83 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Official Bold 9900 Discussion Thread, A place for Sharing and Discussion..

kmrdeva
post Sep 1 2011, 05:56 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(kirushiru @ Sep 1 2011, 05:50 PM)
i just bought bb9900..... and when i wanna reply ppl via whatsapp........ the screen goes black out often and blink few times before i could reply..... while the led indicator is blinking...... is this normal i wonder?
Not normal. No such issue with whatsapp (2.6.5918) on my phone.
kirushiru
post Sep 1 2011, 06:11 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Sep 1 2011, 05:53 PM)
Nop, it doesn't look normal. Probably you can try uninstalling whatsapp, do a "battery pull" and reinstall the app again.

If you are only having such problem when accessing whatsapp, it is very likely to be an application bug.

Is your phone warrantied by Brightstar? If yes, then you need to go there.
apparently it does not happen to whatsapp only, even when i reply text messages...... same thing happens...... it does not happen everytime, but still, it does annoy me esp when i cant reply when i wanted to, i have gotta wait for like 30 secs or else the screen goes blackout, and when i press any key, even the button that lock/unlock, the whole phone is not responding, only the LED indicator still blinking......

i bought it via Digi........ =( cry.gif
ViRaViRa
post Sep 1 2011, 06:16 PM

Think GOOD. Live WELL. Be HAPPY.
4,625 posts

QUOTE(kirushiru @ Sep 1 2011, 06:11 PM)
apparently it does not happen to whatsapp only, even when i reply text messages...... same thing happens...... it does not happen everytime, but still, it does annoy me esp when i cant reply when i wanted to, i have gotta wait for like 30 secs or else the screen goes blackout, and when i press any key, even the button that lock/unlock, the whole phone is not responding, only the LED indicator still blinking......

i bought it via Digi........ =( cry.gif
Although you bought it from DiGi, it can be under warranty from Brightstar as they are the official distributor in Malaysia. However, there are cases where DiGi got their BlackBerry phones from local supplier e.g. PDAExpert.

You need to check from your warranty card (or sticker on the phone, near battery) on who is the warranty provider and get there. You can also go to DiGi (not retail shops but DiGi centres) and pass it to them but it will take longer to get your phone fixed because they are just a middle men.
kirushiru
post Sep 1 2011, 06:32 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Sep 1 2011, 06:16 PM)
Although you bought it from DiGi, it can be under warranty from Brightstar as they are the official distributor in Malaysia. However, there are cases where DiGi got their BlackBerry phones from local supplier e.g. PDAExpert.

You need to check from your warranty card (or sticker on the phone, near battery) on who is the warranty provider and get there. You can also go to DiGi (not retail shops but DiGi centres) and pass it to them but it will take longer to get your phone fixed because they are just a middle men.
yupz, just checked, it is indeed from Brightstar...... so what do i do with it right now? pls helpppppppp!!! sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
ViRaViRa
post Sep 1 2011, 06:43 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(kirushiru @ Sep 1 2011, 06:32 PM)
yupz, just checked, it is indeed from Brightstar...... so what do i do with it right now? pls helpppppppp!!!  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Their website - http://brightstarcorp.com.my/

You need to visit the nearest BlackBerry service centre. I think the address is also stated on the warranty card.
d3sign3r
post Sep 1 2011, 10:17 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(DiCkWaD @ Sep 1 2011, 03:08 PM)
There's a stall in Gardens that sell 9900 covers...
But they only have silicone covers.It's in between the connecting bit in LG Flr frm Gardens 2 MV
Mebbe u can go take a look

Even Novacell also sells d cases...
But still can't find screen protector tho...

Anyone hav any luck?
got mine , Moovworks hard silicone cover.. not the soft ones.. black. from a shop in lowyat plaza.. the set comes with the screen protector. starting price was rm60. got it down to rm50..
think i saw it in some forum for rm48.. i think 50 ok lah with them installing the screen protector.

sokaik80
post Sep 1 2011, 10:49 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(d3sign3r @ Sep 1 2011, 10:17 PM)
got mine , Moovworks hard silicone cover.. not the soft ones.. black. from a shop in lowyat plaza.. the set comes with the screen protector. starting price was rm60. got it down to rm50..
think i saw it in some forum for rm48..  i think 50 ok lah with them installing the screen protector.
do u remember which shop?

finch!
post Sep 1 2011, 11:29 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(d3sign3r @ Sep 1 2011, 10:17 PM)
think i saw it in some forum for rm48..  i think 50 ok lah with them installing the screen protector.
I got free screen protector when I was buying the phone. I bought from Mines 2, Seri Kembangan. Maybe you guys can go there and take a look. The shop is somewhere in the middle with big Blackberry logo on the front counter.

Added on September 1, 2011, 11:33 pmBTW I noticed overseas set (e.g. US) has 3G and H+, but our local Brightstar set only has 3G? WTF?

This post has been edited by finch!: Sep 1 2011, 11:33 PM
kirushiru
post Sep 2 2011, 08:04 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Sep 1 2011, 06:43 PM)
Their website - http://brightstarcorp.com.my/

You need to visit the nearest BlackBerry service centre. I think the address is also stated on the warranty card.
thanks a lot, dude! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
iiee
post Sep 2 2011, 10:30 AM

361 posts

QUOTE(finch! @ Sep 1 2011, 11:29 PM)
I got free screen protector when I was buying the phone. I bought from Mines 2, Seri Kembangan. Maybe you guys can go there and take a look. The shop is somewhere in the middle with big Blackberry logo on the front counter.

Added on September 1, 2011, 11:33 pmBTW I noticed overseas set (e.g. US) has 3G and H+, but our local Brightstar set only has 3G? WTF?
I am supposed to get the free screen protector too, but i forgot at the end when walked out, calat...
2 hours distance, don't think will go back.
Will try to get soft silicone cover. hard cover is too fat i think.

Har, the 3G logo does not "include" the meaning of 3.5G? wtf , will go test it out.

9900 should have some sort of design for the finger to pull the phone out easily from the holster. I hate when i need to pull it out, donno where to hold, if hold by the side there are volume keys.
Search function sucks, it can't figure out 2 words with space, if type "aabb" it will not show result of "a abb" or "aa bb" or "aab b" , pretty sad about it.

Screen is much better than 9810 IMO. compared side by side 9900 is crystal clear with same brightness. Can read the screen under sun light.
Trackpad is too close to T and Y keys, always kena, that 2 keys will worn out faster than others yawn.gif

This post has been edited by iiee: Sep 2 2011, 10:31 AM
outdoorxplorer
post Sep 2 2011, 02:10 PM

~Money Only Bring Pleasures When You Spent It WISELY!~
2,028 posts

Tired of waiting for the local availability of screen protector. Ordered online a set of Clarivue Screen Protectors for my Bold 9900 today.
Secret Hunter
post Sep 2 2011, 02:51 PM

271 posts

Celcom or Digi for BB, which is better? I'm always around KL/PJ area.
If Celcom, I will get RM138 package, if Digi, I will get RM68+10+30 package? which 1 guys? Celcom is better in coverage, while Digi? How about the speed of the internet and its connection??

ViRaViRa
post Sep 2 2011, 02:56 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(Secret Hunter @ Sep 2 2011, 02:51 PM)
Celcom or Digi for BB, which is better? I'm always around KL/PJ area.
If Celcom, I will get RM138 package, if Digi, I will get RM68+10+30 package? which 1 guys? Celcom is better in coverage, while Digi? How about the speed of the internet and its connection??

I would suggest you to use your current telco if you are happy with it. DiGi is a little risky where at some places, you almost can't access the internet even on EDGE mode. Their network has got a little bad recently but luckily, my area is still OK on EDGE (3G is gone case).

If you are looking for a cheaper option, then DiGi might fit into your plan.
kmrdeva
post Sep 2 2011, 03:49 PM

4,790 posts

Guys and gals, I have a tip I found on crackberry forum to share. It seems that the whatsapp from App World (2.6.5918) is outdated and may be contributing to heavier than normal battery drain on the 9900.

As advised at http://goo.gl/nxB6P, I went directly to the whatsapp OTA site to update my whatsapp client and the battery's been quite ok today for me. App usage shows about 1 hour of active usage on the phone today - I am on 2G+wifi and my phone was 100% at 8am, and is now at 78% after almost 8 hours.
adrive
post Sep 2 2011, 06:58 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Sep 2 2011, 03:49 PM)
Guys and gals, I have a tip I found on crackberry forum to share. It seems that the whatsapp from App World (2.6.5918) is outdated and may be contributing to heavier than normal battery drain on the 9900.

As advised at http://goo.gl/nxB6P, I went directly to the whatsapp OTA site to update my whatsapp client and the battery's been quite ok today for me. App usage shows about 1 hour of active usage on the phone today - I am on 2G+wifi and my phone was 100% at 8am, and is now at 78% after almost 8 hours.
kmrdeva, i remembered yesterday you were testing 3G without wifi...how was the test results? Are you able to last the entire day?
kmrdeva
post Sep 2 2011, 07:15 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(adrive @ Sep 2 2011, 06:58 PM)
kmrdeva, i remembered yesterday you were testing 3G without wifi...how was the test results? Are you able to last the entire day?
That was when I had the old whatsapp program from the app world. My batt died within 12 hours on 3g with no wifi. Today on 2g with wifi and the latest whatsapp from whatsapp.com, its now 68% battery left after 11 hours.

Tomorrow I will test 3g without wifi again and update u guys. Btw my usage is moderate, 1.5 hours of 'active' time today.
adrive
post Sep 2 2011, 07:38 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Sep 2 2011, 07:15 PM)
That was when I had the old whatsapp program from the app world. My batt died within 12 hours on 3g with no wifi. Today on 2g with wifi and the latest whatsapp from whatsapp.com, its now 68% battery left after 11 hours.

Tomorrow I will test 3g without wifi again and update u guys. Btw my usage is moderate, 1.5 hours of 'active' time today.
ahaha...yeah i heard that too, quickly went and update whatsapp. maybe it affects os6 devices too.
LiteBulb
post Sep 2 2011, 08:50 PM

Validating
210 posts

3g utilises alot of juice. i could last for days on 2g network.

maybe i will try 2g with wifi always on.
SUSSimilan
post Sep 2 2011, 09:00 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(LiteBulb @ Sep 2 2011, 08:50 PM)
3g utilises alot of juice.  i could last for days on 2g network.

maybe i will try 2g with wifi always on.
in addition, 3g coverage is lousy in malaysia, even klg valley area.
if u turn on 3g, the smartphone will use a lot of battery juice to try and stay on 3g especially when signal is week.

SUSSimilan
post Sep 2 2011, 09:04 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Sep 2 2011, 02:56 PM)
I would suggest you to use your current telco if you are happy with it. DiGi is a little risky where at some places, you almost can't access the internet even on EDGE mode. Their network has got a little bad recently but luckily, my area is still OK on EDGE (3G is gone case).

If you are looking for a cheaper option, then DiGi might fit into your plan.
king of network coverage and reasonable price - celcom
king of brand image and hefty price - maxis
king of economy - digi

unless u r unhappy with ur current telco, suggest u stick with it.
if u wanna test digi network, can test drive using prepaid pack.

83 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:34 AM