011, 03:29 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(zackloy @ Jul 5 2011, 03:24 PM)
Thanks for the info bro, went to Exotic Mods that's why saw the AEZ. Hup Shun not yet....difficult to go Sunway with wife and kid in tow during weekends smile.gif but managed to drag then to Exotic so maybe Sunway next but that's where I phobia...not used to Sunway man.

Added on July 5, 2011, 3:25 pm
Ya read a lot on the CSC5 too but dunno how much, the guy at Exotic Mods say the CSC5 more expensive than PS3, the CSC5P more than 1K.
Don't be afraid to sunway.. Hahaha.. The shop at front row only.. Next to JC racing and Everco exhaust shop.. They have quite alot of choices for VW..

Jun, I think my next tyre will be the AD08.. So tempted laa!! But heard good reviews on the CSC5 too.. What about the price bro?
jwrx
post Jul 5 2011, 03:34 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(rosizzat1000 @ Jul 5 2011, 03:29 PM)
Don't be afraid to sunway.. Hahaha.. The shop at front row only.. Next to JC racing and Everco exhaust shop.. They have quite alot of choices for VW..

Jun, I think my next tyre will be the AD08.. So tempted laa!! But heard good reviews on the CSC5 too.. What about the price bro?
CSC5 too new...19's no one seems to stock it yet...but im guessing probably rm1400-1500 cry.gif

scared of sunway? dun lar bro..its really easy...just drive pass the big ass pyramid, take the first left when u see the petrol station...

then the WHOLE road is mod racun liao...exhaust, tires, badges, kits...apa u mau pun ada
zackloy
post Jul 5 2011, 04:41 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Jul 5 2011, 03:34 PM)
CSC5 too new...19's no one seems to stock it yet...but im guessing probably rm1400-1500  cry.gif

scared of sunway? dun lar bro..its really easy...just drive pass the big ass pyramid, take the first left when u see the petrol station...

then the WHOLE road is mod racun liao...exhaust, tires, badges, kits...apa u mau pun ada
Hahaha...ok ok will boldly venture to the poison place! wink.gif

Added on July 5, 2011, 4:42 pm
QUOTE(rosizzat1000 @ Jul 5 2011, 03:29 PM)

Thanks for direction bro. You read about the new Goodyear F1 Ass 2? Excellent reviews too.

This post has been edited by zackloy: Jul 5 2011, 04:42 PM
TSphas3r
post Jul 5 2011, 04:57 PM

1,206 posts

wow last september i swapped my stock CSC2 for michelin ps3...stock size 225 45 17, price each is only RM540. got a total of RM400 for trade in of the CSC2

now checked the latest price, same ps3 tire is now RM700 or so! was lucky to change last year

so nice this rim
wub.gif

This post has been edited by phas3r: Jul 5 2011, 05:00 PM
Sarbath
post Jul 5 2011, 05:35 PM

1,241 posts

Damn you phaser i see you on the italianauto malaysia forum hahahaha still used the same avatar :-P .. hahaha so nice la the gurl !!
wira1979
post Jul 5 2011, 05:38 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Jul 5 2011, 04:57 PM)
wow last september i swapped my stock CSC2 for michelin ps3...stock size 225 45 17, price each is only RM540. got a total of RM400 for trade in of the CSC2

now checked the latest price, same ps3 tire is now RM700 or so! was lucky to change last year

so nice this rim
wub.gif
Would love to see how it would look like on a black GTI (errrr ... not that I want to buy one) blush.gif

Update:
Actually can see already from Exotic Mods' FB page

This post has been edited by wira1979: Jul 5 2011, 05:58 PM
OC4/3
post Jul 5 2011, 06:02 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Sarbath @ Jul 4 2011, 11:43 PM)

Yes bro i noticed that, but i just proud that still VW can play with those Porsche entry level and also can follow the least modded 335i bro.. Proud of that.. Summore the cayman price at 490k malaysia ringit :-D.. while gti oni 210k and now maybe 200k donno and add some 40-50k can do stage 2+/3 apr and play with the porch.. ohh summore gti no need to replace evo engine to gain those 360HP not like those wiralution and wajalution  notworthy.gif
Is damn pointless to take price into consideration when comparing car rolling race
In that case,might as well as say take a R1 fight all of them and smoke them like hell laugh.gif
Or Wira/Satria with 4G63 EVO engine,EVO III Big 16G would be more then sufficient to smoke all of them yet still cost like 30k all in including car laugh.gif
But at the end of the day,one ride R1 and one drive a Wira/Satria with 4G63 tongue.gif
I doubt the Porsche owner mind being smoked by a 335I/GTI cause at the end of the day he still drive a Porsche

Sarbath
post Jul 5 2011, 06:09 PM

1,241 posts

Like i said before wira need to put those evo engine to drag the HP and torque at high level why dont they use their own proton engine tuned up and have massived HP and torque.. yep truly agree with you at the end of the day still the driver driving a mighty proch :-D but remember Gti also the young brother of Porch beside audi, bmw and also merc :-D hahaha still got the piece of engineering inside.. PROTON WIRA?? no need to open up story then afterwards people will bashing me.. hehe

126 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Top

0.6039sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:50 PM