☆☆☆ Tires Discussion Thread V2✰✰✰, welcome re002☆csc5☆asymmetric2!

cybermaster98
post Jun 21 2011, 01:35 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(noisetrigger @ Jun 21 2011, 12:21 PM)
Thank you for your reply but I look around the net and the price for a PS3 is rm500++ per tyre . That is way over my budget
Then just go for the Michelin XM2. I managed to get at RM 200 for a 175/65/R14 tyre (including valves and balancing). I was very happy with the XM1 and the XM2 is supposed to be better.
cybermaster98
post Jun 21 2011, 01:40 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(liwyt @ Jun 21 2011, 12:24 PM)
And just now 1 of the work shop told me that 1st July all tyre price will be up..
That's a common statement used by tyre shops to increase prices and push off old stock. This method has been used since 2 years ago. So far ive tested out the pricing over the past 1 year and found that prices have actually remained the same despite all the claims about price increases. The Michelin XM1 was priced at RM 179 back in Oct last year and now its priced at RM 175 despite 3 increases.

Dont believe what tyre shops tell you about increases. The older tyres are the more difficult it is to sell them. There will always be stock which you can bargain for but never get tyres which are more than 6 mths old.

If ure in KL, then use Tyrezone and Lim Tayar. They are competitors and if ure smart you can play them off each other to get yourself better prices.

cybermaster98
post Jun 21 2011, 01:46 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(liwyt @ Jun 21 2011, 12:19 PM)
So far im happy with PS3 , confident in wet roads, but for dry roads kinda normal smile.gif it sees liek it performs better in wet. As alot sifu mentioned here ps3 is slightly soft at teh side, so it runs out  easily .. now my Tyre already traveled around 35k and its time to change.
35K is over what period? My XM1 lasted from end 2009 till now with still some thread depth remaining. I think i travelled about 60K. Tyre wear depends alot on your driving style. If ure always taking corners fast and applying hard braking then no tyre will last.

cybermaster98
post Jun 21 2011, 05:33 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(fazron80 @ Jun 21 2011, 04:38 PM)
I don't think the price hike affected normal tyre like XM1. Certain performance tyre did increased in price. XM2 is already out so XM1 price might go down some more. I observed Yokohama A drive price remain same from last year but A drive R1 had slight price increased. PS3 price definitely gone up especially 16 and 17 inch. But the last price hike doesnt seems to include 15 inch ps3. 17 inch Hankook v12 confirm got increased price.
XM1 also went up. If u go and ask Lim Tayar and Tyrezone they will quote you RM 205 for these tyres. BUt i managed to fight and nego down to RM 175
cybermaster98
post Jun 21 2011, 10:57 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(fazron80 @ Jun 21 2011, 07:12 PM)
XM2 is out. XM1 will be phased out or continue? If it's going to be stop, its price can haggle more a bit.
No point continuing XM1 with the XM2 out. So yes ull be able to bring the prices down more. I would think that you could probably get the XM1 for RM160 easily enough. But make sure the tyres are not more than 6 months old.

cybermaster98
post Jun 24 2011, 09:16 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(aming @ Jun 23 2011, 03:08 PM)

Do you think my tyre already "botak" and need new one?
Your tires can still be used for approx another 6 months. Dont worry.

cybermaster98
post Jun 24 2011, 11:29 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 24 2011, 09:16 AM)
Your tires can still be used for approx another 6 months. Dont worry.
Based on the current condition of the tyres and normal wear and tear over the next few months assuming no damage to tyres in that period.
cybermaster98
post Jun 24 2011, 11:53 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Jun 24 2011, 11:50 AM)
isn't mileage will be a better guideline instead of month(s)?
Yes thats what i meant. I did an approx assumption based on mileage for 6 mths.
cybermaster98
post Jun 24 2011, 05:28 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(lopezdesfera @ Jun 24 2011, 03:50 PM)
Hey guys, im thinking of changing my stock persona tyre soon. currently on continental cc1 if im not mistaken. i regularly travel jb-kl-jb. maybe around once a week or twice a week. what are my options? prefer comfort and quiet. Sometimes hit 150kmh on hway. not really a spirited driver haha. budget less than 250 per piece. Thanks alot!!
Go for the Michelin XM2. U will not regret at all. If ure in KL, change it at Lim Tayar in TTDI. I can tell you who to see.
cybermaster98
post Jun 28 2011, 02:03 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Jun 28 2011, 11:20 AM)
how did u come up with an approx assumption based on mileage for 6 months?
The same way car manufacturers come up with the servicing intervals based on mileage.

cybermaster98
post Jun 28 2011, 04:41 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Jun 28 2011, 02:30 PM)
u do realise lubricants is different from tyre right?
so average will be a better word in place of approx which will give green owners a false sense of security?

what if i told u, for the same rubber it will be gone within the month if i am the one using it?
U dont get what im trying to say. Im not refering to the actual parts of service. Im talking about the mileage. You know most brochures say service every 10,000km or 3 months. How did they come up with 10,000km in 3 months? Thats based on the average usage of a vehicle for the specified period based on normal usage.

Thats wht im refering to! Not whether its tyres or lubricant or whether a part lasts longer or shorter.

cybermaster98
post Jul 6 2011, 06:18 PM

4,440 posts

How is Continental CC5 compared to other tyres of its class? Im looking for a quiet tyre thats also got good wet traction for a friend's Waja. Michelin XM2 is too expensive. Current NCT5 is crap. Tyre size 195/55/R15. I was quoted RM 210 for CC5 for this size.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jul 6 2011, 06:19 PM
cybermaster98
post Jul 6 2011, 07:15 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(reef_d @ Jul 6 2011, 06:58 PM)
i would recommend hankook ventus evo12 195/55/15 at 245 a piece if trade in your old tyres at tekming sunway.. price without trade in is around 290 a piece..
We want something cheaper for the same comfort and grip. Not something more expensive.
cybermaster98
post Apr 18 2012, 08:26 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Apr 10 2012, 08:50 PM)

about the gy f1, ps3 and re001, every tires has had their own high and low(from my own experience while using 'em).
gyf1 - good in wet and dry. lose out to ps3 on intermediate but come out flying during downpour  tongue.gif
one of the noisiest tires around ; due to the thick directional pattern.
ps3 - good in wet and dry. excel on intermediate condition while still offered comfort and quietness the other 2 can't match. soft sidewall is
a big letdown thou. pumping higher psi during touge' doesn't help big time.
re001 - good in dry, lose out to both competitor in wet. a good choice for spirited driver who likes to attack corner thou.
When u say GYF1, are you refering to Goodyear Eagle F1 Assymetric 2? Im trying to decide between this tyre and the Michelin PS3 for 225-45-R18 sizes
cybermaster98
post Apr 18 2012, 10:28 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(K5WHITE @ Apr 18 2012, 10:23 AM)
review had it Asy2 beat PS3 in term of braking, handling wet and dry
how abt in term of comfort/quietness of PS3 vs Asy2?
Haha! Anybody asking about 235-45-R18 will surely be Kia Optima users. rclxms.gif
cybermaster98
post Apr 18 2012, 02:13 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(K5WHITE @ Apr 18 2012, 10:32 AM)
got latest best price Asy2 235-40-18 at RM750 at sunway
How much to trade in stock Nexen tyres?
cybermaster98
post Jan 10 2013, 12:43 PM

4,440 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2662398

cybermaster98
post Jan 10 2013, 12:47 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(tanjs87 @ Jan 10 2013, 10:11 AM)
My Nexen N6000 exploded during 100km/h drive on highway.

Changed both my front tires to N6000 at Tek Ming less than 5 months back. 1 week ago I notice the left  N6000 had reached the Min Treadwear Indicator, but the front right piece still has 70% left. Cant be my absorber or alignment as I just did it less than 6 months back.

So I switched the fronts to the back, thinking to change the tire in a couple of week. But it exploded before I could do anything.

I suspect of the quality issue. Made me think twice before buying Korean tires from now on. However I think Hankook is quite good.

My stock 18 inch Nexen (CP643a) on my K5 exploded end of last year while i was driving at 130kmph on the NSE. Despite having a puncture in the middle of the tyre thread, the entire sidewall of the tyre was torn very cleanly around the entire circumferance of the tyre. Doesnt seem normal to me at all. Have never seen a sidewall separate to cleanly.
cybermaster98
post Jan 11 2013, 08:17 AM

4,440 posts

How quiet is the Michelin Pilot Super Sports compared to other Michelin tyres or the Goodyear Assy 2? Im talking about 18 inch rims. My current Nexen's are damn noisy.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jan 11 2013, 08:18 AM
cybermaster98
post Nov 11 2013, 08:20 AM

4,440 posts

Go high end if your pocket can take it...Michelin Pilot Super Sport. biggrin.gif

0.0494sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:58 PM