INTEL OVERCLOCKING THREAD, TIPS,Q n A, Results...Great For NueBis

baok
post Nov 5 2005, 06:18 PM

737 posts

wan 2 aSk 1 question...

if i oc my p4 lets say 3.0ghz to 3.5ghz... then i remove the proc n install it to another mobo, will it (d proc speed) remain 3.5ghz (oc) or return tu 3.0ghz (stock)...

thank u...
zt_lee
post Nov 5 2005, 07:21 PM

Footballer & Overclocker
700 posts

of cos return to 3ghz ...
zt_lee
post Nov 5 2005, 07:23 PM

Footballer & Overclocker
700 posts

QUOTE(Kyoshiro @ Nov 5 2005, 06:06 AM)
I'm having problem overclocking my pc. Here's my pc spec.
PC spec
Pentium 4 3.0E
MSI 865PE Neo2
Corsair TwinX  XMS 4000PT 512MB (500mhz) 3.4.4.8

I've tried overclocking my RAM's clockspeed to 500mhz (currently running 400mhz) but it couldn't boot. I tried running at 433mhz, it works fine but i wonder y i can't overclock it to 500mhz. The other day i asked a guy in the shop. i told him to test on my RAM. he showed me how he did it. yes indeed he really could overclock it to 500mhz with the same set of mobo n processor as mine. I've tried configured everthing in the BIOS setup but it still doesn't work. wonder wats wrong with it.
Can any1 help me out? Pls gimme some guidance. Maybe i did something wrong overclocking it.
Thx ^^
apply more vdimm if u can and make sure ur processor will stand 250fsb
blaxez
post Nov 5 2005, 08:01 PM

Aficionado
1,885 posts

QUOTE(baok @ Nov 5 2005, 06:18 PM)
wan 2 aSk 1 question...

if i oc my p4 lets say 3.0ghz to 3.5ghz... then i remove the proc n install it to another mobo, will it (d proc speed) remain 3.5ghz (oc) or return tu 3.0ghz (stock)...

thank u...
the OC settings is saved inside your BIOS, not inside your processor...
Kyoshiro
post Nov 5 2005, 09:27 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(zt_lee @ Nov 5 2005, 07:23 PM)
apply more vdimm if u can and make sure ur processor will stand 250fsb
Sorry i'm kinda noob ^^ wats a vdimm? i'm sure my processor can stand 250fsb.
baok
post Nov 5 2005, 11:18 PM

737 posts

the OC settings is saved inside your BIOS, not inside your processor...

thankz.. now i understand...

This post has been edited by baok: Nov 5 2005, 11:18 PM
zt_lee
post Nov 6 2005, 04:25 AM

Footballer & Overclocker
700 posts

QUOTE(Kyoshiro @ Nov 5 2005, 09:27 PM)
Sorry i'm kinda noob ^^ wats a vdimm? i'm sure my processor can stand 250fsb.
ddr ram voltage... it is just like vcore to raise ur cpu voltage, so this is likewise. Depend on mobo has this option or not
Shoot@M3
post Nov 6 2005, 03:03 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

Hope I'm not too late to post mine tongue.gif

Specs And Technical Data
==================
Original CPU/Socket : Intel Pentium4C 2.4GHz Socket 478 800MHz
Stepping : D1 (Code SL6WF, Batch Q322A157) <-- Made in Malaysia
Date : 6/26/2003
FSB : 200
Clock Speed : 2.4GHz
Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP) : 1.525V/2.6V/?/1.55V
Chipset : Intel 865PE
Ram Type/Speed/Timings : 3-3-3-8

Results.(Min. 3 Filled)
===============
Highest FSB : 275FSB Stable 288FSB Max
Highest RAM : 440MHz Stable 461MHz+ Max
Highest Clock Speed : 3.3GHz Stable 3.457GHz Max with CPU-Z
Highest Vcore : 1.575V stable but tested at 1.8V as well
Highest VDIMM : 2.8V <-- Limit by board loh (Abit IS7-E)

Benchmarks/Stability Testing/ Proof Of Testing. (Min 3 types of testing)
===============================================
CPU-Z Validation : @ 3.457GHz (288FSB on Air cooling)

Prime95 / PrimeTest : Not tested <-- Not for stability purpose
Super PI/ Super PI MOD : Got used but no screenie
Memtest : Not tested
Sandra Memory Bandwidth : 6025

3DMarks 2005 : 2376

3DMarks 2003 : 4856

3DMarks 2001SE: 15623

This post has been edited by Shoot@M3: Nov 6 2005, 03:07 PM
yuckfou
post Nov 7 2005, 02:54 AM

L.O.V.E R.I.P
2,249 posts

try and tighten your rams timings and c how things go.
iZuDeeN
post Nov 7 2005, 10:11 AM

3,466 posts

u o/c to 3.3Ghz but still 3dmark05 below 3k??

Shoot@M3
post Nov 7 2005, 10:16 AM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

The tightest I can go is around 2.5-3-3-6 I think. But it wasn't stable so I had to loosen a little. Been OC'ing it for 2 years plus now but changing the OC from time to time cos not stable for little gaming. Only recently change casing, new cooling etc etc. tongue.gif
zt_lee
post Nov 7 2005, 09:39 PM

Footballer & Overclocker
700 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Nov 7 2005, 10:16 AM)
The tightest I can go is around 2.5-3-3-6 I think. But it wasn't stable so I had to loosen a little. Been OC'ing it for 2 years plus now but changing the OC from time to time cos not stable for little gaming. Only recently change casing, new cooling etc etc. tongue.gif
i guess is the ram stop u, i assume u use divider rite?
Shoot@M3
post Nov 7 2005, 10:07 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

Yup divider set at 5:4
My graphic only 9550V+ woh. What to expect from 3dmark05 leh?
nizamextreme
post Nov 7 2005, 10:15 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Nov 7 2005, 10:07 PM)
Yup divider set at 5:4
My graphic only 9550V+ woh. What to expect from 3dmark05 leh?
yup 3dmark2005 really test/stress your graffic performance..mine using x800gt only get around 4500 score. huh.gif
Shoot@M3
post Nov 7 2005, 10:34 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

Ho Ho
Last time even worse leh. My ol skool FX5200 64-bit only get me 1100+ score in 3dmark03 leh... tongue.gif. Feel happier after changing to 9550. At least for now lah tongue.gif
SUSceo684
post Nov 13 2005, 03:46 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Speaking of old procs..
the black celerons, pentium2 era.

Had a c400 that blew up OCed to 420 only laugh.gif
Now i have a c500 that takes 525 easily. The fastest model by intel for this series was a 533. How far do you think this proc can go?

Can it actually make it to 560 or so? Or better stick with 525?
Shoot@M3
post Nov 13 2005, 09:49 AM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

Not so sure but I think what they say is celeron is not so good at OC. I had OC a 600EB to733MHz before but not stable. I think tualatin are much better in OC. Rite now using a Tualatin 1GHz OC at 1.32GHz. Rite now using it 24/7 at 32C temp load. Quite ok still. Advice is better check ur temp and dun push volt first. Make sure you lap properly the thermal paste cos I noticed before some mobo dun even fire up if you put the processor and HS wrongly <-- not touching. You may boot for a while then hang... You will know why if you take off the HS and while switched on, touch on the proc <-- erm not advisable tongue.gif
epsilon99
post Nov 13 2005, 10:48 PM

?????
1,711 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Nov 13 2005, 03:46 AM)
Speaking of old procs..
the black celerons, pentium2 era.

Had a c400 that blew up OCed to 420 only laugh.gif
Now i have a c500 that takes 525 easily. The fastest model by intel for this series was a 533. How far do you think this proc can go?

Can it actually make it to 560 or so? Or better stick with 525?
Your both Celeronof 400 amd 500 are of Mendocino. Or called Celeron I. The max speed of the family is 533mhz. It used 250nm process.

Chances of going higher than 533 is very low. Even at 533, it was not stable also.

The heat is an issue. Maybe you can try with those today's latest heatsink to see if can cool down your Celeron fast enough so that you can go higher.
epsilon99
post Nov 13 2005, 10:59 PM

?????
1,711 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Nov 13 2005, 09:49 AM)
Not so sure but I think what they say is celeron is not so good at OC. I had OC a 600EB to733MHz before but not stable. I think tualatin are much better in OC. Rite now using a Tualatin 1GHz OC at 1.32GHz. Rite now using it 24/7 at 32C temp load. Quite ok still. Advice is better check ur temp and dun push volt first. Make sure you lap properly the thermal paste cos I noticed before some mobo dun even fire up if you put the processor and HS wrongly <-- not touching. You may boot for a while then hang... You will know why if you take off the HS and while switched on, touch on the proc <-- erm not advisable tongue.gif
The Celeron II, the Coopermine family of 180nm process, were an excellent overclocker. The speed started from 533 until like 1000 or 1100.

You had a 600EB ? That is not Celeron, but P3. E means Coopermine/180nm and B means 133mhz FSB. Celeron has only 66 and 100 FSB.

For P3 of any EB speed, they were not popular among overclocker. Due to unable to clock higher. Not because of processor, but because of mobo limitation. And mobo limitation were mainly limited by the ram speed (pc100/133 sdaram).

Celeron Coopermine. When first released, were the hot cake among overclockers. 566mhz at 8.5 x 66, were easily overclocked to 8.5 x >95 to achieve >800mhz speed.

And better yet, eventhough Celeron has only 128k cache, compare to P3 of 256k cache, the performance at same mhz speed were less than 10% difference. But the price of a 566mhz Celeron was like 1/3 of a 800mhz P3.

valiant13
post Nov 13 2005, 11:00 PM

84 posts

does anybody overclock their p4 2.4b?? i'm planning to OC my proc.. bt the prob is that my mobo doesnt have a temp sensor.. so i cant actually gauge the temperature that my proc is at.. so i need sum guidance to where is my OC limit? my mobo is giga sg667

211 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0169sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:26 PM