epsilon99
post Nov 13 2005, 10:48 PM

?????
1,711 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Nov 13 2005, 03:46 AM)
Speaking of old procs..
the black celerons, pentium2 era.

Had a c400 that blew up OCed to 420 only laugh.gif
Now i have a c500 that takes 525 easily. The fastest model by intel for this series was a 533. How far do you think this proc can go?

Can it actually make it to 560 or so? Or better stick with 525?
Your both Celeronof 400 amd 500 are of Mendocino. Or called Celeron I. The max speed of the family is 533mhz. It used 250nm process.

Chances of going higher than 533 is very low. Even at 533, it was not stable also.

The heat is an issue. Maybe you can try with those today's latest heatsink to see if can cool down your Celeron fast enough so that you can go higher.
epsilon99
post Nov 13 2005, 10:59 PM

?????
1,711 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Nov 13 2005, 09:49 AM)
Not so sure but I think what they say is celeron is not so good at OC. I had OC a 600EB to733MHz before but not stable. I think tualatin are much better in OC. Rite now using a Tualatin 1GHz OC at 1.32GHz. Rite now using it 24/7 at 32C temp load. Quite ok still. Advice is better check ur temp and dun push volt first. Make sure you lap properly the thermal paste cos I noticed before some mobo dun even fire up if you put the processor and HS wrongly <-- not touching. You may boot for a while then hang... You will know why if you take off the HS and while switched on, touch on the proc <-- erm not advisable tongue.gif
The Celeron II, the Coopermine family of 180nm process, were an excellent overclocker. The speed started from 533 until like 1000 or 1100.

You had a 600EB ? That is not Celeron, but P3. E means Coopermine/180nm and B means 133mhz FSB. Celeron has only 66 and 100 FSB.

For P3 of any EB speed, they were not popular among overclocker. Due to unable to clock higher. Not because of processor, but because of mobo limitation. And mobo limitation were mainly limited by the ram speed (pc100/133 sdaram).

Celeron Coopermine. When first released, were the hot cake among overclockers. 566mhz at 8.5 x 66, were easily overclocked to 8.5 x >95 to achieve >800mhz speed.

And better yet, eventhough Celeron has only 128k cache, compare to P3 of 256k cache, the performance at same mhz speed were less than 10% difference. But the price of a 566mhz Celeron was like 1/3 of a 800mhz P3.

epsilon99
post Mar 22 2006, 10:04 PM

?????
1,711 posts

QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Mar 22 2006, 05:17 PM)
noob tongue.gif ..
which is better to burn in my RAM
SP2004 or memtest86? unsure.gif

Memtest86 is more on testing maximum hardware potential. Mainly the ram, cpu, memory controller and circuit boards.

While for SP2004, it is for testing maximum best optimum condition under Windows environment.

So, for me, I usually use memtest86 to find out the max that I can go. From there, I roughly know what is the max I should go in Windows. I usually will start at about 10% below the max Memtest86 speed.

This is due to if we oc too much and then run Windows, sometimes Windows or hard disk will be corrupted.
epsilon99
post Apr 5 2006, 10:37 PM

?????
1,711 posts

My D830 A0 stepping, oc to about 3500mhz also reaches >90c when full load. I use Termaltake Copper Tower with 100cfm fan. The air coming out, is so hot that sometimes, I want to be fast, put my cloth there to dry faster.

But my other D805 B0 stepping oc to 3500mhz also, using Ninja with 100cfm fan, only 37c at full load. The air is as hot as my forehead.

It looks like for Pentium D dual core, those with B0 stepping is not so hot.

0.0180sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:54 AM