127 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V2 °°, The Power Of Hybrid. Owners Welcome !

wkho555
post Apr 10 2011, 07:36 PM

Human from Earth
3,128 posts

QUOTE(s3nInsight @ Apr 10 2011, 06:27 PM)
I2 = Insight Gen 2

My only concern is that the IMA Battery is not design for country with extreme hot weather like ours.
well. the battery wit 5 years warranty. if it gonna like wat u said. honda will come up wit solution. if not u cant imagine how many battery they gonna replace.... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by wkho555: Apr 10 2011, 07:38 PM
orbclyne
post Apr 10 2011, 07:42 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(s3nInsight @ Apr 10 2011, 04:12 PM)
Hi, I'm still considering of getting an I2 but I am worry about how the IMA battery is going to react under the hot sun in this country. From what I've read from I2 owners in other country, the IMA battery will discharge by itself under hot weather and this will cause loss of power because the electric motor will not be able to assist. This also will greatly shorten the lifespan of the battery. This happened alot in the Civic Hybrid and the the IMA system used in the CIVIC is the same as in the one in I2.

Do any of the Malaysian I2 owner face problem with the IMA battery especially when parked under the hot sun for long period of time?
I thought it will force charge the battery in hot temperature, not discharge it. correct me if i am wrong.

watonk
post Apr 10 2011, 07:42 PM

I2 = Insight Gen 2

My only concern is that the IMA Battery is not design for country with extreme hot weather like ours.
In some part of US, there were areas where the temperature are even hotter than us. Not to say the humidity after winter. Still no battery complaint since I1 (since 1999).

For me these battery issue are just hearsay. Maybe theres one or two isolated cases globally where battery spoils under warranty but it was more on the manufacturing defects rather than genuine or typical issues with the battery.

U can always google around and look for any common problems with the car (if theres any). U can also read this long term test drive for example.
http://cars.about.com/od/2010hondainsight/...sight_intro.htm
areszues92
post Apr 10 2011, 07:48 PM

168 posts

I'm sure Honda has thought this over if they want to sell internationally..
s3nInsight
post Apr 10 2011, 08:20 PM

I just hope what u guys said are right because all of the comments from people in the US facing problem with the IMA battery only happens during summer time.

Also the IMA Battery warranty is only applicable if the IMA System failure indicator appears. Meaning if your IMA battery shut-off or has lower charge to assist the engine and causes the milleage performance to drop but is not fully failing, Honda Malaysia won't replaced it.

Maybe I should wait a little while before getting one.
Thanks for all the feedback.

groovy
post Apr 10 2011, 09:02 PM

I2 = Insight Gen 2

what is Insight Gen 2?

ahh meng
post Apr 10 2011, 09:05 PM

Does anyone know about this brand of tint?

dono worth to take it or not... rm1700, got 1 time free replacement if screen kena break in. 10 year warranty somemore.
tested to feel the heat from IR lamp... very good anywhere.

it's at SS2 near RHB bank there, intro by SA.

someone please enlighten me which tint to go for..... doh.gif rclxub.gif

wkho555
post Apr 10 2011, 09:06 PM

Human from Earth
3,128 posts

QUOTE(groovy @ Apr 10 2011, 09:02 PM)
what is Insight Gen 2?
the new insight we get is 2nd generation tongue.gif
ZeroSP
post Apr 10 2011, 09:33 PM

184 posts

For that price you better go for 3M from some of the bros
rnizam
post Apr 10 2011, 09:36 PM

13 posts

i just sms with my SA, he told me that priority goes to non discount customer.. hehe.. they give discount to get sale, once we put our deposit, we not their prority anymore.. haha..

i order on march, aspected by end of may i should get it. now nobody can't confirm it
ZeroSP
post Apr 10 2011, 10:18 PM

184 posts

To all Insightians who wish to order car mat from me, I appreciated but I would like some new guys to actually read up my thread before pm-ing me for those info I written clearly in RED BIG BOLD at my thread.

Thanks... And happy eco-motoring, green eco warriors
dinkoi
post Apr 10 2011, 10:28 PM

QUOTE(groovy @ Apr 10 2011, 09:02 PM)
what is Insight Gen 2?
2nd. Generation Insight
watonk
post Apr 10 2011, 10:33 PM

QUOTE(s3nInsight @ Apr 10 2011, 08:20 PM)
I just hope what u guys said are right because all of the comments from people in the US facing problem with the IMA battery only happens during summer time.

Also the IMA Battery warranty is only applicable if the IMA System failure indicator appears. Meaning if your IMA battery shut-off or has lower charge to assist the engine and causes the milleage performance to drop but is not fully failing, Honda Malaysia won't replaced it.

Maybe I should wait a little while before getting one.
Thanks for all the feedback.
The lifespan of the battery also puzzles me initially. Our normal NiMh battery which we used on older version laptop or handphones usually lasted only 2 to 3 years only.

For the insight, Honda dares to warrant the battery for 5 years. And most of the 1st generation Insight (since 99-2000) still running on their original battery. I'm pretty sure a thorough R&D has been done to make sure these hybrid cars are practical and as reliable as its normal combustion cars. I dont mind if the battery has to be replace after 8 to 10 years coz normal cars will also gone thorough major service by then (which also quite costly).

At least we have 1.3 in case the battery is causing trouble. blush.gif

ZeroSP
post Apr 10 2011, 11:43 PM

184 posts

Actually do not worry of the battery I said... You will know it won't fail you such easily...
malach_hamaves83
post Apr 10 2011, 11:59 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(areszues92 @ Apr 10 2011, 02:35 PM)
Sure. Three beeps.
yes... now i realized 3 beeps (sund so sopan like perempuan).....hardly heard!
jimleow
post Apr 11 2011, 12:00 AM

I saw an advertisement in mudah.my that someone is selling Honda Insight MUGEN bodykit for RM 3,500 in Malaysia. The link to the seller is shown below:

Honda Insight MUGEN bodykit Link

Brother ZeroSP, can you get cheaper price than this using the same material? If yes, when will it be available? Thanks.
Mr.DC
post Apr 11 2011, 12:18 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(jimleow @ Apr 11 2011, 12:00 AM)
I saw an advertisement in mudah.my that someone is selling Honda Insight MUGEN bodykit for RM 3,500 in Malaysia. The link to the seller is shown below:

Honda Insight MUGEN bodykit Link

Brother ZeroSP, can you get cheaper price than this using the same material? If yes, when will it be available? Thanks.
RM3500 too expensive, somemore front grille are excluded
Happyman
post Apr 11 2011, 12:48 AM

163 posts

I think lower spring and rims before body kit would be more appropriate.
ZeroSP
post Apr 11 2011, 01:27 AM

184 posts

ABS is not my priority material... I only aim and get PP for you guys... RM3500 for ABS, overpriced...
Happyman
post Apr 11 2011, 01:35 AM

163 posts

Anyone interested in GROUP BUY modulo kit? PP Material.

Stock arriving in a week or 2.

We can form a group buy and deal direct with importer.

127 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0199sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:55 PM