☆☆☆ Tires Discussion Thread V2✰✰✰, welcome re002☆csc5☆asymmetric2!
Jun 21 2011, 08:39 AM
264 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Putrajaya |
any1 wanna trade tires? i'm using michelin pp2 195/55/16, treads left around 40%.. would like to try out size 195/50/16.. brands any brand oso can but traction rating must be atleast A.. my michelin AA wor..
Jun 21 2011, 10:16 AM
6,986 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: E-Poh.../Pen-Nang.../Pee-Jay/S.Jaye |
Contiental Premium Contact 2...
Kunho ESPT also have is not mistaken... both AA in traction... This post has been edited by michael9413: Jun 21 2011, 10:21 AM |
Jun 21 2011, 10:41 AM
549 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Your Base |
QUOTE(yngwie @ Jun 21 2011, 07:55 AM) yan5619@ I'm currently on 185/60/15, your suggestion is 195/55/15? I don't really mind the price, hopefully it'll be within 1k if I change all 4 tho.are you on stock 185 width tires? if so, increasing it to 195 with 55 profile or even 205/45/16 might help. check out tires conversion calculator in my 1st post. also, changing to better suspension will definitely improves the handling. as usual, you can't have both so, choose either handling or comfort. btw, depend on your size, but 200 bucks is quite on the cheap side. you could up your budget and try ps3. 15" is about 250 each or so. Any shop to recommend? I'm fine with shops along LDP, from Kepong down to Subang is all convenient to me. Thanks! |
Jun 21 2011, 10:51 AM
687 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Guys, it's finally time to change the tyres on my Neo CPS. I really wanted RE001 but due to budget issues I had to look at other choices.
I am willing to spend around RM1K for the tyres. Any good recommendations? I was told the Neo tyre size is a weird one 195/50/16. Not a lot of choices. I am trying to avoid CSC-1 if possible. Kinda sucky to me. Grip in dry is decent but in wet is horrible and dangerous. I am looking for decent grip for the occasional spirited driving and a safe tyre for wet condition (take note I don't plan to drive fast when raining, just want something that is safe when it's raining). If possible, I like to keep the same size. Don't really want to go to 45 because the Neo ride is already not the best, don't wanna make it any worse that it is. I read around and saw someone recommending Yokohama A drive R1. What's the opinion of this? |
Jun 21 2011, 11:03 AM
163 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
QUOTE(yngwie @ Jun 21 2011, 07:55 AM) yan5619@ Thanks a lot. I wanted to get the same michelin primacy hp which fitted on all C230 but the price is 5k+ for all 4 corners. PS3 is only about half the price of the primacy hp. Although it is made in thailand but i think it is OK.are you on stock 185 width tires? if so, increasing it to 195 with 55 profile or even 205/45/16 might help. check out tires conversion calculator in my 1st post. also, changing to better suspension will definitely improves the handling. as usual, you can't have both so, choose either handling or comfort. btw, depend on your size, but 200 bucks is quite on the cheap side. you could up your budget and try ps3. 15" is about 250 each or so. Happyman@" 1. Falken FK452 - good grip and aqua planning resistance but tend to be noisy when tires tread wear out progressively. 2. Michelin PS3 - best bang for bucks. good dry and wet grip. but sidewall a tad softer for touge'. 3. Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric - very promising but a friend of mine had his f1 asy's sidewall cracked due to too much abuse. guess it's not the tires fault thou... if you don't push hard in corner, ps3 is the best choice. quite comfort and quiet with better grip too. not to mentioned it has the highest tread wear which in turn made is last longer than the other 2. liwyt@ s.drive is fine. toyo t1r's tread is too soft. conti sports 2 sux' in wet braking. other alternative is s1evo. if you're tight on budget, hankook v12 is worth a look. |
Jun 21 2011, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(noisetrigger @ Jun 21 2011, 10:51 AM) Guys, it's finally time to change the tyres on my Neo CPS. I really wanted RE001 but due to budget issues I had to look at other choices. with a 1k budget and some $$ trading in your old donuts.. get the michelin ps3.. its a no brainer.. xm2 would be a good 2nd choice.. both has very good traction on wet roads..I am willing to spend around RM1K for the tyres. Any good recommendations? I was told the Neo tyre size is a weird one 195/50/16. Not a lot of choices. I am trying to avoid CSC-1 if possible. Kinda sucky to me. Grip in dry is decent but in wet is horrible and dangerous. I am looking for decent grip for the occasional spirited driving and a safe tyre for wet condition (take note I don't plan to drive fast when raining, just want something that is safe when it's raining). If possible, I like to keep the same size. Don't really want to go to 45 because the Neo ride is already not the best, don't wanna make it any worse that it is. I read around and saw someone recommending Yokohama A drive R1. What's the opinion of this? |
Jun 21 2011, 12:19 PM
13 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(Happyman @ Jun 21 2011, 12:20 AM) hi liwyt, Hi,how is the ps3 perform? can last how many km? comfortable? quiet or noisy? can share your reviews? thanks So far im happy with PS3 , confident in wet roads, but for dry roads kinda normal |
Jun 21 2011, 12:21 PM
687 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
QUOTE(reef_d @ Jun 21 2011, 11:03 AM) with a 1k budget and some $$ trading in your old donuts.. get the michelin ps3.. its a no brainer.. xm2 would be a good 2nd choice.. both has very good traction on wet roads.. Thank you for your reply but I look around the net and the price for a PS3 is rm500++ per tyre . That is way over my budgetThis post has been edited by noisetrigger: Jun 21 2011, 12:22 PM |
Jun 21 2011, 12:24 PM
13 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(yngwie @ Jun 21 2011, 07:55 AM) yan5619@ Hi Yngwie,are you on stock 185 width tires? if so, increasing it to 195 with 55 profile or even 205/45/16 might help. check out tires conversion calculator in my 1st post. also, changing to better suspension will definitely improves the handling. as usual, you can't have both so, choose either handling or comfort. btw, depend on your size, but 200 bucks is quite on the cheap side. you could up your budget and try ps3. 15" is about 250 each or so. Happyman@" 1. Falken FK452 - good grip and aqua planning resistance but tend to be noisy when tires tread wear out progressively. 2. Michelin PS3 - best bang for bucks. good dry and wet grip. but sidewall a tad softer for touge'. 3. Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric - very promising but a friend of mine had his f1 asy's sidewall cracked due to too much abuse. guess it's not the tires fault thou... if you don't push hard in corner, ps3 is the best choice. quite comfort and quiet with better grip too. not to mentioned it has the highest tread wear which in turn made is last longer than the other 2. liwyt@ s.drive is fine. toyo t1r's tread is too soft. conti sports 2 sux' in wet braking. other alternative is s1evo. if you're tight on budget, hankook v12 is worth a look. Thanks for your reply and 1 more tyre need your advice is how is Bridgestone r001? good in wet ? The shop told me its the same with hankok s1evo is it true? And just now 1 of the work shop told me that 1st July all tyre price will be up.. hear from you soon. Many thanks. |
Jun 21 2011, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(noisetrigger @ Jun 21 2011, 12:21 PM) Thank you for your reply but I look around the net and the price for a PS3 is rm500++ per tyre . That is way over my budget sorry i misread your tyre size.. tot it was 15".. turns out its 16"..if 16" i would suggest o go for hankook ventus evo v12.. might have to add abit more $$.. 1k for 4 pieces of 16" tires and your choice will be limited.. even the B rating traction MY01 bridgestone cost rm250 a piece nowadays.. This post has been edited by reef_d: Jun 21 2011, 01:13 PM |
Jun 21 2011, 01:35 PM
4,440 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(noisetrigger @ Jun 21 2011, 12:21 PM) Thank you for your reply but I look around the net and the price for a PS3 is rm500++ per tyre . That is way over my budget Then just go for the Michelin XM2. I managed to get at RM 200 for a 175/65/R14 tyre (including valves and balancing). I was very happy with the XM1 and the XM2 is supposed to be better. |
Jun 21 2011, 01:40 PM
QUOTE(liwyt @ Jun 21 2011, 12:24 PM) And just now 1 of the work shop told me that 1st July all tyre price will be up.. That's a common statement used by tyre shops to increase prices and push off old stock. This method has been used since 2 years ago. So far ive tested out the pricing over the past 1 year and found that prices have actually remained the same despite all the claims about price increases. The Michelin XM1 was priced at RM 179 back in Oct last year and now its priced at RM 175 despite 3 increases. Dont believe what tyre shops tell you about increases. The older tyres are the more difficult it is to sell them. There will always be stock which you can bargain for but never get tyres which are more than 6 mths old. If ure in KL, then use Tyrezone and Lim Tayar. They are competitors and if ure smart you can play them off each other to get yourself better prices. |
Jun 21 2011, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(liwyt @ Jun 21 2011, 12:19 PM) Hi, 35K is over what period? My XM1 lasted from end 2009 till now with still some thread depth remaining. I think i travelled about 60K. Tyre wear depends alot on your driving style. If ure always taking corners fast and applying hard braking then no tyre will last. So far im happy with PS3 , confident in wet roads, but for dry roads kinda normal |
Jun 21 2011, 04:38 PM
27 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 21 2011, 01:40 PM) That's a common statement used by tyre shops to increase prices and push off old stock. This method has been used since 2 years ago. So far ive tested out the pricing over the past 1 year and found that prices have actually remained the same despite all the claims about price increases. The Michelin XM1 was priced at RM 179 back in Oct last year and now its priced at RM 175 despite 3 increases. I don't think the price hike affected normal tyre like XM1. Certain performance tyre did increased in price. XM2 is already out so XM1 price might go down some more. I observed Yokohama A drive price remain same from last year but A drive R1 had slight price increased. PS3 price definitely gone up especially 16 and 17 inch. But the last price hike doesnt seems to include 15 inch ps3. 17 inch Hankook v12 confirm got increased price.Dont believe what tyre shops tell you about increases. The older tyres are the more difficult it is to sell them. There will always be stock which you can bargain for but never get tyres which are more than 6 mths old. If ure in KL, then use Tyrezone and Lim Tayar. They are competitors and if ure smart you can play them off each other to get yourself better prices. This post has been edited by fazron80: Jun 21 2011, 04:39 PM |
Jun 21 2011, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(fazron80 @ Jun 21 2011, 04:38 PM) I don't think the price hike affected normal tyre like XM1. Certain performance tyre did increased in price. XM2 is already out so XM1 price might go down some more. I observed Yokohama A drive price remain same from last year but A drive R1 had slight price increased. PS3 price definitely gone up especially 16 and 17 inch. But the last price hike doesnt seems to include 15 inch ps3. 17 inch Hankook v12 confirm got increased price. XM1 also went up. If u go and ask Lim Tayar and Tyrezone they will quote you RM 205 for these tyres. BUt i managed to fight and nego down to RM 175 |
Jun 21 2011, 05:42 PM
492 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
QUOTE(noisetrigger @ Jun 21 2011, 10:51 AM) Guys, it's finally time to change the tyres on my Neo CPS. I really wanted RE001 but due to budget issues I had to look at other choices. Try Conti CPC2, 195/50/R16, quite a decent tire with AA traction... 1 thing I don't like is the noise... Got it few months back for RM268 per pieceI am willing to spend around RM1K for the tyres. Any good recommendations? I was told the Neo tyre size is a weird one 195/50/16. Not a lot of choices. I am trying to avoid CSC-1 if possible. Kinda sucky to me. Grip in dry is decent but in wet is horrible and dangerous. I am looking for decent grip for the occasional spirited driving and a safe tyre for wet condition (take note I don't plan to drive fast when raining, just want something that is safe when it's raining). If possible, I like to keep the same size. Don't really want to go to 45 because the Neo ride is already not the best, don't wanna make it any worse that it is. I read around and saw someone recommending Yokohama A drive R1. What's the opinion of this? |
Jun 21 2011, 07:12 PM
27 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Jun 21 2011, 08:07 PM
2,872 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: KLANG |
xm2 195/55/r15 for RM240 with balancing and valve.
i ask my dad to change to xm2 or maybe xm1, but he change to NCT5 for RM175 or 185 at jalar kapar. |
Jun 21 2011, 08:56 PM
712 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
guys, wana ask for opinions. Now im using 195/50/r15, is it better if i change to 195/55/r15?? now using p7 the grip on wet condition is not bad, is michelin ps3 a better tyre compared to p7??
Jun 21 2011, 10:57 PM
31 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
Whats the price for hankook ventus12 17inch?
Anyone knows? Tq |
| Change to: | 0.0295sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:14 PM |