Jailbreak discussion, all about Jailbreak, READ: STRICTLY NO DISCUSSION ON PIRACY
spikyz
Apr 5 2011, 04:12 PM
guys, im not sure whether this is a right place.
but the situation is like this, last time my iphone 3gs is jailbroken..
den just now, i download ios4.3.1 and restore my iphone.. now it keep pop up insert a valid sim card.. whats wrong eh? im using maxis sim card and any clue on this guys?
mod, sorry if this is not the right thread, could u point out where should i post this?
TSsamlee860407
Apr 5 2011, 04:13 PM
QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Apr 5 2011, 04:10 PM) For his "wink", 10% warning and 1 day account suspension on the way. This is what happens when we have JB threads. Forumers just don't read the topic and pinned threads which stated no piracy related disucssion. This is not something nice to do when it comes to giving forumers account suspension but hey, don't blame me for reporting as the rules stated not to discussion on piracy. Oh well, lesson learned perhaps but not many learn well rite samlee860407? Hahaha where is Ah Wang? He needs to be here to give more free island trip. I believe that once these rules are enforced, slowly they will learned. If they do not, then I think back to square 1 like last time liao.
maderfader
Apr 5 2011, 04:13 PM

Question,i currently use the Awesome Note Lite (that's a free app,not pirated one)..i use it to store vital informations like acc. no,usernames n passwords etc n even locked the folders..is it possible to retain those valuable infos after i jailbreak to the newest version??
TSsamlee860407
Apr 5 2011, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(spikyz @ Apr 5 2011, 04:12 PM) guys, im not sure whether this is a right place. but the situation is like this, last time my iphone 3gs is jailbroken.. den just now, i download ios4.3.1 and restore my iphone.. now it keep pop up insert a valid sim card.. whats wrong eh? im using maxis sim card and any clue on this guys? mod, sorry if this is not the right thread, could u point out where should i post this? err.... your iphone 3gs are those not officially unlocked one?
buyoq
Apr 5 2011, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(spikyz @ Apr 5 2011, 04:12 PM) guys, im not sure whether this is a right place. but the situation is like this, last time my iphone 3gs is jailbroken.. den just now, i download ios4.3.1 and restore my iphone.. now it keep pop up insert a valid sim card.. whats wrong eh? im using maxis sim card and any clue on this guys? mod, sorry if this is not the right thread, could u point out where should i post this? is your iphone is a locked set or unlocked set ? normally that kind of error comes from a locked set which needed you to use the authorised sim in order to activate,use the phone.
azraeil
Apr 5 2011, 04:15 PM
I hate Outlook syncing of contacts as some of my contacts has multiple phone numbers and outlook cannot handle all the fields.
iTunes will backup all your settings (wifi password) and contacts. Once these things are restored, you can then re-syncs all your apps that you have bought from iTunes.
I'm not sure what steps I missed last night but all my folder setup went haywire and all the apps were outside their folders so I had to go and set it up again whic is a pain. All my contacts were restored properly.
I do find that sometimes a couple of reboots will do the phone a lot of good.
DE.si.MON
QUOTE(maderfader @ Apr 5 2011, 04:13 PM) Question,i currently use the Awesome Note Lite (that's a free app,not pirated one)..i use it to store vital informations like acc. no,usernames n passwords etc n even locked the folders..is it possible to retain those valuable infos after i jailbreak to the newest version?? backup and restore will bring back your safe data (finger cross). are you able to export out the data? This post has been edited by DE.si.MON: Apr 5 2011, 04:16 PM
fylon
QUOTE(DE.si.MON @ Apr 5 2011, 04:11 PM) for me the safe method is to backup ur contact into outlook or webmail account (at least u got another copy somewhere).  u wont know if ios update will cause some other issue. Yea. Thanks true! But another thing is the saved game, as we all some other official apps data (like iFitness & Moneybook). That is no way to backup beside sync with iTunes. Which is quite worry for me. Will appreciate if there is more input about this matter.
spikyz
Apr 5 2011, 04:16 PM
my set is from maxis, unlocked set.. i want to upgrade to 4.3.1 thats why i backup my files, restore it to factory setting.. and now it keep poping up insert valid sim card..damn im clueless..gimme 5 mins guys to work this out, i think d answer shud be around internet
DE.si.MON
Apr 5 2011, 04:18 PM
QUOTE(spikyz @ Apr 5 2011, 04:16 PM) my set is from maxis, unlocked set.. i want to upgrade to 4.3.1 thats why i backup my files, restore it to factory setting.. and now it keep poping up insert valid sim card..damn im clueless..gimme 5 mins guys to work this out, i think d answer shud be around internet did you eject and reinsert your sim card?
azraeil
Apr 5 2011, 04:18 PM
QUOTE(maderfader @ Apr 5 2011, 11:13 AM) Question,i currently use the Awesome Note Lite (that's a free app,not pirated one)..i use it to store vital informations like acc. no,usernames n passwords etc n even locked the folders..is it possible to retain those valuable infos after i jailbreak to the newest version?? If it's an iTunes app I think the settings are saved once you restore your backup and also re-syncs the app. I have SPB Wallet and all the data in there will be restored once I restore my backup and the apps is re-sync to my iPhone. Same thing with my PocketMoney.
spikyz
Apr 5 2011, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(DE.si.MON @ Apr 5 2011, 04:18 PM) did you eject and reinsert your sim card? yes i did few times, i even borrow my frens sim card to try it with... now i go here n there, it show restore in progress..perhaps after i restore to factory setting, i need to disconnect my phone and now restore (sync) back the old data? Time remaining is around 10 minutes, so i just wait first. thanks for prompt reply guys. BTW, if i want to JB this 4.3.1, is there any unthethred version? sometimes it sucks when iphone is dead when u travelling and u need a computer just to restart it.
DE.si.MON
Apr 5 2011, 04:23 PM
JB 4.3.1 is untethered now.
maderfader
Apr 5 2011, 04:23 PM

QUOTE(DE.si.MON @ Apr 5 2011, 04:15 PM) backup and restore will bring back your safe data (finger cross). are you able to export out the data? I'm also thinking of that (export) but only as a last resort..i just wanted to know if there's a highway of doing that..thanks for your input Added on April 5, 2011, 4:28 pmQUOTE(azraeil @ Apr 5 2011, 04:18 PM) If it's an iTunes app I think the settings are saved once you restore your backup and also re-syncs the app. I have SPB Wallet and all the data in there will be restored once I restore my backup and the apps is re-sync to my iPhone. Same thing with my PocketMoney. Thanks for confirming that..actually i've jb a couple of times but i can't remember whether it does save our infos in apps like Awesome Note Lite etc..i don't care about songs n movies as they're redownloadable..now i feel more confident to jb my ip4..thanks a millions all This post has been edited by maderfader: Apr 5 2011, 04:28 PM
zad78
Apr 5 2011, 04:35 PM
Jailbroken 4.3.1 using Redsnow, smooth sail all the way. What I did was restore it to factory settings and set it as a new phone...just to make sure that all my previous jailbrake data is completely erased (previously using Greenpoison)...even with that method, there were 13 itunes app that need to be redownloaded from itunes (said that the resources have been modified). Luckily itunes saved my previous purchase though so that I could downloaded it for free.
da4rul
Apr 5 2011, 04:45 PM

QUOTE(spikyz @ Apr 5 2011, 04:21 PM) yes i did few times, i even borrow my frens sim card to try it with... now i go here n there, it show restore in progress..perhaps after i restore to factory setting, i need to disconnect my phone and now restore (sync) back the old data? Time remaining is around 10 minutes, so i just wait first. thanks for prompt reply guys. BTW, if i want to JB this 4.3.1, is there any unthethred version? sometimes it sucks when iphone is dead when u travelling and u need a computer just to restart it.  already have bro.. 4.3.1... try get from www.redmondpie.com
olak329
Apr 5 2011, 04:45 PM

Jailbreak but not unlock,, sad, stuck at baseband 04.10.01
maderfader
Apr 5 2011, 04:47 PM

Another question,i've purchased iMovie from appstore..do i have to re-buy it again if i jailbreak to the newest iOS??i never have the experience of jailbreak after bought something from the appstore..usually i jailbreak free apps
This post has been edited by maderfader: Apr 5 2011, 04:49 PM
TSsamlee860407
Apr 5 2011, 04:49 PM
QUOTE(maderfader @ Apr 5 2011, 04:47 PM) Another question,i've purchased iMovie from appstore..do i have to re-buy it again if i jailbreak to the newest iOS??i never have the experience of jailbreak after bought something from the appstore..usually i jailbreak free apps No
DE.si.MON
Apr 5 2011, 04:52 PM
you can transfer purchase to pc if buy via phone and sync back to ur phone before or after jailbreak.