heard the acer is gonna be in local stores soon. the full USB + microsd excites me altho the design is kinda meh
Enquiries/Recommendations Tablet Computing - Android 3.0(Honeycomb) V1.0, Discussion for Android 3.0 based Tablets
May 10 2011, 12:34 AM
1,495 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Damansara Perdana - KL |
heard the acer is gonna be in local stores soon. the full USB + microsd excites me altho the design is kinda meh
May 10 2011, 11:01 AM
Wow. 32gb A500 at 1500? That's too sweet a deal to pass by la.
May 10 2011, 04:34 PM
May 10 2011, 10:59 PM
Transformer pad also doesn't come with USB unless you buy the dock, right?
it's sexier than the Acer thas for sure. |
May 14 2011, 10:18 PM
Picked up my iconia. Tab yesterday, have to say this is a really sweet device,better than expectations but with all the quirks you would expect from an Android device. I knew exactly what I was getting, and the USB host,microsd and 32gb is really sweet right now.
May 14 2011, 11:30 PM
May 15 2011, 06:22 PM
QUOTE(vichew @ May 15 2011, 12:37 AM) Honestly I'm really loving it, been having fun customizing the Widgets and putting it through its paces. Screen is nice although you can argue the transformer beats it there. Battery life is about 1.5 days with light surfing and picture taking. The honeycomb os is really customize friendly, I dont feel like im imprisoned by Apple anymore.Most importantly I can bring and consume my media from 32gb internal memory,micro SD and my 320gb hdd reads without a problem. Once tegra3 tabs are out I may retire this one but for now I'm in love :-) |
May 15 2011, 07:17 PM
After spending all those words, in the end the I pad unsurprisingly wins. Lol
May 16 2011, 10:49 AM
May 16 2011, 05:32 PM
QUOTE(xplodingplastix @ May 16 2011, 05:10 PM) im F**kd up wanna buy ipad or eeepad? help me on this! e3pad will be out very soon, of course, lookin at ipad its cheaper than asus and stable in long run. looks like you made up your mind already on the iPad bro. BTW best way is to ask yourself WHAT DO I WANT TO DO WITH IT?With this simple question, everything becomes easier. I know I wanted to copy stuff off external HDD/thumbdrives. I know I wanted to read a lot on the tab. I know I don't care about games too much. All in all, the decision was straightforward for me - the Acer Iconia. |
May 17 2011, 10:33 PM
Yup iconia a500 is out, typing this using my unit B-)
May 18 2011, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(astria @ May 18 2011, 11:11 AM) Asus and Acer will release Android 3.1 OTA updates in early June for Transformer and Iconia A500... the first to get it after Xoom... Woohooo! June update to 3.1!no exact date is given though... http://thisismynext.com/2011/05/17/asus-ac...droid-3-1-june/ this is really fast, considering they are not Google Experience devices... looks like Asus and Acer are determined to make a big footprint in the Android tablet market... I just wish Acer would put in more advertising for the Iconia A500. It truly is an amazing machine - the ability to play media on my 320gb HDD via USB is priceless. Now hopefully the apps will come... |
May 18 2011, 04:28 PM
QUOTE(yop da great @ May 18 2011, 03:57 PM) I'm afraid that's not going to be possible due to the usb power limit of the tablet..it might not be enough to spin a real hdd.. even if it could, it will draw too much power from ur tablet Dude, I own an Iconia A500. I have successfully attached and read files from my 320gb 2.5" HDD on the tablet. The short answer is, it's POSSIBLE.QUOTE(astria @ May 18 2011, 04:11 PM) but think the other way... less marketing = less cost... The fact that I love is that if I WANT TO, I CAN. I also can copy documents off my colleagues' thumbdrives without a PC, so take that Apple 2.5" HDD should not be a problem at all... but with microSD slot, do we still really want to attach a HDD to it? |
May 19 2011, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(nicholas1007 @ May 19 2011, 01:13 AM) anyone experience some trouble downloading apps in android market using Honeycomb tablet? i try download apps like Flash Player 10.3, Angry Bird, Wyse.......... & some. but failed. come out error msg 'this item cannot be download in your country' Yup, I had the same problem with Angry Birds. Not sure why that is... |
May 19 2011, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(sakon93 @ May 19 2011, 12:02 PM) Ha, this is a flamebait question It depends on what you want actually from the tablet. my experience with my iconia A500 shows that it's not as smooth as the iPad, but neither is the iPad TECH-friendly. I would bet that the current honeycomb tablets are pretty kick ass, even with my iconia running docs to go, and browsing etc. This post has been edited by Lord_Ashe: May 19 2011, 12:09 PM |
May 19 2011, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(rosihan @ May 19 2011, 01:58 PM) Compared to iPad, all other tablets will feel laggy - it's just the early days of Honeycomb. If UI smoothness is what you want, you're better off with an iDevice.BTW, I own an Iconia, it rocks. |
May 20 2011, 06:46 PM
OK looks like there are more and more people facing a problem downloading apps from the Market. I've posted this issue up in their forum as I can't even download angry birds...
May 24 2011, 10:01 AM
QUOTE(astria @ May 24 2011, 10:00 AM) Toshiba Thrive popped out again on a e-tailer list before being pulled down again... So finally there's TWO tabs in the market with full USB 8GB for US$449, 32GB for US$579... juz a recap, besides the normal Tegra 2, 1GB RAM, 10.1" monitor and Honeycomb, Thrive has full SD card support, full HDMI port and full USB port, which set it apart from other HC tabs... http://www.engadget.com/2011/05/22/toshiba...at-449-may-fin/ |
May 24 2011, 09:15 PM
Wow that's really pricy
May 25 2011, 07:44 PM
QUOTE(fai79ruz @ May 25 2011, 07:38 PM) Guys, need ur expertice on this; I would like to buy a tablet someday very soon but not sure which one suit me..i like to watch download movie, i also love to take picture (using camera) when traveling and see it at large screen, gps is great as option but i already have phone with gps support, don't care much about tablet camera, long lasting battery and easy to buy an accessories (screen protector/tablet cover/spare batteries etc.)..what tablet u guys can suggest me? With the exception of the last item, it sounds like an iPad hehe |
| Change to: | 0.0381sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:37 PM |