I'm not sure if this has been posted before, but Gamer's Hell Kurt Knudsen (I have no clue who he is) has written a journal on becoming a game developer.
Game Design & Programming 101, cout << "Updated 11th February" << endl;
Aug 18 2005, 11:24 PM
6,727 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 6 feet under at Bloodgulch Outpost Alpha Number 1 |
I'm not sure if this has been posted before, but Gamer's Hell Kurt Knudsen (I have no clue who he is) has written a journal on becoming a game developer.
Aug 19 2005, 01:47 AM
1,051 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Brisbane, QLD, Ostolia |
whoah thats soo like a free suckup to Game Institute
Aug 19 2005, 03:05 AM
6,727 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 6 feet under at Bloodgulch Outpost Alpha Number 1 |
QUOTE(C-Fu @ Aug 19 2005, 01:47 AM) Yeah, I kinda got that vibe after the second paragraph... Too obvious Anyway, here's another game developer article... Not exactly related to development directly, but more towards marketting once you get your game finished. How to use and abuse the gaming press and how they want to use and abuse you by Kieron Gillen |
Aug 19 2005, 03:18 PM
Haha (sorry) that one's good
updated 1st post to include some other blogs that I just remembered Have you guys come across this game toolkit called Kaneva? Seems to be pretty good, but I haven't tried it yet. Supposedly you can import 3dsmax models into the toolkit and create game worlds pretty easily. I don't use Smax so I don't like this oh and be sure to read that gamasutra article that i put on the 1st post! look under other links This post has been edited by C-Fu: Aug 21 2005, 07:52 AM |
Aug 23 2005, 03:33 PM
145 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: here |
try download this 3D_Room.PDF from egallery.me.uk
It was a project report by a guy named Martin Adam. beginners like me should take a peek. |
Aug 24 2005, 10:53 AM
137 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Where do u guys get the info for these sites? game magazines?
QUOTE Hi guys, can i join?? I've just found this thread. Okay let's put it this way...I'm a bit like Hunt...too old to be changing careers(actually for Hunt, 24 is NOT TOO OLD!!!)....but i DID dabble in the industry for a short period and actually make some working demos. But now, all my C++ and DX is but a distant memories...still i like to see u young guys to succeed, where i did not. U know, if u guys are really serious, you really should start a simple project to get the ball rolling. Even a simple space invader game is good enough. Don't be over ambitious, start simple and progress from there. I can contribute where possible, if only as a hobby, but I doubt i can do much now...too old and not enough time!!! LOL. As for game designer vs game programming, i believe both are quite different. However, it's the people with the tech skill that is most lacking now. In this age, a single person hiding in the basement to work on a project for 5 years (something mentioned by Cheese i think) doesn't works anymore. Time to market is very important. That is why many companies are taking the easy route by buying license for game engines. I fully agree to this...no point in re-inventing the wheel unless your wheel can fly!! Unfortunately, these license cost millions(USD) and unless you've a solid team with experience, it is a very high risk. For noobs, with no experience, no exposure and NO MONEY (LOL!), this is definitely a no-solution. Okay, enough for now, later guys. Well thanks for the comment matrix. IMO working in your basement can be hard but the results it wields can sometimes be fantastic (given if youre working expert in gaming) for example: project offset. This post has been edited by Hunt: Aug 24 2005, 11:00 AM |
Aug 24 2005, 01:23 PM
890 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
sometimes u don need to have a team of 50 - 100 people to create a good game... who knows one freelancer working on a game by himself (maybe with the help of some other ppl) may create a hit game..., sometimes big corporations know nothing about the fun in games
Aug 25 2005, 09:30 AM
15,022 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Damansara Jaya/Bandar Utama |
QUOTE(jason83 @ Aug 24 2005, 01:23 PM) sometimes u don need to have a team of 50 - 100 people to create a good game... who knows one freelancer working on a game by himself (maybe with the help of some other ppl) may create a hit game..., sometimes big corporations know nothing about the fun in games That is true. The thing for small timer is to think big but do small. You have to find a niche market. I believe there's still a lot of niche market out there for games. There's no point trying to do sub FPS game as we'll never be able to beat DOOM3 for it's graphics, nor should we be doing a racing sim coz GranTurismo is just unbeatable.Also the PC platform still has lots of opportunity i believe coz there's just so limited genre there (mainly FPS and RTS). Compare to consoles, consoles has much more variety. But marketing is also VERY important....big corporation may know nothing about fun games, but they sure the heck knows marketing(with a big budget to boot). Personnaly a lot of big games are just a big bore, but it still SELLS. Small timer cannot compete this way, so must think of other ways. Another market that small timer can go for is mobile phone games. They're 2D and easy to make. But you've to find a way to distribute and sell the game via those mobile service provider. For me, i don't fancy those mobile phone games...or even Gameboy games....i want big screen!!! but there is a market there. This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 25 2005, 09:30 AM |
Aug 25 2005, 09:31 AM
QUOTE(Hunt @ Aug 24 2005, 10:53 AM) Where do u guys get the info for these sites? game magazines? Sorry. What is project offset? Care to point a link?Well thanks for the comment matrix. IMO working in your basement can be hard but the results it wields can sometimes be fantastic (given if youre working expert in gaming) for example: project offset. |
Aug 25 2005, 10:04 AM
827 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: F*CkinG WonDerLanD |
QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 25 2005, 09:30 AM) Another market that small timer can go for is mobile phone games. They're 2D and easy to make. But you've to find a way to distribute and sell the game via those mobile service provider. YUP! mobile game, it's still very new n not many competitors, unlike other console like ps2 or pc games. i think if anyone of u wan to get involve into gaming industry should consider mobile games also. beside, 3D isn't always good, sometime i prefer the old fashion 2D style for ur information there oledi got some mobile game company in malaysia, one of them is Unrealmind Interactive, the one who created Shabox This post has been edited by hwa107: Aug 25 2005, 10:04 AM |
Aug 25 2005, 05:23 PM
965 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kajang |
QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 25 2005, 09:31 AM) projectoffset.com of course. The people working on the Offset Engine were previously on the team behind the game "Savage: battle for Newerth", a hybrid RTS+FPS game.btw, anyone browsing the Quake 3 source code yet? It was released under the GPL earlier this week, a 5.6MB zip file. This post has been edited by silkworm: Aug 25 2005, 05:28 PM |
Aug 25 2005, 10:24 PM
I haven't, but someone did
can't post it here for obvious reasons QUOTE Another market that small timer can go for is mobile phone games. They're 2D and easy to make. easy to market as well This post has been edited by C-Fu: Aug 25 2005, 10:29 PM |
Aug 27 2005, 05:42 PM
1,281 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
is there any future for our local game programmers in malaysia?
as far as i m concern we can't compare to EA games, blizzard, westwood, etc |
Aug 27 2005, 08:43 PM
QUOTE(yingchai @ Aug 27 2005, 05:42 PM) is there any future for our local game programmers in malaysia? Good question.as far as i m concern we can't compare to EA games, blizzard, westwood, etc The Answer is: Not much. Unless you intend to go overseas and start your carreer there. Otherwise....tough luck dude. btw, i believe there were two Penang guys who was involved in the development of one of the Need for Speed games from EA. Also, local game soft house GameBrains(probably THE game soft house in Malaysia) also a developer for EA and has publish some Gameboy games. No console game yet i believed. |
Aug 28 2005, 12:08 AM
1,281 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 27 2005, 08:43 PM) Good question. hmm...not bad either for our locals tooThe Answer is: Not much. Unless you intend to go overseas and start your carreer there. Otherwise....tough luck dude. btw, i believe there were two Penang guys who was involved in the development of one of the Need for Speed games from EA. Also, local game soft house GameBrains(probably THE game soft house in Malaysia) also a developer for EA and has publish some Gameboy games. No console game yet i believed. MMU is now trying to push this field eventually hope our country can be a force in PC games |
Aug 28 2005, 02:42 AM
I'll say the prospect is very, very bright. since there are no real big players over here (SEA region) it's easier to break through than over in the US. although surviving is another thing lah. I was reading an interview with one of the australian indie game companies here in Brisbane and he said something like it is hard to persuade publishers to come all the way to australia when they can just get games over there, cheaper and faster.
as for the NFS thing, yeah I noticed one Msian guy (I think he's in the US) worked on the NFS game where they have polices and all... the first one. But yeah I'm not surprised if he doesn't work there anymore.. EA's a sweatshop if you don't know. Read ea_spouse's blog if you haven't, this situation is pretty much common nowadays in the gaming industry. So think twice what you are getting into 1st post updated This post has been edited by C-Fu: Aug 28 2005, 02:56 AM |
Aug 28 2005, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(C-Fu @ Aug 28 2005, 02:42 AM) I'll say the prospect is very, very bright. since there are no real big players over here (SEA region) it's easier to break through than over in the US. although surviving is another thing lah. I was reading an interview with one of the australian indie game companies here in Brisbane and he said something like it is hard to persuade publishers to come all the way to australia when they can just get games over there, cheaper and faster. I disagree about prospect being very bright. Sure there's no big players here, but CAN U COMPETE with the world? The no of games softwarehouse here can be counted with one hand. If you're looking for a job..then your chances and choice is not much. Unless u intend to start ur own company but you need $$$ and investor. As we all know selling original here is impossible due to piracy and unless u sell ur software for RM50, i dun think anybody i going to buy it. So the only way is to sell it to overseas publisher...like what Gamebrain is doing.as for the NFS thing, yeah I noticed one Msian guy (I think he's in the US) worked on the NFS game where they have polices and all... the first one. But yeah I'm not surprised if he doesn't work there anymore.. EA's a sweatshop if you don't know. Read ea_spouse's blog if you haven't, this situation is pretty much common nowadays in the gaming industry. So think twice what you are getting into 1st post updated Yes, i know EA is a sweatshop...but it's a given...game programming is hard work...a hundred times harder than conventional programming....if you're seriously going into it....prepare to wear a T-shift with the banner saying "NO LIFE"....LOL. btw, last i heard LucasArt is setting a multimedia development down south in Singapore....so i think that is one opportunity for Malaysians, if u're willing to head down but not so under. |
Aug 28 2005, 11:48 AM
Just to clarify on the "Sweatshop: EA" sentiment, their disrespect for their workforce only applies to the more "trivial" development jobs like art designers, animators, writers, "meanial" coders, etc.
I'm not saying I support EA, but its not like they treat everyone under their employment like crap. The reason they do so to these ppl is because they're considered inconsequential byproducts of game development. In other words, not actually part of the workforce. So, if you are indeed able to distinguish yourself in the field of game programming, then you'll unlikely not be lumped together with the rest of those poor sods. Then again, knowing how EA looks at innovation the same way, expect to lose your artistic license. |
Aug 31 2005, 10:58 AM
Actually, i'm not so impressed by EA. I'm more interested by japanese console developers like Konami, CAPCOM, Square etc.
Aug 31 2005, 02:39 PM
3,410 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Wangsa Maju, Kuala Lumpur |
I stay at Wangsa Maju and just came back from going rounding at Putra Jaya...
Will most probably be studying either at MMU or APITT.. MMU is a little too far for me to drive there back and forth from Wangsa Maju so if study there i'll have to stay in hostel... Anyone know the minimum requirements to take MMU's Software Engineering course? |
| Change to: | 0.0187sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:55 PM |