83 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Official Bold 9900 Discussion Thread, A place for Sharing and Discussion..

finch!
post Sep 2 2011, 09:07 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(iiee @ Sep 2 2011, 10:30 AM)
I am supposed to get the free screen protector too, but i forgot at the end when walked out, calat...
2 hours distance, don't think will go back. 
Will try to get soft silicone cover.  hard cover is too fat i think.

Har, the 3G logo does not "include" the meaning of 3.5G? wtf , will go test it out.

9900 should have some sort of design for the finger to pull the phone out easily from the holster.  I hate when i need to pull it out, donno where to hold, if hold by the side there are volume keys.
Search function sucks, it can't figure out 2 words with space, if type "aabb" it will not show result of "a abb" or "aa bb" or "aab b" , pretty sad about it.

Screen is much better than 9810 IMO.  compared side by side 9900 is crystal clear with same brightness.  Can read the screen under sun light.
Trackpad is too close to T and Y keys, always kena, that 2 keys will worn out faster than others  yawn.gif
This is the US set. 3G/H+ .. While mine only shows 3G. Anyone?
Secret Hunter
post Sep 2 2011, 09:17 PM

271 posts

icic.. Thanks all. I think I will go for Celcom, but Im not sure about the speed coz i always unable my 3G..
SUSSimilan
post Sep 2 2011, 10:42 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(Secret Hunter @ Sep 2 2011, 09:17 PM)
icic.. Thanks all. I think I will go for Celcom, but Im not sure about the speed coz i always unable my 3G..
fastest speed among the big 3 is maxis. but ever since they discontinue unlimited data plan, it can be very expensive if u do not monitor ur usage carefully.

unless u spend most of ur time in urban areas and absolutely demand fastest speed all the time, then maxis is for u.

DiCkWaD
post Sep 3 2011, 12:22 AM

164 posts

QUOTE(finch! @ Sep 2 2011, 09:07 PM)
This is the US set. 3G/H+ .. While mine only shows 3G. Anyone?
If I'm not mistaken, this is due to us not having H+(4G=14.4Mbps) networks in Malaysia
Malaysia has only 3G(7.2Mbps) networks
kmrdeva
post Sep 3 2011, 03:14 AM

4,791 posts

19 hours since my phone left the charger, 40% battery left with 2g+wifi, very good batt life on my 9900 after updating to latest whatsapp client (2 hours total app usage). I am happy enough, the 9900 ticks all the right boxes for me smile.gif
jazwanra
post Sep 3 2011, 09:07 AM

267 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Sep 3 2011, 03:14 AM)
19 hours since my phone left the charger, 40% battery left with 2g+wifi, very good batt life on my 9900 after updating to latest whatsapp client (2 hours total app usage). I am happy enough, the 9900 ticks all the right boxes for me smile.gif
Good...I feel almost the same...
kmrdeva
post Sep 3 2011, 09:16 AM

4,791 posts

QUOTE(jazwanra @ Sep 3 2011, 09:07 AM)
Good...I feel almost the same...
Ha ha, I am on 3G+wifi today, let's see if the little fella makes it to midnight or not smile.gif Personally, I'm not really demanding or expecting 2 days of life per charge - 6am to midnight is plenty good for me.
mengsuan
post Sep 3 2011, 03:58 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

I came to realise the presence of another Bold 9900 thread (https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1836164)

Would everyone prefer to have one thread for 9900 or possibly one for every telco like Celcom 9900, DiGi 9900, Maxis 9900, U Mobile 9900, Tunetalk 9900?
ViRaViRa
post Sep 3 2011, 04:00 PM

Think GOOD. Live WELL. Be HAPPY.
4,625 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Sep 3 2011, 03:58 PM)
I came to realise the presence of another Bold 9900 thread (https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1836164)

Would everyone prefer to have one thread for 9900 or possibly one for every telco like Celcom 9900, DiGi 9900, Maxis 9900, U Mobile 9900, Tunetalk 9900?
One thread for 9900 will be the best. We can then discuss there about different telcos.
zellleonhart
post Sep 3 2011, 05:25 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

One general thread would be awesome. I notice there are three similar threads, maybe you can merge them into one.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1836164 (Official BlackBerry OS 7 - Bold Touch 9900 )
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1985481 (NEW BLACKBERRYS LAUNCHED)
and this current celcom 9900 thread.
SUSSimilan
post Sep 3 2011, 05:54 PM

344 posts

yeah let's merge, become happy family. thumbup.gif

but originator must be dedicated enough to start threads well and maintain it.

This post has been edited by Similan: Sep 3 2011, 05:55 PM
kirushiru
post Sep 3 2011, 06:04 PM

58 posts

how do i join the bb9900 group?
by the way my pin is : 280CB613
thanks!
kmrdeva
post Sep 3 2011, 07:49 PM

4,791 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Sep 3 2011, 09:16 AM)
Ha ha, I am on 3G+wifi today, let's see if the little fella makes it to midnight or not smile.gif Personally, I'm not really demanding or expecting 2 days of life per charge - 6am to midnight is plenty good for me.
3G+wifi does not fulfill my requirements, sadly. 10 hours standby results in only 20% of batt left (total 2 hours of active usage).

Oh well, back to the more reliable, stable and power stingy 2G+wifi tomorrow icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on September 3, 2011, 7:53 pmBy the way, my friends, has anyone managed to download Dropbox for Blackberry 7 from the Dropbox site? I am getting error 404 (i.e. page not available) in my BB browser.

Need Dropbox to sync my Keepass DB file from cloud to phone so that I can access it with the Keepass app on my BB (this must-have 'e-wallet' app is multiplatform and FOC, available on Windows, Linux, Android and BB).

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Sep 3 2011, 07:53 PM

adrive
post Sep 3 2011, 08:35 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Sep 3 2011, 07:49 PM)
3G+wifi does not fulfill my requirements, sadly. 10 hours standby results in only 20% of batt left (total 2 hours of active usage).

Oh well, back to the more reliable, stable and power stingy 2G+wifi tomorrow icon_rolleyes.gif
awww...10 hours only ?? tongue.gif without wifi is 12 hours? i remember that was ur first day...

i noticed that your line is at -86dbm...perhaps that's one of the causes too...i'm getting 70dbm at where i am..sg.nibong area
kmrdeva
post Sep 3 2011, 08:57 PM

4,791 posts

QUOTE(adrive @ Sep 3 2011, 08:35 PM)
awww...10 hours only ?? tongue.gif without wifi is 12 hours? i remember that was ur first day...

i noticed that your line is at -86dbm...perhaps that's one of the causes too...i'm getting 70dbm at where i am..sg.nibong area
Ha ha, of course my usage is not exactly the same every day plus I didn't actually drain my batt to zero. Today I was outside more so maybe having wifi enabled sucked more power due to wlan scanning..

Digi 3g signal is crappy at my place in Tg Bunga, true sad.gif

Added on September 3, 2011, 8:59 pmBy the way, read some crackberry forum postings on disabling compression on the microsd to reduce cpu utilization, let's see if things improve.

3g is nice for web browsing, but I am finding 2g more stable tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Sep 3 2011, 08:59 PM
netbeans
post Sep 3 2011, 09:12 PM

630 posts

Haih... I personally do not like to disable 3G. That's the reason I buy a phone with 3G capability.

Hope RIM is working on a permanent solution.
sonyclie77
post Sep 3 2011, 09:25 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(netbeans @ Sep 3 2011, 09:12 PM)
Haih... I personally do not like to disable 3G. That's the reason I buy a phone with 3G capability.

Hope RIM is working on a permanent solution.
Same here. I rather charge more often than to be on EDGE only.

But my 9900's battery life is real bad, even worse than my Torch 9800 whom I thought was bad.

Unplug at 830am and by 5pm I'm down to about 20%.

Of course, my phone calls are quite heavy during that duration.
sonyclie77
post Sep 3 2011, 09:35 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

I've just merged both the Bold 9900 threads into 1.
kmrdeva
post Sep 3 2011, 09:37 PM

4,791 posts

I don't see how RIM can make the 1230mah battery do miracles. I wouldn't mind a thicker custom / 3rd party battery, 1500-2000mah would be nice. For now, I am considering a spare ori batt or to be on 2g all the time.
netbeans
post Sep 3 2011, 09:42 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Sep 3 2011, 09:37 PM)
I don't see how RIM can make the 1230mah battery do miracles. I wouldn't mind a thicker custom / 3rd party battery, 1500-2000mah would be nice. For now, I am considering a spare ori batt or to be on 2g all the time.
Yeah.. Should invest on a 2nd batt then.. cry.gif

83 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:01 PM