♠ Samsung Galaxy Ace S5830 ♠ Official Thread V2, mid range phone ,released date feb 2011

afad
post Apr 16 2011, 12:07 AM

308 posts

Congrats for V2....
afad
post Apr 18 2011, 12:34 AM

308 posts

QUOTE(infinityjc @ Apr 18 2011, 12:25 AM)
Just switch ON the GPS (the shortcut by pulling down the notification), then open the Papago X5.
The Satelite icon on top right will be flashing indicate to search satelite available.
While waiting satelite to lock on, press POI Search and type keyword means your place that
you want to go. Once done, press search and all places name will appear that close to your destination.
Select the name you want it and message will pop up, then you can select and enter as Destination Point.
Finally press "GO"...that's it!

Enjoy...
does it use data charges, if we on the GPS and use papago navigation?
afad
post Apr 18 2011, 01:01 AM

308 posts

QUOTE(infinityjc @ Apr 18 2011, 12:54 AM)
Nope, it use Satelite.

Added on April 18, 2011, 12:55 am

HELPPPPPPP too.....
do u know where to download papago and how to install it?

and ive also been experiencing that problem,
but not too frequent la,
ive heard that if u update to the latest firmware,
some of the problems gone,
but some ive heard even worse,
dont know whether wan to update or not..
afad
post Apr 23 2011, 02:17 AM

308 posts

QUOTE(Bugeca @ Apr 22 2011, 09:55 PM)
You need Odin to flash it. Does not matter which ROM are you currently use and KIES won't work since this is leak XX region ROM.

Since there is no DX region ROM available in the Internet, if you wanted to go back to stock DX region ROM, at the moment only SME service centre can do that.
cant we back up the stock rom with anything if something goes wrong?
so is this gingerbread rom official from Samsung or ported from other phones?
noob here blush.gif

QUOTE(minmin @ Apr 23 2011, 01:20 AM)
hello all!
if you want to upgrade to ginger bread you will need to give up the stock rom, as i dont find it on the internet.

i dont mind to flash to european version as it has everything i need. (just that do not have BM/Chinese pre installed)

1.the moving of screen and menu is obviously faster
2.the ram its slightly (just little) higher usage than previously
3.the camcorder is great now! 640x320
4.enhance menu for better grouping and easy navigation
5.battery usage is better (but i haven't feel this)
6.copy paste function enhanced, and its easier to use now
7. icon change, color in notification, the short cut button are different in notification

so far thats all for now.

anyone would like to taste the gingerbread first hand
can go to this link, (register an account first)

http://www.samfirmware.com/WEBPROTECT-s5830.htm

inside has the guide.

over all steps
1.download Odin
2.download the firmware
3.unzip the firmware, and run odin and load all file from firmware as stated in manual.
4.connect ur phone in download mode and click start.
5.wait till finish and wala --gingerbread smile.gif
bro, dont forget to give us the feedback,
how is it for daily use,
is there any bugs?
planning to flash it but scared id brick my phone sweat.gif ,
first android phone..

afad
post Apr 23 2011, 02:48 AM

308 posts

QUOTE(minmin @ Apr 23 2011, 02:33 AM)
so far half day usage no lag/no bug.
very sastisfy

i bet this firmware is a leak from the coming official 2.3 firmware for europe region, might be samsung developer purposely leak out to check the feedback from usage.
so no doubt the galaxy ace will very soon has a official gingerbread release. (european first and than only asian, weeks/months of waiting time la tongue.gif )
what's the different between the europe n asia region firmware?
is there any significant difference that can effect the usability here?
afad
post Apr 23 2011, 03:16 AM

308 posts

QUOTE(minmin @ Apr 23 2011, 03:04 AM)
not much different
mainly is language

let say malaysian stock firmware, the system language might have BM/Chinese preinstalled

but the european one might have english/french/spanish/turkist/etc preinstalled.

it doesnt matter because i use english.
Owh really r,
if only different in languages,
then its not gonna be a problem,
cos i also use english..

btw lets say there got bugs in the firmware,
how to revert back to stock rom?

how is the wifi and gps working for u,
i read in xda someone flash this firmware and cannot get the wifi working,
and the gps is rather slow than the stock one..

This post has been edited by afad: Apr 23 2011, 03:29 AM
afad
post Apr 23 2011, 07:28 PM

308 posts

minmin, do u encounter SOD with the gingerbread?
or any other bugs?

im still hesitate to flash to gingerbread,
bcos so far ive never encounter the SOD with my stock rom,
only a few random restart and wifi error...

afad
post Apr 25 2011, 11:16 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(lim_kobe2005 @ Apr 25 2011, 10:52 PM)
i just face 3 times SOD in 1 hours~~
talk abt bad luck,
i feel sorry for u man

why dont u try update the firmware using kies,
or if u willing to take the risk,
why not try the unofficial gingerbread frm Samfirmware,
see if the SOD go away or not
afad
post Apr 29 2011, 08:40 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Apr 29 2011, 07:56 PM)
My phone used to SOD 1-3 times in a 24 hour period (DXKC1). No apps or widgets installed/running, just left wifi on and Google sync and it still happened. I took your advice and used Odin and swapped to KA6, it still SOD-ed in 14 hours or so. Finally, I reflashed to S5830XXKP8 with Android 2.3.3 and no more SODs for 50 hours+. First time it's been this way since I bought the phone smile.gif
how's the camera working for u?
i heard there's some problem with its AF,
still havent flash yet my Ace,
and btw KP9 out ady,
anybody want to try tongue.gif
afad
post Apr 30 2011, 10:32 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Apr 30 2011, 10:00 PM)
I'm not too sure about the autofocus, I also read that it's broken in 2.3.3 KP8 but my pictures seem to be able to focus on close/further objects without any issues. It's been running for 3 days+ now since I did the update, 0 SODs with wifi + everything running so I'm really happy about that. SGA is an excellent phone but Samsung really needs to fix the firmware issue that's causing the SOD in the official 2.2 firmware. Hopefully once 2.3.3 is released on Kies this wont be a problem anymore.
I used these two guides to flash to 2.3.3 :

1) http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?uid=1884...88747&topic=433 (See Pedro's post, check his latest update if you want info on 2.3.3 KP9)

2) http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1034145

Just need the firmware package (4 files), OPS file and Odin to do it. Takes around 5 minutes and you only need to put your phone into 'Download' mode and press Start on Odin once the phone is detected via USB. I'm not too sure about the risks of a bricked flash since this is my first Droid phone so maybe someone else here can shed some light on that smile.gif Take note that once you do that flash, the phone will be in another language (Russian?), so just go to the Settings -> Locale and Text and choose English.
thanks for ur feedbacks,
another thing, b4 flashing do we need to back up our personal data?
or is it still intact after flashing?
thx
afad
post Apr 30 2011, 11:17 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Apr 30 2011, 10:35 PM)
Yeah, you need to backup everything. Only stuff on your phone's memory will be wiped, SD card data wont be touched.
really r, so what did u used for backup?
afad
post Apr 30 2011, 11:40 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(xDragonZ @ Apr 30 2011, 11:20 PM)
doest titanium backup required root?
i still havent root my phone tongue.gif ,
is there other backup apps that doestn required root?
afad
post May 14 2011, 01:24 AM

308 posts

guys, any news of the official GB update?

afad
post May 15 2011, 11:27 PM

308 posts

guys, if im on XXKPE (eu firmware),
can i roll back to DDKC1 (asia firmware)?
afad
post May 16 2011, 12:36 AM

308 posts

QUOTE(fcukcompany @ May 16 2011, 12:20 AM)
Count me in! I bought it at May 2

Just flashed my phone to 2.3.3, IT's FINALLY SUPPORT 480p RECORDING!!!
do u unroot and factory reset it b4 flashing?
going to try to flash mine tonite..
afad
post May 16 2011, 04:30 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(stevenlkk @ May 16 2011, 11:13 AM)
Hi, will my installed apps and data files lost if i flash my phone to GB?
i think so, yes,
bcos after i flashed mine, everything is wipe out,
i suggest u backup all ur apps n data b4 u flash..
afad
post May 16 2011, 05:57 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(Bugeca @ May 16 2011, 05:10 PM)
Flash using Odin, subject to firmware availability from Samfirmware or flash back to stock and use Kies to update.
if im on GB Eu firmware,
can i roll back straight to Froyo Asia firmware?

afad
post May 16 2011, 07:52 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(normstar87 @ May 16 2011, 06:03 PM)
im on europe GB firmware...
ive tried to roll back 2 Froyo using odin...but its jz can't...
i think if u wanna b at safe place jz stay wit froyo 4 a while...
too late for that now,
ady on GB KPE rooted..

btw which Froyo u try to roll back to, EU or Asia?
afad
post May 16 2011, 08:12 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(normstar87 @ May 16 2011, 08:06 PM)
hoho...but it still worth it 2 upgrade 2 GB...
i tried the Asia...
its jz stuck at downloading...
n it wont reboot...
when im using odin...huhu
have u try to flash to Froyo EU first,
after that only u flash to Asia Froyo,
how abt that, can or not?
afad
post May 16 2011, 10:57 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(normstar87 @ May 16 2011, 10:38 PM)
nice bro nice...this is really nice...
thanx im gonna roll back 2 froyo...
later on when u have finish flashing,
update me here how it goes bro,
just in case i want to roll back to froyo also,
as of rite now, im still enjoying the GB biggrin.gif

0.0522sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:17 AM