128 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Jailbreak discussion, all about Jailbreak, READ: STRICTLY NO DISCUSSION ON PIRACY

spikyz
post Apr 5 2011, 04:56 PM

1,341 posts

okay so now everything is okay. ios 4.3.1, i want to jailbreak, im using windows, i read d first page, i go to link given. but i have 1 noob/stupid question.

I dont understand what they saying on this
"NOTE: If your iPhone doesn’t rely on a carrier unlock, you can use Redsn0w for both Windows and Mac to easily jailbreak your device on iOS 4.3.1"

and this
"Sn0wBreeze is not recommended for those wishing to preserve their unlock. Again, Sn0wBreeze is Windows only."

So, i have Maxis unlocked set,

1.should i be bother by this?

2.what they trying to say..for locked set (for example buy from US and etc) they will have trouble if they want to JB using snowbreeze? or redsnow?

3. so for my situation, maxis 3gs unlocked set, which one do u guys recommend? redsnow? snowbreeze? pwange?
maderfader
post Apr 5 2011, 04:59 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Apr 5 2011, 04:49 PM)
No
QUOTE(DE.si.MON @ Apr 5 2011, 04:52 PM)
you can transfer purchase to pc if buy via phone and sync back to ur phone before or after jailbreak.
Alright,thanks guys
DE.si.MON
post Apr 5 2011, 05:00 PM

771 posts

snowbreeze is for those wanna cook custom ipsw to unlock phone by preserving baseband.

Added on April 5, 2011, 5:00 pmredsnow for unlock set. local sets.

This post has been edited by DE.si.MON: Apr 5 2011, 05:01 PM
Joelles
post Apr 5 2011, 05:14 PM

@Call me Uncle@
1,355 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Apr 5 2011, 03:30 PM)
Go ahead. It's open for discussion for iPad subforum as well as in iPod subforum section.

Thank you and Cheers

Btw, 5uperMan got 3 days account suspension for piracy discussion and this is his 2 offense. He will get 30 days off for the next offense. Thank you for reporting and please keep reporting those who post on piracy.
Thanks Gary, I have already open a JB thread in the iPad section with "strictly no pirate discussion" description.
deodorant
post Apr 5 2011, 05:20 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(DE.si.MON @ Apr 5 2011, 05:15 PM)
avoid paying in-app by hacking consider illegal.

wokay, no ask about that then.

Just quick Q on tethered JB. All the apps on my phone are legit and paid for. Let's say I tether JB. Then going out that time phone hang and needed to restart.

1. will i still be able to use my phone?
2. will i still be able to use all my apps?
DE.si.MON
post Apr 5 2011, 05:23 PM

771 posts

i think u will end up having a recovery mode phone when start up.

you need to tethered boot ur phone.
StarBuys
post Apr 5 2011, 05:28 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 5 2011, 05:20 PM)

Just quick Q on tethered JB. All the apps on my phone are legit and paid for. Let's say I tether JB. Then going out that time phone hang and needed to restart.

Yes you will be able to use it, but Cydia and it's app will not run, eg. winterboard.
Now Jb tools is untethered, so reboot or hang or what also no need worry. Also you can run redsn0w over current tethered Jb.
gagak_84
post Apr 5 2011, 05:31 PM

132 posts

i already JB my IP4 IOS 4.1 6 month ago.. is it possible to upgrade to 4.3 and then JB again without losing any save game?
TSsamlee860407
post Apr 5 2011, 05:37 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 5 2011, 05:20 PM)

No ur phone won't be able to start and will stuck at the apple logo screen.

U need a Pc and re run the tethered jb again to be able to boot back ur phone

And to spikyz, you don't need to bothered about that since urs is officially unlocled

Added on April 5, 2011, 5:38 pm
QUOTE(StarBuys @ Apr 5 2011, 05:28 PM)
Yes you will be able to use it, but Cydia and it's app will not run, eg. winterboard.
Now Jb tools is untethered, so reboot or hang or what also no need worry. Also you can run redsn0w over current tethered Jb.
I think u better check back about tethered JB eh

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Apr 5 2011, 05:38 PM
DE.si.MON
post Apr 5 2011, 05:38 PM

771 posts

QUOTE(gagak_84 @ Apr 5 2011, 05:31 PM)
i already JB my IP4 IOS 4.1 6 month ago.. is it possible to upgrade to 4.3 and then JB again without losing any save game?
read previous post. now issue with save data. just backup and restore.

Added on April 5, 2011, 5:40 pmuntethered over tethered jb not confirm for the current jailbreak version. havent see any article on that.

This post has been edited by DE.si.MON: Apr 5 2011, 05:40 PM
spikyz
post Apr 5 2011, 05:52 PM

1,341 posts

finally managed to upgrade to 4.3.1 and jb it using redsnow, thanks to sammy, DE.si.mon and others!

btw this is my step by step including some probs i had, hope this can help other ppl.

1. SYNC with itunes, sync everything, pics, music, and apps.
2. Do backup for CONTACTS using microsoft outlook etc.
3. BACKUP by right click on iphone pict at iTunes.

So now with all backup n sync in place.
4. Restore to factory setting.
5. Upgrade to new ios version (i upgraded to 4.3.1)
6. after upgrade, if u stuck or have so problem. just unplug iphone or restart itunes.
7. after upgrade, sync back with itunes to get your data.

Jailbreak part.
8. Have various types, i choose Redsnow becoz its the easiest to understand. haha
9. Download redsnow at d website mention on first page. and follow the instruction. and u shall be fine.

Btw, if during the JB and u stuck at kernel /downloading/processing try the following..

10. Open Redsnow, start TASK MANAGERS, go to process, right click at redsnow and choose set affinity, and uncheck CPU 0 and CPU 1.

before this i stuck several times, using step no. 10 that i found on internet, my JB is finally done. Thanks to Mr. Google

cheers
Ice BabY
post Apr 5 2011, 06:32 PM

769 posts

Guys.. I just jailbroke my iPhone 4 and downloaded the glass orb theme and 5 icon dock which is required for this theme. Everything is looking ok except the custom dock for this theme. All icons that are not in the dock are in the "glass orbs" but the ones in the dock still have there square shape.

Recently

Suppose to be like this

TSsamlee860407
post Apr 5 2011, 06:33 PM

4,631 posts

biteSMS ($8.99 on Cydia store, 14days trial with free of ads, or continue using it but it became ad supported)

It is the single best ever app I ever download, not only the best app I ever download from Cydia, but out of all the app I download from the appstore too.

Apple notification sucks, whenever you are playing a game, browsing at safari, reading RSS at your RSS app, and when a SMS pop up, I will have to close the app in order to reply it. What multitasking is this?

Well, biteSMS is the thing, all because of the Quick Reply.

Gone is the days you need to quit the app you are currently working on just to reply the SMS, and then relaunch the app again. Now this is multitasking!

Besides, not only Quick Reply. With biteSMS you can compose SMS inside any app too without the need to quit the app 1st. Just click the volume up button once, and when the biteSMS icon pop up in the middle, tap it, and you are in the quick compose mode.

You can also have a quick look on your previous messages with that particular person easily too before your quick compose or quick reply.

and finally delivery reports on iPhone!

those that always lend your phone to friends to play some game or browse will love this. Passcode Lock on SMS!

and the good old character counter so that you don't sent 2 SMS just because you typed in 161 character tongue.gif

Besides all the features I mentioned, some others such as signatures, contact picture on SMS, exact message timestamp and many many more.

You can always read more about it on their website HERE

So with all the features, does it worth USD9, which is around RM30? A HUGE YES! DEFINITELY!

It never crash, it makes SMS so easy and exactly how a phone should be. I hope 1 day apple will do this to their native iOS SMS app, but before that, this is the best.

Not Convinced? Try it for free! The app gives a 14 day trial with all the features it has. After 14 days, you can either buy it or the app will become app suported. If you are those who always travel, you can also try their SMS credit for cheaper international SMS. I never try it before though

What cons of biteSMS you might ask? Well, absolutely nothing. And if I am to be picky, I will say that the icon look FUGLY in pink. Luckily there's a way to get rid of it (again the awesomeness of JB), which I will post up when I am free

Value of Money: 100/10 (no, not a typo tongue.gif)
Features: 10/10

PS: I never use iRealSMS before, but biteSMS do it greatly for me

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Apr 5 2011, 06:51 PM
azraeil
post Apr 5 2011, 06:45 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Great review samlee! I didn't know you can lock the SMS by using a code ... I'm using Locktopus to lock all my apps (Mail especially) but since biteSMS has it's own lock key, this is great.
TSsamlee860407
post Apr 5 2011, 06:51 PM

4,631 posts

LockInfo (USD7.99 with 14days trial)

IMO this is something which is supposed to be on every smartphone.

Yes, you did noticed that our lockscreen is like a waste of space right? Just a plain wallpaper and the 'slide to unlock'

Do you want to have a quick glance on weather, email, miss call, SMS, or even twitter and other updates?

Then LockInfo is for you.

Not only now you can always see your missed calls list, SMS list or voicemail list at your lockscreen instead of the standard pop up window style notification, you can also see all your emails, upcoming events of your calender, even Twitter and RSS, or other Push notification that you set.

Unlike the messy and useless iPhone native notification that you either close it or it won't go away, all of these now will block your screen no more.

Besides, you can also set your favourite call list to show up at the lockscreen, so that you can make the call faster than ever.

However, 1 of the cons of LockInfo (also it's pros) is that I can read my emails direct on my lock screen without the need to unlock it. So anyone can just take up my phone and read my emails.

Well, still, LockInfo is 1 great app.

Value of Money: 8/10
Features: 8/10

megahertz
post Apr 5 2011, 06:52 PM

i always smiling, problem?
1,846 posts

any1 have jb ios4.3.1 on 3gs?
got any bug o not? thanks

just wanna give link for How to save your application data using appbackup
great to backup ur game data when u restore to new ios. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by megahertz: Apr 5 2011, 07:00 PM
TSsamlee860407
post Apr 5 2011, 06:53 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Apr 5 2011, 06:45 PM)
Great review samlee! I didn't know you can lock the SMS by using a code ... I'm using Locktopus to lock all my apps (Mail especially) but since biteSMS has it's own lock key, this is great.
to be honest, I just knew it LOL when i re-read their features list again ROFL

then i try....ehhhh...haha

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Apr 5 2011, 07:02 PM
TSsamlee860407
post Apr 5 2011, 07:02 PM

4,631 posts

Showcase (Free)

Notice anything different from the picture above?

How about now?

Yes, it actually show small case instead of all the time big alphabet no matter you hit the caps locks or not. Yes, it's just a small tweak and doesn't matter much at all. But since it's a free tweak, why not have it? tongue.gif

Value of Time used to download it since it's free: 8/10

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Apr 5 2011, 07:03 PM
cloud8318
post Apr 5 2011, 07:17 PM

7 stars still not enough lah!!!!
4,016 posts

guys, got a question, i just JB my ip4 iOS4.2.1 less than a week, should i JB to iOS4.3.1?
sai86
post Apr 5 2011, 07:18 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Apr 5 2011, 06:33 PM)
biteSMS ($8.99 on Cydia store, 14days trial with free of ads, or continue using it but it became ad supported)

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Apr 5 2011, 06:51 PM)
LockInfo (USD7.99 with 14days trial)

Value of Money: 8/10
Thank you Sir for the great review on both apps. I like d Lockinfo, made it like Android 1 where u can customize ur screen thumbup.gif
my next muz get apps.
btw, let say i install it to 4.1 now, then later i upgrade it to 4.3.1, will d paid apps still exist for me to reinstall then? (talking bout d above 2 items)

128 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:12 PM