113 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V10, FREE Installation Fee & SAVE RM200!!!

Kclee2002
post Apr 10 2011, 01:26 AM

5,135 posts

So i dropped the DIR615 in favour of the TP Link WR841N v7.2. Worked like a charm, and wifi radius within the house greatly increased(almost double)
VerM
post Apr 10 2011, 01:51 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Apr 10 2011, 12:14 AM)
Your argument is outright ridiculous. What you're trying to do there is comparing between an apple and a donkey. Yes, that's how bad it is. A fruit and an animal. When it comes to internet you don't go comparing between a wireless provider and a wired provider. And Maxis' FTTH? If you're smart enough to look it up you would realize that Maxis is currently working with TM for their Unifi. So chances are they're probably using the same backbone line in the first place.

And people here are dissatisfied because when compared to providers from all over the world (just look at our neighbor Singapore), we seem to be paying a hell lot for what we're actually getting. So yeah, as consumers we have the right to complain.  doh.gif
nope i dont think so... between wired and wireless services, not much of a different since both are broadband and are offering almost the same speed...and technology like Wimax/LTE is so advanced that it even referred as a standards-based technology enabling the delivery of last mile wireless broadband access as an alternative to cable and DSL... your apple and donkey doesnt apply today but 10 years ago it might...and at the rate of the wireless technology advancement, wireless broadband will surpass wired broadband in terms of speed and offering (in the range 10 - 100 Mbits)...
Do note that we are only comparing broadband services, not leased line or dedicated line...

Some reference
1) Maxis LTE Trial
2) Celcom LTE Trial

Although the last mile is different, one is wired the other is wireless, both are using fiber optic backbone....so this part is still a constant for both equations..

These wireless providers imposed quota, their rate is also very expensive compared to other countries...

A smart person like u must also know that majority provider regardless wired and wireless are using TM as their backbone (some use as redundancy)...

I felt really humble by your explanation about Maxis FTTH using TM's Unifi...(they must made the deal when I went to lunch vmad.gif )
you are truly the Internet connection guru notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by VerM: Apr 10 2011, 02:52 AM
paqralos
post Apr 10 2011, 02:06 AM

p@qY
4,476 posts

Hi guys,
If i were to use ppstv about 60% of my time, what package from tm i shud subscribe eh?? Bb plan or unifi??
Any sifu pls help...

Thank you..
ahpaul82
post Apr 10 2011, 02:35 AM

.:保罗:.
3,795 posts

QUOTE(VerM @ Apr 9 2011, 05:26 PM)
So... paul... how many Terabytes of pirated content have u downloaded....  innocent.gif
tongue.gif
usually i will delete after watch/use... whistling.gif rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Apr 9 2011, 06:41 PM)
Not sure if you noticed but at 9GB downloads per week, he'll have no issues keeping below even a 60GB quota.  laugh.gif

you should look for Total downloaded,
1week = 37GB+
4weeks = 37GB x 4 = ???GB...

rolleyes.gif whistling.gif
charymsylyn
post Apr 10 2011, 02:53 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(VerM @ Apr 10 2011, 01:51 AM)
nope i dont think so... between wired and wireless services, not much of a different since both are broadband and are offering almost the same speed...and technology like Wimax/LTE is so advanced that it even referred as a standards-based technology enabling the delivery of last mile wireless broadband access as an alternative to cable and DSL... your apple and donkey doesnt apply today but 10 years ago it might...and at the rate of the wireless technology advancement, wireless broadband will surpass wired broadband in terms of speed and offering (in the range 10 - 100 Mbits)...
Do note that we are only comparing broadband services, not leased line or dedicated line...

Some reference
1) Maxis LTE Trial
2) Celcom LTE Trial

Although the last mile is different, one is wired the other is wireless, both are using fiber optic backbone....so this part is still a constant for both equations..

A smart person like u must also know that majority provider regardless wired and wireless are using TM as their backbone (some use as redundancy)...

Perhaps my years of involvement in Internet infrastructure technology doesn't measure to your level of knowledge... you seems to know better than me...
I bet you know what's unifi bandwidth capacity? The actual size of TM fiber optic backbone? How much TM is paying for internet exchange? How much Internet traffic deficit Malaysia is experiencing (more outgoing than incoming)?

I felt really humble by your explanation about Maxis FTTH using TM's Unifi...(they must made the deal when I went to lunch  vmad.gif )
you are truly the Internet connection guru  rclxms.gif
I'm not an expert on this matter, but BlueHeng is probably slightly closer to the correct scenario with our current understanding of physics. Wireless will always be slower than wired broadband given the same technological levels. This is because wireless broadband is limited by available spectrum. Any spectrum that can be allocated for broadband usage will always be limited simply because we need to share the airwaves with other users and devices. Wired mediums have much less constraints.

Based on the info posted before at the Maxis FTTH thread, I believe Maxis only covers very limited areas with their own fibre. Elsewhere piggybacks on Unifi. They did announce a joint agreement with TM not very long ago.

Added on April 10, 2011, 2:55 am
QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Apr 10 2011, 02:35 AM)

1week = 37GB+

rolleyes.gif  whistling.gif
I'm embarrassed to say I actually use this sidebar gadget, yet I still made this mistake. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by charymsylyn: Apr 10 2011, 02:55 AM
VerM
post Apr 10 2011, 03:00 AM

117 posts

tongue.gif
usually i will delete after watch/use...  whistling.gif  rolleyes.gif

1week = 37GB+

Same here Paul, download, watch and later delete...(wanted to see which one are good, later buy from amazon)

but I way past this download frenzy.... i used to be really crazy about downloading 4-5 years ago... one day can download almost 30GB stuff

now, i use my unifi mainly for surfing, iptv and streaming... earlier this evening i watch f1 qualifying direct from bbc uk using their iplayer...

i'm trying to compile a few HD streaming channel so that i can reduce my astro package...

This post has been edited by VerM: Apr 10 2011, 03:01 AM
rattan
post Apr 10 2011, 03:27 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

Im wondering why did TM limit their business packages to 20MB, im sure their full fiber optic backbone can go up to 100mbps. Im just wondering, please no flaming here.
VerM
post Apr 10 2011, 03:32 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Apr 10 2011, 02:53 AM)
I'm not an expert on this matter, but BlueHeng is probably slightly closer to the correct scenario with our current understanding of physics. Wireless will always be slower than wired broadband given the same technological levels. This is because wireless broadband is limited by available spectrum. Any spectrum that can be allocated for broadband usage will always be limited simply because we need to share the airwaves with other users and devices. Wired mediums have much less constraints.

Based on the info posted before at the Maxis FTTH thread, I believe Maxis only covers very limited areas with their own fibre. Elsewhere piggybacks on Unifi. They did announce a joint agreement with TM not very long ago.

Added on April 10, 2011, 2:55 am

I'm embarrassed to say I actually use this sidebar gadget, yet I still made this mistake.  shakehead.gif
If we talking physics, then yes, the limitation is there...

however, the spectrum is dedicated, meaning to say no other devices or frequencies can interfere with it... For example, if we use our hp, which uses certain spectrum (GSM), can we hear people using walkie-talkie in our hp or radio taxi?

What i'm really trying to say is, if we subscribe 20Mbit wireless broadband, we should get our download rate up to 2.5Mbyte is it not? Similar to wired broadband....

I'm talking of about Internet services with both technology.. it should be the same level of connectivity, quality and services, and we should get what we subscribed isn't?

I put another example, when using unifi at home wirelessly (instead of plugging eth cable direct to the dlink), we still managed to download up to speed right? Does speedtest.net shows any different between wired and wireless? The difference is there but negligible when we average it...

If ppl fail to see this discussion beyond physical medium, then i won't say anything further...please google for further reading...

p/s: I already know about Maxis FTTH - TM Unifi. I was there...*sigh*

Added on April 10, 2011, 3:37 am
QUOTE(rattan @ Apr 10 2011, 03:27 AM)
Im wondering why did TM limit their business packages to 20MB, im sure their full fiber optic backbone can go up to 100mbps. Im just wondering, please no flaming here.
1GBit actually... the package is designed not to interfere with other business offering i.e metro-e, lease line...etc..

This post has been edited by VerM: Apr 10 2011, 03:45 AM
rattan
post Apr 10 2011, 03:47 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(VerM @ Apr 10 2011, 03:32 AM)

however, the spectrum is dedicated, meaning to say no other devices or frequencies can interfere with it... For example, if we use our hp, which uses certain spectrum (GSM), can we hear people using walkie-talkie in our hp or radio taxi?

What i'm really trying to say is, if we subscribe 20Mbit wireless broadband, we should get our download rate up to 2.5Mbyte is it not? Similar to wired broadband....

I'm talking of about Internet services with both technology.. it should be the same level of connectivity, quality and services, and we should get what we subscribed isn't?

I put another example, when using unifi at home wirelessly (instead of plugging eth cable direct to the dlink), we still managed to download up to speed right? Does speedtest.net shows any different between wired and wireless? The difference is there but negligible when we average it...

If ppl fail to see this discussion beyond physical medium, then i won't say anything further...please google for further reading...

1GBit actually... the package is designed not to interfere with other business offering  i.e metro-e, lease line...etc..
You know any business that is running on 1GBPS internet connection here in Malaysia ?
VerM
post Apr 10 2011, 03:49 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Apr 10 2011, 03:47 AM)
You know any business that is running on 1GBPS internet connection here in Malaysia ?
there are some...

let me share you a tip, 1Gbit leased bandwidth is a lot cheaper than having 500Mbit leased line... if you can see why...

This post has been edited by VerM: Apr 10 2011, 03:52 AM
BlueHeng
post Apr 10 2011, 03:56 AM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(VerM @ Apr 10 2011, 03:32 AM)

1GBit actually... the package is designed not to interfere with other business offering  i.e metro-e, lease line...etc..
Then you've probably failed to see why most of us are still going to ignore your explanation and continue to complain about the cap. Maybe I should try to explain in point form so that you can understand my views as an end-user.

1. I like wired connection, it's faster and more stable.
2. Compared to wireless connection, it's way cheaper. I don't care about whether they can make it cheaper in the future. As a consumer all I care is what I'm getting now. I've been comparing wireless and wired internet connections and I don't see why I should consider wireless ones.
3. I compare with overseas providers and hey hey, why is internet in Singapore and Australia cheaper??? (I'm no expert but is it THAT much more expensive to provide FTTH services compared to cable and ADSL2+?)

That's all there is to it. If TM has an explanation on why they have to charge so much and give us crappy cap (other than to provide fair usage to all users - yeah, then why other countries can make do without lame 60GB caps?), why won't they just tell us? Marketing strategy? Business laws? Company policies? Consumers just don't really care about it unless you start explaining.

This post has been edited by BlueHeng: Apr 10 2011, 04:00 AM
ahpaul82
post Apr 10 2011, 10:21 AM

3,795 posts

QUOTE(VerM @ Apr 10 2011, 03:00 AM)
Same here Paul, download, watch and later delete...(wanted to see which one are good, later buy from amazon)

but I way past this download frenzy.... i used to be really crazy about downloading 4-5 years ago... one day can download almost 30GB stuff

now, i use my unifi mainly for surfing, iptv and streaming... earlier this evening i watch f1 qualifying direct from bbc uk using their iplayer...

i'm trying to compile a few HD streaming channel so that i can reduce my astro package...
wah, 30GB per day?! you lagi crazy... sweat.gif

Any nice HD channel sharing?

Too bad Astro monopoly all the sports channel sad.gif

Do PM me if this topic is disallow to discuss over here. biggrin.gif
herojack41
post Apr 10 2011, 10:22 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Apr 10 2011, 03:27 AM)
they reserve for big corporate also
alkt
post Apr 10 2011, 10:54 AM

^_^
10,231 posts

QUOTE(Kclee2002 @ Apr 10 2011, 01:26 AM)
So i dropped the DIR615 in favour of the TP Link WR841N v7.2. Worked like a charm, and wifi radius within the house greatly increased(almost double)
nice, what about ur iptv?

1week = 37GB+

my unifi ngam ngam 6 days old ady...1 day 10gb only sad.gif
xiiao1047
post Apr 10 2011, 11:00 AM

290 posts

dayumm =D
I really wanna get unifi after seeing all your speeds,
but my mom doesnt like the drilling.
They say the have to drill the wall and tilees.
=(
hazairi
post Apr 10 2011, 11:07 AM

2,694 posts

guys, do u think that after we finish the 2 years contract, we will get discount for the monthly fees?
Because the amount we pay right now surely including the equipment cost.
Just like streamyx last time..
princelim87
post Apr 10 2011, 11:09 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(xiiao1047 @ Apr 10 2011, 11:00 AM)
dayumm =D
I really wanna get unifi after seeing all your speeds,
but my mom doesnt like the drilling.
They say the have to drill the wall and tilees.
=(
it depends on how u wan the contractor to do it..

mine very minimal
just drill a small hole form outside to kitchen.. then all the way straight to living room.
cant even notice the small hole laugh.gif
xiiao1047
post Apr 10 2011, 11:14 AM

290 posts

QUOTE(princelim87 @ Apr 10 2011, 11:09 AM)
it depends on how u wan the contractor to do it..
mine very minimal
just drill a small hole form outside to kitchen.. then all the way straight to living room.
cant even notice the small hole  laugh.gif
is your living room so further than your kitchen? 0.0.
Good for you!
IDK but tht time the contractor came they said they have to take off the tiles. Cause my living room is near my lawn, my lawn near my gate ... =(

ahpaul82
post Apr 10 2011, 11:17 AM

3,795 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Apr 10 2011, 10:54 AM)
my unifi ngam ngam 6 days old ady...1 day 10gb only sad.gif
terrible-nya...
sweat.gif

Total download 52GB+ now,
i think another one or two days my 60GB Quota will be finish soon ...
wonder will kena capped speed...? hmm.gif
pippin1234
post Apr 10 2011, 06:46 PM

Hi guys,I have been using unifi for a few months now, how many of you are getting download speeds higher than advertised / higher than upload speeds? For me its usually upload speed 1.5-2x my download speeds. How I wish it was the other way round....

113 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0168sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:21 AM