☆☆☆ Tires Discussion Thread V2✰✰✰, welcome re002☆csc5☆asymmetric2!

reef_d
post May 19 2011, 03:25 PM

264 posts

i'm also searching for 195/55/15 now..
so far what i've found are:
- yokohama a drive for rm220 a piece
- falken ze 522 for 185
- dunlop formula d01 for 185

looking for a bit of performance for my next batch of donuts so thinking of getting the D01.. read some feedback online and only the D01 sounds ok while the 522 has poor wet grip and the a drive is just average..

what do you guys think? also how much does a bridgestone andrenalin cost a piece for 195/55/15 size?

This post has been edited by reef_d: May 19 2011, 03:26 PM
reef_d
post May 19 2011, 07:26 PM

264 posts

yeah.. think i will be getting v12 evo tmrw at tek ming.. did more reading and asking after i posted that post.. biggrin.gif
reef_d
post May 20 2011, 03:02 PM

264 posts

hankook ventus v12 for the win! thumbup.gif

just got back from tekming..
its 200 a piece for 195/55/15 if u trade in your old donuts..

reef_d
post May 20 2011, 03:35 PM

264 posts

didnt check if they carried toyo or any other brands.. my main aim was the ventus.. came.. enquired.. install then cabut.. all done in less then 1 hour.. tongue.gif
reef_d
post May 21 2011, 03:42 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(demomode @ May 21 2011, 12:19 PM)
Hows the performance so far?
got any vibration during high speed?  biggrin.gif
havent tested at high speed.. only the usual corners enroute home, feels the sidewall is much stiffer.. feedback from bumps minimal too.. i'll be travelling alot on the highway for the next 2 week.. should have more to comment later.. sweat.gif
reef_d
post May 30 2011, 07:56 PM

264 posts

should be no problem.. its going over 2 sizes ie. 185 to 205 that would always pose problems..
reef_d
post Jun 21 2011, 08:39 AM

264 posts

any1 wanna trade tires? i'm using michelin pp2 195/55/16, treads left around 40%.. would like to try out size 195/50/16.. brands any brand oso can but traction rating must be atleast A.. my michelin AA wor.. tongue.gif
reef_d
post Jun 21 2011, 11:03 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(noisetrigger @ Jun 21 2011, 10:51 AM)
Guys, it's finally time to change the tyres on my Neo CPS. I really wanted RE001 but due to budget issues I had to look at other choices.

I am willing to spend around RM1K for the tyres. Any good recommendations? I was told the Neo tyre size is a weird one 195/50/16. Not a lot of choices. I am trying to avoid CSC-1 if possible. Kinda sucky to me. Grip in dry is decent but in wet is horrible and dangerous.

I am looking for decent grip for the occasional spirited driving and a safe tyre for wet condition (take note I don't plan to drive fast when raining, just want something that is safe when it's raining).

If possible, I like to keep the same size. Don't really want to go to 45 because the Neo ride is already not the best, don't wanna make it any worse that it is.

I read around and saw someone recommending Yokohama A drive R1. What's the opinion of this?
with a 1k budget and some $$ trading in your old donuts.. get the michelin ps3.. its a no brainer.. xm2 would be a good 2nd choice.. both has very good traction on wet roads..
reef_d
post Jun 21 2011, 01:13 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(noisetrigger @ Jun 21 2011, 12:21 PM)
Thank you for your reply but I look around the net and the price for a PS3 is rm500++ per tyre . That is way over my budget
sorry i misread your tyre size.. tot it was 15".. turns out its 16"..
if 16" i would suggest o go for hankook ventus evo v12.. might have to add abit more $$..
1k for 4 pieces of 16" tires and your choice will be limited.. even the B rating traction MY01 bridgestone cost rm250 a piece nowadays..

This post has been edited by reef_d: Jun 21 2011, 01:13 PM
reef_d
post Jun 28 2011, 12:13 PM

264 posts

i'm planning to get new tires for my waja.. size is 195/50/16..
because of that size, heard that there's not much option for me..
so far only saw falken ziex with that size..
any1 know what other brands and model that can be an option for me?
i prefer quiet tires..

thanks notworthy.gif
reef_d
post Jun 29 2011, 10:07 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Jun 29 2011, 07:40 AM)
fazron80@
should be okay with 205/50/16. provided the suspension is not worn out.
as usual, some compromise in speedo reading / overall performance.

reef_d@
sharing your waja's donut with your neo?  tongue.gif
195/50/16 is almost as rare as 205/50/16. ze-912 is decent but not sure if they carry the size.
for comfort ride, you can try yokohama range of a.drive.
cant share/pass over already cos now neo on 15" rims while waja 16' tongue.gif
if 195/50/16 is too rare, think i'll go for 205/50/16.. or maybe downgrade my rims to 15", then i can swap rims between my cars when i get bored.. tongue.gif

btw. any huge hit to acceleration performance if changing from 195 to 205? since the rubbers are wider, it would need more power to move the car rite?

This post has been edited by reef_d: Jun 29 2011, 10:08 AM
reef_d
post Jul 6 2011, 05:24 PM

264 posts

might survey the bangi shop this weekend for some hankooks..
called up tekming just now for hankook size 205/50/16..
only v8rs available for that size, ventus evo they dont have..
RM280 a piece if trading in.. RM335 if not..

any1 has experience with v8rs? how is the side walls? stiff? i love the ventus evo12 on my neo.. hopping to get the same series on my waja, if no size maybe have to settle for v8rs..
reef_d
post Jul 6 2011, 06:58 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 6 2011, 06:18 PM)
How is Continental CC5 compared to other tyres of its class? Im looking for a quiet tyre thats also got good wet traction for a friend's Waja. Michelin XM2 is too expensive. Current NCT5 is crap. Tyre size 195/55/R15. I was quoted RM 210 for CC5 for this size.
i would recommend hankook ventus evo12 195/55/15 at 245 a piece if trade in your old tyres at tekming sunway.. price without trade in is around 290 a piece..

Added on July 6, 2011, 7:00 pm
QUOTE(Edwin89 @ Jul 6 2011, 05:46 PM)
Just want to ask what is the different between Hankook V2 and V12. They quote me 205/45R16 for V2 is RM270 and for V12 is RM305. Is the price ok? Or you guys have other brand intro to me? PS3 is too expensive for me biggrin.gif . I drive fast sometimes and I need it quiet. Of course,don't too expensive la. LOL
that price sounds ok to me..
that quoted price is if you trade in your old donuts? or before trading in? if before trading in then its a good deal.. opt for the v12.. they are really good for its price..

This post has been edited by reef_d: Jul 6 2011, 07:00 PM
reef_d
post Jul 7 2011, 12:11 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(noprob @ Jul 6 2011, 11:51 PM)
i used both of them .
imo .. V12 and V8 almost same bro .. just maybe V8 quieter

which part bangi ? name or coordinate ?
according to yngwie its at bangi section 1 near petronas.. not sure myself of the coordinates..
maybe yngwie can give more landmarks or direction? icon_question.gif
reef_d
post Jul 7 2011, 08:42 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Jul 7 2011, 07:52 AM)
noprob@
if you trash both tyres, v12 will beat the v8 anyday!  brows.gif

btw, i don't have the gps coordination but it's located at seksyen 1 bangi. one with hankook board,
not the continental / sime or something.
landmark ; near the petronas jalan 1/1 from the highway(kl-bangi direction).
there is a shell station further up.
i use to get a used tyres from them for drift session in serdang.
is the petronas in the map below the petronas u referring to?
if its the correct petronas, the tyre shop is located where? to the right or left or bottom or top of the petronas?

thanks! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by reef_d: Jul 7 2011, 08:42 AM

reef_d
post Jul 7 2011, 09:13 PM

264 posts

from the foursquare map its at jalan 15/1a, section 1, bangi.. will give it a visit when i'm free.. thanks!
reef_d
post Jul 18 2011, 02:02 PM

264 posts

went to bangi last weekend but completely forget to go check it out.. tongue.gif
will try again soon before the week is over.. which type of tyres are you looking for series? size?
reef_d
post Jul 21 2011, 02:51 PM

264 posts

guys.. any1 know what time kedai papan @ klang open for business? plan to go there this saturday..

thanks!
reef_d
post Jul 22 2011, 09:36 AM

264 posts

cool.. thanks bro.. thumbup.gif
reef_d
post Jul 24 2011, 02:17 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(cam40729 @ Jul 18 2011, 02:21 PM)
215/55/16 v8, been told by the importer v12 is not available for this size
i didnt go to bangi to check out the hankook seller there today..
but i did go to kedai papan @ jalan kapar, ahkit @ section 15 and david @ section 24 shah alam (ahkit and david do have a huge sellection of rims, in my opinion as big or better then kedai papan), and suprisingly no one carries hankook.. WTH? sad.gif

i was guiding a friend to get rims+ tyres for his ride, kia rondo..
kedai papan (no avs f15) >> ahkit (same no avs f15) >> david (rim found! but no hankook, settled for goodyear F1)

Pricing @ david (http://www.mudah.my/li?ca=8_s&id=46184)
avs f15 17" rims rm1350 5 lugs
goodyear f1 made in germany 215/50/17 RM450 a piece
center cones with warranty/higher quality - rm150
D1 lock nuts x 16 - rm150
additional steel lock nuts x 4 - rm50
camber x 4 - rm120
old oem 16" rims traded in - rm300
2 tyres bald thrown away
2 nct5 still in good condition brought home..
total damage RM3k++.. sweat.gif

0.0401sec    1.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:32 AM