Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V10, FREE Installation Fee & SAVE RM200!!!

BlueHeng
post Apr 10 2011, 12:14 AM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(VerM @ Apr 9 2011, 11:58 PM)
the quota is subjective.... if everybody is saying its not enough...then by all mean it is not enough...

my knowledge about broadband may be a bit rusty and out of date so please be kind....

ok let me see...

This is maxis ftth (without iptv)

[attachmentid=2145474]

This is maxis wireless broadband

[attachmentid=2145475]

This is celcom wireless broadband

[attachmentid=2145478]

This is P1 4G

[attachmentid=2145489]

And finally TM, RM149 with 60GB quota and Iptv....
If TM service is not satisfactory then by all mean, there are other providers in Malaysia...with better caps biggrin.gif why bother complaining about Unifi capping at all...
Your argument is outright ridiculous. What you're trying to do there is comparing between an apple and a donkey. Yes, that's how bad it is. A fruit and an animal. When it comes to internet you don't go comparing between a wireless provider and a wired provider. And Maxis' FTTH? If you're smart enough to look it up you would realize that Maxis is currently working with TM for their Unifi. So chances are they're probably using the same backbone line in the first place.

And people here are dissatisfied because when compared to providers from all over the world (just look at our neighbor Singapore), we seem to be paying a hell lot for what we're actually getting. So yeah, as consumers we have the right to complain. doh.gif
BlueHeng
post Apr 10 2011, 03:56 AM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(VerM @ Apr 10 2011, 03:32 AM)
If we talking physics, then yes, the limitation is there...

however, the spectrum is dedicated, meaning to say no other devices or frequencies can interfere with it... For example, if we use our hp, which uses certain spectrum (GSM), can we hear people using walkie-talkie in our hp or radio taxi?

What i'm really trying to say is, if we subscribe 20Mbit wireless broadband, we should get our download rate up to 2.5Mbyte is it not? Similar to wired broadband....

I'm talking of about Internet services with both technology.. it should be the same level of connectivity, quality and services, and we should get what we subscribed isn't?

I put another example, when using unifi at home wirelessly (instead of plugging eth cable direct to the dlink), we still managed to download up to speed right? Does speedtest.net shows any different between wired and wireless? The difference is there but negligible when we average it...

If ppl fail to see this discussion beyond physical medium, then i won't say anything further...please google for further reading...

p/s: I already know about Maxis FTTH - TM Unifi. I was there...*sigh*

Added on April 10, 2011, 3:37 am

1GBit actually... the package is designed not to interfere with other business offering  i.e metro-e, lease line...etc..
Then you've probably failed to see why most of us are still going to ignore your explanation and continue to complain about the cap. Maybe I should try to explain in point form so that you can understand my views as an end-user.

1. I like wired connection, it's faster and more stable.
2. Compared to wireless connection, it's way cheaper. I don't care about whether they can make it cheaper in the future. As a consumer all I care is what I'm getting now. I've been comparing wireless and wired internet connections and I don't see why I should consider wireless ones.
3. I compare with overseas providers and hey hey, why is internet in Singapore and Australia cheaper??? (I'm no expert but is it THAT much more expensive to provide FTTH services compared to cable and ADSL2+?)

That's all there is to it. If TM has an explanation on why they have to charge so much and give us crappy cap (other than to provide fair usage to all users - yeah, then why other countries can make do without lame 60GB caps?), why won't they just tell us? Marketing strategy? Business laws? Company policies? Consumers just don't really care about it unless you start explaining.

This post has been edited by BlueHeng: Apr 10 2011, 04:00 AM
BlueHeng
post Apr 11 2011, 09:07 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Apr 11 2011, 07:41 PM)
guys, i'm thinking of getting unifi.
which package shud i take?
which package is more worth it?
How do you expect us to answer your question? You need to give us more details.

1. Do you download A LOT?
2. YouTube?
3. Amount of users at home?
4. Do you use the house phone a lot (to call local fixed line and mobile numbers)?
5. Are you interested in the IPTV service?

etc...
BlueHeng
post May 7 2011, 05:14 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(nazseha @ May 7 2011, 04:02 PM)
Unifi throttle YouTube now? b4 tiz i can stream 1080P without any buffering...now even 720P nid to pause n wait b4 it can be stream without buffering...sigh..download speed still normal tho..
Still streaming 1080p without problems
BlueHeng
post May 10 2011, 12:13 AM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(Ks10ng @ May 9 2011, 11:19 PM)
lousy unifi customer service... Email them for half year.... never receive reply from them... dunno all the pig do wat...

Added on May 9, 2011, 11:23 pmI think we need to call customer service F* them always, only they feel song.... else they wont entertaint us by email...
Call them are wasting my time...

My experience for streamyx, unstable line and no service always for more than 4 months... MAKE COMPLAINT early more than 20 time... create more than 3 report.. END UP problem no solve and asking me pay the bill without use the service... F* TM

Added on May 9, 2011, 11:29 pmContinue.......

I give up and go to TM point to terminate the service IMMEDIATLY.
After a few week, go another TM point to pay telefon bill... then ask the staff to check my streamyx status to double confirm terminate... WAT HAPPEN? My streamyx still ACTIVE... WTF... I really no idea all the pig doing wat...  Ask me pay again for the reminder week.... THIS IS DAYLIGHT ROBBER....

Please becarefull for the TM service... Share it out...
QUOTE(Ks10ng @ May 10 2011, 12:04 AM)
Remember to F* them gao gao else they wont solve for u...
Log more than 1 report... 1 report is no enough to solve...
Seriously dude have you ever worked as a customer service representative over the phone? Because if you have, you would know that they're almost powerless in most cases. Call them, annoy them, pester them, it's fine. But if you think swearing or as you say F* them is going to speed up the process, you really need to think again. A better solution will be to get them to patch you through to their managers or supervisors. No point wasting your time on those phone operators because you might as well go swear at the mirror.
BlueHeng
post May 12 2011, 08:29 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ May 12 2011, 02:45 PM)
Experienced the same issue again, suddenly just can't surf anything although still remain connected.

Router showing connected for about 3 hours 30 minutes already and out of a sudden this problem came again. sweat.gif
I'm suffering from the same problem too. Disconnects very often for the past 3-4 hours.
BlueHeng
post May 12 2011, 11:07 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ May 12 2011, 09:35 PM)
i have to redial 3 times today to be able to surf... what's going on? same issue like OKLy. though connected but can't surf and i can even make any calls eventhough my VOIP light is lit up
Yeap VOIP works although there's frequent disconnection. Funny thing is you still can ping www.yahoo.com LOL!
BlueHeng
post May 13 2011, 02:37 PM

1,604 posts

My Unifi's been down for quite a while. on and off since yesterday. Report made.
BlueHeng
post May 13 2011, 02:44 PM

1,604 posts

lol I'm wondering whether we're eligible for any compensation.. with all the monthly shit they're putting us through.. zzzz
BlueHeng
post May 13 2011, 02:58 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ May 13 2011, 02:45 PM)
Had the same issue of being connected but unable to surf earlier. Started from about 1.30pm and lasted for an hour. Restart modem/router so many times, can get connected with an IP but unable to surf. Really frustrated when this happens.
Doubt restarting the modem is going to help. Been doing that countless times. Gave up in the end and decided to just use Shitmyx. vmad.gif
BlueHeng
post May 13 2011, 03:42 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(scofield @ May 13 2011, 03:26 PM)
so is the connection ok now?
nope. not working properly
BlueHeng
post May 14 2011, 12:58 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(linkokkeen @ May 14 2011, 12:05 PM)
here got Unifi agent or not?
i want to ask, why jln bukit bintang at Prince court medical centre place ah, whole road got unifi, most of the working building got unifi support, but why our building didnt have ah?
My building is Wisma Kebudayaan SGM, 243, Jalan bukit bintang, and there give me the reason is unifi support will available at 4Q 2011. but why other building or restaurant or petrol station got unifi support, but us no?
why why why?
When you're talking about high rise buildings it's NOT as simple as installing fiber optic in normal homes. In normal houses or single storey buildings all you need to do is drag a fiber optic cable into the house and you're set. But for high rise buildings it's dependent on your building's existing wiring as you'll be utilizing VDSL instead of FTTH.
BlueHeng
post May 18 2011, 02:04 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(aaronlim @ May 18 2011, 01:50 PM)
Hi All Unifi Sifus,

I just moved to a new place in Puchong (Park Villa, Bkt Puchong 2).  I actually planning to transfer streamyx broadband from existing hse, but TM told me that that new area only covers Unifi and cannot transfer.  Is it true? anyone faced this prob?  Tak kan ppl who just want a voice package, cannot meh?

Ended up I apply for Unifi..but the installation schedule is 23 July !!! so long waiting !! Sigh !!
That's just crap... hmm.gif
BlueHeng
post May 25 2011, 11:58 AM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(ckboon @ May 25 2011, 11:49 AM)
my latest fiber cable setup

re-pull from ground floor to 1st floor, mounted to the wall at staircase.

Woah look at the number of fans! rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
BlueHeng
post May 28 2011, 11:17 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(thx @ May 28 2011, 08:13 PM)
Hi, unifi newbie here .... Is that true call to tm fixedl line nationwide is free and unlimited? Im on vip5 , tq
The unlimited has some FUP so just be careful. Other than that, yes.. it's pretty much FOC.
BlueHeng
post May 31 2011, 10:57 AM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ May 31 2011, 07:31 AM)

Added on May 31, 2011, 7:37 am

im doing a survey here. seems like no one really request waiver or rebates from tm unifi before.can i draw a conclusion that basically everyone are satisfied with unifi after installation and didn't encounter any service disconnection or interruption of network. only me facing service disconnection after installation?
So far I've been facing at least 1 day downtime every month. IF it happens again next month I'll make a big deal out of it and request some sort of compensation.
BlueHeng
post May 31 2011, 12:39 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(GooD_DaY @ May 31 2011, 12:20 PM)
Hi guys I just installed Unifi VIP5, speedtest shows that download speed is 4.87MBPS, but my download is only 200+kbps.
Is it normal?
@@
Which site are you downloading from? You can't expect the same download speed from every server. I might get 1Gbps when downloading from Earth but only 0.5Mbps when downloading something from Mars.
BlueHeng
post Jun 9 2011, 03:58 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(bizness @ Jun 9 2011, 01:40 PM)
Is this normal for VIP20?..

Ignore the damn ping cause i'm using VDSL2..

I would appreciate if there is any FTTH user for VIP20 can post their speedtest here..

Thanks smile.gif
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

What were you hoping to be the normal standard? 25mbps download and 100mbps upload? You're getting more than 80% of what you're paying. That's more than you can ever ask for from tmnet. laugh.gif

0.0494sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:45 PM