Jailbreak discussion, all about Jailbreak, READ: STRICTLY NO DISCUSSION ON PIRACY

maderfader
post Apr 5 2011, 02:08 PM

228 posts

Woohoo,now we can discuss on jb..so,anyone has tested the new 4.3.1 redsn0w jailbreak yet??is it stable or does it have some bugs here n there?? i'm currently jbroken on ios 4.1 using limera1n..so far,it is perfect for me,i even can view flash item now..planning to jb with the new 4.3.1

This post has been edited by maderfader: Apr 5 2011, 02:08 PM
maderfader
post Apr 5 2011, 02:16 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(StarBuys @ Apr 5 2011, 02:13 PM)
Me Me! It's stable, but some of the cydia apps just won't work.
PS: Can we discuss about cydia apps available via the cydia store? If it is allowed, then I will post the list of apps that works with 4.3.1
What do u mean some of cydia apps doesn't work??could u give me an example of those apps??
maderfader
post Apr 5 2011, 03:50 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(buyoq @ Apr 5 2011, 03:48 PM)
from my experience in having back all of those applications restored to phone from backup :

1) 4.2.1 (jailbroken)
2) Backup all of those data(apps,songs etc)
3) Upgrade to 4.3.1
4) JAILBREAK FIRST.DONT RESTORE BACKUP YET
5) Sync/restore your iPhone

Been using the method all these while,no issues smile.gif
That's breakthrough for me rclxm9.gif ..previously i always restore 1st,jb later..r u absolutely positive this will work??
maderfader
post Apr 5 2011, 04:13 PM

228 posts

Question,i currently use the Awesome Note Lite (that's a free app,not pirated one)..i use it to store vital informations like acc. no,usernames n passwords etc n even locked the folders..is it possible to retain those valuable infos after i jailbreak to the newest version??
maderfader
post Apr 5 2011, 04:23 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(DE.si.MON @ Apr 5 2011, 04:15 PM)
backup and restore will bring back your safe data (finger cross).

are you able to export out the data?
I'm also thinking of that (export) but only as a last resort..i just wanted to know if there's a highway of doing that..thanks for your input

Added on April 5, 2011, 4:28 pm
QUOTE(azraeil @ Apr 5 2011, 04:18 PM)
If it's an iTunes app I think the settings are saved once you restore your backup and also re-syncs the app. I have SPB Wallet and all the data in there will be restored once I restore my backup and the apps is re-sync to my iPhone. Same thing with my PocketMoney.
Thanks for confirming that..actually i've jb a couple of times but i can't remember whether it does save our infos in apps like Awesome Note Lite etc..i don't care about songs n movies as they're redownloadable..now i feel more confident to jb my ip4..thanks a millions all rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by maderfader: Apr 5 2011, 04:28 PM
maderfader
post Apr 5 2011, 04:47 PM

228 posts

Another question,i've purchased iMovie from appstore..do i have to re-buy it again if i jailbreak to the newest iOS??i never have the experience of jailbreak after bought something from the appstore..usually i jailbreak free apps

This post has been edited by maderfader: Apr 5 2011, 04:49 PM
maderfader
post Apr 5 2011, 04:59 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Apr 5 2011, 04:49 PM)
No
QUOTE(DE.si.MON @ Apr 5 2011, 04:52 PM)
you can transfer purchase to pc if buy via phone and sync back to ur phone before or after jailbreak.
Alright,thanks guys
maderfader
post Apr 6 2011, 09:43 AM

228 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Apr 5 2011, 09:07 PM)
First time doing a JB since I just got my iPhone

Currently on 4.3.1....so i used Redsn0w for Windows (Vista).

Kinda nail biting...but ahh...the Redsn0w got error halfway after DFU and had to close it...the iphone screen hang at "downloading JB data" for quite a long time before rebooting back to the original...fhew..lucky...tried again...same error..

Well, not my luck..maybe need to wait for another JB software....wonder when is greenpois0n coming out with a 4.3.1 JB.

Not sure but my lappy is currently is login as 'Guest'...but with administrative mode....kinda stupidly deleted my only administrator user name...and seems like I can't add more users as my lappy is 'locked' by my previous company server.
But so far all softwares got no probs to install. not sure why Redsn0w got error and had to close.
I just jailbreak 4.3.1 last night..n i experienced the problem like yours too..let me guess..halfway through jb,after u've done the press power,hold power + home,release power n hold home, windows pops up "redsn0w has stopped working"/or something like that,right??n mine also stuck at downloading jailbreaking data.

Actually it's because of the windows itself that has error(which i will format my lappy later)..what i did was,i jb using other lappy that doesn't have error..fyi,both my lappy n the other lappy use Windows 7..so,what u should do is:

1) copy jb data n transfer to other lappy/PC (redsn0w,4.3.1 ipsw)
2) run it again n Walaa

p.s hahah,i didn't read the entire thread,seems your problems are solved..anyways,thats what i did

This post has been edited by maderfader: Apr 6 2011, 09:48 AM
maderfader
post Apr 6 2011, 12:38 PM

228 posts

Just wanna clarify something..i've just jb-ed my iphone 4 from 4.1 to 4.3.1 using the latest redsn0w last night n it works perfectly fine (at least for me)..the most exciting feature is the personal hotspot..i've tested it by enable my personal hotspot n my friend's iphone 3g try to connect to my iphone 4,n it works..woohoo smile.gif

This post has been edited by maderfader: Apr 6 2011, 12:40 PM
maderfader
post Apr 6 2011, 12:47 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Apr 6 2011, 12:43 PM)
Is this function working on 3GS?
I can't confirm about this..but based on what i read in JBreaking websites,they can only confirm that it works on iphone 4..maybe some forumers here at LYN have experimented it..anybody??
maderfader
post Apr 7 2011, 11:28 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(~MeG~ @ Apr 7 2011, 09:22 PM)
Anyone have any success in getting custom boot logo using redsn0w_0.9.6rc11 jailbreak?

The custom boot logo does not work for my IPhone 4 eventhough I've followed all the procedures..I've enable it in my BootLogo settings tho..
I already tried on my iphone 4 on 4.3.1 n it works..since u already have the Bootlogo settings,try selecting the built in theme 'Chronic Dev''..or otherwise just install simple boot logo in cydia using searchword "bootlogo"..i've installed the 'iphone4' bootlogo n it works..just in case u dont know,boot logo only appears everytime u reboot your iphone..good luck

This post has been edited by maderfader: Apr 8 2011, 07:24 AM
maderfader
post Apr 22 2011, 10:59 AM

228 posts

QUOTE(iPlx @ Apr 22 2011, 10:17 AM)
Privacy is cracked apps that are not allowed and illegal. The apps i mention are free in Cydia or you need to purchase them. And it's just an example to people who asked that question. Whats the point if they jailbreak and they cant understand what use is it? Admin/Staff correct me if i am wrong thank you smile.gif
Don't you mean 'piracy'??your explanation is for piracy,not privacy..n yes,i agree with your explanation

Added on April 22, 2011, 11:02 am
QUOTE(jianh @ Apr 22 2011, 09:12 AM)
Just jailbroken my iP4 by myself (my 1st time), couldn't understand how to use Cydia, and went to opened a thread to ask for sth and kena closed by mod, ok fine whatever, i'll just ask here.

so what's the reason behind every jailbreaking? I mean, why people jailbreak their iPhone?
in a simple sentence, jailbreak so that u can tweak/change the look of your iphone(software-wise)..icons and ringtones are the most common example

This post has been edited by maderfader: Apr 22 2011, 11:02 AM
maderfader
post May 31 2011, 10:05 AM

228 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ May 30 2011, 11:54 AM)
i having problem after i jailbreak my iphone... need some sifu to advice.

my problem is, background apps cant kill off wen in standby mode. means...

my usage time is same as standby time. it eat alot my battery. i nid to restore and re-jailbreak again to solve the problem. sleep.gif

anyone know how to solve this issue?
How to minimize battery drain:

1) don't use heavy,too fancy,HD themes on the SBSettings AND Winterboard..dont believe me??try both original@no theme and any HD themes..u'll notice the difference.
2) set brightness to auto OR minimise it to the lowest that you can see.
3) use no equalizer for music.
4) don't use flashlights(too often)

The above are the most noticeable (at least for me) tips to reduce battery drain..of course,u can choose 1) not to do it at all(means u do the opposite), 2) just do some of it, 3) do all the above(best effect). The choice is yours.
maderfader
post Jul 28 2011, 05:48 PM

228 posts

BURN IN HELL KOUSOU !!!!!! shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by maderfader: Jul 28 2011, 05:52 PM
maderfader
post Aug 9 2011, 01:31 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(greenlp_87 @ Aug 9 2011, 01:03 PM)
finally this thread is open back... tongue.gif  just wondering is it possible for untethered jailbreak for ios 4.3.5 release before the release of ios 5??  hmm.gif
I think there's no point for doing that coz iphone owners who have jailbroke their iphones rather stick to 4.3.3 than update to 4.3.5..there's not much of a difference..n the dev may as well save the exploit for the next big thing(ios 5)

And when the ios 5 is out,people will start to anxious because it comes with a big update..that time u will see ordinary iphone users scream,shout n scold the devs coz the devs dont distribute the new jailbreak ASAP(as if these users pay for the devs' salary)..i loathe this type of people
maderfader
post Aug 9 2011, 02:23 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(greenlp_87 @ Aug 9 2011, 01:36 PM)
so it is confirmed that untethered jailbreak will not release for latest ios?  hmm.gif
I cannot confirm on that,but that's what i would do..its not like they can't jailbreak at all for the current firmware..maybe the devs sees that as 'redundant' untethered jaibreaks..if u really want to jailbreak 4.3.5,u have to settle with tethered jailbreak..plus,there is no concrete rumors of an untethered jailbreak for 4.3.5
maderfader
post Sep 9 2011, 04:22 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(gengka @ Sep 9 2011, 02:00 AM)
i had tried to upgrade to 4.3.5 and downgrade to 4.3.3. successful however after jailbreak it, the phone cant get any signal. even the MY MAXIS words is gone. However software and wifi still can use as usual.

Is Maxis contract iphone 4 locked or unlocked?
I encounter this problem on my sis in-law 3gs..i assumed that u also can't select carrier in Settings,right??at the status bar,it just show signal bar,no carrier name, and of course u can't make calls..what i did was a hard reset the device (power+home until apple logo appears)..u should do everything that u possibly can(check phone settings) before thinking to restore via itunes..only use restore as the last option

0.0521sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:49 PM