73 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Tablet Computing - Android 3.0(Honeycomb) V1.0, Discussion for Android 3.0 based Tablets

[PF] T.J.
post May 19 2011, 01:45 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 19 2011, 01:36 PM)
In what situation you want to use your transfomer? Are you carry it together with the docking anywhere? If you carry it together, what different with carry your laptop? hmm.gif

You not typing few pages of word on your pad. That you leave it to your laptop do the job.

The USB port is usefull. But not to extend the cost and got to carry it with additional weight.

Not sure the pad is worth, but if the spec is good?
If I have the Transformer, I'll bring it to work along with the dock... I'll only bring the tablet out if I'm out for casual activities nod.gif
Usually those who purchase the Transformer has a larger laptop/desktop replacement which is not easy to carry around... You have a point if the user already has a netbook.. but then if he/she already has a netbook, why would he/she get the Transformer in the 1st place? laugh.gif
The Transformer offers flexibility, where it can be lighter than a netbook, and more user friendly than a tablet nod.gif

P/S: Tried typing on the vritual keyboard of an iPad... man its hard lol... And my fingerprints are everywhere sad.gif sad.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: May 19 2011, 01:46 PM
AlexLai
post May 19 2011, 01:45 PM

5,531 posts

In what situation you want to use your transfomer? Are you carry it together with the docking anywhere? If you carry it together, what different with carry your laptop? hmm.gif

You not typing few pages of word on your pad. That you leave it to your laptop do the job.

The USB port is usefull. But not to extend the cost and got to carry it with additional weight.

Will be using it in lectures for notes and also travelling. Yeah will be carrying the tab+dock together. I always carry my laptop around and the weight difference of almost 1kg makes a lot of difference. I do type pages for reports and also some reviews when I'm free at my campus and I'm quite lazy if you ask me to bring my power adapter along since it adds another few hundred grams to the total weight I carry.

You can't really run far from the specs. But this is by far the cheapest Tegra 2 powered tablet in the market now.
astria
post May 19 2011, 01:47 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

my experience with Galaxy Tab, is that it's heaps lighter than carrying a laptop, while offering much more screen estates to read documents and websites than a smartphone...

top that off with integrated 3G modem and u can literally access the Internet as and when u like it...

the dock itself is really up to u... personally i would really like to ve it... the virtual keyboard can be a pain in the ass to type even if u re juz giving a short reply in forums... granted there are alternatives like Swype, but i dun really like it... and u can juz detach it and leave it in ur bag while using only the tablet alone

the dock has additional features like full USB ports, extra battery and 5-in-1 card reader, which imho ss Asus' attempt to make it more netbook like...

Transformer is designed to replace a netbook if u ask me... for a start Asus has a full office productivity suite pre-installed in it...
xphonerz
post May 19 2011, 01:47 PM

345 posts

my laptop 18 inch, hard to carry everywhere bro icon_rolleyes.gif

for me, its useful when traveling : on the go, just bring the pad + camera, back to hotel use the dock, update blog + upload pic from camera rclxm9.gif
without bring my 18 inch laptop !! brows.gif
rosihan
post May 19 2011, 01:58 PM

*\(-_-)/*
1,223 posts

ive tested iconica A500 if not mistaken
it feels kinda lag hmm.gif
hope will fix this in future
Lord_Ashe
post May 19 2011, 02:05 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

QUOTE(rosihan @ May 19 2011, 01:58 PM)
ive tested iconica A500 if not mistaken
it feels kinda lag hmm.gif
hope will fix this in future
Compared to iPad, all other tablets will feel laggy - it's just the early days of Honeycomb. If UI smoothness is what you want, you're better off with an iDevice.

BTW, I own an Iconia, it rocks.
ozak
post May 19 2011, 02:32 PM

17,023 posts

QUOTE(AlexLai @ May 19 2011, 01:45 PM)
Will be using it in lectures for notes and also travelling. Yeah will be carrying the tab+dock together. I always carry my laptop around and the weight difference of almost 1kg makes a lot of difference. I do type pages for reports and also some reviews when I'm free at my campus and I'm quite lazy if you ask me to bring my power adapter along since it adds another few hundred grams to the total weight I carry.

You can't really run far from the specs. But this is by far the cheapest Tegra 2 powered tablet in the market now.
So this transformer is your netbook/laptop and not a pad to you. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by ozak: May 19 2011, 02:34 PM
astria
post May 19 2011, 02:39 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 19 2011, 02:32 PM)
it can double up as a tab and netbook... Motorla Atrix has a smilar concept, smartphone + dock...

take it out when u re merely reading documents and web pages, and put it back when u need to do ur work...

also think of the apps (free ones especially) that u can install in Android...

This post has been edited by astria: May 19 2011, 02:39 PM
nicholas1007
post May 19 2011, 02:47 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(RayKazansky @ May 19 2011, 07:57 AM)
Your unit is not meant for Malaysia use? hmm.gif
it's under Brightstar warranty

Added on May 19, 2011, 2:50 pm
QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ May 19 2011, 10:42 AM)
Yup, I had the same problem with Angry Birds. Not sure why that is...
can somebody help out? izzt the setting? or else

This post has been edited by nicholas1007: May 19 2011, 02:50 PM
ozak
post May 19 2011, 02:53 PM

17,023 posts

QUOTE(xphonerz @ May 19 2011, 01:47 PM)
my laptop 18 inch, hard to carry everywhere bro  icon_rolleyes.gif

for me, its useful when traveling : on the go, just bring the pad + camera, back to hotel use the dock, update blog + upload pic from camera  rclxm9.gif
without bring my 18 inch laptop !! brows.gif
I have experience with your situation. But no need dock at all. It more easy to carry just the pad.
astria
post May 19 2011, 03:01 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 19 2011, 02:53 PM)
I have experience with your situation. But no need dock at all. It more easy to carry just the pad.
all i can say is, at times u will juz wish u ve a keyboard to do the typing...

that's my conclusion after owning Android devices...

anyway, at the end of the day, it's ur own preference... personally i am between Galaxy Tab 8.9 and Transformer...

This post has been edited by astria: May 19 2011, 03:02 PM
TSRayKazansky
post May 19 2011, 03:07 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ May 19 2011, 02:05 PM)
Compared to iPad, all other tablets will feel laggy - it's just the early days of Honeycomb. If UI smoothness is what you want, you're better off with an iDevice.

BTW, I own an Iconia, it rocks.
I'm sure fixes and patches will make honeycomb smoother along the way
astria
post May 19 2011, 03:08 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(RayKazansky @ May 19 2011, 03:07 PM)
I'm sure fixes and patches will make honeycomb smoother along the way
well, that's up to Acer to do it... obviously Google can't optimize for all the hardware in the world...
ozak
post May 19 2011, 03:13 PM

17,023 posts

QUOTE(astria @ May 19 2011, 01:47 PM)
my experience with Galaxy Tab, is that it's heaps lighter than carrying a laptop, while offering much more screen estates to read documents and websites than a smartphone...

top that off with integrated 3G modem and u can literally access the Internet as and when u like it...

the dock itself is really up to u... personally i would really like to ve it... the virtual keyboard can be a pain in the ass to type even if u re juz giving a short reply in forums... granted there are alternatives like Swype, but i dun really like it... and u can juz detach it and leave it in ur bag while using only the tablet alone

the dock has additional features like full USB ports, extra battery and 5-in-1 card reader, which imho ss Asus' attempt to make it more netbook like...

Transformer is designed to replace a netbook if u ask me... for a start Asus has a full office productivity suite pre-installed in it...
I don't see any difficult typing on the pad. Just spaming a few word in LY here is easy with just the pad. smile.gif As long as not typing a few pages words.

So far my experience, when I at home, most of the time is using laptop. If at the bed, than the pad. In ths situation, the dock is really useless.

If going out for a breakfast or coffee, just bring the pad. Sit down having my coffee while surf/video/read on my pad. thumbup.gif If feel like spam at here, just type a few word. Again, in this situation, the dock is useless.

astria
post May 19 2011, 03:17 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 19 2011, 03:13 PM)
I don't see any difficult typing on the pad. Just spaming a few word in LY here is easy with just the pad. smile.gif  As long as not typing a few pages words.

So far my experience, when I at home, most of the time is using laptop. If at the bed, than the pad. In ths situation, the dock is really useless.

If going out for a breakfast or coffee, just bring the pad. Sit down having my coffee while surf/video/read on my pad.  thumbup.gif If feel like spam at here, just type a few word. Again, in this situation, the dock is useless.
honestly speaking, when comes to typing on virtual keyboard, i prefer doing so on my Desire than Galaxy Tab... lay it horizontally and i can type with my 2 thumbs on my Desire, but u can never do that with a tab...

as i said, it's down to personal preference... as a uni student i pretty much wants to ve the dock... makes doing my work much more easier... but if it's for someone like my dad who basically only reads news and watch the stock, then yes, a dock is redundant...
macyhouse
post May 19 2011, 03:49 PM

273 posts

i think transformer works out fine for those with desktop and need something portable with word,excel,etc ...
dam ... not sure to get this or ipad ... main factor for me is apps now ...
astria
post May 19 2011, 03:58 PM

22,158 posts

Android for free apps... laugh.gif

anyway if u re saying that iOS has "quality" apps then u may want to reconsider, since there are many platforms to convert iOS apps into Android ones...
macyhouse
post May 19 2011, 04:58 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(astria @ May 19 2011, 03:58 PM)
Android for free apps... laugh.gif

anyway if u re saying that iOS has "quality" apps then u may want to reconsider, since there are many platforms to convert iOS apps into Android ones...
well then i am almost sold tongue.gif lets see how the actual product feel in my hand now
nice to get 16gb and add a 16gb mini sd = 32gb
AlexLai
post May 19 2011, 05:09 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 19 2011, 02:32 PM)
Depends on the situation. In class or out for meals I'll just take the pad. Otherwise I'll plug it back in and start typing away. Also, I don't need to hold it to watch videos. biggrin.gif
baretta
post May 19 2011, 05:22 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(macyhouse @ May 19 2011, 03:49 PM)
i think transformer works out fine for those with desktop and need something portable with word,excel,etc ...
dam ... not sure to get this or ipad ... main factor for me is apps now ...
If your main factor is apps, no doubt currently, ipad is for u

73 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0253sec    1.03    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:17 AM