For rooting, u guys wait til the warranty ends and root?
♠ Samsung Galaxy Ace S5830 ♠ Official Thread V2, mid range phone ,released date feb 2011
Apr 29 2011, 01:15 PM
180 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
For rooting, u guys wait til the warranty ends and root?
Apr 29 2011, 01:15 PM
5 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
if i send my phone to SME n ask them to look for what is the prob...
about the SOD how long do u think it will take? i dont mind if it takes less than a week... but if it take months than i need to reconsider...huhu |
Apr 29 2011, 01:46 PM
251 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(JrMartian @ Apr 29 2011, 01:15 PM) Nope. I rooted it the first day I got the phone Didn't feel any problems coming from rooting though. Rooting shouldn't be a problem if you don't mess with applications that you are unsure of. From the posts of other members few pages back, ROM manager app is a big no-no. Same goes to flashing I guess ( as per mentioned by ardtzx few pages back ) I only rooted for the apps2sd enabler app due to low internal memory problem QUOTE(normstar87 @ Apr 29 2011, 01:15 PM) if i send my phone to SME n ask them to look for what is the prob... From what I've heard from my dealer, he says it should take less than a week if you go there yourself.about the SOD how long do u think it will take? i dont mind if it takes less than a week... but if it take months than i need to reconsider...huhu Planned to go today but had to cancel my visit due to some problems. Good luck bro |
Apr 29 2011, 02:08 PM
6,113 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pokey Oaks |
Apr 29 2011, 02:15 PM
0 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(infinityjc @ Apr 29 2011, 09:47 AM) Bro, not only KC1, but also to KB1 which is original version of Ace when I bought it. I got SOD few times liao...suspected is WIFI caused. I know. If I remember correctly, those are the two latest firmware versions for ace. Turning the wifi sleep policy to never did not work for me. Reverting to KA6 did. If you can revert yours to KA9 I'm sure SODs will trouble you no longer. Try it. Added on April 29, 2011, 2:30 pm QUOTE(siNG7681 @ Apr 29 2011, 09:13 AM) Dictionary.com is pretty good. It doubles as a thesaurus and even has a word of the day widget. QUOTE(sapik900906 @ Apr 29 2011, 10:10 AM) ohh no! sp many SOD kes reported! guy! are these will be a big prob? coz i'm thinking to get one! waaa// The Galaxy Ace is a great phone, good specs for an affordable price. But some, if not most users experience frequent SODs, including myself. One thing I've learned is that SODs pretty much don't occur on the older firmware versions, like DXKA9. I myself have reverted to an older firmware version, albeit European, XXKA6. My phone hasn't had an SOD ever since.Here's something you can do. Check the firmware version first before getting your phone. You have to go to menu> settings> about phone> baseband version. See if it says S5830DXKA9. If it does, then you're lucky. If it doesn't, ask the store technician if they could revert the firmware to an older version. And when connecting to Kies on your computer, DON'T update. Just an advice. Good luck! This post has been edited by amio: Apr 29 2011, 02:32 PM |
Apr 29 2011, 02:36 PM
5 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
QUOTE(SilenTz_1993 @ Apr 29 2011, 01:46 PM) Nope. I rooted it the first day I got the phone thanx bro...i think im gonna go on monday...Didn't feel any problems coming from rooting though. Rooting shouldn't be a problem if you don't mess with applications that you are unsure of. From the posts of other members few pages back, ROM manager app is a big no-no. Same goes to flashing I guess ( as per mentioned by ardtzx few pages back ) I only rooted for the apps2sd enabler app due to low internal memory problem From what I've heard from my dealer, he says it should take less than a week if you go there yourself. Planned to go today but had to cancel my visit due to some problems. Good luck bro hope samsung manage to solve this problem... |
Apr 29 2011, 02:39 PM
202 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
hi guys, any of u on any data plan, was thinking of changing prepaid to line and looking the best deal for line + data
this is what i find(only celcom n maxis(digi no coverage at my kampung) Celcom Exec 50 postpaid plan + Celcom Broadband mLite(rm28=300mb) = rm78 or Maxis Value Plus 50 + Monthly 100Mb pass(rm18) = rm68 seems like celcom offer better package,becos for 500mb maxis charge u rm58,anybody can suggest me?or is there a specific thread for this type of q&a? |
Apr 29 2011, 02:49 PM
189 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Hi. I thinking on getting it tomorrow
QUOTE(backislan @ Apr 29 2011, 02:39 PM) hi guys, any of u on any data plan, was thinking of changing prepaid to line and looking the best deal for line + data No sure which 1 is better but check what is their charges after u used up the quota. As i know MAXIS (max sh*t) tend to charge EXTRA KAW if u used up more than the quotathis is what i find(only celcom n maxis(digi no coverage at my kampung) Celcom Exec 50 postpaid plan + Celcom Broadband mLite(rm28=300mb) = rm78 or Maxis Value Plus 50 + Monthly 100Mb pass(rm18) = rm68 seems like celcom offer better package,becos for 500mb maxis charge u rm58,anybody can suggest me?or is there a specific thread for this type of q&a? |
Apr 29 2011, 02:53 PM
3,130 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(backislan @ Apr 29 2011, 02:39 PM) hi guys, any of u on any data plan, was thinking of changing prepaid to line and looking the best deal for line + data 1st .. suggest u to check whether ur kampung under 3G/GPRS coverage or not bcos u need it or data plan.this is what i find(only celcom n maxis(digi no coverage at my kampung) Celcom Exec 50 postpaid plan + Celcom Broadband mLite(rm28=300mb) = rm78 or Maxis Value Plus 50 + Monthly 100Mb pass(rm18) = rm68 seems like celcom offer better package,becos for 500mb maxis charge u rm58,anybody can suggest me?or is there a specific thread for this type of q&a? 2nd .. between Celcom n Maxis, better go for Celcom, bcos after u reach the limit of 300mb, u will unable to surf, but maxis will continue to allow u to surf until u broke, n lots of ppls complaint maxis overcharged them but nothing they can do. |
Apr 29 2011, 03:59 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
31,611 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
Apr 29 2011, 04:23 PM
122 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
QUOTE(backislan @ Apr 29 2011, 02:39 PM) hi guys, any of u on any data plan, was thinking of changing prepaid to line and looking the best deal for line + data hmm...u can try choose umobile prepaid system which they offer unlimited 5gb data for rm68 or 2gb for rm40 mthly,can call,sms.actually umobile prepaid quite handy to use if u are in their coverage..the data speed not bad oso. visit www.u.com.my... reload prepaid u get top-up bonus too.. this is what i find(only celcom n maxis(digi no coverage at my kampung) Celcom Exec 50 postpaid plan + Celcom Broadband mLite(rm28=300mb) = rm78 or Maxis Value Plus 50 + Monthly 100Mb pass(rm18) = rm68 seems like celcom offer better package,becos for 500mb maxis charge u rm58,anybody can suggest me?or is there a specific thread for this type of q&a? no need to sign any postpaid line... |
Apr 29 2011, 04:54 PM
1,008 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Kuantan Pahang |
Just grab a unit for my gf nice price rm900
Apr 29 2011, 07:19 PM
20 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
guys, whenever i open wifi and put it there, auto shut down problem sure happen...any idea how to solve it?
Apr 29 2011, 07:36 PM
397 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: broken heart land, single forever~ |
Apr 29 2011, 07:56 PM
195 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
QUOTE(amio @ Apr 29 2011, 02:15 PM) I know. If I remember correctly, those are the two latest firmware versions for ace. Turning the wifi sleep policy to never did not work for me. Reverting to KA6 did. If you can revert yours to KA9 I'm sure SODs will trouble you no longer. Try it. My phone used to SOD 1-3 times in a 24 hour period (DXKC1). No apps or widgets installed/running, just left wifi on and Google sync and it still happened. I took your advice and used Odin and swapped to KA6, it still SOD-ed in 14 hours or so. Finally, I reflashed to S5830XXKP8 with Android 2.3.3 and no more SODs for 50 hours+. First time it's been this way since I bought the phone |
Apr 29 2011, 08:40 PM
308 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: KGR, PS. |
QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Apr 29 2011, 07:56 PM) My phone used to SOD 1-3 times in a 24 hour period (DXKC1). No apps or widgets installed/running, just left wifi on and Google sync and it still happened. I took your advice and used Odin and swapped to KA6, it still SOD-ed in 14 hours or so. Finally, I reflashed to S5830XXKP8 with Android 2.3.3 and no more SODs for 50 hours+. First time it's been this way since I bought the phone how's the camera working for u?i heard there's some problem with its AF, still havent flash yet my Ace, and btw KP9 out ady, anybody want to try |
Apr 29 2011, 09:54 PM
598 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Anyone running 2.3.3 rom? Still got SOD issue?
This post has been edited by xsaintzx: Apr 29 2011, 09:56 PM |
Apr 29 2011, 10:07 PM
397 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: broken heart land, single forever~ |
here the case i mess up when try to put a rilakkuma pic on my fren mesh case.
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by stupiak07: Apr 29 2011, 10:51 PM |
Apr 30 2011, 12:03 AM
26 posts Joined: May 2008 |
any 1 have install air attack HD?
i try many times but can't install the game. please teach me how to install it thanks |
Apr 30 2011, 10:09 AM
380 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Malaysia |
How do or can I add my favourite mp3 music as ringtones.
| Change to: | 0.0294sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:34 PM |